A good card with two months left to live

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Gnosis Pay built one of the more interesting cards in crypto: a Visa card you fund from a self-custody Safe, spend in euros, pounds or dollars without a conversion mark-up, and top up in seconds. It also charged nothing for the card itself. That part of the story ended. On 21 September 2026 the company posted a formal closure notice, and on 20 December 2026 at 23:59 UTC the card stops authorising purchases and the web app closes to everything except withdrawals. If you hold one, the useful question is no longer whether it is good value but how much time you have left and how you get your balance out. I went through the closure notice, the help centre, the issuer’s details and the public complaint record to work out what actually happens to your money, and then looked at what is still open in the same market.

The Gnosis Pay card programme no longer issues new cards

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 4.5 out of 10

The score is not really about quality. On the things a card can be judged on while it works — cost, everyday use, how you fund it — Gnosis Pay scored well: 8 for cost, 8 for everyday use, 7 for top-up options. It lost the review on the one thing that decides it now: whether you can get one, and whether it will still be there next year. Both zero-availability and reliability came back at 1, and who-can-get-it scored 0. That 4.5 is an average of the criteria as they stand on publication day, with a closed programme in view, not a verdict on what the card was in its first months.

Who does it suit now? Almost nobody, except in one specific case: an existing holder with a balance sitting in the Safe who withdraws it before 20 December 2026. If you are starting from zero, there is no application to make and nothing to order.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 0 / 10 Issuance is closed: the card and web app stop working 20.12.2026, the consumer card is replaced by partner cards
Cost 8 / 10 Card issue and delivery free (the old EUR 30.23 price is outdated), no transaction fees and no FX mark-up from Gnosis Pay, Visa’s rate; ATM 2% after the free allowance
Top-up options 7 / 10 Self-custody Safe, EURe/GBPe/USDCe, USDC and EURC on Ethereum, Polygon, Gnosis Chain; unofficial: from another network you need a swap or a bridge
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 Issuer Monavate (FCA) is named, but the programme is closing: support until 18.06.2027, disputes until 12.06.2028; Trustpilot 2.3, unofficial: an exploit in June 2026
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and plastic, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATMs; unofficial: gambling categories blocked
Total 4.5 / 10 Weighted across the five criteria above

What happened to the programme

The shape of it matters, because it was not a single bad day. The issuer is Monavate Limited, issuing under a Visa Europe licence; Gnosis Pay is the trading name of Gnosis Pay Co Ltd, a UK-registered company (No. 14919639), and it acts as technical services provider and programme manager rather than issuer. Monavate is an FCA-authorised electronic money institution (FRN 901097). For non-EEA cardholders the issuer is Monavate Ltd; for EEA cardholders it is UAB Monavate under the Bank of Lithuania. Before closure, eligibility was based on legal residence in a list of selected European and Latin American countries, including Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus and more of the EEA, with a waitlist for new countries. The rule was residence, not citizenship.

The sequence of dates, all UTC:

On the rewards side, the closure notice does not describe any cashback on the current card and points to the help centre and [email protected] instead; partner programmes may run different rewards. News reporting, not official, said GNO cashback eligibility would end on 30 September 2026 with a final distribution on 7 October. If you were counting on that, check your own balance rather than the announcement.

On the product itself, the fundamentals were good, which is what makes the ending annoying. It was a Visa card, virtual (instant) and physical, settling T+1, spending EURe, GBPe and USDCe at 1:1 — a EUR 10 purchase takes 10 EURe. Gnosis Pay added no fee on conversion and no transaction fee; Visa’s exchange rate applied automatically, and the site advised choosing the local currency at terminals. Apple Pay and Google Pay were described as ready, with restrictions on rental-car agencies and automated fuel dispensers and use prohibited in certain countries.

One number needs care. A help centre page lists a card purchase fee of EUR 30.23, while the current site says card ordering and physical delivery are free. The old figure looks like a leftover; treat the current page as the one that counts. Replacement of a lost or stolen card is 4.99 EURe/GBPe/USDCe, including replacement shipping.

Verification was Sumsub in a single unified KYC flow. What documents were required, what proof of address, what minimum age — the card’s public pages do not say, so do not take any of it from me. Third-party sites, unofficial and not confirmed by the card, describe age 18+, a government ID or passport, and proof of address issued within the last three months, with approval not guaranteed. Levels, processing time and official rejection reasons: not stated.

If you already have the card

This is the section that matters most, so read it slowly. The good news is structural: the Safe is a self-custodial smart contract account on Gnosis Chain. The assets are yours. Neither Gnosis Pay nor Monavate can take them or block transfers, and you can also reach the same account through third-party Safe interfaces using your existing signer key. There is no need to trust a company’s goodwill here.

Withdrawals stay open on the web app after 20 December 2026, at app.gnosispay.com/withdraw, with no deadline stated. The official help centre page only says the web app is deprecated “by end of 2026” and that migration paths stay open “for as long as possible”; secondary reporting is more specific, saying a limited withdrawal-only web app remains and that Safe balances have no withdrawal deadline. Gnosis Pay’s own recommendation is to withdraw before 20 December 2026, and I would treat that as the real date rather than banking on the softer language. Network fees may apply to a withdrawal.

What you funded it with still stands as it was: a self-custody Safe account holding EURe, GBPe or USDCe, with USDC and EURC mentioned on Ethereum, Polygon and Gnosis Chain. Unofficial sources add that funding from a different network requires a swap or a bridge, which carries network and DEX costs, and that Gnosis Pay itself charges no top-up percentage — minimum top-up is not stated anywhere I could find. Card transactions carried no gas fee; gas applied only to on-chain transfers, such as moving funds from the Safe to another wallet.

Spending limits and cash: EUR 5,000 per regular transaction and up to EUR 8,000 per day. Atms, per a help centre page that may be outdated, were free up to five times a month or 200 EURe/GBPe/USDCe, then 2% with a minimum of 1 EUR or GBP; EUR 250 per ATM transaction and EUR 500 per day.

Before you close the tab, do the housekeeping. Export your transaction history, note the last four digits and the expiry date, and keep receipts — all of it before 20 December 2026. Recurring payments will start failing after the cutoff and cannot be moved to another card by anyone else, so move your subscriptions yourself now.

Disputes are the part people misread. Your rights for unauthorised or incorrectly executed transactions, and your card-scheme chargeback rights, are unaffected by the closure. Scheme time limits apply, so raise disputes promptly through [email protected] or the help centre. What does have an end date is Gnosis Pay’s support for refunds, disputes and chargebacks: 12 June 2028. Your statutory rights against Monavate are not limited by that date. One practical edge: refunds arriving after deactivation cannot be used on the card, so chase them early.

Support runs through help.gnosispay.com and [email protected], with [email protected] forwarded to Monavate, or [email protected]. Complaints to Monavate can be made in English or Lithuanian; hours are not stated. General cardholder support ends 18 June 2027, and partner-app questions go to the partner.

What can go wrong

The shutdown itself is the first risk, and it has sharp edges. Recurring payments fail after the cutoff. Transactions already authorised but not yet settled still complete. Refunds landing after deactivation are dead on the card.

The second risk is the public complaint record, which is poor. Trustpilot reads 2.3 out of 5, labelled “Poor”, from 38 reviews, 21 of them in the last 12 months; 58% one-star and 21% five-star. Other regional pages showed 2.5. The themes in user reports cluster into three groups: support that does not answer, with chats, tickets and emails sitting for a week or several weeks between March and July 2026; money that goes missing or gets blocked, with balances dropping after a failed payment or top-up, failed withdrawal attempts and transactions pending for more than two weeks between May and July 2026; and KYC rejections without reasons, including “country not supported” for countries the site had listed, such as Italy and Mexico, between April and August 2025 and May 2026, alongside account deactivation and login problems in June and July 2026. If any of that sounds familiar, your priority is moving the balance, not writing a ticket.

The company’s side of the story is worth hearing too. Gnosis Pay states it is not the issuer but the technical services provider and programme manager, and it frames the migration as a move to partner cards. Unofficial reporting from 24 September 2026 says MiniPay will handle migration and issue replacement cards on Gnosis Pay enterprise rails. I could not confirm any of that from the card’s own pages, so treat it as reported, not settled. And moving to a partner app is not a continuation — it is a new card programme, with a new Safe, new terms, and possibly a fresh identity or compliance check.

There is also an unofficial security item: a June 2026 exploit hit the Gnosis Pay delay module, with co-founder Koppelmann saying Gnosis would cover user losses, per The Block and LCX/Cointelegraph. Early withdrawal advice was reported as conflicting at the time, and I did not check the status of any compensation. Two details on security are simply not stated by the card: whether funds are insured, and how the freeze, unfreeze and 2FA controls work in practice. On paper the model is the good one — self-custody with your own signer key — but with a self-custodial Safe, key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware are entirely your problem.

One more thing about countries, since people ask. The rule the card itself gave was residence in listed countries. Russia appears on the restricted list where card use is prohibited and is not an eligible application country, per cryptocardhub in August 2026 — unofficial, and not confirmed by the card.

What to take instead

Three cards are still open, and each solves the problem differently. Here is how they compare on the things you would actually compare.

MetaMask (7.1 / 10) is the one I would look at first. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories — Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay among them — with other regions on a waitlist, and proof of residency required. Ineligible regions limit sign-ups, not spending, and US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per the FAQ; the citizenship rule is not stated. The card is Mastercard: a virtual card issued instantly first, a Metal card you can pre-order in the app after Virtual approval, one card per user, issuer Monavate with Crypto Life as card provider. The virtual card is free with no annual or maintenance fee; Metal is $199/year. Fees are a “minimal fee for each transaction” with the amount not stated on the pages I read, no additional MetaMask fees, no foreign transaction fee, and the Mastercard rate. It spends directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT named. Cashback is paid in mUSD into the Money Account: 1% on Virtual, a 3% headline on Metal limited by the footnote to the first $10,000 spent and 1% after that, plus a $FLY bonus of 5X on Virtual and 7X on Metal through the Blackbird dining app. Solana-only wallets cannot withdraw credit.

KAST (6.1 / 10) is the reward-heavy option with a membership structure behind it. It is residence-based, shown at KYC, and the country list is not published — the page only says that if your country is not listed, KAST is not available there, and it references a Restricted Locations list without naming countries. Citizenship and ID matter separately: living in a supported country with an ID from a restricted region may still fail KYC, dual citizens with a supported ID may pass, only your own ID is accepted, and a VPN does not bypass it. You can create an account in an unsupported country but KYC stays locked. Cards are virtual and physical, up to 10 per user: Visa Platinum Standard, Visa Infinite metal for Premium, Visa Infinite gold plated for Private, with Pengu, Solana and Bitcoin designs, balance in USD and stablecoin deposits converted 1:1 at 0% spread. Costs are where it bites: Standard 0 USD, Premium 1,000 USD/year, Private 10,000 USD/year, billed annually upfront with no monthly option; an extra virtual card 2 USD, and in some regions 2 USD also on included Standard virtual cards; a Standard physical card at 0 USD card fee plus 40 USD delivery, Premium and Private physical cards included; a 1 USD/month inactivity fee after 12 months, with renewal and reactivation fees that are not stated. On fees it is very clean — 0% stablecoin top-up, 0% card spend in USD, 0% transaction fee, 0% Apple and Google Pay — but with a 0.5% to 1.75% non-USD FX fee depending on your residence, transaction country and programme, 0.10 USD on non-USD transactions under 25 USD, and 0.50 USD for a declined transaction on insufficient balance. Funding is USDT, USDC, PYUSD and RLUSD, with USDT and USDC on Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum and TRON; the terms say acceptable tokens are “currently USDT and USDC”, which conflicts with the app listing. Cashback is USD: Standard 1.5% on the first 2,000 USD a month, Premium 2% on the first 10,000, Private 3% on the first 40,000, plus KAST Points of none, +1% and +2% of eligible spend, paid when a transaction is authorised.

TokenPocket (5.8 / 10) is the narrowest of the three. It offers a Visa debit for a list of European countries and territories such as Germany, France, Spain and Switzerland, and a Mastercard debit for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and the UK, with the Americas planned. It runs on Arbitrum, Fiat24 cards are virtual with no physical card mentioned, and balances are in EUR24 and USD24. The NFT creation fee is partly covered by TokenPocket and you pay “a small portion” — the amount is not stated — and apart from that the card charges no additional fees. But a 1% fee is charged when depositing cryptocurrency into the card, refunded later through rewards or reduced transaction fees. No cashback is stated, and the FX fee is not stated; extra fees can come from inter-institution settlement.

Gnosis Pay (closing) MetaMask KAST TokenPocket
Score 4.5 / 10 7.1 / 10 6.1 / 10 5.8 / 10
Status Consumer card closes 20 Dec 2026 Open in 45 listed countries Open, residence-based Open for listed European and Asia-Pacific countries
Network Visa Mastercard Visa Visa and Mastercard
Card form Virtual and plastic Virtual first, Metal option Virtual and physical, up to 10 Virtual
Card cost Free; replacement 4.99 Virtual free, Metal $199/year 0 to 10,000 USD/year by tier Small portion of an NFT creation fee
Main fee catch ATM 2% after free allowance Per-transaction fee, amount not stated Non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75%; annual tiers 1% on crypto deposits
Cashback Not described on the current card 1% Virtual, up to 3% Metal in mUSD 1.5% to 3% USD by tier, capped monthly None stated; deposit fee refunded via rewards
Currency EURe, GBPe, USDCe Not stated USD EUR24, USD24

One general note on the category while you compare. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX” in November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. A brand you have never heard of disappearing overnight is not an aberration. It is what the licence structure allows.

Who I would recommend it to

If you already hold the card and have money in it: withdraw before 20 December 2026, export your history, note the last four digits and expiry, move any recurring payments, and keep receipts for anything you might dispute. That is the whole play, and it is a good one, because your Safe is yours.

If you do not hold it: skip it. There is nothing to apply for, and no reason to open a Safe for a card that stops working in a fixed number of weeks.

If you want a replacement and live in one of MetaMask’s 45 listed countries with proof of residency you can supply, that is where I would start — free virtual card, no FX mark-up from the brand, cashback from day one. If you are chasing the highest cashback rate and can afford the tier, KAST’s Premium and Private levels are the better economics, at the cost of an annual bill and a fussy FX fee outside the dollar. TokenPocket suits someone already living inside the Arbitrum side of that wallet with a Virtual-only need.

And a caution for all of it. Before trusting any of these names with money, it is worth checking the register — ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, white papers and non-compliant entities, and under the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation only credit institutions and electronic money institutions may issue e-money tokens, while the card itself sits under separate payment-services law. Gnosis Pay’s own issuer was an FCA-authorised electronic money institution, which is the kind of thing worth confirming for whatever replaces it. This is not legal or tax advice; if you need that, talk to a professional in your own country.

Frequently asked questions

What was the Gnosis Pay card?

It was a Visa debit-style card funded from a self-custody Safe smart account on Gnosis Chain, spending EURe, GBPe or USDCe at 1:1 with no transaction fee and no conversion mark-up from Gnosis Pay. It came as an instant virtual card and a physical one, worked with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and was issued by Monavate Limited under a Visa Europe licence while Gnosis Pay acted as programme manager.

Is Gnosis Pay a bank?

No. Gnosis Pay is the trading name of Gnosis Pay Co Ltd, a UK-registered company (No. 14919639), and it described itself as technical services provider and programme manager, not issuer. The issuer was Monavate Limited, an FCA-authorised electronic money institution (FRN 901097), with UAB Monavate under the Bank of Lithuania for EEA cardholders. That is an e-money institution, not a bank, and funds held as e-money are not the same as bank deposits.

Who owns Gnosis Pay?

The company behind the name is Gnosis Pay Co Ltd, registered in the UK under number 14919639. The card itself was issued by Monavate Limited, and Gnosis Pay described itself as the programme manager rather than the issuer. In practice that meant one company ran the app and the brand while a licensed institution carried the regulatory licence behind the card.

Can I still apply for the card?

No. Issuance is closed, which is why the who-can-get-it criterion scored 0 out of 10. The consumer card and web app stop working at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026 and are replaced by partner cards. Before closure eligibility was based on legal residence in selected European and Latin American countries, with a waitlist for others — so residence, not citizenship, was the rule.

Why is Gnosis Pay shutting down?

The reasons given publicly are limited; the facts are the dates. A formal closure notice for the consumer card and web app was posted on 21 September 2026, following a shift in focus toward B2B card issuing pitched on 7 September 2026 with Startup and Enterprise tiers. Unofficial reporting says MiniPay will handle migration and issue replacement cards on Gnosis Pay enterprise rails. I found no official statement of a root cause.

What happens to my Gnosis Pay balance after the card stops working?

Your assets sit in a self-custodial Safe, so they remain yours and neither Gnosis Pay nor Monavate can take them or block transfers. Withdrawals stay open on the web app at app.gnosispay.com/withdraw after 20 December 2026, with no deadline stated, and network fees may apply. Gnosis Pay recommends withdrawing before that date, and that is the safer plan.

How long do I have to withdraw?

The card stops authorising and the web app closes to everything but withdrawals at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026. The official help centre only says the app is deprecated “by end of 2026” and that migration paths stay open “for as long as possible”, which is softer. Treat 20 December as the date and do not rely on the vaguer wording. Export your transaction history before then and keep receipts.

Can I still get a refund or dispute a transaction after the closure?

Your rights are unaffected: unauthorised or incorrectly executed transactions and card-scheme chargeback rights continue, with the scheme’s own time limits, so raise anything promptly through [email protected] or the help centre. What ends is Gnosis Pay’s support for refunds, disputes and chargebacks, on 12 June 2028. Refunds that arrive after deactivation cannot be used on the card, and authorised-but-unsettled transactions still complete.

What do I do about recurring payments and Apple Pay?

Recurring payments start failing after the cutoff and cannot be moved to another card for you, so re-issue every subscription and direct debit now rather than in December. Apple Pay and Google Pay were supported on the card, and the issuer can restrict a tokenised number, so do not assume a wallet entry will keep working once the underlying card stops authorising.

Was the Gnosis Pay card free?

The current site says card ordering and physical card shipping are free, though an older help centre page lists a card purchase fee of EUR 30.23 — treat the old figure as outdated. Gnosis Pay charged no transaction fee and no added FX fee, and fiat and stablecoin converted 1:1, with Visa’s exchange rate applying automatically. Atms were free up to five times a month or 200 EURe/GBPe/USDCe, then 2% with a minimum of 1 EUR or GBP.

Is Gnosis Pay safe for my money?

The custody model was the strong point: a self-custodial Safe on Gnosis Chain with your own signer key, accessible through third-party Safe interfaces too. The weak points were the complaint record — Trustpilot 2.3 out of 5 with reports of unanswered support and blocked funds — and an unofficial report of a June 2026 exploit on the delay module, with Gnosis saying it would cover losses. Whether funds are insured is not stated, and with self-custody, key loss and phishing are your responsibility alone.

What should I use instead of Gnosis Pay?

For most people in a supported country, MetaMask: open in 45 listed countries and territories, free virtual Mastercard issued instantly, spending straight from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, no FX mark-up from the brand, and 1% cashback on Virtual rising to a 3% headline on the $199/year Metal card. KAST pays more cashback but adds annual membership from 1,000 USD and an FX fee outside the dollar; TokenPocket is Virtual-only on Arbitrum and charges 1% on crypto deposits.

Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team