A prepaid Mastercard from a small European fintech, half-documented and easy to misread

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

I went through what Gekkard actually publishes about its card, what its app stores show, and what the wider crypto-card category looks like, and I want to put what I found in front of you before you decide whether to apply. The short version is that Gekkard offers a prepaid Mastercard with a European IBAN and a small in-app crypto buy/sell flow, but the company is unusually quiet about fees, licensing and the issuer behind the card, and that is the single biggest thing to weigh.

Gekkard works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

This review is written for anyone, anywhere, who has trouble getting an ordinary bank card and is weighing Gekkard against other options. Where the card’s country rules matter, I quote them as Gekkard states them rather than smoothing them into a general claim. Conditions are current as of 2026-10-20.

Verdict

I would land Gekkard at 4.7 out of 10. That is a low-middle score, and the reason it is not lower is the genuine euro IBAN and the prepaid Mastercard you can hold in your hand or keep virtual. The reason it is not higher is everything that surrounds that core product: the fee table is not published in a way I could read, the licensing chain is not laid out, and the crypto side of the business depends on a partner whose new-client onboarding is currently paused. If you are a European who specifically wants a euro IBAN attached to a prepaid card and you are willing to live with thin documentation, Gekkard is a thing. If you want clear pricing, a publicly named issuer, or a card you can take to a country the documentation does not name, there are better-fit options later in this review.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Gekkard starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Open to EEA residents and Switzerland; version 1.0.6 added non-EEA sign-up and the plastic can be mailed worldwide, but the practical eligibility and KYC thresholds are not documented.
Cost 5 / 10 The card advertises 3% on EURG and a 1% purchase bonus, but the underlying fee schedule, FX rate and ATM charges are not stated on the official pages.
Top-up options 4 / 10 SEPA plus an in-app route to Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero through a licensed partner; no stablecoin networks or direct USDT/USDC support, and the partner has paused new onboarding.
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 App Store rating is thin (3.0 from 4 ratings on one storefront, 2.6 from 15 on another), the app is custodial per an external audit, and there is no Trustpilot page.
Everyday use 5 / 10 Prepaid Mastercard, plastic or virtual, with spending limits and a temporary freeze in the app; the supported digital wallets, ATM access and merchant-category rules are not stated.
Total 4.7 / 10 A usable product wrapped in unusually thin disclosure.

The audience this card fits, in plain terms, is Europeans who want a euro IBAN with a prepaid card and are comfortable treating the crypto side as a feature they may or may not use. The audience it does not fit is anyone who needs a clearly itemised fee sheet, a public issuer name, or a card they can defend in front of an accountant without explaining what EURG is.

Who will they give you the card

Gekkard is offered to residents of EEA countries and Switzerland, and a recent app update extended registration to clients outside the EEA. The physical card can be mailed to any address worldwide, so the card’s reach is wider than its initial sign-up geography, but the card itself is a euro product, and the IBAN account is denominated in EUR. In practice that means non-European sign-ups get a European card and a European bank account number rather than a local one.

The published material does not specify the KYC thresholds, what documents are required, or which nationalities are screened out. That gap is significant. EU rules generally require name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documents, a sanctions check, a stated purpose for the relationship, and a politically exposed person check before a card can be issued, and a card programme that does not publish its KYC posture is asking the reader to take that on trust. I would treat eligibility as “residents of the EEA and Switzerland, with worldwide shipping”, and assume that non-EEA sign-ups go through a more involved document check, until the company says otherwise.

The cardholder is also subject to the card-issuing bank’s own rules, which sit behind the Gekkard brand and are not named in any source I could read. If you are refused, the reason may come from that issuer rather than from Gekkard itself.

How to get it

Gekkard sells a prepaid Mastercard, available in plastic and virtual form, paired with a European IBAN account in EUR. The plastic is delivered by international mail, and you can order additional cards from inside the app. The virtual version is presumably issued instantly once your account is approved, as is standard for prepaid programmes, though the time to approval is not stated.

The signup section is where the “not stated” list does the most damage. The application flow, the documents you will be asked for, the verification time, the age threshold, and the activation steps are not publicly detailed. The card controls described in the app, including spending limits and a temporary freeze, are the things you can adjust after the card is in your hand. If you need a clear “here is what happens next” before you start, the best you can do is install the iPhone app, listed as “Gekkard: Prepaid Card & Wallet”, or the Android app, listed as “Gekkard: Banking Alternative”, to see the requirements.

What it really costs — fees

The honest answer here is that the published fee schedule is not readable. The official site is reported to return a certificate error and could not be read for this review, and the app’s terms of service are the only place the numbers I found come from. That is not a great place to start a price comparison, so treat every number below as something the company has said, not something I could verify against a fee table.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Gekkard payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What Gekkard says
Card issuance not stated
Monthly maintenance not stated
Conversion / FX markup not stated
ATM withdrawal not stated
Daily / monthly spending limits not stated; spending limits are settable in the app
Cash top-up locations mentioned in the app’s version history; fees and minimums not stated
EURG holding 3% interest advertised in the app listing
Card purchase bonus 1% advertised in the app version history
Card currency not stated; account currency is EUR

Two or three everyday payments, walked through:

The 1% purchase bonus and the 3% EURG interest are the only positive numbers attached to the card, and they sit alongside an explicit “service is not an investment product” disclaimer that the listing reportedly carries. Read those two figures as marketing, not as a yield, and assume the card’s economics are in the fees you cannot see.

How to top it up

Topping up Gekkard starts with a SEPA payment into the European IBAN, or with cash at a cash top-up location whose fees and minimums are not stated. That covers the euro side of the funding. The crypto side is narrower than you might expect from a card that markets itself on crypto.

Gekkard offers buy and sell of Gekkoin Europe (EURG), a euro-pegged token described in the app as 1:1 with the euro, and it gives you access to Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero through a partner named Gekkoin, with the actual exchange and custody services provided by AtlantEX OÜ, described as a licensed exchange. What it does not offer, on the sources I could read, is a list of supported stablecoins or blockchain networks for direct deposit. There is no stated USDC or USDT on-ramp, no stated Solana or Tron support, and no stated ERC-20 deposit address. If you are used to the multi-network, multi-stablecoin flow that larger crypto cards offer, Gekkard feels like a different product.

The funding picture also has a moving part that matters in 2026. AtlantEX OÜ paused new-client onboarding from 1 July 2026 during its MiCA licensing work. New sign-ups to Gekkard’s crypto side may be affected while that pause is in place, and that is worth checking directly with the app before you plan around it.

For everyday top-ups, the practical loop is: pay euros in by SEPA, optionally convert to EURG inside the app, spend the card. If you wanted to bring stablecoins in from an external wallet, the app’s network coverage would be the first thing to confirm.

Paying with it every day

Gekkard is a prepaid Mastercard, so the card draws on a stored balance that you top up first, and the card cannot overdraw. You can pick a plastic card or a virtual one, set spending limits inside the app, freeze the card temporarily, and (per the app’s version history) confirm online purchases with a biometric step. The card currency is not stated, but the account is euro, and a euro Mastercard is the default assumption.

What the public material does not state is which mobile wallets the card can be tokenised into. Apple Pay support, Google Pay support, and the merchant-category code restrictions (gambling, crypto on-ramps, adult entertainment) are not described, and that is the kind of detail you usually discover the first time a payment is declined. ATM access is mentioned indirectly through cash top-up locations in the version history, but the ATM fee and the cash withdrawal limit are not stated. The app itself, “Gekkard: Prepaid Card & Wallet” on the iPhone App Store, is rated 3.0 out of 5 from 4 ratings as of the 1.0.9 build read on 2026-10-21, and the Google Play listing under com.papaya.gekkard (“Gekkard: Banking Alternative”) exists but its rating is not readable.

The everyday-use picture is therefore “the bones of a decent prepaid card, with the app-level controls and the plastic-or-virtual choice, but with several questions a cardholder would normally expect to have answered before they rely on it for daily spending”.

What can go wrong

A prepaid card sits in a stack of parties: the card network (Mastercard), the issuer (a licensed bank or e-money institution), the programme manager (Gekkard’s parent, Papaya Ltd), and the technology partner for the app. Gekkard’s public material names Papaya Ltd as the developer and AtlantEX OÜ as the crypto partner, but the card issuer, the licence type, and the regulator behind the card are not disclosed. That is a significant gap. A licensed issuer is what gives a prepaid card its protection under electronic money rules, including the requirement that customer funds be safeguarded in segregated accounts, and a programme that does not name the issuer is asking the cardholder to take that protection on trust.

The crypto side adds a separate risk profile. The app is described by an external audit (WalletScrutiny) as custodial, which means Papaya or its partner holds the credentials rather than the cardholder, and the cardholder has to trust that the provider will not lose the funds, freeze them, or fail entirely. The history of custodial platforms includes Mt. Gox (around US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014), Coincheck (around US$400 million in 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million in 2022). The cardholder is exposed to that same counterparty and hack risk, and there is no public insurance or reserve attestation that would soften it.

The complaint surface is thin. There is no Trustpilot page for the brand that I could find, no public incident log, and the rating on a second App Store storefront reads 2.6 out of 5 from 15 ratings. The AtlantEX onboarding pause from 1 July 2026 is the only operational risk I could attach a date to, and it sits on the funding side of the card rather than on the card itself. The most recent app version is 1.0.9, dated 4 August 2025, and that is the most recent dated signal of activity in the public material.

The cardholder controls that do exist — spending limits, transaction tracking, a temporary freeze, biometric confirmation for online purchases — are sensible and worth using. They are the standard set of app-level safeguards, and they are not a substitute for the disclosures the card does not make.

What to take instead

Gekkard is a real product with real gaps, so the comparison is between it and three crypto cards that are documented in a way Gekkard is not. None of these is a perfect substitute; they differ in geography, in pricing and in what they assume about the user.

Alternative Card form Issuer geography Foreign exchange Cashback Notable gap
International Visa Card Virtual, USD, Platinum US-issued, US$5 issuance Visa rate + 2% FX fee None stated Long residence-based blocklist
UNi Card Mastercard, multicurrency not stated Live OTC, “no hidden exchange fees” Up to 3% Funding channels not stated
Morse Fully virtual Visa not stated Real-time Visa rate, no markup not stated on card pages Closed-beta country list
Gekkard (for reference) Plastic or virtual Mastercard, EUR EEA, Switzerland, non-EEA via app not stated 1% purchase bonus, 3% EURG interest Fee table not published

If you want a clearly priced product, International Visa Card and Morse both publish their FX treatment; if you want a multicurrency Mastercard with stated cashback and a transparent “no hidden fees” message, UNi Card is the closer fit. If what you want is a euro IBAN attached to a prepaid card and a small in-app crypto route, Gekkard is the one to test in the app before you commit, because the public material will not tell you what you need.

Who I would recommend it to

I would point Gekkard at a narrow reader: someone based in the EEA or Switzerland, comfortable with the euro as their card currency, who specifically wants a European IBAN and a prepaid Mastercard in the same app, and who is willing to treat the crypto side as a feature they may not use. For that reader, the card’s positive points are real: a euro IBAN, plastic or virtual, app-level spending controls, an in-app buy/sell of EURG, and access to Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero through a stated partner.

I would steer that reader away if any of the following apply: they need a clearly published fee table before they spend; they want to top up in stablecoins like USDC or USDT; they want a card that has a self-custodial wallet attached so they hold the keys themselves; they want a publicly named issuer and licence; or they want to take the card to a non-EEA country and have the published eligibility tell them what to expect. For those readers, the alternatives above are a better fit, and Morse in particular is worth a look if a self-custodial wallet is a requirement.

The honest middle position is that Gekkard is not a bad product, it is a thinly documented one, and the test I would run before signing up is to install the iPhone or Android app, complete the sign-up flow as far as the app allows, read the fee schedule the app shows, and check whether the published KYC, the ATM access and the wallet support match what you actually need.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Gekkard card?

The Gekkard card is a prepaid Mastercard offered in plastic and virtual form, paired with a European IBAN account in EUR, with an in-app buy/sell flow for a euro-pegged token (EURG) and access to Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero through a partner exchange.

How does the Gekkard card work?

You top up the euro account by SEPA (or at a cash top-up location), the card draws on a stored prepaid balance, and you can convert part of that balance into EURG or other supported crypto inside the app before spending. The card cannot overdraw, and you can set spending limits and freeze the card from the app.

Is Gekkard a bank?

Gekkard is not described as a bank in the public material. The card is a prepaid Mastercard and the euro account is an IBAN account, but the card issuer, the licence type and the regulator behind the card are not disclosed, and the company behind the app is named as Papaya Ltd.

Who owns Gekkard?

The Gekkard app is published by Papaya Ltd, and the crypto side is handled by a partner called AtlantEX OÜ, described as a licensed exchange. The card-issuing institution and any ultimate parent company behind the brand are not stated in the public material I could read.

Who can apply for the Gekkard card?

The card is offered to residents of EEA countries and Switzerland, and a recent app update extended registration to clients outside the EEA. The physical card can be mailed to any address worldwide. Specific KYC thresholds, document requirements and nationality-based restrictions are not stated in the public material.

How do I top up the Gekkard card?

You top up by SEPA transfer into the euro IBAN, or in cash at a cash top-up location whose fees and minimums are not stated. Crypto top-up goes through the in-app buy/sell flow (EURG, Bitcoin, Ethereum, Monero) via AtlantEX OÜ; direct stablecoin or non-EEA network deposits are not described.

Does the Gekkard card have fees?

A published fee schedule is not publicly available for this review. The app listing advertises a 1% card purchase bonus and 3% interest on EURG holdings; card issuance, monthly fees, conversion, FX, ATM and limits are not stated.

Is the Gekkard card safe to use?

The card is prepaid and app-controlled (spending limits, temporary freeze, biometric confirmation for online purchases per version history). The app is described by an external audit as custodial, the card issuer and licence are not publicly stated, and the crypto partner AtlantEX OÜ paused new-client onboarding from 1 July 2026 during MiCA licensing.

Can I add the Gekkard card to Apple Pay or Google Wallet?

The supported mobile wallets are not stated in the public material. Tokenisation into Apple Pay or Google Pay would depend on the card issuer’s programme, which is not publicly named, so the practical answer is to check the app once your card is issued.

How do I close my Gekkard account?

The closure process is not described in the public material. As with most prepaid programmes, you would typically need to withdraw any remaining balance and then request closure through the app, but the specific steps and any cooling-off or fee implications for Gekkard are not stated.

Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team