A free virtual card with 100+ crypto assets, and a company that does not name its issuer
If you have been searching for a way to spend crypto without the friction of a normal bank account, the Digitap card will look attractive on paper: a free virtual card you can hold in minutes, no foreign transaction fees, and access to more than a hundred crypto assets. It is also a product built by a company that does not name the bank behind it, promotes a token presale on its marketing site, and carries a 2.7 out of 5 rating from users on Trustpilot. Both of those things are true at once, and the tension between them is the heart of this review.
I gave it 6.2 out of 10. That is not a rejection. It is a card that does a specific job well for a specific person, and asks you to accept a level of uncertainty that a regulated bank would not. Let me walk you through what I checked, in the order you would want to check it yourself: who gets one, how to get one, what it costs, how you fill it, how you actually pay with it, and what could go wrong.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score, and who this card suits
Here is the breakdown, criterion by criterion. I have kept the marks exactly as they were set, and the reasons are my own reading of the card’s own pages and the public record.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | The card says it works in 180+ countries worldwide, and the site’s footer states it is not aimed at places where use would be contrary to local law. It does not name the countries of issuance, which is a real gap rather than a restriction. |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | The Virtual plan is free with two free virtual cards, but topping up costs 2.5% on Wallet and Virtual and 2.2% on Pro. Pro charges $299 to open and $95 a year. There is no foreign transaction fee. |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | You can fund with 100+ crypto assets or with fiat in USD, EUR and GBP. The networks used are not disclosed. |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | The issuer and legal entity are not named. Trustpilot shows 2.7 out of 5, with complaints about support going silent and doubts raised by the $TAP presale. The app is in beta. |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | A virtual card instantly and a physical card on request, with ATMs worldwide. Unofficial reports say Google Pay works and Apple Pay does not. |
| Total | 6.2 / 10 |
The audience this fits is narrow and worth naming plainly: someone who wants a free virtual card, does not want to hand over documents, and wants to hold or spend from a wide range of crypto assets rather than just one or two. If that is you, there is real value here. The free virtual tier genuinely costs nothing to hold, and the ability to top up with 100+ assets is broader than most cards in this category offer.
It does not suit you if you need a card that answers a hard question about who is liable for your money, if Apple Pay is how you pay for things, if you need the same limits every month regardless of tier, or if you plan to lean on the customer-protection regime you would get from a bank. Nor if you are the kind of person who reads “issuer not named” and stops there — with this card, that is a legitimate reason to walk away.
Will they give you the card
The eligibility line on the card’s own site is short: it “works in 180+ countries worldwide”, and the footer adds that the site is not directed at places where use would be contrary to local law. That is the whole of the public statement on who qualifies. The countries of issuance are not listed, which means you cannot check your own country against a published list — you would have to find out by trying.
That footer sentence is the kind of wording that usually sits above an unspecific restriction, so treat it as a real boundary rather than a formality. It tells you the company is not offering the card where local law forbids it, and leaves you to work out whether your local law forbids it.
Age is another gap: the card does not state a minimum age on the public pages I read. The general rule for prepaid and debit cards in this category is that they are available to adults from 18, and some issuers set higher limits or bars for younger customers. So do not assume anything here — but equally, do not assume you are blocked.
How to get it
The signup path the card describes is short. You open a Digitap account online “in a few minutes”, choose a plan, and either get a virtual card instantly or order a physical one. The physical card is a Visa with an EMV chip and PIN, and it can be made to a custom design. Behind the card sit fiat accounts in USD, EUR and GBP.
What is not stated is almost as important as what is. The documents required for KYC, the proof of address, the age requirement, the countries the physical card ships to, the delivery time and the delivery cost — none of that appears on the public pages. The only delivery-related figure given is a replacement fee of $40, and that applies to the Pro plan only.
The identity tiers are the part worth understanding before you start, because they decide what you can hold and how much you can do with it:
- Wallet, $0 — no KYC, no card at all, Medium Limits, basic cashback, support during business hours.
- Virtual, free — “light KYC”, virtual card only, two free virtual cards, Medium Limits.
- Pro, $299 to open plus $95 a year — full KYC, High Limits, high cashback, five free virtual cards and three free physical, replacement at $40 for physical and $2.50 for virtual.
- Premium, on request — full KYC, No Limits, a private-banking manager 24/7, unlimited cards including metal, “up to double digit % Cashback + Loyalty Benefits”.
- Business, on request — multi-user, custom limits and rewards, 24/7 support.
The documents themselves and the processing time are not stated for any tier, nor are the reasons a review might be refused.
One unofficial thread is worth knowing about because it is the kind of detail official pages often omit. A MEXC promotional article from January 2026 — note that it was promoting the $TAP presale, so treat it as interested commentary rather than neutral reporting — says the virtual card arrives after a simple identity check processed in under 24 hours, while the physical card needs more verification, including a passport scan and a selfie. The card does not confirm this. If the speed of the virtual card matters to your planning, it is worth checking in the app rather than trusting the article.
Fees: what it really costs
The honest answer is that the free tier is free to hold and not free to use, and the expensive parts are the ones the card does not publish.

The costs table
| Fee or limit | What the card says |
|---|---|
| Virtual plan | Free, with two free virtual cards and free replacement |
| Wallet plan | $0, no physical cards |
| Pro plan | $299 account opening fee, $95 yearly admin fee |
| Deposit / top-up fee | 2.5% on Wallet and Virtual; 2.2% on Pro and Premium |
| Foreign transaction fee | None |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawals | Available worldwide, with crypto-to-fiat conversion; fee and free allowance not stated |
| Withdraw to external wallet | 1% on Wallet, Virtual and Pro; 0% on Premium and Business |
| Withdraw to external bank | 1% on Virtual and Pro; 0% on Premium and Business; not applicable on Wallet |
| Limits | Labels only: Medium Limits on Wallet and Virtual, High Limits on Pro, No Limits on Premium and Business. Amounts are not stated |
| Minimum top-up | Not stated |
| Who pays the network fee | Not stated |
| Fiat top-up fee beyond the table above | Not stated |
| Balance on account closure | Not stated |
| Physical card delivery | Countries, time and cost not stated |
| Physical card replacement | $40 on Pro |
Two things stand out from that table. First, the top-up fee is the real cost of the free tier: a 2.5% charge on every deposit is not a rounding error when you are moving meaningful amounts, and it sits on top of whatever network fee the blockchain charges you. Second, the card is silent on almost every variable that would let you predict a month of spending. The conversion fee is not stated, the ATM fee is not stated, the free ATM allowance is not stated, and the limit amounts themselves are only described in words.
Now let me walk three ordinary payments through it, because that is where the shape of the cost becomes visible.
A coffee in your own currency. If your balance is already in the currency of the shop and you pay without converting anything, the fee layer is thin. There is no foreign transaction fee on this card. What you may still hit is the merchant declining a prepaid or foreign-issued card — see below — but the card’s own fees do not add much here.
A subscription billed in dollars while your balance is in euros. The card says there is no foreign transaction fee, but it also does not state what happens on FX when you pay in a currency that is not your account currency, nor what the multi-currency balance rules are. So the conversion cost here is genuinely unknown from the public pages. This is the case where I would not rely on the “no foreign transaction fees” line without checking what rate you are actually given.
Paying after topping up with crypto. Here you pay twice over: the deposit fee (2.5% or 2.2% depending on tier) and then whatever the conversion from crypto to fiat costs, which the card does not publish. Onchain network fees are charged by the blockchain itself, not by the card, and who pays them is not stated. If you top up monthly with a modest sum, these percentages are the dominant cost in the relationship, not the monthly fee — which is why the free tier’s real price is its deposit fee.
There is one more figure that belongs here because it changes the maths: the page also shows a toggle of $15.99 per month or $155 per year, and does not map it to any tier. That is a number on the page with no label attached to it, and I would want to know what it buys before treating it as an alternative to the $95 annual Pro fee.
How to top it up
Funding is the part Digitap does describe most fully, and it is a genuine strength. You can top up with crypto across more than a hundred assets, or with fiat in USD, EUR or GBP. For crypto, you choose the asset at checkout. That breadth is wider than most cards in this category, and if you are holding assets that no other card will take, it is the reason to stay.
What is missing is the part that actually bites. The networks are not disclosed. That is not a small omission: sending USDT over Tron to a card that only supports Ethereum is the kind of mistake that, on this category of card, can mean lost funds and a support ticket with no guarantee of recovery. Blockchain transfers are irreversible by design. The minimum top-up is not stated. The network fee is not stated, and neither is the policy on who bears it. The fee for a fiat top-up beyond the deposit table is not stated.
Withdrawals run alongside this and are cheaper than you would expect on the top tiers: 1% to an external wallet on Wallet, Virtual and Pro, and 0% on Premium and Business. To an external bank, 1% on Virtual and Pro and 0% on Premium and Business, with Wallet not applicable since it has no card. What happens to a remaining balance if you close the account is not stated, and that is worth asking about before you ever close one.
My practical advice, given what is published: confirm the supported network and the exact address in the app before your first transfer, and treat a small first deposit as the sensible way to test the route. That is not a trick to get around anything — it is just what you do when a provider does not publish its networks.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, the card behaves like a prepaid card. It is a Visa, either virtual immediately or in plastic, it draws on a balance you have loaded, and it cannot overdraw because there is nothing to overdraw from. ATMs are available worldwide with crypto-to-fiat conversion. That is the workable core of the product, and for someone who wants to spend from crypto without opening a bank relationship, it does what it says.
The payments world has a few quirks worth knowing about, because they are what make crypto cards feel unreliable for reasons that have nothing to do with crypto. When you pay online, the card is often asked for 3-D Secure verification — an extra identity step where the issuer decides either to approve it silently or to challenge you with a one-time code. Visa’s version of this is called Visa Secure. Some merchants also check the billing address you typed against the issuer’s records, and that check is mostly a US, Canada and UK thing that tends to be unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which is a common cause of declines. And some shops simply decline prepaid or foreign cards, because the card’s first digits identify the issuing institution and country and the shop can read them.
On mobile wallets, the card’s own pages say nothing. Unofficial reports from Trustpilot reviews in November 2025 and May 2026 say Apple Pay is missing, while reviews in December 2025 and February 2026 say Google Pay works. So Google Pay is the one to plan around, and Apple Pay users should assume it is not there until they see it themselves.
Rewards are paid in $TAP tokens rather than cash back. The rate depends on your tier — “basic cashback” on Wallet and Virtual, “high cashback” on Pro, “up to double digit %” on Premium — and the card gives no percentages, no monthly caps and says no staking is required per the page. Worth being clear with yourself: a cashback paid in a token the issuer is actively promoting into a presale is not the same as money in your account.
The app is iOS (iPhone iOS 12.0 and later, iPad, Mac M1) and Android. The official page calls it “the official beta version”. In the UK App Store storefront on 2026-10-20 it showed no rating at all, described as “not enough ratings or reviews”, and the Google Play rating was not readable. A beta app with no visible public rating is what you are being asked to bank with, and it is also where you would go to freeze a card if one existed.
Blocked merchant categories are not stated. So you cannot know in advance whether gambling, gift cards or adult merchants will decline. That matters if any of those are part of your ordinary life.
What can go wrong
This is where the 6.2 comes from, and it is worth being blunt about what I found rather than burying it.
The issuer and legal entity are not named. The company describes itself as “a fintech application powered by licensed financial partners”. That is a category description, not a name. You cannot look up which institution is liable for your balance, which regulator stands behind it, or which complaint route you would use, because none of that is published. This is the single most consequential finding in this review, and everything else is secondary to it.
The user record is thin but not empty. Trustpilot, read on 2026-10-20, shows 2.7 out of 5 from 13 reviews in the last 12 months, 54% of them one-star. The themes: no reply from support, including one case after a $299 Pro upgrade; an unanswered refund request on the Pro plan in April 2026; doubts about who runs the company and whether it is regulated, plus “scam” claims tied to the token presale; no Apple Pay; and slow KYC in June 2026. One review reports the website was unavailable in April 2026. There are a few positive notes on Google Pay. In context: 13 reviews is a small sample, and a bad month can dominate it. But the pattern it shows — silence from support, especially around money — is the pattern that matters most.
Support hours contradict the headline. The page says the company is “here to help 24/7 on email or submit a contact form”, while the plan table gives “Business Hours” for Wallet, Virtual and Pro, with 24/7 only for Premium and Business. Read the table, not the sentence. The contact route is [email protected]’s domain sibling [email protected], plus a contact form and an FAQ.
Dispute handling is not stated. No chargeback process, no timeframes, no conditions. In the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid card coverage varies and should not be assumed. If a payment goes wrong, you are currently reading rules that the card has not published.
Security features are not stated. No two-factor authentication, no instant freeze, no spending controls appear on the plans page, and the custody model is not described. So I cannot tell you who holds your crypto keys. That distinction matters: with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust them completely; with a self-custody-linked card the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, and you carry sole responsibility for key loss and for phishing. The card does not say which model it uses. And the wider category has form here — custodial platforms have failed badly, with Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin Network all losing very large sums.
The $TAP presale colours everything. The marketing site heavily promotes the $TAP presale, which is separate from the card. The user complaints about “scam” claims are tied to that presale, not to card payments. That does not make the card fraudulent. But it means the reputational risk you carry by being a customer is partly a risk you carry by participating in a token sale, and the two are hard to separate when a complaint arrives.
What I did not find. No Digitap-specific Trustpilot, Reddit or news complaints beyond the reviews above. No official incidents — no dated licence or programme events on the official pages. I would rather tell you that plainly than pad this section: the negative signal here is absence of disclosure, not documented wrongdoing.
And the category risk that is not the company’s fault. Programmes close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. Visa also suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. Your balance on closure with this card is not stated, which is exactly the detail that matters on that day.
What to take instead
If any of the above is a dealbreaker for you, the comparison below is worth doing rather than guessing. All three alternatives are scored on the same scale, which makes the comparison fair rather than rhetorical.
| Digitap | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Morse | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.2 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 7.5 / 10 |
| Card | Visa, virtual instantly, physical optional | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “coming soon” | Multicurrency card on the Mastercard network | Fully virtual Visa prepaid debit for now |
| Cost to hold | Free virtual tier; Pro $299 + $95/yr | $5 issuance, no maintenance fee; Classic free, Pro $9/mo, Max $19/mo | No annual fee; issuance fee not stated | Not stated on the card page |
| Foreign exchange | No foreign transaction fee; conversion fee not stated | Visa rate + 2% FX fee | None; live OTC rates, no hidden exchange fees | Zero FX fees or markups, real-time Visa rate |
| Funding | 100+ crypto assets or USD/EUR/GBP; networks not stated | USDC or USDT free, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow; networks not stated | Not stated | Debit card, stablecoins, local add/withdraw in 70+ countries; USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana free |
| Who it’s for | Free virtual card, minimal KYC, many assets | Paying in USD with a known issuer | Multicurrency holding, Mastercard | Highest score, virtual, no FX markup |
| Main gap | Issuer unnamed, support complaints | Physical card not available | Funding not stated; Mastercard only | Physical card not available; closed beta in some countries |
International Visa Card scores slightly above Digitap and names its issuer country. Its trade-off is the 2% FX fee on anything not in USD, and a physical card that is still “coming soon”. It publishes an exclusion list rather than the vaguer “180+ countries” — residents and registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam are not accepted, FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case, and purchases are blocked in seven of those markets. Notably, the rule follows residence or registration, not citizenship.
UNi Card scores just below Digitap. It is the cleanest on exchange costs: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, assets converted at live OTC rates with no hidden exchange fees, and Mastercard rather than Visa. What it does not publish is its funding routes or its eligibility rules, which is a real gap for anyone planning around it.
Morse is the highest scorer of the four at 7.5, and for a specific reason: zero foreign exchange fees or markups on the real-time Visa rate, and paying with the card online and contactless is free. It is fully virtual for now, and it spends from a self-custodial wallet — the funds stay in your own wallet. It also says outright that it cannot serve customers subject to US sanctions, alongside UK, EU and UN ones. The catch is access: the app is in over 140 countries with local add/withdraw in over 70, but a list of countries including Australia, Hong Kong SAR China, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, Türkiye and the United Kingdom is closed beta behind an invite code, and the card is available only in certain countries — so you would have to check the app rather than a published list.
If your priority is the cleanest exchange rate and the strongest safety posture, Morse outscores Digitap. If your priority is a free virtual card and the broadest crypto top-up options, Digitap still leads. If you need a named, established issuer, the International Visa Card is the more conventional choice.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Digitap to you if you are trying to hold a card for crypto you already own, you want a virtual one that costs nothing to keep, you would rather not submit documents for a free tier, and you are comfortable treating the balance as money exposed to a provider you have not been able to identify. Keep it small. Use it for spending you control. Check the network before your first deposit and make the first one small. Do not put money on it that you cannot afford to lose or that you cannot reconstruct from a public ledger.
I would steer you away if any of these are true: you need Apple Pay; you need a physical card quickly and cannot tolerate an unknown delivery timeline; you need published limits in numbers rather than words; you need a dispute or chargeback process stated in advance; you are in a country whose rules on crypto cards you cannot verify yourself and the card will not tell you whether it serves it; or you simply react badly to an unnamed issuer. That last one is not a small objection. It is the kind of thing that, in the regulated world, has a name and a complaints route — and here it does not.
The score of 6.2 out of 10 is not a hedge. It says: good product, thin disclosure. Which of those two matters more is a decision only you can make, and it depends on how much of your money you are willing to place inside a company that will not tell you which institution stands behind it.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Digitap card?
The Digitap card is a Visa payment card that spends from a crypto-funded balance. It is issued through a fintech platform that also offers multi-currency accounts in USD, EUR and GBP. You can hold a virtual card immediately or order a physical one with an EMV chip and PIN. It is best understood as a prepaid card: the balance is loaded first, and the card spends only what is there.
Is Digitap a bank?
No — and this is the most important thing to check for yourself. The company describes itself as “a fintech application powered by licensed financial partners”, but it does not name the issuer, the registered legal entity, or any licence. That means you cannot verify which institution holds your balance or which regulator stands behind it. If a named, established issuer matters to you, this is a reason to look at a different card.
Does Digitap require KYC?
It depends on the tier. The Wallet tier requires no KYC but comes with no card. The free Virtual tier asks for “light KYC”. Pro, Premium and Business require full KYC. The specific documents, proof of address, minimum age and processing time are not stated on the public pages. Unofficial reporting suggests a simple identity check for the virtual card and more verification for the physical one.
How much does the Digitap card cost?
The Virtual plan is free, with two free virtual cards and free replacement. But topping up costs 2.5% on Wallet and Virtual, and 2.2% on Pro and Premium. The Pro plan charges $299 to open and $95 a year. There is no foreign transaction fee. The crypto conversion fee, the ATM fee and the free ATM allowance are all not stated.
Is the Digitap card free to use?
Free to hold, not free to use. The deposit fee applies to every top-up regardless of tier, and the crypto-to-fiat conversion cost is not published. On a small monthly sum those percentages dominate everything else you would pay. There is no foreign transaction fee, so the cost concentrates in funding and conversion rather than in spending.
Can I use Digitap in my country?
The card says it works in 180+ countries worldwide, and does not publish the countries of issuance. The site’s footer states it is not directed at places where use would be contrary to local law. That means you cannot check yourself against a list — you would have to try. If your country’s rules on crypto cards matter to your decision, verify them independently.
Does Digitap support Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Neither is mentioned on the official pages. Unofficial Trustpilot reviews report that Google Pay works, in reviews from December 2025 and February 2026, and that Apple Pay is missing, in reviews from November 2025 and May 2026. If Google Pay is your main tap-to-pay route you may be fine; if you rely on Apple Pay, assume it is unavailable until you see it yourself.
How do I top up the Digitap card?
You can top up with crypto across more than a hundred assets, choosing the asset at checkout, or with fiat in USD, EUR and GBP. Deposit fees are 2.5% on Wallet and Virtual and 2.2% on Pro and Premium. The networks supported are not disclosed, and blockchain transfers are irreversible — so confirm the network and address in the app before sending, ideally starting with a small amount.
Is Digitap safe and is the support any good?
The safety question is open. No two-factor authentication, card freeze or spending controls are mentioned on the plans page, the custody model is not described, and dispute handling is not stated. On support, Trustpilot shows 2.7 out of 5 with complaints about unanswered messages and refund requests, while the plan table lists business hours for all tiers except Premium and Business.
Is a Digitap card worth it?
Worth it if you want a free virtual card, want access to 100+ crypto assets, and want to avoid documents for a basic tier. Not worth it if you need Apple Pay, published limit amounts, a stated dispute process, or a named issuer. Read it as good product with thin disclosure, and size your balance accordingly rather than treating it as a main everyday card.
Top app and neobank cards by score – cryptocardtop
Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team
