The score is 5.0 out of 10, and the reason is not the card — it is what the card will not tell you.

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have been searching for an ordinary bank card and been turned down — or you would simply rather not open a second bank relationship to pay for groceries — then the Pyypl card is exactly the kind of thing you have probably come across. It is a prepaid Visa, it lives in an app, and it is marketed to people who want to spend from a crypto balance without touching a bank. On paper that is a real need, and Pyypl does appear to serve it in a narrow set of countries.

Pyypl works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

So this is a review, not a sales page. I went through the card’s own public pages, its legal pages, its support material, the regulator references it makes, and the user complaints that are published about it. My score is 5.0 out of 10 — and I want to be straight about why that is not a mid-range shrug. It is a card with no monthly fee and a decent daily-use story, sitting inside a company whose published terms are thinner than the app and whose users, in large numbers, describe the same handful of problems. The card is not the weak part. Disclosure and complaint handling are.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.0 / 10, and the split matters more than the total

Here is the score criterion by criterion, exactly as I assessed it.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 3 / 10 Services are for residents of countries where Pyypl is licensed: UAE, Bahrain, Kazakhstan
Cost 7 / 10 “No monthly fees”; issuance is not disclosed, conversion fee “may apply” by country, amounts only in the app; unofficial: ATMs worldwide
Top-up options 3 / 10 Methods are “supported methods in your country” and are not listed; Binance Pay is not confirmed (an earlier check said Binance Pay with USDT converted to USD)
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Pyypl Ltd, licence FSRA No. 170031 (ADGM), also Central Bank of Bahrain and AFSA (Kazakhstan); complaints about frozen funds and blocks, Trustpilot 2.8 out of 5, 828 reviews
Everyday use 7 / 10 Prepaid Visa, digital card in the app, Apple Pay and Google Pay available; physical card not mentioned
Total 5.0 / 10 A cheap, workable payment card wrapped in thin disclosure and a heavy complaint tail

Let me put that in plain terms, because a single number hides more than it shows.

Who this suits. Residents of the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan who want a prepaid Visa, want to spend from a crypto balance, and are comfortable treating the balance as money held by a company rather than money in a bank. If you travel, or you pay in several currencies, the app-plus-mobile-wallet setup is genuinely convenient. If a bank account is not available to you, this may be the practical card you get.

Who this does not suit. Anyone who needs to know what a fee is before they pay it. Anyone who needs a physical card for a payment terminal that demands one. Anyone whose main worry is that their money is safe when the provider stops answering — which is precisely what the complaints describe. And anyone outside those three countries: the card is not offered to you, whatever the broader marketing language may suggest.

Here is my honest conflict-of-interest note. I have not used this card and I do not hold a balance with Pyypl. Everything below is what I could verify from what the company publishes and what its users have written publicly.

Will they give you the card to someone in your country?

No, not unless you live in one of three countries. This is the first question and it is more restrictive than the marketing tends to be.

Pyypl’s legal page states: “Pyypl services are currently available to residents of the countries in which we are licensed” — UAE, Bahrain, Kazakhstan. That is the rule. It is based on residence, not citizenship, and it is narrower than at least one of Pyypl’s own materials, which speaks of the Middle East, Africa and Central Asia. Where two official sources disagree, I take the legal page, because that is the one that binds you.

The support centre adds a softer version of the same point: services “vary” by location. Its country article does not name any countries. So if you read that and hoped to find your own, the silence is the answer.

Where you live What the card’s own pages say
UAE Licensed market; services available
Bahrain Licensed market; services available (Central Bank of Bahrain)
Kazakhstan Licensed market; services available (Astana Financial Services Authority)
Anywhere else Not covered by the legal page’s wording

One thing worth understanding, because it is general to this whole category and it explains why country rules are never casual. When you pay, the shop can look up the first six or eight digits of your card number — the issuer identification number — and see which institution and which country issued it. If that country differs from the address you gave the shop, some merchants apply extra scrutiny, and some decline prepaid cards outright. A card issued in one country genuinely can look “foreign” in another. This is not a Pyypl quirk; it is how card networks work, and it is one reason the list of countries is a real limit rather than a formality.

How to get it

If you are in one of the three countries, the sign-up is phone-first, and the card’s pitch is speed.

You need a smartphone, a valid mobile number, a valid identity document and a selfie. Pyypl says you can “open your account in minutes using just your phone and ID”. There is a minimum age, but the figure is not stated on the pages I read. Proof of address is not mentioned.

What you get is a prepaid Visa, issued digitally in the app. The card currency is USD and cannot be changed. A physical card is not mentioned on the pages I read, and delivery details are not stated — so treat “no plastic” as the working assumption rather than a temporary gap. There is one tier: a single prepaid card, with features that vary by market.

Verification is the part that catches people out. Features unlock after verification, and your “verification level” affects your limits. The tiers are not named. Processing “may take sometime if additional checks are required” — that is the company’s own phrasing, and it is doing a lot of work. Reasons for rejection are not stated.

If you have been turned away by banks before, this part will feel familiar and possibly reassuring: identity checks here are routine rather than discretionary, because a licensed e-money provider is required to run them. What that verification buys you is a defined level, and what it costs you is time and a limit ceiling that the app decides, not you.

Fees: what it really costs you

“No monthly fees” is true and is the strongest thing about this card. It is also the least useful thing about it, because the fees that actually bite are the ones charged per transaction, and those are exactly what the public pages do not publish.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Pyypl payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Foreign-currency payments are converted to the USD card base at the moment of the transaction. An international or FX fee or markup “may apply” depending on the country, and the amounts are not published. The crypto conversion fee is not stated. The issuance fee is not stated. The support centre says card, replacement-card and inactivity fees may apply by country and product, with amounts visible only in the app under Profile > Fees.

So here is the honest picture: the card’s cost structure is not hidden, it is simply not written down in public.

Fee or limit What Pyypl publishes
Issuance fee Not stated
Monthly fee “No monthly fees”
Conversion fee (crypto to balance) Not stated
Foreign-currency / FX fee “May apply” by country; amounts not published
Card, replacement-card and inactivity fees May apply by country and product; amounts only in the app
ATM fee Not stated on official pages
Top-up limit Figures only in the app (Profile/Settings)
Per-transaction limit Depends on country, verification level and regulation
Daily, monthly, yearly spend limits Depend on country, verification level and regulation; figures only in the app
Send / withdraw limits Depend on country and product; crypto withdrawal not stated

Now the part I would want if I were you: three everyday payments, and what actually applies to each.

A coffee in dollars, in your own country. The card is USD-denominated, so even this may be a conversion if your local currency is not the dollar. Expect the FX rate used by the network plus a possible markup. The markup amount is unknown to you in advance. This is the payment where the missing number matters most, because it is the one you make most often.

A subscription or an online purchase in dollars. Same conversion logic. Add 3-D Secure, which is the identity step your issuer may challenge you with — a one-time code or a biometric prompt. If the merchant also runs an address check, be aware that address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines.

A purchase abroad, in a currency that is not dollars. Two conversions can stack in your head: your currency into dollars, then the merchant’s price in dollars. Neither the network rate nor Pyypl’s markup is published. The card’s USD base “cannot be changed”, so this is structural, not a setting you can fix.

There is one more everyday-money number nobody will tell you publicly: limits. They exist for top-up, per transaction, daily, monthly and yearly spend, and for sending and withdrawing. They depend on your country, your verification level and local regulation, and the figures live only in the app. A card with no monthly fee and an unexpectedly low ceiling still costs you, in the currency that matters most to you.

One unofficial note, flagged as such: a third-party listing describes ATM withdrawals worldwide, and the same listing says Mastercard, which conflicts with the Visa named by Pyypl. I would not plan around it.

Top up: the part I would test before committing

Here is my main reservation, and it is the reason this review lands at 5.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Pyypl starts with a transfer to the right network

Pyypl’s app has a Top-up section offering “Supported methods in your country”, and the methods are not listed. Binance Pay is not mentioned in current material; an earlier check of Pyypl’s own descriptions said Binance Pay with USDT converted to USD. So the route you were probably told about in a video may not be the route you will find.

Some methods are instant; others “may take 1-3 business days”. Fees and minimums are not stated. Send and withdraw fees and limits depend on country and product, and crypto withdrawal is not stated at all. What happens to a remaining balance if you close the account is not stated either — and that last silence is the one to sit with.

Before you move anything, open the app and read three things: the list of methods your country actually has, the fee attached to each, and the minimum. Then read the withdrawal screen for what it costs to get money back out. If any of those are blank, you are looking at a card you cannot cost in advance, and that is worth knowing before you depend on it.

One thing to keep in mind for any crypto top-up, Pyypl or otherwise: the transfer happens on a blockchain you choose, and blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery through support with no guarantee. Check the network and the address twice. Also note that on-chain network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so they sit outside anything Pyypl shows you.

Worth knowing about the coins themselves, since this is where most confusion lives: Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are US-dollar-pegged, and the BIS put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in those two as of July 2025. Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and fully backed by cash and cash equivalents, with monthly reserve attestations. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. And stablecoins can lose their peg — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis.

Paying with it every day

The day-to-day mechanics are the strongest part of this card, and I want to be fair about that.

It is a prepaid Visa, which means it draws on a stored balance rather than asking a bank to pull money from a linked account at the moment of purchase. In the “pre-loaded balance” model you convert or top up first, and the card spends only that balance — so it cannot overdraw. If that model suits you, that is a real safety property, and it is the honest reason to like prepaid cards.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported — Pyypl says “Add your card to Apple Pay or Google Pay”. When you pay with a phone wallet, the card number is replaced by a device-specific number held in the phone’s secure hardware, never on the vendor’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic code. That is a good arrangement. It also means a single in-app freeze does not necessarily stop a phone-wallet payment, so freeze the card itself if that is your concern.

There are apps for Android and iPhone; store ratings could not be read on 2026-10-21, so I am not going to quote an average I could not verify. Blocked merchant categories are not stated. Cashback is not stated — there is no rewards programme mentioned. Disputes are not stated for the card itself: a gift-card refund article exists, and the Terms point to product-specific terms, which is where your real rights will or will not be.

Two everyday realities to keep in mind. Merchants can decline a card whose BIN shows a prepaid product or an unexpected issuer country, and that is more common for crypto cards than for ordinary bank cards. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your money for several days — typically up to seven — which is worth knowing if you are living on a fixed balance.

What can go wrong

This is the section that moved the score, and I want to lay out the evidence rather than the mood.

First, what the company says about itself. Pyypl Ltd is incorporated in the Abu Dhabi Global Market (registration number 000001116) and holds an FSRA Licence No. 170031 “for providing money services”. It is also regulated by the Central Bank of Bahrain and the Astana Financial Services Authority in Kazakhstan. It says plainly: “We are not a bank, and balances … are not deposits.” The card is issued by Pyypl under its principal Visa membership. In other words, your money sits with an e-money institution, not a bank — and deposit protection does not come with that. The company notes that features are PCI DSS compliant, encrypted and monitored for fraud around the clock, and that you can freeze and unfreeze the card in the app and receive spend notifications. Safeguarding arrangements are not stated.

Second, the complaints. I found no official incidents. What I found were user reports, and they cluster tightly:

The Trustpilot picture, read on 2026-10-21: TrustScore 2.5 out of 5 across 828 reviews, 11 of them in the last twelve months, with 5 stars at 46% and 1 star at 39%. The review count moved between 821 and 828 across snippets, so treat the totals as approximate and the distribution as the meaningful part.

Third, why this combination is structural rather than bad luck. Custody is the issue. With a custodial wallet, the provider holds the credentials and you must trust the provider completely; a seed phrase is an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen key has no built-in recovery — the network cannot freeze or return the money. This is not theoretical: Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen in 2011 to 2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk, and Pyypl’s business is custodial prepaid e-money.

Fourth, the category’s own history. Programmes do close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. A closure typically means a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances — which is exactly the moment when a frozen-balance complaint and a programme shutdown look identical from the outside.

Support, when you need it, is an in-app Help Center with a bot first and then a human agent, plus a web form via the contact page. Bot first matters: if your issue is a frozen balance, expect to argue through the front line first.

And a practical note that is not Pyypl’s fault but will land on you: how you treat a card payment funded from crypto can be a taxable event. Digital assets are generally treated as property, so swapping them for goods or dollars produces a gain or loss, measured in local currency at the fair market value on the date. Each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. That is not advice — it is a reason to keep records.

What to take instead

There is no single alternative that matches Pyypl, because Pyypl’s real differentiator is residence in three specific countries. But four options came up in comparison, and here is how they line up. Scores are mine, on the same ten-point scale.

Option Score Cost Foreign exchange Card form
Pyypl 5.0 / 10 “No monthly fees”; issuance not stated “May apply” by country; amounts not published Prepaid Visa, digital in app
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 Virtual card issuance $5 one-time, no maintenance fee; Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “Coming soon”
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 “No annual fee”; issuance fee not stated “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee”; converted at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates” Multicurrency, Mastercard network; physical/virtual not stated
Morse 7.5 / 10 Issuance and monthly fee not stated (“Fees may apply. See Cardholder Agreement”) “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups”, real-time Visa rate Visa prepaid debit, “fully virtual for now”

International Visa Card, at 6.7, is the one with the most transparent pricing in this set, which is why it beats Pyypl on my scale. It pays in USD, its card use in USD is free on all plans, and deposits of any kind carry no fee; you can fund it with USDC or USDT into the USD account and also by USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT or FedNow. No cashback is stated. But read its eligibility before you get excited: account and card are not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case, and purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The rule is by residence or registration, and citizenship is not mentioned.

Morse, at 7.5, has the cleanest exchange-rate story in this comparison: “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups” at the real-time Visa rate, and paying online and contactless with the card is free. It is a Visa prepaid debit, fully virtual for now, spending from Morse Balance in any currency. Deposits by debit card or stablecoin transfer, with USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana free and other tokens or blockchains carrying a fee; the Morse Wallet is self-custodial, which is the meaningful difference from Pyypl. Its catch is access: eligibility is by residence, users must be at least 18 and resident in a supported country, the app is available in over 140 countries for P2P, and a list of countries in closed beta need an invite code — among them Australia, Hong Kong SAR China, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, Türkiye, the United Kingdom and the United States’ American Samoa. Morse says it cannot serve customers subject to US sanctions, or those of the UK, EU and UN.

UNi Card, at 6.1, is a multicurrency card on the Mastercard network spending from the UNi.Global balance, with no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, converted at live OTC rates with “no hidden exchange fees”. It is the only one of the four offering stated rewards: “Spend-to-Earn rewards” up to 3% with the card. Eligibility and funding are not stated, which is the same disclosure gap that holds Pyypl down.

One structural point about all of them, because it explains why the fee line looks so different from card to card. A card payment involves several parties: the network routes the messages and sets the rules, the issuer holds the card programme under the network’s licence, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front-end. Visa and Mastercard do not themselves issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. In the EU an electronic money institution can issue e-money, cards and wallets but cannot lend, and a card is regulated separately from the crypto side — MiCA covers custody, exchange and transfer, while the card is payment-services law, which is why a crypto card often depends on two licences. If you want to check a provider, ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, white papers and non-compliant entities.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Pyypl to someone in the UAE, Bahrain or Kazakhstan who has decided they want a prepaid Visa spending from a crypto balance, who does not mind that fees are only visible inside the app, and who will not be caught out by having no plastic card. I would recommend it least to anyone planning to hold a meaningful balance for a long time, and I would not recommend it at all as a primary everyday card for someone who needs predictable limits, published fees, or a responsive answer when money is stuck.

The specific things I would check myself, in this order:

If you are outside those three countries, none of the above applies, and the honest answer is that this is not a card for you. If you are inside them and your main requirement is a card that costs nothing to keep, it does that part well. The rest of it — the published fees, the withdrawal route, the complaints tail — is where you decide whether it earns a place in your life.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Pyypl card?

It is a prepaid Visa issued by Pyypl Ltd, an Abu Dhabi-based e-money institution. You open an account in an app, verify with a phone number, an ID document and a selfie, and receive a digital card that spends from a balance you top up first. The card currency is US dollars and cannot be changed. Pyypl is not a bank, and balances are not deposits.

How does the Pyypl card work?

It works like a prepaid card rather than a debit card: the balance is loaded first, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. You can add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay. Payments in other currencies are converted to the USD base at the time of the transaction, and an international or FX fee or markup may apply depending on the country.

Is Pyypl a bank, and who owns it?

No, Pyypl says plainly that it is not a bank and that balances are not deposits. Pyypl Ltd is incorporated in the Abu Dhabi Global Market, registration number 000001116, with FSRA Licence No. 170031 for providing money services. It is also regulated by the Central Bank of Bahrain and the Astana Financial Services Authority in Kazakhstan, and issues the card under its own Visa membership.

Is Pyypl available in my country?

Only in the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan. Pyypl’s legal page says services are currently available to residents of the countries in which it is licensed, which is residence-based rather than citizenship-based. That is narrower than other Pyypl material claiming the Middle East, Africa and Central Asia, and the support centre only says services vary by location without naming any countries.

Does Pyypl require KYC, and what do I need to sign up?

Yes. You need a smartphone, a valid mobile number, a valid identity document and a selfie; the company says you can open an account in minutes using just your phone and ID. A minimum age exists but the figure is not stated, and proof of address is not mentioned. Features unlock after verification, and your verification level affects your limits.

How do I top up the Pyypl card?

Through the Top-up section of the app, using “supported methods in your country” — the card’s public pages do not list what those are. Some methods are instant, others may take 1 to 3 business days. Fees and minimums are not stated. An earlier check mentioned Binance Pay with USDT converted to USD, but current material does not confirm it, so check the app rather than a video.

How much does the Pyypl card cost to keep and to use?

The monthly fee is the one number you get: “No monthly fees”. Issuance is not stated, and card, replacement-card and inactivity fees may apply by country and product with amounts only in the app. Foreign-currency payments are converted to the USD base at transaction time and an FX fee or markup may apply by country, unpublished. Limits vary by country and verification level.

Is the Pyypl card safe?

Pyypl describes PCI DSS compliance, encryption, 24/7 fraud monitoring, in-app freeze and unfreeze, and spend notifications. What is not stated is safeguarding of customer funds, and since Pyypl is not a bank, balances are not bank deposits. The category has a real record of frozen funds and locked accounts: Trustpilot showed 2.5 out of 5 from 828 reviews on 2026-10-21, with themes of frozen balances and unprocessed refunds.

Can I use the Pyypl card abroad and at ATMs?

You can spend abroad, but the card converts to its USD base at the transaction rate and a country-dependent FX fee or markup may apply, with no published amount. ATM availability and fees are not stated on the official pages. One third-party listing mentions worldwide ATM withdrawals but names Mastercard, contradicting the Visa Pyypl states, so treat it as unofficial and unconfirmed.

Is a Pyypl card worth it?

For a resident of the UAE, Bahrain or Kazakhstan who wants a prepaid Visa spending from crypto and values a zero monthly fee, it may be. Against that, you get no published issuance or FX figures, no stated physical card, a payout route whose fees are unstated, and a complaint history dominated by frozen funds. Test a small deposit and try to withdraw it before you rely on the card.

Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team