A virtual dollar card for Nigeria, with most of the numbers missing
If you have ever tried to get an ordinary bank card and could not — because of where you live, what documents you hold, or how your bank looks at your account — then a card like PowerPay is exactly the kind of thing you go looking for. The idea is simple: hold crypto, spend the value in dollars through a virtual card in your phone. The appeal is obvious. So is the catch: almost none of the numbers you would need to make a decision are published.
I went through PowerPay’s own public pages, its App Store listing and its terms, and compared them with what other cards in this category actually publish. My score for the card is 4.0 out of 10. That is not a score for a scam — I found no complaints and no incidents — it is a score for how much you can actually find out before handing over your documents and your money. PowerPay tells you a surprising amount about *what* it does, and almost nothing about *what it charges*, *who issues the card*, or *who you are dealing with if it goes wrong*.
Who this suits: someone in Nigeria who already holds crypto, wants a dollar card, is comfortable with a virtual-only product inside an app, and is not put off by having to ask support what the fees are. Who it does not suit: anyone shopping on a published price list, anyone who needs a physical card, anyone outside the countries the app is aimed at, and anyone who plans to hold a meaningful balance on the platform for long.
The table below is the whole scorecard. Each row is one criterion, with the reason as I read it.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | The app is aimed at Nigeria; the site also mentions Kenyan shillings and Ghanaian cedis (earlier check: Nigeria, Kenya, Ghana) |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Fees are not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Selling crypto for balance in NGN/KES/GHS and topping up the card (earlier check: USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH); networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Operated by PowerPay Limited (Abuja); issuer and licences not named; no complaints found, App Store 5.0 from 1 rating |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Virtual card in USD, limit up to $10,000; Apple Pay and Google Pay, plastic card and ATM not disclosed |
| Total | 4.0 / 10 | A working idea published as a thin document |
*Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.*
Will they give you the card
Short answer: probably, if you are in Nigeria and you can pass identity checks — the site’s own pages never state an eligibility list, so I cannot tell you more than that.
Here is the honest version. PowerPay’s site does not state who can get the card. What it does do is point at three currencies: the naira, the Kenyan shilling and the Ghanaian cedi. An earlier check of the site named the same three countries — Nigeria, Kenya and Ghana. The App Store listing describes the product as “Nigeria’s all-in-one app”. The terms are governed by Nigerian law. So the plain reading is that this is a Nigerian product with some presence in two neighbouring markets, and that the legal relationship you enter into, whatever country you sit in, is a Nigerian one.
That last point deserves a moment of your attention, because it is the kind of detail that decides whether a card is workable for you. If you live in a third country, you are not being told “no” anywhere; you are being left to infer from three currency symbols. And if you do end up holding an account with a Nigerian company while living somewhere else, the contract, the complaint route and the arbitration all sit in that jurisdiction, not yours.
What checking actually involves
PowerPay describes its identity checks as basic KYC. You need a government-issued ID — the listing names the National Identity Card, NIN and BVN — plus proof of address, which the material describes as a utility bill or bank statement. A valid mobile phone number is required. The age requirement is not stated.
Then there is a second layer. Alongside basic KYC, PowerPay refers to Enhanced Due Diligence for high-risk customers, which means checks on the source of funds. The tiers, the limits attached to each tier, and how long any of it takes are not stated.
For anyone who has been through this before, none of that is alarming — it is the standard shape of a regulated fintech onboarding. But it does mean the card sits inside a compliance structure rather than a simple app, and that structure decides things like whether your funds can be frozen while questions are answered. More on that later in the section on what can go wrong.
How to get it
Short answer: you download the app, complete the checks above, and the card is described as instant and virtual — but there is no stated delivery or activation procedure to follow, because there is no physical card to wait for.
PowerPay is on the App Store under the name PowerPay Ng, and on Google Play. In the App Store it was read on 2026-10-21 at a rating of 5.0 — from exactly one rating. I want to be careful with that number, because it is the kind of figure that looks impressive and tells you nothing. One rating is not feedback; it is a rounding error. I would treat it as evidence that there is essentially no public review history either way.
The card itself is described as an “Instant virtual card” in US dollars. The card network is not stated anywhere I could read — not Visa, not Mastercard, and nothing else. The delivery time is not stated, which follows from the card being virtual.
That network gap is not a triviality. How a card gets accepted, which merchants refuse it, whether it works with 3-D Secure, whether online payments pass address verification — all of that flows from the card scheme and the issuing bank, and the public pages here name neither. If online payments are what you need most, you are buying on faith.
So the honest shape of the answer is: the application flow is standard — download, verify, receive a virtual card in the app — but I could not verify any specific step of it from the public pages, and neither, from what I can see, can you without asking.
Fees and costs: what it really costs
Short answer: I cannot tell you, and neither can you from the public pages. That is the single biggest problem with this card, and it is why my Cost mark is a five rather than anything lower or higher.

PowerPay’s public pages do not state the cost of issuance, a monthly fee, conversion fees, foreign-exchange fees, or ATM fees. The App Store listing says “Competitive rates on every swap and sale” and gives no figure. The card is presented as a single product, with no tiers listed — no free tier, no paid tier, nothing to compare.
Here is what the table can honestly contain. Where a cell is empty, I have left it empty rather than filling it with a guess or a figure from a different card:
| Fee or limit | PowerPay’s stated position |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Conversion fee | Not stated — “Competitive rates on every swap and sale”, no figure |
| FX / currency fee | Not stated |
| ATM | Not stated |
| Daily limit | Not stated; per-KYC limits not stated |
| Monthly limit | Not stated |
| Card spending threshold | Up to $10,000 |
Read that table again and notice how much of it is blank. That is not me being cautious. That is what is published.
Three everyday payments, walked through
Since the fee schedule is not published, the most useful thing I can do is show you where the costs *hide* — the places where you could be charged without seeing a price list — and let you judge the size of the risk yourself.
Paying for a coffee in Lagos, dollar card, naira balance. You are spending from a balance that started as crypto and passed through a naira wallet figure. Three things can happen here. First, the crypto-to-wallet conversion on the way in, at whatever rate PowerPay calls “competitive” and does not print. Second, the wallet-to-card loading, which may or may not carry its own cost. Third, the purchase itself, where a merchant decides whether to accept a prepaid card from an issuer country that may differ from your address. None of these numbers are published. If you pay this coffee every weekday for a year, the unknown is being multiplied by two hundred.
Paying for a subscription service from outside your country. Here the currency question bites. The card is in USD, so a merchant charging in naira or euros may present your payment in another currency, and whether PowerPay adds a markup, passes the network rate through, or absorbs the spread is not stated. This is the single most common hidden cost on any card of this kind, and it is exactly the one nobody has printed.
Paying at a shop abroad, or taking money out of an ATM. The card is virtual, so ATM withdrawal is not described anywhere. You cannot assume it exists, and if it does, the fee is not published. If you were planning this card as a travel money substitute, there is nothing here to plan against.
The wider point is not that PowerPay is expensive. I have no basis to say that — no published fees is not published high fees. It is that an unknown fee is worse than a high one, because a high one can be compared against another card and a bad one cannot be compared at all. When I scored reliability I gave five out of ten partly for this reason: not because complaints exist, but because you are asked to trust a price that is not on display.
If you do decide to use this card, the fee schedule is the first thing to ask support, before you move anything. That is not a trick and there is nothing to work around: it is the plain arithmetic of a purchase you cannot price.
Top up
Short answer: you sell crypto for a wallet balance in naira, Kenyan shillings or Ghanaian cedis, and then fund the card from that balance — but the specific coins, networks and fees are not spelled out.

PowerPay’s model is the “sell, then load” shape common to crypto cards: you sell crypto for a balance in your local currency, then move that balance onto the card. An earlier check of the app listed USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH as the coins involved. The current public pages name the currencies — NGN, KES, GHS in the wallet, USD on the card — but not the networks those coins arrive on, and not the top-up fees.
That word “networks” deserves weight, because it is where crypto users lose money by accident, not through fraud. A stablecoin like USDT exists in several different versions on different blockchains, and sending the wrong one to a deposit address is how funds disappear. Circle, for instance, stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. If PowerPay supports only some chains and does not name them, you cannot know which to pick. Blockchain transfers are generally irreversible, and a deposit sent on an unsupported network may be lost or may need manual support recovery with no guarantee attached.
Two more things sit alongside the top-up route. The app names Paystack, Flutterwave and Kora as its payment collection partners — which tells you what rails a bank transfer or card-funded purchase might ride on, but not the cost of using them. And the withdrawal side is not stated at all: how you get money back out, and what that costs, is not in the public material. The terms do say that PowerPay may place a lien restricting access to funds, which I will come back to in the risks section.
The question I would ask before a first transfer is simple: which networks, which coins, and what does each step cost. There is no trick to it — you either get a straight answer or you learn something important about the product before you send anything.
Paying with it every day
Short answer: it is a virtual dollar card, Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and beyond that the everyday experience is mostly undocumented.
Let’s take what you can rely on. The card is virtual, so it lives in your phone rather than your wallet. PowerPay’s site lists Apple Pay and Google Pay among the features, which is the practical difference between a card you have to copy the number for at every checkout and one you tap. The spending threshold is quoted as up to $10,000 for the virtual card. Wallets are not stated, so I cannot tell you how many cards you can hold, whether you can issue more than one, or whether you can name them.
What is not stated is the list of things people actually want to know. Physical card: not disclosed. ATM withdrawal: not disclosed. Whether the card can be set to accept only online transactions, or only contactless: not stated. Spending categories blocked, spending caps per card, merchant category rules: not stated. Rewards or cashback: not stated. Whether the card works at foreign merchants on a foreign-issued BIN: not stated, and the answers differ a lot between cards.
Some of this is standard, and you may reasonably assume the app does the ordinary things. But you should know *why* you may reasonably assume it: because every card in this category does. That is an argument from the category, not from PowerPay.
If disputes do come up, the terms have a shape. Unresolved matters go to arbitration in English before a sole arbitrator. Product complaints go to the merchant — which is a real and slightly deflating answer, because it means a complaint about the product itself has no obvious path except the arbitrator. The time frames are not stated. Support is at [email protected].
What can go wrong
Short answer: nothing alarming has surfaced, but three genuine risks apply to the card: funds the platform can restrict, the counterparty risk of a custodial wallet, and the risk of losing funds through network errors.
First, I found no incidents and no user complaints. My search returned only generic Nigerian virtual-card guides. That is reassuring, and I want to give it its proper weight — but it is thin evidence. A product with essentially no public review history has not been proven safe; it has not been proven anything. The one App Store rating does not move that needle.
Second, the company picture is incomplete. The app is operated by PowerPay Limited, at Plot 1954, Apo, Abuja – FCT. The App Store developer name is ODDVPN TECHNOLOGY LTD, which is a different string from the operating company — that may be entirely normal for an app built by a contractor, and I am not treating it as a red flag, but it does mean the App Store listing is not a reliable way to confirm who you are dealing with. More importantly, the card issuer is not named and no licences are stated. That gap has a practical consequence: if your money is not held by a licensed bank or e-money institution, you have no deposit guarantee behind it and no named institution to complain to.
Third, and most concretely for you: the terms say PowerPay may place a lien restricting access to funds. I am not going to tell you what that means in a way that is better than the words do — I am telling you that a clause of that shape exists in the terms you are agreeing to, and that it is worth reading in full before you leave a large balance on the account.
Then the mechanics of crypto itself, which apply to any card of this kind. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit on the wrong network can be gone. The platforms that hold crypto for you have a history of failure — Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin Network among them, at reported losses of hundreds of millions of dollars each — so holding funds with a custodian carries real counterparty risk. And stablecoins are not perfectly stable: they have depegged before.
What PowerPay does offer on security is ordinary and sensible: pay safely online, monitor your spend, freeze the card at will, watch your transactions. The password is yours to protect. The wallet is custodial, which means the provider holds the keys.
When payments simply do not go through
Not everything that fails is fraud. Some of it is structural, and it is worth knowing in advance so you do not take it personally.
A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days — typically up to seven. Prepaid and foreign-issued card numbers are refused by some merchants, because the card’s first six to eight digits identify the issuing institution and country, and a shop can act on that. Address verification, which compares the billing address you type against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — which means some online checkouts will fail for reasons that have nothing to do with you.
Programming a card is blocked at some merchants by policy rather than law. The gambling merchant category, for instance, is widely blocked on cards of this type, and the blocked list varies by issuer. And the 3-D Secure prompts you may be used to — the Visa Secure and Mastercard equivalents, which add an identity check to online payments — cannot be evaluated at all here, because PowerPay does not name its network.
What to take instead
Short answer: three other cards publish more of what you need, at different price points and for different regions. Here is the comparison as I found it — their figures, not mine.
| PowerPay | CardFlow | HyperCard | Card.fi | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| My score | 4.0 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 | 6.6 / 10 |
| Who it is aimed at | Nigeria (app); site mentions Nigeria, Kenya, Ghana | Nigeria — “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” and “Nigerians and global users”; no country list or exclusions stated | Official pages state no country list; App Store says it works in “more than 176 countries” — that is acceptance, not eligibility | Ships to “200+ countries”; terms bar residents of, or orders from, a sanctioned country |
| Card | Virtual, USD | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Prepaid “HyperCard”, USD or EUR balance | Virtual and physical, Classic and Premium, plus metal |
| Cost | Not stated | “Creating a virtual card is completely free”; monthly fee not stated | Not stated; App Store page lists no fees | One-time: Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249; physical and metal prices not listed; no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee |
| Fees | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Top-up: Classic 1.5% + $1.00, Premium 1%. FX: Classic 3.5%, Premium 2.5%; conversion fee shown before each top-up |
| Top-up | Sell crypto for NGN/KES/GHS balance, then load the card; networks not stated | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or naira bank transfer; networks not stated | Deposit crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH; networks not stated | 32 coins across 5 networks (Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch); deposit address per card; converted at market rate on arrival |
| Rewards | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Cashback on spending only: Classic 0.8% (cap 10 USDT/month), Premium 1%, Metal 1.2% (capped) or 2% (capped); headline 10% at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT/month |
Read the last two rows across and you can see the difference in a glance. Card.fi publishes numbers: a percentage here, a dollar there, a cap, a stated network list. CardFlow publishes its creation cost. HyperCard publishes nothing I could read, which makes it closer to PowerPay in disclosure terms despite the higher score — its 4.7 comes from the shape of the product, not from a price list.
Two things worth flagging in Card.fi’s case, since it is the strongest document on the table. Its networks are named — Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch — which means you know where to send. Its terms also say the wrong chain risks permanent loss, which is more warning than most. And the “10% at coffee shops” headline is capped at 10 USDT a month, which is the sort of figure that reads much larger in an advert than in a month.
There is also a general warning about the category that belongs in any comparison. These programmes are fragile in a way ordinary bank cards are not. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. When a programme closes, the pattern is usually a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. So the sensible question is not only which card is cheapest, but which one has a named issuer behind it — because that is the entity that survives a brand decision.
For a Nigerian user specifically, PowerPay is the only one of the four aimed squarely at the country, and that is not nothing: local payment collection partners, local currency balances and local support are real advantages over a global product. If the fee questions get answered clearly, that advantage may well outweigh the documentation gap. It is a judgement call about risk, and it is yours to make.
Who I would recommend it to
Short answer: to a Nigerian user who already holds crypto, wants dollars, and is willing to ask support the questions the website should have answered.
I would recommend PowerPay to someone who is converting or receiving crypto anyway, who wants a dollar balance inside an app rather than a bank account, who is content with a virtual card and mobile payments only, and who has a reason to be in Nigeria, Kenya or Ghana. The audience note is plain: this is a card for Nigerian users topping up a virtual dollar card, and if that is you, the product is aimed straight at you, with local currencies and local payment partners on the rails.
I would not recommend it to someone choosing on price. There is no price to choose on. I would not recommend it to someone who needs a physical card, or who plans to take money out of a cash machine abroad. I would not recommend it to someone holding a large balance for a long period, because the terms include a lien clause and because the issuer and licences are not named — and those are exactly the facts you need when something goes wrong. And I would not recommend it to anyone outside the countries the currencies point to, because the site does not tell you whether you are eligible and the terms are Nigerian.
If you do go ahead, the three questions are short. What are the conversion and FX fees, in writing. Who is the card issuer, and what licence are they operating under. And what happens to my balance if the programme is shut down. None of those is a trick question, none requires anything unusual of you, and a card that cannot answer them clearly has told you something important about itself.
Frequently asked questions
What is PowerPay card?
PowerPay is an app-based financial platform that lets you sell crypto for a local currency balance and spend that value through a virtual US dollar card. Its wallet balances are in Nigerian naira, Kenyan shillings and Ghanaian cedis, while the card itself is in dollars. It runs on iOS and Google Play, and is operated by PowerPay Limited in Abuja. It is aimed primarily at Nigeria.
How does PowerPay card work?
The model is sell, then load. You sell crypto and receive a balance in NGN, KES or GHS, then move that balance onto the virtual dollar card and spend it, either in the app or through Apple Pay and Google Pay. Because it draws on a stored balance rather than a bank account, it behaves more like a prepaid card. The card network and the issuing institution are not stated on the public pages.
Is PowerPay a bank?
The public material does not say it is a bank. It is operated by a company called PowerPay Limited in Abuja, but the card issuer and any licences are not named, so I could not confirm whether it holds a banking or electronic-money authorisation. That distinction matters for what protections sit behind your balance, so it is worth asking support directly before depositing anything substantial.
Who owns PowerPay?
PowerPay’s own pages name PowerPay Limited, at Plot 1954, Apo, Abuja – FCT. The App Store listing shows the developer as ODDVPN TECHNOLOGY LTD, which is a different name and may simply reflect who built the app. Terms are governed by Nigerian law, and unresolved disputes go to arbitration in English before a sole arbitrator.
Is PowerPay card available in my country?
Eligibility is not stated anywhere on the site. What the site does show are three currencies — naira, Kenyan shilling and Ghanaian cedi — and the app is described as “Nigeria’s all-in-one app”. So the card appears aimed at Nigeria, with Kenya and Ghana also mentioned. If you are elsewhere, there is no published rule telling you whether you can open an account.
Can I use PowerPay card in my country?
Spending is a different question from holding an account. Card payments work wherever merchants accept the card’s network, and Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. But some shops refuse prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the card number identifies the issuing institution and country. Address verification is also generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines at online checkouts.
How do I get and activate a PowerPay card?
You download the app from the App Store or Google Play, complete basic identity checks with a government-issued ID and proof of address, and the card is described as instant and virtual — it appears in the app rather than arriving by post. Beyond that, no activation procedure is published. The card network is not named, and no physical card or ATM function is described.
Does PowerPay card require KYC?
Yes. PowerPay describes basic KYC: a government-issued ID such as the National Identity Card, NIN or BVN, proof of address such as a utility bill or bank statement, and a valid mobile phone number. It also refers to Enhanced Due Diligence with source-of-funds checks for higher-risk customers. The age requirement and the tier limits are not stated.
How do I top up PowerPay card, and what does it cost?
You sell crypto for a wallet balance in NGN, KES or GHS and then fund the card from that balance; earlier checks listed USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH. The networks those coins arrive on are not named, and neither are the conversion or top-up fees — the app store listing only says “competitive rates” with no figure. Sending on the wrong network is the most common way to lose money here, as blockchain transfers are generally irreversible.
Is PowerPay card safe, and is it worth it?
I found no official incidents and no user complaints, though a product with almost no public review history proves little either way. PowerPay lists ordinary safeguards: you can freeze the card at will, monitor spend and transactions, and you are responsible for your password. But the wallet is custodial, the terms include a clause allowing a lien restricting access to funds, and the issuer is unnamed — so I would keep modest balances there and ask support the fee and issuer questions first.
Top virtual cards by score – cryptocardtop
Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team
