CasperCard review: a privacy-flavoured crypto Visa with three tiers and a few big "not stated"s
CasperCard is a virtual Visa tied to a crypto balance. The pitch is simple: you sign up, send crypto from your own wallet, and spend it anywhere Visa is taken, with Apple Pay and Google Pay supported. The reality, once you start reading the fine print, is a three-tier product with a high top-up fee, a 1.75%–2.00% conversion fee on top, and several things the company simply does not state on its public pages, including which countries it serves, who issues the card, and whether a physical card exists. This review walks through what CasperCard actually says, what it does not, and where that leaves a person who needs a card and cannot easily get a bank one.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
CasperCard scores 5.0 out of 10 in this review. The number is a balance, not a verdict on any single feature: the card is generous with the coins it accepts (USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, XRP, SOL and Monero), and the sign-up path is unusually quick, but the cost of moving money onto the card is high, the issuer is not named, and the company’s public pages leave the basics blank for anyone who needs to make a real-world decision.

The breakdown of the score, by the criteria used in this review:
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Cards are issued “subject to eligibility”, but no country list is published, and KYC rules change after sign-up |
| Cost | 2 / 10 | Whisper tier has a €0 monthly fee, but the stablecoin top-up fee is 7.5% (Phantom 6%, Wraith 4.5%) and there is a separate 1.75%–2.00% conversion fee on every payment |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | Seven coins accepted, including Monero and XRP, but the networks are not specified on the public pages |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | The “licensed issuing partner” is not named; the company’s registration country and licences are not stated; no Trustpilot or Reddit reviews are found in search |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa only, with Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATM fees and daily limits are not stated |
The card suits a small, specific reader: someone who already holds Monero, XRP or another supported coin in a self-custody wallet, who needs a payment card to spend it, and who is comfortable with a top-up fee that can reach single-digit percentages on smaller tiers. It does not suit someone who wants a low-fee everyday card, who needs a clear answer on country availability before signing up, or who expects the same consumer protections as a regulated bank account.
Who CasperCard will and will not issue a card to
CasperCard’s public pages talk around the eligibility question rather than answering it directly. The site says its card products are “subject to eligibility, identity verification and availability”, and the FAQ contains a question asking which countries can apply, but it does not answer it with a list. There is no published “supported countries” page, no exclusions table, and no mention of residence versus citizenship rules.
For a reader in practice, that means a few things. First, the country gate is real but opaque: the card may or may not work where you live, and you only find out by signing up and trying. Second, the rule that decides whether you get a card is not just where you live, it is also who you are: a person on a sanctions list, a minor, or a resident of a jurisdiction the issuer will not serve will be turned away even if the country itself is fine. Third, age is not stated on the public pages; the wider industry rule for prepaid and debit cards is 18+, but CasperCard does not confirm its own cutoff.
Because there is no country list, the practical question for a reader is whether to do the small amount of work to find out: signing up requires only an email address, and the details of the card (virtual Visa) appear right after sign-up, so the country gate is tested early. The trade-off is that “subject to eligibility” usually means there is a manual review later, and a card that works on day one can be limited or closed after the issuer looks more closely.
The card is built around people who already have crypto. The brand’s tone (Monero support, talk of privacy, blog posts on KYC) suggests it is aimed at readers who keep funds in a self-custody wallet and want a way to spend them without first cashing out through a centralised exchange. That audience is real, but it is also an audience that has historically had to deal with card programmes that close, networks that delist, and issuers that pull out of regions, so any country answer from CasperCard is going to be a soft one in practice.
How to get a CasperCard
The sign-up path is one of CasperCard’s simpler features. You start with an email address; no identity document is needed at the first step. The site explicitly says “you do not need to verify your identity to access our services”, and the same wording suggests verification “may be requested later for specific card features, higher limits or to meet a provider’s requirements”. A separate blog post describes identity verification as a one-time sign-up step that takes minutes and says full card number and CVV access requires a verified identity. The two statements are not quite the same: the home page says KYC is optional, the blog says it is part of the flow. The simplest reading is that you can create an account and see a card right away, but you may be asked to verify later, and the more you want to do with the card, the more likely verification is.
The product you get on sign-up is a virtual Visa. The card details (number, expiry, CVV) appear in the app right after sign-up, which means the card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay immediately and used for online checkout. There is no waiting for plastic to be delivered, because the public pages do not mention a physical card. If a physical CasperCard exists, the company is not talking about it on the pages I read for this review, and that absence is itself a fact: a virtual-only card cannot be used at a cash-only market, a vending machine, or any shop that requires a physical dip or swipe.
The card’s currency is not stated. With a Visa, that usually means the card balance is denominated in a base currency (most often EUR or USD) and converted at the moment of payment into whatever currency the merchant charges. The site does confirm that crypto is converted at the moment of payment, but it does not name the card’s base currency, and a reader who is sensitive to conversion paths will want to ask support before relying on the card for a specific currency.
KYC levels (basic, intermediate, full) are not stated. That is the second major gap on the sign-up path. A reader cannot, before signing up, know what unlocks a higher monthly limit, what unlocks a physical card if one exists, or what triggers a “may be requested later” message from the issuer. The reasonable approach is to treat the verified state as the real state, and to plan to verify before depending on the card for a specific payment.
What CasperCard really costs
Cost is the most difficult part of this card to swallow, and the score reflects it. The headline monthly fees look fine, especially on the lowest tier, but the top-up fee is where the real money goes.
| Fee or limit | Whisper | Phantom | Wraith |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly fee | €0 | €50 | €500 |
| Stablecoin top-up fee | 7.5% | 6% | 4.5% |
| Conversion (FX) fee on payment | 1.75%–2.00% | 1.75%–2.00% | 1.75%–2.00% |
| Virtual cards per month | 1 | 3 | 20 |
| Monthly spend limit | €25,000 | €70,000 | €100,000–€500,000 (custom) |
| One-time issuance fee | None listed | None listed | None listed |
| ATM fee | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Daily spend limit | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Card base currency | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
A few things to read out of that table. First, the stablecoin top-up fee is the big number: 7.5% on Whisper is more than most readers will pay in a year of card fees at a mainstream bank. Second, the conversion fee of 1.75%–2.00% is on top of the top-up fee; it is set by the issuing bank and is charged on every payment, not just on cross-currency ones. Third, the monthly fee on Whisper is €0, but the effective cost of using the card is far from zero once the top-up fee is included. To put numbers on it: a reader who tops up €1,000 of USDT on Whisper pays €75 to load the card, then a further €17.50–€20 to spend it, for a total cost of €92.50–€95 before any blockchain network fee on the deposit itself. On Wraith, the same €1,000 costs €45 to load and €17.50–€20 to spend, for €62.50–€65.
Three everyday payments make the cost concrete. A €5 coffee on Whisper, paid from a USDT top-up, costs about €0.38 in top-up fee and €0.09–€0.10 in conversion, for a true cost of around €5.47. A €60 grocery shop on Phantom, paid from a USDC top-up, costs about €3.60 in top-up fee and €1.05–€1.20 in conversion, for around €64.65–€64.80. A €400 electronics purchase on Wraith, paid from a BTC top-up, costs about €18 in top-up fee (4.5%) and €7–€8 in conversion, for around €425–€426 before any on-chain network fee to send the BTC in. The point is not the exact cents, the point is that the top-up fee is the dominant cost on every tier, and it is high enough to change the economics of using the card for small purchases.
Two more things to keep in mind. The ATM fee is not stated, which means there is no published number for cash withdrawals, and the card brand does not tell readers what they will pay. The daily spend limit is not stated, only the monthly one. Both are gaps that a person using the card as an everyday payment tool will hit.
How to top up CasperCard
Top-up is the part of the card that is most clearly aimed at a self-custody reader. CasperCard accepts seven coins: USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, XRP, SOL and XMR. The coins are sent from the user’s own wallet, not bought inside the app, and that is a deliberate design choice: the user keeps the keys until the moment of transfer, and the card brand never has custody of the underlying coins.

The networks are not specified on the public pages. This is the second large gap in the funding flow. A reader who holds USDT has to choose a network (Ethereum ERC-20, Tron TRC-20, Solana, Arbitrum, and so on), and the wrong choice can mean lost funds, because blockchain transfers are typically irreversible and a card provider cannot always recover a deposit sent on a network it does not support. The reasonable thing to do is to test with a small amount first, contact support (email [email protected] or the Telegram channel at t.me/caspercardapp) for the supported network, and only send the full amount once a successful small test has cleared. The blog and the support channels are the only places that will tell you which network to use, and that is a real friction point.
The fees on a top-up are the same as in the costs section: 7.5% (Whisper), 6% (Phantom), 4.5% (Wraith) on stablecoins, and a separate conversion fee of 1.75%–2.00% on every payment. On-chain network fees (gas, bandwidth) are paid to the blockchain network, not to CasperCard, and a reader funding the card with ERC-20 USDT will need a small amount of ETH in the same wallet to pay gas. There is no minimum top-up stated and no fiat top-up option, so the card is a crypto-only card in practice.
Fiat withdrawal is not stated, which is a third gap. A reader who wants to move euros or dollars off the card and back to a bank account cannot tell from the public pages whether that is supported, what the fee would be, or what the timing is. A card that can be loaded from crypto and spent anywhere Visa is taken is useful, but a card that can also be cashed out to a bank account is more useful, and CasperCard does not advertise that path.
Paying with CasperCard day to day
The everyday use case is the card’s strongest selling point and its weakest claim at the same time. The product is a virtual Visa, with Apple Pay on iPhone, Apple Watch and Mac, and Google Pay on Android and at web checkout. That covers most modern payment flows: contactless in a shop via phone, online checkout, and in-app purchases on a phone or laptop. The card can be added to a wallet as soon as the details are visible in the app, and the conversion from crypto to the merchant’s currency happens at the moment of payment.
A few things are not stated. The blocked merchant categories are not listed, which means a reader who plans to use the card for gambling, crypto purchases, or other often-restricted categories cannot tell from the public pages whether those transactions will be declined. The ATM policy is not stated, so a reader who needs cash cannot tell what the fee is or what the daily ATM limit is. The dispute process is not stated, so a reader who has a problem with a merchant has no published path to follow. And the card base currency is not stated, which is a real gap for a person who is sensitive to conversion paths.
The cashback programme is aimed at the brand’s own partners. When a cardholder shops through CasperCard and pays with the CasperCard Visa, the listed offers are 10% at Ledger and 20% at EncryptedOS, credited to the CasperCard wallet. The currency, caps and minimums of the cashback are not stated, so a reader cannot tell from the public pages whether the 10% at Ledger is paid in USDT, in a stablecoin balance, or in some other form, and what the maximum earn is. The offer is real but the details are not.
A second everyday-use feature is the freeze switch. The app can freeze the card in one tap, which is a standard safeguard in this category. Transaction review is mentioned on the public pages: transactions can be reviewed “as they happen”, which suggests a push notification flow. The card number and CVV are shown only to a verified identity, which is a sensible default for a card that lives in a phone wallet.
Two practical warnings. First, a virtual card cannot be used at a cash-only point of sale, and the public pages do not mention a physical card, so a reader who needs a card they can hand over in a shop will need to keep looking. Second, a card with an unknown base currency and a 1.75%–2.00% conversion fee on every payment is going to be more expensive to use on a foreign trip than a card that advertises a single transparent fee, and the reader should plan for that.
What can go wrong with CasperCard
Three things should give a careful reader pause. The first is the issuer. The site says cards are “issued by a licensed issuing partner”, but it does not name the partner, and the registration country and licences of the operating company are not stated on the public pages. A card programme can be suspended by Visa or Mastercard if the issuer’s licence changes or if the programme falls out of compliance, and a reader who cannot name the issuer cannot easily check the issuer’s standing. The same thing happened to WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, when Visa suspended it in Europe in 2018 and closed all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes, and to FTX US, whose debit card was wound down by its issuer after Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022.
The second is the absence of public complaints and reviews. No CasperCard reviews were found on Trustpilot or Reddit in search, and there is no Trustpilot page. That is not, by itself, a sign of trouble. A small card brand can have a small review footprint, and a brand aimed at a privacy-flavoured audience may not draw the same volume of public reviews as a mass-market card. But for a reader, the absence means there is no public record to lean on when weighing the company, and the only signal is the company’s own pages. The blog was publishing in late September and early October 2026, which is a sign of life, but not a substitute for an independent track record.
The third is the way the cost is structured. A 7.5% top-up fee on the lowest tier, plus a 1.75%–2.00% conversion fee on every payment, is a heavy drag on a small balance. A reader who tops up €100 of USDT on Whisper pays €7.50 to load the card and €1.75–€2.00 to spend it, so €91.00–€90.75 of value reaches the merchant. A reader who tops up and spends in the same month will not see the monthly fee on Whisper (it is €0), but the value lost to the top-up fee is greater than the value of any monthly fee waiver on a mainstream card. A reader who intends to use the card as a primary payment tool should run the numbers on their own spending pattern.
The security story is reasonable but thin. The freeze switch is one tap, transactions can be reviewed as they happen, and the card number and CVV are shown only to a verified identity. The custody model is not stated, which is a real gap: it is not clear whether CasperCard holds the crypto in its own wallet, in a partner’s custody, or in a non-custodial flow. Support is by email at [email protected] and by Telegram at t.me/caspercardapp, and the blog is published in English, Spanish, German, Italian and Albanian. Hours are not stated.
A final risk worth naming is the gap between the home page and the blog on KYC. The home page says identity verification is not required to access services, while the blog describes verification as a one-time sign-up step. The two statements are not the same, and a reader who plans to verify later will want to know what unlocks verification (a higher limit, a specific feature, a request from the issuer) and how long it takes. The site does not say.
What to take instead of CasperCard
Three alternatives are worth a look, each for a different reason. None of them is a perfect substitute, because CasperCard’s distinctive feature is the Monero and XRP support, and most alternatives do not cover the same coin set.
CardFlow
CardFlow is a virtual USD Mastercard aimed at Nigeria, marketed as “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” and open to “Nigerians and global users”. There is no country list and no exclusions list. The card is virtual only and is created in about three minutes; creating a virtual card is “completely free” per the FAQ, and a monthly fee is not stated. Funding is by Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer, with networks not stated, and the rest of the fee structure (top-up fee, conversion fee, ATM) is not stated on the pages I read. Cashback is not stated. CardFlow scores 4.9 out of 10 in this review.
For a reader, CardFlow is the option to look at if the priority is a free virtual USD card and the reader is in Nigeria or is comfortable with the unclear country rules. It is a smaller product than CasperCard, with a thinner public footprint, and the fee gaps are larger.
HyperCard
HyperCard is a prepaid card whose network is not stated on the App Store page, with a card balance in USD or EUR. The official pages do not publish a country list, and the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries”, which is a statement about acceptance, not eligibility. Cost is not stated on the pages I read, and the App Store page lists no fees. Funding is by deposit of USDT, BTC or ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR on the card, with networks not stated. Cashback is not stated. HyperCard scores 4.7 out of 10.
For a reader, HyperCard is the option to look at if the priority is a multi-currency card balance and a wide acceptance footprint. The fee gaps are larger than CasperCard’s, and the absence of a published cost structure is a real issue.
Card.fi
Card.fi is a more developed product, with virtual and physical cards (including a metal option) and a stated reach of “200+ countries”, with the terms barring residents of or orders from a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service. The cost structure is published: a one-time fee of $49 for a Virtual Classic and $249 for a Virtual Premium, with no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee. Top-up fees are 1.5% plus $1.00 for Classic and 1% for Premium, FX fees are 3.5% for Classic and 2.5% for Premium, and the conversion fee is shown before each top-up. Funding is from 32 coins across 5 networks (Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaunch), with USDT, USDC, ETH, BNB, SOL and KAANCH among them; deposits are at a per-card address and converted at market rate on arrival, with the risk that a wrong chain can mean permanent loss. Cashback is on card spending only: 0.8% on Classic (capped at 10 USDT per month), 1% on Premium, 1.2% on Metal (capped at 100 USDT per month and 5,000 USDT lifetime), or 2% on Metal (capped at 250 USDT per month and 20,000 USDT lifetime), with a headline 10% at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT per month, and earn on balances “up to 18%” on Metal (variable). Card.fi scores 6.6 out of 10.
For a reader, Card.fi is the option to look at if the priority is a published cost structure, a real cashback programme and a clear sanctions policy, and the reader is willing to pay a one-time card fee. The card has a wider coin and network footprint than CasperCard, and the fees are lower on a comparable spend, but it does not support Monero, which is one of CasperCard’s distinctive features.
Who I would recommend CasperCard to
I would recommend CasperCard to a narrow, specific reader. If you already hold Monero, XRP or another supported coin in a self-custody wallet, if you need a way to spend that balance at a Visa-accepting merchant, if you are willing to pay 4.5%–7.5% on top-ups to do it, and if you do not need a physical card or a clearly named issuer, CasperCard is a workable tool. The sign-up path is quick, Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and the seven-coin list is wider than most alternatives in the same fee band.
I would not recommend CasperCard to a reader who needs a low-fee everyday card, who needs a clear country answer before signing up, who plans to use the card for cross-currency travel, who needs cash withdrawals, or who values a published issuer name and licence. For those readers, the alternatives above are a better fit, and a regulated e-money institution card or a mainstream bank card is a better fit still.
The honest summary is that CasperCard is a real product with a real use case, but it is a product for a reader who has decided that the trade-off is worth it. The card is not for someone who needs a default card. The 5.0 out of 10 score reflects the balance of those trade-offs: useful coin support and a quick sign-up on one side, high top-up fees and several “not stated”s on the other.
Frequently asked questions
What is CasperCard?
CasperCard is a virtual Visa tied to a crypto balance, issued under a “licensed issuing partner” that the public pages do not name. The card is funded from a self-custody wallet with USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, XRP, SOL or XMR, and the crypto is converted to local currency at the moment of payment. There is a monthly fee on the two upper tiers, a stablecoin top-up fee on every tier, and a separate conversion fee of 1.75%–2.00% on every payment.
How does CasperCard work?
You sign up with an email, see a virtual Visa in the app, top it up by sending crypto from your own wallet, and spend the balance anywhere Visa is taken. The crypto is converted at the moment of payment at the conversion rate set by the issuing bank, with the conversion fee of 1.75%–2.00% added on top. The card can be added to Apple Pay on iPhone, Apple Watch and Mac, and to Google Pay on Android and at web checkout.
Is CasperCard a bank?
No. CasperCard is a card programme, not a bank. The site says cards are “issued by a licensed issuing partner”, but the partner is not named, and the registration country and licences of the operating company are not stated on the public pages. The card behaves more like a prepaid card: a stored balance is loaded from crypto, and the card spends that balance. The funds are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.
Who owns CasperCard?
The site footer carries “© 2026 CasperCard”. The operating company, its registration country and its licences are not stated on the public pages, and the issuing partner is referred to as a “licensed issuing partner” without a name. A reader who needs to verify the corporate structure or the issuer will not find that information in the FAQ, the blog or the main pages.
Is CasperCard available in my country?
The public pages do not publish a list of supported countries. The FAQ has a question on which countries can apply, but the answer is “subject to eligibility, identity verification and availability”. The only way to know for sure is to sign up with an email address and try, and the eligibility check is done by the issuing partner, not by CasperCard itself.
Does CasperCard require KYC?
The home page says identity verification is not required to access services, and that verification “may be requested later for specific card features, higher limits or to meet a provider’s requirements”. A separate blog post describes verification as a one-time sign-up step that takes minutes and says full card number and CVV access requires a verified identity. The two statements are not the same, and the practical reading is that you can create an account and see a card right away, but verification is likely to be required before long-term use.
How do I top up CasperCard?
You send USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, XRP, SOL or XMR from your own wallet to a deposit address in the app. The networks are not specified on the public pages, so the right move is to test with a small amount first, confirm with support at [email protected] or on Telegram at t.me/caspercardapp, and only send the full amount once a small test has cleared. Blockchain transfers are typically irreversible, and a wrong network can mean lost funds.
How do I add CasperCard to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The virtual card details (number, expiry, CVV) appear in the app right after sign-up. You can add the card to Apple Pay on iPhone, Apple Watch and Mac, and to Google Pay on Android and at web checkout. The card number and CVV are shown only to a verified identity, so verify before adding the card if those details are not visible.
Is CasperCard safe?
The published safeguards are reasonable: a one-tap freeze from the app, transaction review as they happen, and card number and CVV access only after identity verification. The gaps are real, though: the issuing partner is not named, the operating company’s registration country and licences are not stated, and the custody model for the crypto balance is not stated. The wider category record (FTX, WaveCrest, several stablecoin depegs) is a reminder that card programmes can be suspended by the network and that custodial balances carry counterparty risk.
Is CasperCard worth it?
For the specific reader it is built for (a self-custody holder of Monero, XRP or another supported coin who needs a way to spend the balance at a Visa-accepting merchant and is willing to pay 4.5%–7.5% on top-ups) the card is workable. For a reader who needs a low-fee everyday card, a clear country answer, a named issuer, or a physical card, the cost and the gaps outweigh the coin support, and one of the alternatives above, or a regulated e-money institution card, is a better fit.
Top virtual cards by score – cryptocardtop
Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team
