The card programme shut its own doors in 2025

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Infini scores 4.1 out of 10, and the reason is not a small fee irritation or a fiddly signup. The company’s own cards — Global, Lite and Tech — were suspended for both use and new applications on 17 June 2025, according to a WuBlockchain report on a notice dated that day. The card that had been positioned as the flagship, Max, still shows up in the pricing materials and in the app, but its status for private customers is not clear. If you are holding an Infini card balance, the practical question is not whether the fees are competitive — on paper they were excellent — but how to get your money out and what to hold it in while you decide. If you were thinking of applying, that option is gone. Conditions described here are current as of 2026-10-20.

The Infini card programme no longer issues new cards

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score, and who should care

The score breakdown below tells the story more efficiently than anything else I can write. Cost was the strong point, at 9 out of 10. Reliability and complaints came bottom at 1 out of 10, and that mark is doing more work than the number itself suggests: an unnamed issuer, a Hong Kong company, and a vault incident in February 2025 followed by a card suspension four months later.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 0 / 10 Global, Lite and Tech cards suspended for use and new applications on 17 June 2025; the Max card’s status for private customers is unclear
Cost 9 / 10 First card free, no annual fee, $0 monthly fee, $0 transaction fee; FX 1% Pro, 3% Lite, 0% Max; stablecoin top-up free
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDC and USDT, networks not named; plus local USD and EUR accounts; fiat via Iron at 0.20% plus the rail’s fee
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 Issuer not named; Cynosure Technology LLC (Hong Kong); $49.5 million USDC withdrawn from the vault in February 2025; cards suspended on 17 June 2025
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual card; Apple Pay and Google Pay on Max; plastic card and ATM access not disclosed
Total 4.1 / 10

Who does this suit, then? On the evidence, nobody in the way the card was originally marketed. The people it was built for — people who want to spend crypto through a normal-looking payment card without friction — were exactly the people hit by the suspension. If you are in that group now, you are not choosing a card, you are choosing a place to park a balance while you look for a replacement, and that is a very different decision.

There is one narrow group the old terms still speak to: existing holders withdrawing their remaining balance. Everything below in the section for holders is written for them. For anyone else, read this as a closed chapter and skip to what to take instead.

What happened to the programme

The sequence matters here, because the two events are usually reported as one story when they were four months apart and rather different in character.

24 February 2025. Decrypt reported that about US$49.5 million in USDC had been taken from Infini’s vault by a former developer who had retained admin privileges, in a finding attributed to Cyvers and QuillAudits. Infini said at the time that withdrawals and payments continued, and the founder said full compensation could be paid. Note what that means: the money left a custody system the users were relying on, and the answer was an assurance rather than a restored balance with a date on it.

17 June 2025. WuBlockchain reported an Infini notice saying all Global, Lite and Tech cards would be suspended for both usage and new applications, with card issuance fees auto-refunded to the Infini balance within 10 business days. The same notice said deposits, withdrawals and Earn continued. A co-founder cited high compliance costs and thin margins, and a shift toward wealth management as the reason. That is the company’s own explanation, and it is worth reading carefully: the card business was not killed by a competitor or a regulator, it was set down by the people running it.

September 2026. App Store release notes show a new “Max Card experience” (v0.3.0, 22 August) and Business sub-accounts. So the platform is alive and shipping. The product being sold is no longer the same product.

I looked for independent user reviews and there is nothing to read. No Reddit threads and no Trustpilot page for Infini itself were found when I searched on 2026-10-20. That silence cuts both ways: it may mean a small user base, or it may mean people had already left. Either way, you cannot use other people’s experiences here as a guide, because there aren’t any to find.

Two further things about the company are worth knowing, and neither is reassuring in the way the marketing copy implied.

The App Store seller and the site name Cynosure Technology LLC, a Hong Kong company. The card issuer itself is not named anywhere public — the site says Infini “partners with regulated financial institutions”. That phrase means you are trusting a company whose legal entity you cannot identify, operating through an unnamed issuing bank, on cards that were withdrawn from customers’ use in a single notice.

The site displays an FCA mark with no licence number. It also claims SOC 2 Type II and PCI-DSS Level 1 certification, and says customer funds sit with regulated institutions in “bankruptcy-remote, segregated accounts”, that crypto is held in multi-signature MPC wallets, and that audits and penetration tests are run by Exvul. The app uses biometric authentication and, as of v1.3.0, passkey sign-in. All of that is the standard vocabulary of a well-run fintech. None of it was falsified by the suspension, and all of it sits oddly next to a $49.5 million vault withdrawal four months earlier. What is not stated: the custody model for personal users and whether any insurance applies.

On KYC and identity. For businesses the site describes full KYB approval for higher volumes typically taking under eight hours, and automated identity verification that issues API keys within minutes. For personal cards, the KYC documents and age requirement are not stated. Business pages do not transfer automatically to personal accounts, so if you are an individual you are left with an unanswered question about what you will be asked to prove.

What the cards were. Virtual and corporate cards (“Stablecoin Corporate Card”). The Max Card worked with Apple Pay and Google Pay. The card network was never named in the public materials, which matters more than it sounds — see the section on how crypto cards work in the FAQ.

Cost, as it was advertised. The first card was free, with no annual fee, a $0 monthly fee and a $0 transaction fee; fees for additional cards were “confirmed at application”, and the minimum initial top-up was US$10. The App Store listing advertised “transparent and competitive fees” without a single figure. Card conversion fees were never stated. The site’s “0% FX on ad spend” claim was about advertising, not the card, and the “as low as 0.3%” payment reference fee was for the payments product, not the card.

If you already have the card

Here is the honest state of things. Your first question is the money, so let me answer it first: what it costs to get your balance out is not stated. There are no withdrawal fees, no limits and no closure terms on the pricing page or on the site. The App Store release notes mention BTC withdrawals and fixes to withdrawal address matching, but nothing about withdrawing a card balance.

That gap is uncomfortable, and I would rather name it than smooth it over. You have a balance, the notice said withdrawals continued, the public pages do not say what closing the card or moving the money costs or how long it takes. The two things worth doing are boring and practical: contact Infini at the email they publish, [email protected], and get a written answer about the exact steps and any cost before you move anything. Their Help Center Telegram is t.me/infini_official, and they are on X at @0xinfini. Languages are not listed on the site; the app added Thai in v1.1.0. Support hours are not stated either.

If you are in Thailand, the Thai app support is the practical difference. Otherwise, budget for writing in English.

How the money went in. USDC and USDT, with networks not specified — and networks are the detail that decides whether a transfer arrives. There were also local USD and EUR accounts. Stablecoin self top-up was free. Fiat deposits went through Iron at 0.20% plus the rail’s fee: ACH $1, FedNow $1, RTP $1, wire $20, SEPA EUR 1. Network fees are not stated, which is normal because they are charged by the blockchain rather than by the card provider.

The cards themselves. Max had an FX fee of 0%, cashback of 2% (up to 3%, footnote base 1%), a refund fee of 1%, a cross-border fee of 1% outside Hong Kong, and a small-transaction fee of $0.30 under US$50. Pro had a 1% FX fee, cashback of 2% (up to 3%; base 1%, 2% during a promotion) and a 1% refund fee. Lite had a 3% FX fee and no cashback. All three charged 0% on USD spending, $0 monthly, $0 per transaction. The card’s own currency and whether you could hold multiple currencies were not stated; the App Store says the card works with “supported balances”. BTC accounts and USD/EUR local accounts existed.

What the money earned and cost you. Max’s 2% cashback applied to eligible purchases “with terms applying” — paid in what, was not stated. The app had a Rewards Center and a spending promotion. The site’s “$20 cash reward” was a sign-up incentive, not a reward for holding the card.

Limits, ATM, delivery. ATM access is not stated. Spending limits are not stated numerically — the site says you can “set custom limits and controls for each card”, which describes a control without quantifying it. There was no physical card: the site says virtual cards are issued instantly, and no shipping information exists for plastic. Every point I flagged about how this card would fail you in daily life is exactly the kind of thing nobody could answer, because the card programme stopped.

Refunds and disputes. A 1% refund fee applied on Pro and Max. The dispute or chargeback process and its time frames are not stated. If you have a disputed payment, treat the missing process as a cost: ask support for the reason code and timeline in writing before the window closes on you.

App quality. 4.7 out of 5 on the App Store — from three ratings, read on 2026-10-20. iPhone, iOS 16.0 and above, version 1.3.0 the newest. The Google Play listing is not stated. A 4.7 from three people is not a rating; it is three people.

What can go wrong

The suspension already happened, so the question is no longer hypothetical. It is: what is the shape of this risk for a card like this, and what should you check before the next one?

The first shape is the obvious one. A crypto card is usually not issued by the brand you are dealing with. The card network — Visa or Mastercard — routes the messages and sets the rules. The issuer is a bank or e-money institution licensed to issue under that network’s licence and it holds the programme. The crypto brand is frequently only a programme manager or front-end that markets it. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers, and they can pull the licence. Visa said in November 2022 that it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme.

So when you hold a crypto card, you are holding a claim on a chain of relationships you cannot see, and any link can break. Infini’s chain broke at the front end: the brand itself withdrew the product. That is the version that is hardest to plan for, because the money was real and the balance was visible while the means of spending it was switched off.

The second shape is custody. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or the seed phrase. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust the provider completely. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen key has no built-in recovery: the network cannot freeze or return the money. Custodial platforms have a real record: Mt. Gox at about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, and Ronin Network at US$625 million in 2022. Infini’s $49.5 million belongs in that company, whatever its cause.

The third shape is the stablecoin itself. A stablecoin aims to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, but despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable. Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are US-dollar-pegged, and the BIS put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in these two as of July 2025. Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and 100% backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations by a Big Four firm; Circle listed USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026. Tether describes USDT as a token built on multiple blockchains with reserves intended to back it 1-to-1, issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche. And stablecoins do depeg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis.

The fourth shape is the network, and this is where people actually lose money. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. ERC-20 is the Ethereum token standard, proposed in November 2015, and fees are paid only in ETH — a wallet with USDT and no ETH cannot send it. Tron prices fees with bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. And stablecoins are not censorship-proof: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.

The fifth shape is acceptance, which is where cardholders get frustrated. Every card number starts with a six- or eight-digit issuer identification number, the BIN or IIN, that identifies the issuing institution. Merchants can look it up to see which institution and country issued the card, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from the billing address — which is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs precisely because the lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. Address Verification Service compares numeric parts of the billing address the buyer typed with issuer records; it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines.

The sixth shape is the merchant category. A four-digit merchant category code, specified in ISO 18245, classifies a business by goods or services and is assigned when a business starts accepting cards. MCC 7995 covers gambling — casinos, betting, lotteries — and many issuers block it on specific cards by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list varying by issuer. Infini did not state which categories were restricted. That is a gap worth refusing to paper over.

The seventh shape is friction in the checkout. 3-D Secure adds an identity check to online payments; the issuer assesses risk and either approves without friction or challenges you, for example with a one-time code or biometric. Visa’s brand is Visa Secure, Mastercard’s is Identity Check, and EMV 3-D Secure 2, published in 2016, supports one-time passcodes and app-based authentication aligned with EU strong customer authentication. Under 3-D Secure, liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from merchant to your bank, or per critics to you. And a declined authorisation may leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.

The eighth shape is account closure, and it is the one that applies directly to you if you are an Infini holder. Programme closures typically give a notice period, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw remaining balances. Note the order: spending stops before you are necessarily out. KYC rules sit underneath all of this. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, establishing the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or, where necessary, to end the relationship — which is why accounts get frozen pending documents. In the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy often apply to citizenship and country of birth, not just country of address.

Before you commit a balance to any card in this category, the checklist is short and I would ask all of it in writing:

A card that cannot answer those questions in writing is telling you something.

What to take instead

None of these is Infini with a different logo. Each one has a different structure, and each carries its own risks. I am giving you the numbers as the companies present them, not a recommendation to move money today.

CardFlow — 4.9 / 10. Aimed at Nigeria, described as “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” and open to “Nigerians and global users”; no country list or exclusions are stated. A virtual USD Mastercard, created in 3 minutes. Creating a virtual card is “completely free” according to the site FAQ; the monthly fee is not stated. Funded with Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer, networks not stated. Fees and rewards are not stated.

HyperCard — 4.7 / 10. Official pages state no country list; the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries”, which describes acceptance, not eligibility. A prepaid card with a balance in USD or EUR; the network is not stated on the App Store page. You deposit crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app and it is converted to USD or EUR on the card. No fees are stated on the pages I could read, and there is no rewards information.

Card.fi — 6.6 / 10. The most fully specified of the three, and the one whose numbers let you do real arithmetic. Cards ship to “200+ countries”, though the terms bar residents of, or orders from, a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service; beyond that, no distinction between citizenship and residence. It offers virtual Classic and Premium, physical Classic and Premium, and a stainless-steel metal card; every physical order includes a virtual card, and cards are issued under licence from the relevant card schemes, though Visa and Mastercard are not named. The card currency is not stated.

Here is what Card.fi charges, because the structure is what you are actually comparing:

CardFlow HyperCard Card.fi
Score 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10 6.6 / 10
Card Virtual USD Mastercard Prepaid card, network not stated Virtual, physical and metal
One-time cost Free Not stated Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249; physical and metal not listed
Recurring cost Not stated Not stated No monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee
Top-up fee Not stated Not stated Classic 1.5% + $1.00; Premium 1%
FX fee Not stated Not stated Classic 3.5%; Premium 2.5%
Funding BTC, USDT, ETH, Naira transfer USDT, BTC, ETH 32 coins across 5 networks
Rewards Not stated Not stated Cashback 0.8% Classic, 1% Premium, 1.2% or 2% Metal, all capped
Stated limitation No country list or exclusions Eligibility not stated Sanctions-country residents or orders excluded

Read that table against Infini’s old numbers. Infini’s 0% FX on Max and free first card were better than anything here, and Card.fi at 3.5% FX on Classic and $49 to open a virtual card is plainly worse on price. The reason I would still look is disclosure: Card.fi states what it charges, what it accepts and where it ships. Infini’s Max card had better economics and, by June 2025, no way to use them.

Card.fi’s funding is also the most specific and the most demanding. It supports 32 coins across 5 networks — Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana and Kaanch — including USDT, USDC, ETH, BNB, SOL and KAANCH, with a deposit address per card and conversion at market rate on arrival. Wrong chain risks permanent loss, in their terms, not mine. Rewards are cashback on card spending only: Classic 0.8% capped at 10 USDT a month, Premium 1%, Metal 1.2% capped at 10,000 USDT or 2% capped at 20,000 USDT. A headline 10% at coffee shops is capped at 10 USDT a month. Balances can earn “up to 18%” on Metal, variable.

Cost to open FX fee What you give up
Infini Max, before suspension Free first card, $0 monthly 0% The card itself, suspended 17 June 2025
CardFlow Free virtual Not stated Nothing published on fees
HyperCard Not stated Not stated Nothing published on fees
Card.fi Classic $49 virtual 3.5% Nothing except the fee
Card.fi Premium $249 virtual 2.5% Nothing except the fee

One thing none of these gives you, and I want to be explicit about it: moving a balance off a suspended Infini card means a transfer, and a transfer means a network, a correct address and a fee you cannot reverse. Check every one of those before you send. And the tax question is yours to answer, not mine — in the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction, which means each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. Short-term if held a year or less. I am not giving tax advice and I would not take it from a card review; ask someone qualified in your country.

Who I would recommend it to

Nobody, today. That is the plain answer, and it is not a hedge.

I would not recommend Infini to someone who wants a card to spend from. The cards were withdrawn from use, the flagship’s status is unclear, and there is no public process for closing a card balance or moving it out. The economics were the best in this category; the continuity was the worst.

I would not recommend it to someone who wants to hold crypto through a card provider. Custody with a Hong Kong company, through an unnamed issuer, after a $49.5 million vault withdrawal, is a specific set of risks that a low FX fee does not pay for.

If you already hold the card, I would recommend exactly three things: get the balance out, get the terms of that withdrawal in writing first, and do it before you need the money rather than after. If the company cannot tell you the cost and the timeline, treat that silence as the most important piece of information in this review.

If you are starting fresh and your problem is that an ordinary bank card is hard to get, then the question is not which crypto card is best but what your actual obstacle is. Sometimes it is a country rule, sometimes it is a name and address mismatch, sometimes it is the fact that a card issued in one country looks foreign at the checkout because of the BIN lookup. Those have different answers, and a crypto card is often the most expensive way to solve any of them. If you still want one, Card.fi is the one of these three whose numbers I could actually read, and I would still test the withdrawal question before funding it.

Frequently asked questions

What is Infini card?

Infini was a Hong Kong-based fintech that offered crypto-funded payment cards: virtual and corporate cards, including the Global, Lite and Tech cards and a Max Card with Apple Pay and Google Pay support. You loaded USDC or USDT, plus USD and EUR local accounts, and spent from the resulting balance. It was operated by Cynosure Technology LLC. On 17 June 2025 the company suspended the Global, Lite and Tech cards for both use and new applications.

Is Infini a bank?

No, and that distinction matters for you. Infini is a fintech platform; the site’s own wording is that it “partners with regulated financial institutions”. The bank that actually issues the card is not named anywhere in the public materials, and an FCA mark is shown with no licence number. That is the arrangement most crypto cards use, and it means your money sits behind relationships you cannot inspect.

Who owns Infini?

The company behind it is Cynosure Technology LLC, a Hong Kong entity, named as the App Store seller and on the site. An individual founder and a co-founder appear in reporting, the co-founder saying in June 2025 that high compliance costs and thin margins led to the shift away from cards toward wealth management. Ownership percentages are not stated.

Can I still apply for an Infini card?

No. The 17 June 2025 notice suspended new applications as well as usage for the Global, Lite and Tech cards. The Max Card’s status for private customers is not clear, which is not the same as open. The app keeps updating, including a Max Card experience in August 2026, but that is the platform continuing, not applications reopening.

Was Infini card safe?

It claimed the standard safeguards — SOC 2 Type II, PCI-DSS Level 1, segregated accounts, multi-signature MPC wallets, biometric login and passkeys — but those claims sat alongside a report of $49.5 million in USDC removed from Infini’s vault on 24 February 2025 through a former developer’s retained admin privileges. The custody model for personal users and any insurance were never stated, so nobody could tell what your protection was.

How do I withdraw money from Infini?

Ask support in writing before doing anything else, because the public pages do not say. No withdrawal fees, limits or closure terms appear on the pricing page or the site for a card balance. Write to [email protected], or use the Help Center Telegram at t.me/infini_official. Ask what closing the card costs, how long it takes, and whether the balance can go back to your wallet.

What happened to the fees I paid?

Card issuance fees were auto-refunded to the Infini balance within 10 business days of the 17 June 2025 notice — to the Infini balance, not to a bank account, which is why getting that balance out became the next problem. Refunds on Pro and Max cards carried a 1% fee. The dispute and chargeback process was never stated, which is worth knowing before you need it.

What are the best alternatives to Infini?

Among the three I checked, Card.fi is the most fully specified: virtual from $49, premium from $249, physical and metal options, 32 coins across 5 networks, 3.5% FX on Classic and 2.5% on Premium, cashback from 0.8%. CardFlow offers a free virtual USD Mastercard aimed at Nigeria. HyperCard is a prepaid card with USD or EUR balances and no published fees. All three are less generous than Infini’s old Max pricing and all three publish more.

Is Infini card available in my country?

It no longer matters for the suspended cards, since they cannot be used anywhere. The site claimed “180+ Countries Supported” for the platform, but no country list for the cards was published, and the App Store said the card works “where available” with feature availability varying by account permissions, account status and region. For a replacement, check the specific provider’s own terms rather than a platform’s global claim.

What is the tax position if I move crypto off Infini?

Ask a qualified adviser in your country. As a general principle, the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for dollars, goods or other assets generally produces a taxable gain or loss measured at fair market value in your local currency on the transaction date — which can make each card payment a separate disposal. This is a general description of how one jurisdiction treats it, not advice, and other countries differ.

Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team