A wallet card that spends crypto, wrapped in an unpublished fee schedule
If you are looking at a UPay card because ordinary bank cards are hard to get where you live — or hard to open an account for — this review is written for you. The card promises spending straight from a crypto wallet, and in the wallet sense it does deliver: virtual and physical cards, mobile wallets, and top-ups in BTC, ETH and USDT. The problem is everything around that promise. The public pages do not publish a price for the card, a monthly fee, a conversion rate, a foreign-exchange fee, ATM terms, or spending limits. That silence is not a formatting oversight; it is the central fact of this review. My score is 6.1 out of 10. Read on for who the card fits, what it will cost you, and where the risk sits.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.1 out of 10, a usable wallet card wrapped in an unpublished fee schedule
The card works the way a prepaid card works: you load it, you spend it. That simplicity is real. But the parts that decide whether a card is cheap or expensive — issuance, monthly, conversion, foreign exchange, ATM, limits — are absent from the official pages. Unofficial figures exist and they contradict each other, which is worse than having no figures at all, because you cannot plan around a number that moves.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Support claimed in 180+ countries, but residents of certain countries are not served; the restricted list is never published, and the KYC partner accepts only ID issued in the same country as the user |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | Nothing official on price or fees; unofficial figures range from a $10 virtual card to $100 for a physical one, and the percentages disagree between sources |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | BTC, ETH and USDT named, USDC also listed, but the networks are not named anywhere, which is the part that decides whether your transfer arrives |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD in Denver, licences named but no issuer bank or card network published; Trustpilot reads 3.3 out of 5 from a single review, with reports of freezes and false PEP flags |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, ATMs mentioned — the strongest part of the offer |
This card suits you if you already hold crypto, you spend in currencies the card converts into anyway, and you can afford to treat it as a second card rather than your only one. It does not suit you if your budget depends on knowing what a payment costs, if you need to dispute a charge and read clear terms about it, or if a frozen account would leave you stranded. I would not advise putting money into a UPay card that you need next week.
Will they give you the card
Mostly yes, and this is the strongest part of the offer — with one catch that catches a lot of people.
The card claims support in 180+ countries. What it does not do is publish the list of countries where it will not serve residents. The page simply says UPay does not serve residents of certain countries, and that the list may change with regulatory or issuer policies. So the honest position is: you may be eligible, and you cannot check before you try. Third-party sites say “over 150 countries” with the United States, Germany, France, Argentina and Canada as examples, and availability depending on location, eligibility and product; another says “at least 168 countries”. Neither publishes the restricted-country list.
The catch is the KYC partner. Identity checks run through Sumsub, and the partner accepts only identity documents issued in the same country as the user. If you hold a passport or national ID from country A and live in country B, the check that matters is whether your document matches where you actually are. This is not a quirk of this card — it is how verification usually works — but it is the single most common way people fail an application, and here the rules are stated plainly enough that you can judge yourself before spending an afternoon on it.
Only one verification level is described. Proof of address and age requirements are not stated. Cards come in personal and business versions, virtual and physical.
How to get it
The steps are ordinary: create an account and verify your identity, choose and apply for a card, fund the wallet, spend. Verification through Sumsub takes 5-10 minutes according to the card.
What is missing matters as much as what is there. The card’s network is not named anywhere official — and third-party sources disagree outright. One says Visa, another says Mastercard “wherever Mastercard is accepted”, another says both Visa and Mastercard in virtual and physical form, another describes a Visa virtual card on Stellar. You cannot check this yourself; the person you are emailing will tell you, and it determines nothing about your daily use but a great deal about which merchants accept you.
Physical delivery is not stated. A physical card option is mentioned, but countries, time and cost are all absent. If the physical card is what you actually want, that is a question to ask before you load anything.
Fees and what a payment really costs
The honest headline: on the official pages, the cost of this card is not stated. Not the issuance fee, not a monthly fee, not the conversion rate, not the foreign-exchange fee, not the ATM fee, not the daily or monthly limits. The help centre terms page is a stub listing topic headings and no content. That is the material fact, and any number below it is unofficial and unconfirmed by the card.

The card page does say one useful thing: payments convert to USD, EUR, AED and others. And it says conversion may occur during payment depending on the network and settlement. The marketing says spending happens “without the need for currency conversion”, while the disclaimer says conversion between digital assets and fiat may occur during payment. Read those together and you learn that some conversion is built into the payment. What you are not told is the spread or fee on it.
| Fee or limit | What the card states |
|---|---|
| Issuance | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Conversion | conversion may occur during payment depending on network and settlement; rate not published |
| Foreign exchange | not stated; no spread or fee published for non-USD/EUR/AED payments |
| ATM | card can be used at ATMs; fee and allowance not stated |
| Daily and monthly limits | not stated |
| Tiers | none named — only personal and business, virtual and physical |
Unofficial figures, which conflict and which the card does not confirm:
- A virtual card at $10 issuance; the Stellar virtual card at $50 issuance with no monthly fee; physical Premier, Platinum and Precious at a $100 activation fee with no annual fees.
- Recharge fees of 2% on virtual cards, 1% on Precious, a flat 1% transaction fee on Premier virtual with “no deposit or cross-border fees”, 1.5% on UPay Wallet, and an advertised “no FX fees” policy.
- The Stellar card at 3% top-up and 1% FX.
- Limits stated two ways: $20,000 daily spend and unlimited monthly on the Stellar virtual card, or no limits at all.
- ATM withdrawals usable, no fee amount given anywhere — and reportedly not supported on the Stellar virtual card at all.
Three everyday payments
A coffee in Berlin. You tap. Your balance converts into EUR at a rate you were never shown, on a network whose identity the card does not publish. Any spread belongs to UPay, and you cannot see it beforehand. If a foreign-exchange fee applies and nobody has published its size, this is the payment where your cost is least knowable.
A subscription you cancel badly. Authorisation holds can sit on your balance for several days — typically up to seven — even when the merchant releases the money. On a card with no published monthly limit and no published floor, a stack of holds can quietly eat real balance.
A cash withdrawal abroad. The card says ATMs work. No fee, no allowance, no daily cap, no network list. This is the payment to avoid until you have asked a human and written down the answer.
Top up: what the wallet accepts, and what it does not say
Top-up is with BTC, ETH or USDT; USDC is also listed among supported coins. That is the whole official list. The networks are not named.

That omission is bigger than it looks, and it is the most useful thing I can tell you here. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Sending USDT over the wrong chain is the classic way to burn money.
A few network facts worth keeping in your head, because they decide whether your transfer even moves:
- USDT has been issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar.
- Gas on Ethereum is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send.
- Tron prices transactions with bandwidth and energy resources, often burning TRX.
- Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option.
Also note: any on-chain network fee for your deposit is charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider.
Not stated about top-ups: the fee, the minimum, and whether you can fund by bank transfer or card at all. Unofficial sources mention bank account funding, an eligible Visa or Mastercard as a source, and DOGE among the Stellar card’s coins. Withdrawals — getting your balance back out, and closing an account — are not documented anywhere I could find. That is not a small gap. A card you can load but not obviously unload is a one-way street, and you should establish your exit route before your first deposit.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day use is the card’s best feature and the reason for a 9 out of 10 here.
Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay are all listed on the home page. Apps are linked from the main site for App Store, Google Play and a direct APK download — the APK route is worth noting, since installing an app outside a store is a decision you should make deliberately rather than by tapping a link on a landing page. Ratings and review counts were not available.
There is no cashback stated on the card page. The home page lists an “Earn While You Sleep” product, named but not described.
Several things are not stated that will affect your week:
- Which merchants are blocked. Merchant category codes classify businesses, and gambling (MCC 7995) is one many issuers block on specific cards by policy rather than law — and the list varies by issuer. Nobody here has published UPay’s version.
- How disputes work. The FAQ page returned an error and the help terms page is a stub. A card with no published dispute process is a card you should spend cautiously, since a chargeback is a refund ordered by your issuer and its availability on a prepaid-style card should never be assumed.
- Whether address verification applies. AVS compares parts of the billing address you type with issuer records, is mainly a US, Canadian and UK thing, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — which can cause declines at checkout for reasons that look like your mistake.
One category fact worth holding on to: some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs, because the lookup reveals the card type and the issuer country. A card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another, and extra scrutiny can follow.
What can go wrong
The complaints are the weakest part of this review, and I want to be specific rather than vague about worry.
Reports from June 2026 described reviews as mixed: praise for speed and easy crypto deposits, and complaints about verification, about accounts frozen mid-transaction with ID requests, and about false PEP flags with no appeal path. A PEP flag is a politically-exposed-person marker applied during due diligence; being wrongly flagged is not your fault and there is no published route to challenge it.
On Trustpilot, the upay.com page read 3.3 out of 5 from a single review — a two-star report about a KYC failure using a Palau digital residency ID. One review is one review, and it should not be treated as a rate. Other pages tell a similar story with different domains: upay.best at 2.5 out of 5 from 19 reviews, and a June 2026 figure of 2.6 out of 5 from 19 reviews for Upay Technology Limited — a different domain, so treat it carefully. An unverified aggregator citing Trustpilot and Google Play puts app ratings around 2.5 to 2.8, mentions crashes after an update and a support bot with no escalation route, and warns of a name collision with unrelated companies also called UPay. That last point matters for anyone searching: you may find companies with this name that have nothing to do with each other.
On the company side: UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD., Denver, Colorado, USA, with the address garbled on site. Licences named are MSO (Hong Kong), VASP Lithuania “In-Principle Approval”, MSB United States and MSB Canada. No issuer bank and no network are named. The issuer is the institution that actually holds the card programme and owes you the money on it, and this card does not tell you who that is. Licence names alone are not a substitute — “in-principle approval” is not the same as a finished authorisation.
On security: beyond the Sumsub check, nothing. Custodial status, two-factor authentication, freeze controls and safeguarding of funds are not published on the pages I read. If your balance is custodial — held by the provider — you are trusting them with the funds, and the failure record of custodial platforms is long: Mt. Gox at about US$350 million reported stolen across 2011-2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, Ronin Network at US$625 million in 2022.
On support: a Help Centre at help.upay.com, an FAQ and [email protected] are listed, and the company’s address is given as Denver, Colorado. When I read the help centre root, it showed only a Chinese-language “Help Center” heading with no article list. That is the entire published self-service library. A provider that cannot explain its own fees, its limits or its dispute process in writing is asking you to rely on a chat reply.
Two general risks sit under all of this. Card programmes close — WaveCrest was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes, and Visa terminated its agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw. Where the issuer and its obligations are unpublished, you cannot tell which regime you would be in. And under EU rules, if due diligence cannot be completed, the institution is required to refrain from the transaction or the relationship and, where necessary, end it — which is why accounts freeze pending documents rather than as a discretionary act of caution.
What to take instead
Three alternatives came up in this review, all of them rated lower than UPay overall but each showing what published terms look like.
CardFlow, 4.9 out of 10, aimed at Nigeria and at Nigerians and global users. It offers a virtual USD Mastercard created in 3 minutes, and its site FAQ states plainly that creating a virtual card is completely free. It accepts Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer. No country exclusions, fees or rewards are stated.
HyperCard, 4.7 out of 10. A prepaid card with a balance in USD or EUR, funded by depositing crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app and converted to USD or EUR on the card. The App Store page says the card works in more than 176 countries — note that this is a statement about acceptance, not about your eligibility. No fees are listed on the pages I could read, which is cleaner than a list of contradictory ones.
Card.fi, 6.6 out of 10, is the only one of the three with a published fee schedule, and comparing it to UPay is the most useful exercise on this page.
| Card.fi | |
|---|---|
| Eligibility | ships to 200+ countries; terms bar residents of, or orders from, a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service |
| Cards | Virtual Classic and Premium, physical Classic and Premium, a metal stainless steel version; every physical order includes a virtual card; issued under licence from the relevant card schemes, which are not named |
| One-time cost | Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249; physical and metal prices not listed; no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee |
| Top-up fee | Classic 1.5% plus $1.00; Premium 1% |
| FX fee | Classic 3.5%; Premium 2.5% |
| Conversion | the fee is shown before each top-up |
| Funding | 32 coins across 5 networks — Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch — including USDT, USDC, ETH, BNB, SOL, KAANCH; a deposit address per card; converted at market rate on arrival; sending on the wrong chain risks permanent loss |
| Cashback | Classic 0.8% capped at 10 USDT a month; Premium 1%; Metal 1.2% capped at 100 USDT a month and 5,000 USDT, or 2% capped at 250 USDT a month and 20,000 USDT; headline 10% at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT a month; up to 18% on Metal balances, variable |
Two things stand out. Card.fi shows the conversion fee *before* you confirm a top-up, which is the single feature UPay most conspicuously lacks. And it names its networks, which is what makes the funding section safe to read. Neither of those is a small thing.
None of the three tells you everything either. CardFlow and HyperCard publish almost nothing about costs. If your decision turns on cost transparency, Card.fi is the only one of the four where you can compute a payment in advance.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to someone who is comfortable treating it as a convenience wallet rather than a financial account, and who has read the section above about what can go wrong.
Concretely: you already hold BTC, ETH or USDT and are used to network fees and wrong-chain anxiety. You are spending in USD, EUR, AED or another currency the card converts into anyway. You have a second card for anything important. You will not be hurt by a temporary freeze, because you are not dependent on this balance. And you have asked [email protected], in writing, for the fee schedule, the ATM terms, the limits and the network — and you are prepared for the answer to be vague.
I would not recommend it to you if any of these are true. You need to know what a payment costs before you make it. You depend on a single card for salary or for sending money home. You are in a country where you suspect — but cannot confirm — that you are excluded. You are planning to move funds out of it later. Or you simply find it uncomfortable that the issuer bank is not named. Those are not unreasonable positions. Given what is published, they are the sensible ones.
If UPay is a crypto wallet you already use, then the card is a natural extension and the wallet relationship may matter more than the card terms. If it is a stranger, the silence on this page is the main thing you are being asked to accept.
Frequently asked questions
What is UPay card?
It is a payment card tied to a crypto wallet. You load the wallet with BTC, ETH or USDT — USDC is also listed — and the balance converts to fiat when you pay, with payments converting into USD, EUR, AED and others. Cards come in virtual and physical form, and in personal and business versions. The company behind it is UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD., registered in Denver, Colorado, USA.
Is UPay a bank?
No, and the distinction matters. The card pages name licences including MSB United States, MSB Canada, MSO Hong Kong and a Lithuanian VASP “In-Principle Approval”, but the issuer bank is not stated anywhere on the pages I read. A payment card normally depends on a licensed institution issuing it under a network’s licence; here that institution is unnamed, so you cannot tell whose balance you are holding.
How much does the UPay card cost?
Officially, that is not stated — not the issuance fee, not a monthly fee, not the conversion rate, not the foreign-exchange fee, not ATM fees, not limits. Unofficial figures conflict: a $10 virtual card, a $50 Stellar virtual card, a $100 physical card, top-up fees quoted between 1% and 3%. I would not budget from any of these; I would ask support in writing first.
Does the UPay card require KYC?
Yes. Identity checks run through Sumsub, and the partner accepts only identity documents issued in the same country as the user. The card says verification takes 5-10 minutes. Only one verification level is described; proof of address, age requirements and rejection reasons are not stated. Note also that your nationality is screened separately from where you live.
How do I top up the UPay card?
Through the wallet, using BTC, ETH or USDT, with USDC also listed among supported coins. The networks are not named, and that is the detail to get right: transfers are irreversible, and funds sent on an unsupported network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Ask which networks are supported, and check before you send.
Is the UPay card free?
Unclear. Third-party sources disagree — one says a virtual card costs $10, another says a Stellar virtual card costs $50 with no monthly fee, and the physical tiers are quoted at a $100 activation fee. Another source reports no limits at all. Nothing is confirmed by the card, so treat “free” as unverified rather than as a fact.
Can I use the UPay card in my country?
Probably, but you cannot confirm it in advance. The card claims support in 180+ countries and says it does not serve residents of certain countries, without publishing which ones. Third-party sites say “over 150 countries” or “at least 168 countries” and still do not publish the restricted list. The application itself is the only test, and your identity document must match the country you are in.
Can I add the UPay card to Apple Wallet?
The home page lists Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. Apple Pay works by replacing the card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, with a fresh security code per payment. Some users report Apple Pay being unavailable on particular cards or regions, so if mobile wallet use is why you want this card, confirm it for your region first.
Is the UPay card safe?
Judge it on what is published, not on what is implied. Beyond the Sumsub identity check, the pages do not state whether balances are custodial, whether two-factor authentication exists, or how funds are safeguarded. The issuer bank and network are unnamed. Trustpilot for upay.com read 3.3 out of 5 from one review, and 2026 user reports describe account freezes and false PEP flags with no appeal route.
What should I check before committing money?
Ask [email protected] for the fee schedule, the network, the issuing institution, ATM terms, daily and monthly limits, and the withdrawal process — in writing, and read the reply. Then check whether that provider appears on the ESMA interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers. If the answers stay vague, size your deposit to an amount you could afford to lose access to.
Top virtual cards by score – cryptocardtop
Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team
