WantToPay — a Telegram-first virtual card for spending crypto abroad, weighed against its fees and limits
WantToPay is a virtual prepaid card you fund with crypto or Russian rubles and spend online or through mobile wallets on the Smart tier. The product lives inside a Telegram Mini App and on a website, with no physical card and no ATM access. Its promise is simple enough: turn a stablecoin balance or a ruble transfer into a payment card number you can use at foreign services. In practice, the card is held back by steep crypto top-up fees on the entry tiers, a $6 monthly service charge on three of four tiers, and limited information about the issuing institution, the card network and the countries it serves. If you mostly pay Telegram-adjacent foreign services in small amounts and value a quick virtual card over a feature-rich one, WantToPay can do the job. If you want cheaper top-ups, broader card-network compatibility, a metal or physical card, or cashback, you will probably want to look elsewhere.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
WantToPay scores 4.5 out of 10 in my review. That score is built on six marks, one per category, that I’ll walk through here. The breakdown shows you where the card earns its points and where it loses them.
| Criterion | Mark | Why it scores where it does |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | The site names no country list, no residency rule; the only stated gate is age 18+ for a new-user promo. |
| Cost | 2 / 10 | Issuing fees range from 990 to 3,490 RUB; the monthly service fee is $6 on Easy, Smart and Pro; crypto top-up fees are 9% on Easy and 7% on Smart. |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Rubles by phone number or bank card; crypto BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC, TON. The networks are not named. |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | The operator is WTP Technology Limited in Hong Kong; the issuer is not named; Trustpilot hides the star rating and holds 274 reviews, with complaints about cards that stopped working and funds that became inaccessible. |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual only; Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay only on Smart and Pro; no physical card, no ATM, no cashback. |
| Total | 4.5 / 10 | A quick, Telegram-native virtual card with high entry-tier fees and a thin public profile. |
The audience that gets the most out of WantToPay is narrow: Telegram users paying foreign services by virtual card, comfortable paying the $6 monthly fee and the 7–9% crypto top-up fee in exchange for a number that works online. If that is not you, the rest of this review should help you decide whether the card is worth its costs.
Who will they give you the card
WantToPay’s home page does not publish a country list. The terms index I read gave no residency rule, and the page text confirms only a promotional gate: the welcome offer is for new users aged 18 and over. There is no statement about which citizenships are accepted, which residents qualify, or how many countries the card actually covers. If country eligibility matters to you, this is a real gap, not a minor omission: you may verify, pay an issuing fee, and only then discover the card is not usable in your region.
Age and identity are the only firm gates, and identity is handled through Sumsub, a third-party KYC vendor. The official flow is “verification with one document”: a passport, foreign passport or driver’s licence, with both sides photographed for an ID card or licence, plus a selfie that may prompt a blink or head turn. The company says it does not store document copies. The process is described as “usually a few minutes”, with the caveat that failed attempts most often come down to photo quality, and that you should contact support after several failures. Proof of address is not listed among the official KYC steps, only the ID document and the selfie.
What that means in practice: if you have a valid passport or driver’s licence, a phone with a camera, and a few minutes, you can complete sign-up. The unknown is geographic: I could not confirm or deny availability for a specific country from the public pages.
How to get it
You open the product inside Telegram — WantToPay is a Telegram Mini App — or on the website, register with an email, confirm your phone, and run the KYC flow through Sumsub. Once your identity is verified, the card is issued digitally; there is no shipping step, no courier, no waiting for a physical card. The card is virtual only, the primary currency is US dollars, and online payments are protected by 3D Secure. The home page does not name the card network (Visa or Mastercard) for the standard tiers; a third-party sponsored article from September 2026 notes that some Smart cards are issued in the USA and some Prepaid and Easy cards carry Singapore BINs. I’m flagging that as unofficial: it is not confirmed by WantToPay’s own pages.
If you verify within seven days of registering, the company offers a 30% discount on the Easy tier. That’s the welcome offer, and it is the only time-bound promotion I found on the public pages.
Fees
This is the section you should read carefully, because the headline fees are the most common reason people feel they overpaid for a crypto card. WantToPay splits its pricing across an issuing fee, a monthly service fee, a per-transaction fee and a top-up fee, and each one bites at a different moment.

| Item | Prepaid | Easy | Smart | Pro |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Issuing fee | $10–$200 (fixed denomination) | 990 RUB (about $10) | 1,590 RUB | 3,490 RUB (about $35) |
| Validity | 24 months | 24 months | 36–60 months | — |
| Monthly service fee | $0 | $6 | $6 | $6 |
| Crypto top-up fee | fixed denomination only | 9% | 7% | not stated separately |
| Successful payment fee | $0.25–$0.50 | $0.25–$0.50 | $0.50–$1.00 + 0.2% for contactless | $0.5 + 1% of payment amount |
| Failed payment fee | $0.25–$0.50 | $0.25–$0.50 | $0.40–$1.00 | $1 |
| Per-transaction limit | $10,000 | $20,000 | $25,000 | not stated |
| Spending limit | $20,000 / day | $50,000 / day | — | $50,000 / month |
The card’s base currency is USD. A separate currency-conversion commission for paying in other currencies is not shown in the comparison table. The home page describes ruble top-ups as converted “at the app rate” but does not publish the spread. A separate, third-party report from September 2026 describes a “Plus” subscription of 690 RUB or 6 USDT per 30 days, with longer bundles at 1,860 / 3,310 / 4,100 RUB for 3 / 6 / 12 months, covering all of a user’s cards. I treat that as unofficial, but it lines up with the $6 monthly service fee on three of four tiers, so the two figures are likely the same charge seen from two angles. ATM access is not part of the card at all: a third-party report says funds cannot be withdrawn, and the official pages describe no ATM feature.
To give you a feel for how the costs stack up, here are three everyday payments on a Smart card:
- A $10 subscription paid online: 7% crypto top-up fee on the underlying balance, a $0.50–$1.00 successful payment fee on top, and USD/EUR conversion if the merchant bills in a non-dollar currency. A $10 spend is genuinely small, and the fixed per-payment fee is the larger share of the cost.
- A $100 one-off purchase at a foreign online store: the same 7% on the way in, a $0.50–$1.00 fee on the way out, and any FX spread when the merchant settles in another currency. The percentage fees shrink as a share of the spend; the fixed fees do not.
- A $1,000 trip’s worth of contactless payments abroad on a Pro card: 1% of the payment amount on every transaction adds $10 across the trip, and the 0.2% contactless surcharge on Smart does not apply. The monthly $6 service fee is already in the running total regardless of how much you spend.
If the costs feel high, they are: WantToPay is roughly twice as expensive to fund as many non-crypto prepaid cards, and several times more expensive than a low-fee crypto card on the entry tiers. The offset is convenience — a card number in minutes, with crypto or ruble funding, accessible from Telegram.
Top up
WantToPay supports two funding paths on the Easy and Smart tiers, and a fixed-denomination path on the Prepaid tier. You can top up with Russian rubles by phone-number instant transfer or by bank card, or with crypto: BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC or TON. The minimum deposit is $10 on every tier.

The ruble route is straightforward for users with a supported phone number or a bank card. The crypto route is where the friction is, because the public pages do not name the networks. You are expected to use a fresh set of crypto payment details for every top-up (the deposit flow goes through Cryptomus, a payment processor), and a transfer to already-used details “cannot be returned”. That is worth internalising: crypto transfers on a card product like this are typically one-shot, and a network mismatch or a reused address can lock funds. The official pages also do not state who pays the on-chain network fee (the gas or bandwidth charged by the blockchain itself). That fee is separate from WantToPay’s 7% or 9% top-up fee and is normally paid by the sender.
The third-party report from September 2026 lists a refusal code, #D005, for transactions at prohibited merchant categories such as crypto exchanges, casinos, adult content, mining pools, e-wallets and government bodies, and says gambling and donations are out of bounds on any tariff. The same source flags that sellers from Russia, Belarus, China and Turkey, “among others”, are barred under the tariff terms. None of this is from WantToPay’s own pages, so I am treating it as unofficial; it is, however, consistent with how prepaid cards in this segment usually work.
Funding lands “usually at once, up to 180 minutes” on Easy and Smart, which is a wide window. If a card-provider technical failure leaves money in limbo, it ends up in an “internal balance” that you can move back to a Prepaid, Easy, Smart or Pro card at any time, free, with a $2 minimum and a $500 daily cap. You cannot add money to that internal balance from a card; it is a recovery bucket, not a piggy bank. The official pages do not describe a withdrawal to a bank or to crypto, and the same third-party report says you cannot withdraw funds from the card at all. The product is built for spending, not cashing out.
Paying with it every day
On a Smart or Pro card, the everyday experience is reasonably modern. Smart supports Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, which means you can tokenise the card onto your phone and pay at physical terminals, online, and in apps that accept those wallets. The official pages do not list which merchant categories are blocked. The third-party report mentioned in the previous section names a refusal code for prohibited categories and excludes gambling, donations, in-game stores (Brawl Stars, Genshin Impact), the Epic Games Store and the PlayStation Store on any tariff, with Apple Pay only available on Smart; I am citing this as unofficial.
There is no cashback. The home page and tariff comparison do not mention a rewards programme, and the third-party report confirms nothing in this area either. That is a meaningful absence in a category where 1–2% back on spending is now common. If a return on your spending matters to you, the absence of cashback is a real cost on top of the fees in the table above.
The product is a Telegram Mini App plus a website, with no App Store or Google Play listing. That is unusual and worth flagging: you manage the card from inside Telegram or in a browser, and there is no native iOS or Android app to install. Ratings for a native app are not stated because the app does not exist in that form. Disputes and chargebacks are also not described on the official pages I read, which is a gap for anyone planning larger purchases.
What can go wrong
The most concrete risk picture I can give you is the public Trustpilot profile. As of 20 October 2026, Trustpilot shows 274 reviews for WantToPay, with 152 of them in the last 12 months. The headline star rating is hidden — Trustpilot says the TrustScore is “unavailable due to a breach of our guidelines”, after fake reviews were removed — and the homepage claims a 4.6 rating. Looking at the reviews themselves, 85% are five-star and 13% are one-star, and the negative themes are consistent: cards that stopped working, funds that became inaccessible, and reports that support went silent. The company has replied to roughly 3% of negative reviews, which is a low engagement rate. Some of the five-star reviews are short, and a non-trivial share come from accounts with a single review, which is a familiar pattern around paid or incentivised review farms.
Specific complaints I saw: declined payments and top-ups taking anywhere from ten minutes to nearly an hour (September 2026), refusal to refund a 693 RUB issuing fee (September 2026), and a refund that took “several months” to be returned (May 2026). Positive reviews praise the speed of the virtual card issuing and the responsiveness of support, which is consistent with the official 07:00 to 00:00 (GMT+3) live-support window via the Telegram bot @WantToPaySupportBot, and the email [email protected]. Pro tier users get VIP support; everyone else can use the AI assistant “Ask” in the knowledge base.
The company is WTP Technology Limited, incorporated in Hong Kong (company number 76394774). The card’s issuing bank or e-money institution is not named on the public pages. A third-party report says the BIN sponsor is not named either, with BIN regions in the USA and Singapore, and the card network is not stated. I’m presenting this as unofficial. The practical upshot is that you are trusting a Hong Kong company with your KYC data and your card balance, with no published regulator to escalate to and no named issuer whose licence you can verify.
On the security side, online payments are protected by 3D Secure, and the company says it does not store KYC document copies (Sumsub handles that). Custody model, in-app freeze, two-factor authentication, spending controls and insurance are not stated on the pages I read. There is no dated news section on the official site; the company says it has been operating since 2022. All of this is the kind of detail that is standard on a regulated card issuer’s product page, and its absence here is not reassuring.
What to take instead
The honest framing is that WantToPay is one option in a small but growing segment, and the three alternatives below each make a different trade-off. None of these is a “best crypto card” recommendation; they are alternatives worth weighing against your own situation.
| Card | Score | What it offers | What you give up |
|---|---|---|---|
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | A free virtual USD Mastercard created in about 3 minutes; funds in Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer. | Aimed at Nigeria; no country list, no exclusions published; no stated fees or cashback. |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | A prepaid card in USD or EUR; deposit USDT, BTC or ETH in the app; the App Store claims acceptance in 176+ countries (acceptance, not eligibility). | No country list, no fees published on the pages I could read, network not stated. |
| Card.fi | 6.6 / 10 | Virtual, physical and metal cards; 32 coins across 5 networks (Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch); cashback up to 2% on Premium, headline 10% at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT/month; ships to 200+ countries. | Higher issuing fees (Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249); top-up fees 1–1.5% + $1.00; FX 2.5–3.5%; sanctions-only country rule. |
A few words on how I would compare them. CardFlow’s free virtual card is the cheapest entry point, and if you live in or near Nigeria it is the most direct fit; the absence of published fees and country rules means you have to discover the limits yourself. HyperCard is closer to WantToPay in feel — a prepaid card funded from crypto, balance in USD or EUR — and the 176-country claim is about where the card is accepted, not who can apply, so it tells you less than it first appears. Card.fi is the most expensive to start with and the most fully specified: it spells out its top-up and FX fees, lists the supported networks, and runs a tiered cashback programme; if you are paying foreign services regularly and want to know your effective rate in advance, Card.fi is the more transparent option.
Who I would recommend it to
WantToPay makes sense for a narrow reader. If you live in the Telegram app, you already hold crypto or rubles, and you want a virtual card number in minutes to pay a foreign service subscription or a one-off online purchase, WantToPay is a competent tool. The convenience — KYC, card and top-up all from inside Telegram — is real, and the lower 7% top-up fee on Smart is the cheapest path if you can stomach the $6 monthly service fee.
It does not make sense if you care about any of the following: cheaper crypto funding (a 1–2% top-up is normal elsewhere); a published regulator or named issuer; a physical card or ATM access; cashback; or wide compatibility with mobile wallets and merchant categories. If you want a metal or physical card, or if you want to fund with USDC on a network you can name in advance, look at Card.fi first. If you want a free virtual card and live in or near Nigeria, CardFlow is the natural fit. If you want a prepaid USD or EUR card and acceptance in many countries, HyperCard is the closer cousin to WantToPay, with similar gaps in published detail.
A practical word of caution before you commit any meaningful balance: this is a Hong Kong company with a hidden Trustpilot star rating, a $6 monthly fee, a 7–9% top-up fee on the lower tiers, and 13% one-star reviews on 274 total. That does not make it a scam, and many users do report a smooth experience. It does mean you should fund the card with only what you plan to spend in the near term, not treat it as a long-term balance account, and keep an eye on your monthly statement.
Frequently asked questions
What is WantToPay card?
WantToPay is a virtual prepaid card you fund with crypto (BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC, TON) or Russian rubles, and spend online or through mobile wallets on the Smart tier. There is no physical card, no ATM, and no app in the App Store or Google Play — the product is a Telegram Mini App and a website.
How does WantToPay card work?
You verify your identity through Sumsub with an ID document and a selfie, choose a tier, pay the issuing fee, and the card number is generated digitally. You top up the card with crypto or rubles, then spend the balance online or via Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay on Smart and Pro.
Is WantToPay a bank?
No. The operator is WTP Technology Limited, a Hong Kong-registered company (incorporation number 76394774). The card’s issuing bank or e-money institution is not named on the public pages, and the card network (Visa or Mastercard) is not officially stated for most tiers.
Is WantToPay card available in my country?
The home page does not publish a country list. The only stated gate is age 18+ for the welcome promo. The third-party report from September 2026 mentions that sellers from Russia, Belarus, China and Turkey, “among others”, are barred under the tariff terms, but that is unofficial and not from WantToPay itself. If country eligibility matters to you, treat it as a question to confirm with support before you verify.
How do I get a WantToPay card?
Open the Telegram Mini App or the website, register with email, confirm your phone, complete the Sumsub KYC with an ID document and a selfie, and pick a tier. The card is issued digitally; there is no delivery. If you verify within seven days of registration, you qualify for a 30% discount on the Easy tier.
Does WantToPay card require KYC?
Yes. The flow is run by Sumsub and uses a passport, foreign passport or driver’s licence (both sides for an ID card or licence) and a selfie that may include a blink or head turn. The company says it does not store document copies. Processing is “usually a few minutes”; failures are most often photo quality, and you should contact support after several failed attempts. Proof of address is not listed.
How do I top up WantToPay card?
On Easy and Smart, you can top up with rubles by phone-number instant transfer or by bank card, or with crypto (BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC, TON). The minimum deposit is $10. Crypto top-ups use a fresh set of payment details for every transfer via Cryptomus, and a transfer to already-used details “cannot be returned”, so each top-up needs a new deposit. Networks are not officially named.
Can I withdraw money from WantToPay?
The official pages do not describe a withdrawal to a bank or to crypto. A third-party report says funds cannot be withdrawn from the card at all, and the card is positioned as a spending tool, not a cash account. If a technical failure leaves money in limbo, it moves to an “internal balance” that you can transfer back to another WantToPay card, free, with a $2 minimum and a $500 daily cap.
Is WantToPay card safe?
Online payments are protected by 3D Secure, and KYC is handled by Sumsub with no document copies stored by WantToPay. The rest of the safety picture is not published: the issuing institution is not named, the regulator is not named, custody model and insurance are not stated, and Trustpilot has hidden the star rating after removing fake reviews, with 13% one-star reviews out of 274. The company has replied to roughly 3% of negative reviews.
Is WantToPay card worth it?
It depends on what you need. If you want a quick virtual card inside Telegram, will pay the $6 monthly fee on Easy/Smart/Pro, and can absorb the 7% Smart top-up fee, WantToPay is workable. If cheaper funding, a named issuer, a physical or metal card, cashback, or wider merchant compatibility matters, the alternatives in this review are stronger fits.
Top virtual cards by score – cryptocardtop
Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team
