A pseudonymous virtual Visa you load with BTC, Lightning, or stablecoins — at a price

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Freedomia is a digital-only Visa card that you top up with Bitcoin, Lightning, or a handful of stablecoins and spend anywhere Visa is taken online. It is marketed as pseudonymous at low volumes, has no physical card, and lives behind an account that is just an email. That framing puts it in a specific corner of the crypto-card market, and the rest of this review is about whether the corner makes sense for you.

Freedomia works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The card sits at 6.1 / 10 overall in this assessment. It scores well on who can get it and on the range of top-up options, and it loses ground on cost transparency, on what the company tells you about itself, and on the lack of any physical card or ATM access. The sections below walk through each of those points in turn.

Conditions on the card’s own pages are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Freedomia is a reasonable fit if you specifically want a virtual Visa, you already hold BTC or Lightning, and you would rather not hand over ID to get a payment card. It is a worse fit if you want a physical card, an ATM, Apple Pay today, or clear published information about fees, the issuing bank, and the licences behind the product.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Freedomia payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Score breakdown

Criterion Mark Why it scored as it did
Who can get it 8 / 10 Described as “Global” with no country list on the home page; restrictions live in an unread FAQ answer
Cost 4 / 10 Founder at $5/month or $60/year, 1.3% top-up, 2.5% FX, 0% on USD; the issuance fee is not published
Top-up options 9 / 10 Lightning, BTC, XMR, ETH, LTC, SOL, TRX, BNB, USDT on Polygon, USDC on Polygon, and more; auto-swapped to USD
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Operates as Freedomia Digital Group LLC in Delaware; issuer and licences not named; no Trustpilot page found
Everyday use 5 / 10 Digital-only Visa, instant issue, 3DS, Google Wallet works; Apple Pay “coming soon”; no plastic, no ATM
Total 6.1 / 10

The audience this card was built for is the privacy-minded user who already has crypto, wants a Visa number rather than a bank product, and is happy to keep balances modest. If that is you, the model fits. If it is not, the next sections will show you where the friction is.

Who can get the Freedomia card

Freedomia is described on its own site only as “Global”. There is no country list, no residency requirement, and no age statement on the home page. The FAQ has a question about restricted countries, but a clear answer is not available. The practical reading is: if the form lets you sign up, you are in, until the card’s own checks say otherwise.

You sign up by email. There is no approval queue and no document upload before the card is issued. The site markets this as “No verification. No approval.” The card itself is a digital (virtual) Visa, issued instantly, re-issuable any time, and protected by 3-D Secure on online checkouts. The card balance is held in US dollars. There is no physical card, so the usual delivery, shipping address, and pickup questions do not apply — that side of the process simply does not exist.

The company behind the product is Freedomia Digital Group LLC, with a registered address in Newark, Delaware. Freedomia does not publish the name of an issuing bank or an e-money licence, which is a detail to keep in mind. A Visa number is a Visa number, but the institution that issues it, and the regulator that watches that institution, is what determines whether a frozen balance can ever be unfrozen.

This is the section that most affects anyone who has trouble getting an ordinary bank card. If you are in that situation, the absence of a published country list and the absence of an ID step at sign-up is precisely the appeal, and it is also the thing to be most careful about, because the higher monthly spend thresholds come with checks the card reserves the right to run (see below).

How to sign up

Signing up is by email. You register, you get a card, and you can spend up to the tier’s monthly limit. There is no waiting period, no document upload, and no manual approval step described in the public material.

What changes with volume is not the sign-up itself but what the issuer can ask for later. The marketing says there is no verification at the start, and the card’s own terms (the part the public pages do not spell out) reserve the right to run KYC and AML checks above a monthly spend threshold. A third-party report from CriptoNoticias, dated September 2026 and not confirmed by the card, describes Freedomia as a pseudonymous card with no KYC required at or below US$5,000 of monthly spending, with the issuer able to request checks above that. Treat that threshold as unofficial until the card publishes it on its own site.

In practical terms the flow is: create an account with an email, request the card, and it appears. You can then re-issue the card at any time, freeze and unfreeze it from the web account, and set card-level limits in the card interface. There is no standalone mobile app described in the public material — the card lives behind the web account, so “the app” is the browser, and the controls available there are Freeze Card, Card Data, and Card Limits.

What the Freedomia card really costs

Cost is where Freedomia loses the most marks. Three numbers are easy to find on the site, and one important number is not.

The card’s plans are built around a monthly or annual subscription:

At the time of writing only Founder is live. The two higher tiers exist on the pricing page but are not yet open to new sign-ups.

On top of the subscription, three transactional costs apply:

The 0% on USD spending is straightforward — if the card balance is in USD and the merchant settles in USD, you do not pay a conversion fee. The 2.5% kicks in anywhere a non-USD currency is involved. Because every top-up is auto-swapped to USD, you only hit the 2.5% line if the merchant or the card network converts again on the way to the merchant.

Cost at a glance

Fee or limit Amount
Issuance fee Not stated
Founder subscription $5/month or $60/year
HODL subscription $9.99/month or $119.88/year (coming soon)
MOON subscription $17.99/month or $215.88/year (coming soon)
Top-up fee 1.3%
FX fee (non-USD) 2.5%
FX fee (USD spending) 0%
ATM fee Not stated (virtual card only)
Founder monthly / annual limit $5,000 / $60,000
HODL monthly / annual limit $5,000 / $60,000
MOON monthly / annual limit $10,000 / $120,000
Card-level limits Settable in the card interface

What this means in three everyday payments

The honest reading of these numbers: at very low monthly spend the $5 subscription dominates, at medium spend the 1.3% top-up fee dominates, and at higher spend the 2.5% FX fee dominates when you pay in non-USD currencies. The plan you pick also changes your support tier and your monthly ceiling — Founder and HODL are both capped at $5,000 a month, MOON doubles that to $10,000.

What is missing is the issuance fee, which is genuinely not published on the public pages. If you are comparing this card to others, that line item is open. You should also assume that on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain itself, not by Freedomia, so a Bitcoin or Ethereum top-up will cost you a network fee on top of the 1.3%.

Top-up options

Topping up Freedomia is the strongest part of the product. The card’s deposit flow takes crypto, converts it to USD automatically, and credits your card balance. The published list of supported coins is generous: Lightning Network (to a personal Lightning Address), Bitcoin, Monero, Ethereum, Litecoin, Solana, Tron, BNB, USDT on Polygon, USDC on Polygon, and “and more”. Funds land as USD on the card.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Freedomia starts with a transfer to the right network

A few practical points to bear in mind, drawn directly from the public material:

The two consequences for you: pick the network carefully before you send anything, and budget the on-chain fee on top of the 1.3%. If you are already Lightning-native, the personal Lightning Address is the cheapest path in.

Paying with the Freedomia card every day

Freedomia is digital-only. There is no plastic card, no ATM, and no way to dip or swipe a physical object. That is the single biggest constraint on everyday use, and it shapes everything else.

What you do get is a virtual Visa you can drop into checkout forms, save in password managers, and add to mobile wallets. The card supports 3-D Secure for online purchases, so when a merchant challenges the transaction you will see the issuer’s verification step. The card’s own pages confirm Google Wallet works for tap-to-pay, and Apple Pay is listed as “coming soon”. If your phone is your wallet, Android is the supported path today.

The web account is where you control the card. From there you can freeze the card, view card data, and set card-level limits. There is no standalone mobile app described in the public material, so the experience is browser-first. Ratings from app stores are not applicable because there is no app to rate.

A few things the public pages do not cover, and that you should not assume: blocked merchant categories, reward or cashback programmes, and the contents of the terms’ “Returns, disputes and chargebacks” section. The terms name a section 19 on returns, disputes and chargebacks, but the text is not clearly set out. The conservative reading is to plan as if there is no rewards programme, and to treat any dispute as something you raise by email rather than through a polished in-app flow.

The day-to-day ceiling is the tier limit. Founder caps you at $5,000 a month and $60,000 a year, HODL matches Founder, and MOON doubles both to $10,000 a month and $120,000 a year. You can also set a lower card-level limit inside the card interface, which is the right move for a card that lives behind a single password.

What can go wrong with the Freedomia card

The most useful way to think about the risks is in three layers: the company, the technology, and the regulatory frame.

The company layer

Freedomia is operated by Freedomia Digital Group LLC, registered in Delaware. Freedomia does not name an issuing bank or any licence, and there is no public list of regulators overseeing the product. That is unusual for a Visa-issued product, where the BIN belongs to a licensed issuer somewhere. A third-party report (CriptoNoticias, September 2026) describes the service as custodial and closed-source. There is no Trustpilot page, no Reddit thread, and no review site presence — that absence is not the same as a clean record, it is the same as a thin one.

The practical consequence: if something goes wrong, the institution you are dealing with is the LLC, and your remedies are whatever the terms say. There is no clear second line of defence in the form of a named e-money licence or a regulator you can complain to.

The technology layer

The card is custodial. Your crypto is converted on the way in and held as a USD balance inside Freedomia, and the card spends that balance. The custodial model means the user has to trust the provider with funds between top-up and spend, and that trust has failed in the past at other companies (Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin). The card does publish some standard safeguards: 3-D Secure, freeze-card from the web account, and Tor/Onion support for those who want to access the service over a privacy network.

The technology risks that are general to crypto deposits also apply: sending a coin on the wrong network, sending to the wrong address, or having clipboard malware rewrite a copied address. These are not Freedomia-specific — they are the cost of doing crypto at all — but they matter more here because there is no human-readable error message and no guarantee of recovery.

The regulatory layer

The card is marketed as pseudonymous at low volumes, and the terms reserve the right to ask for KYC and AML documents above certain thresholds. A third-party report puts that threshold at US$5,000 of monthly spending; treat that as unofficial until the card publishes it itself. If you push past it, expect to be asked for ID, and expect that the card can pause your account while documents are reviewed. The Visa and Mastercard networks themselves can suspend a card programme (FTX in 2022, WaveCrest in 2018), so even a clean company is one network decision away from a programme shutdown.

What the card does not publish is a list of blocked merchant categories. Many issuers block gambling (MCC 7995) and similar categories by policy; Freedomia does not state which, if any, it does. If you intend to use the card somewhere unusual, plan to test with a small amount first.

What to take instead of the Freedomia card

Freedomia is not the only virtual card in this corner of the market, and three useful comparisons sit in a similar price-and-shape bracket.

CardFlow

CardFlow markets itself as “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” and to Nigerians and global users. It issues a virtual USD Mastercard created in minutes, and creating a virtual card is described as free in its FAQ. Funding is by Bitcoin, USDT, ETH, or Nigerian-naira bank transfer. The site does not publish a country list, a monthly fee, or FX rates, so the comparison is incomplete. Overall score: 4.9 / 10. If you are in Nigeria or sending naira in, CardFlow is a credible local option; if you are not, the absence of published fees and the naira-centred design are reasons to look elsewhere.

HyperCard

HyperCard is a prepaid card whose App Store page says it works in more than 176 countries (acceptance, not eligibility). The card balance is held in USD or EUR, and funding is by crypto deposit (USDT, BTC, ETH and others) inside the app, converted to the card’s balance currency on the way in. Fees are not stated on the pages available. Overall score: 4.7 / 10. The wider acceptance footprint and the EUR option are the obvious advantages over Freedomia if those matter to you, at the cost of similar opacity on fees.

Card.fi

Card.fi is the most fully published of the three. Its banner says cards ship to more than 200 countries, and its terms bar residents of, or orders from, sanctioned countries. It offers virtual Classic and Premium cards, physical Classic and Premium cards, and a metal (stainless steel) card — and every physical order comes with a virtual card too. Pricing is transparent: virtual Classic is a one-time $49, virtual Premium is $249, with no monthly, annual, inactivity, or minimum-balance fee. Top-up fees are 1.5% + $1 on Classic and 1% on Premium, FX is 3.5% on Classic and 2.5% on Premium, with the conversion fee shown before each top-up. Funding is 32 coins across five networks (Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch) including USDT, USDC, ETH, BNB, SOL, and KAANCH, sent to a per-card deposit address. Card.fi also pays cashback on card spending — 0.8% on Classic (capped at 10 USDT a month), 1% on Premium, 1.2% on Metal (with a 10 USDT cap on the headline 10% coffee-shop rate and 5,000 USDT cap on the standard rate) or 2% on Metal with a 250 USDT cap, plus variable “earn on balances” rates up to 18% on Metal. Overall score: 6.6 / 10. Card.fi is the choice if you want a published price list, a physical card option, and a cashback programme, and you are willing to pay a one-time issuance fee rather than a monthly subscription.

Freedomia at a glance versus the three

Card Card type Country reach Subscription Top-up fee FX fee Funding
Freedomia Virtual Visa “Global”, not listed $5/month or $60/year (Founder) 1.3% 2.5% (0% on USD) BTC, Lightning, XMR, ETH, LTC, SOL, TRX, BNB, USDT/USDC on Polygon
CardFlow Virtual Mastercard Nigeria-focused Free virtual card Not stated Not stated BTC, USDT, ETH, naira bank
HyperCard Prepaid (network not stated) “176+ countries” (acceptance) Not stated Not stated Not stated USDT, BTC, ETH in app
Card.fi Virtual and physical “200+ countries” None (one-time issuance) 1.5% + $1 (Classic), 1% (Premium) 3.5% (Classic), 2.5% (Premium) 32 coins on 5 networks

The honest summary: Freedomia wins on top-up variety, CardFlow wins on local-fiat access in Nigeria, HyperCard wins on acceptance footprint, and Card.fi wins on transparency and on giving you a physical card.

Who I would recommend the Freedomia card to

I would recommend Freedomia to a fairly specific reader. You are the kind of person who already keeps Bitcoin or stablecoins, who wants a Visa number you can drop into online checkouts without giving a bank your ID, and who is comfortable paying $5 a month and a 1.3% top-up fee in exchange for the privacy and the simplicity. You are not planning to pull cash from an ATM, you are not married to Apple Pay, and you are happy to live inside a web account rather than a phone app.

I would not recommend Freedomia if you want a physical card, if you want to use it at a cash-only market, if you want Apple Pay today, if you want a published licence behind the product, or if your monthly spend will regularly cross the kind of threshold that triggers KYC and AML checks. For any of those cases, Card.fi is the more transparent alternative if you can pay the one-time issuance fee, and a regulated bank-issued card is the right answer if you want a licence behind the BIN.

The most important thing to do before you load any meaningful amount is to do a small test top-up, wait for the USD balance to land, run a small online purchase, and confirm that freeze, unfreeze, and card-level limits behave the way you expect. The card’s own controls are simple and well-documented; the company’s own disclosure is the part that is not.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Freedomia card?

Freedomia is a digital (virtual) Visa card that you fund with cryptocurrency. You send Bitcoin, Lightning, Monero, Ethereum, Litecoin, Solana, Tron, BNB, USDT on Polygon, USDC on Polygon, or other supported coins, the card auto-swaps the deposit into US dollars, and you spend the USD balance anywhere Visa is accepted online.

How does the Freedomia card work?

You sign up with an email, get a virtual Visa instantly, top it up with crypto, and the card converts your deposit to USD on the way in. You then spend the USD balance with 3-D Secure protection on online checkouts, and you can freeze the card, view card data, and set card-level limits from the web account.

Is Freedomia a bank?

Freedomia is not described as a bank. The company behind the product is Freedomia Digital Group LLC, registered in Delaware. Freedomia does not name an issuing bank, an e-money licence, or any other licence for the card programme.

Who owns Freedomia?

Freedomia is operated by Freedomia Digital Group LLC, with a registered address in Newark, New Castle, Delaware 19713. The card’s public pages do not name the natural persons behind the LLC, an issuing bank, or any licence.

Is the Freedomia card available in my country?

The card is described as “Global”, and the home page does not list countries or restrictions. The FAQ has a question about restricted countries, but a clear answer is not available. The only way to confirm eligibility is to sign up and see whether the form accepts you.

Does the Freedomia card require KYC?

At sign-up the card is marketed as “No verification. No approval.” The terms reserve the right to run KYC and AML checks above certain monthly spend thresholds, and a third-party report puts that threshold at US$5,000 of monthly spending. Treat that number as unofficial and not confirmed by the card.

How do I top up the Freedomia card?

You top up by sending supported crypto to the card’s deposit address or, for Lightning, to your personal Lightning Address. The card auto-swaps the deposit into US dollars, charges a 1.3% top-up fee, and credits your card balance. The on-chain network fee is paid by you on top of the 1.3%.

Is the Freedomia card free?

There is no published issuance fee, but the Founder plan costs $5 a month or $60 a year, the HODL plan (coming soon) is $9.99 a month or $119.88 a year, and the MOON plan (coming soon) is $17.99 a month or $215.88 a year. On top of the subscription, every top-up costs 1.3% and non-USD spending costs 2.5% in FX.

How do I add the Freedomia card to Apple Wallet?

Apple Pay is currently listed as “coming soon” on the Freedomia site. Google Wallet is supported today, so if you are on Android you can add the card for tap-to-pay; on iPhone the option is not yet available.

Is the Freedomia card safe?

The card publishes standard safeguards: 3-D Secure on online checkouts, instant freeze from the web account, card-level limits, and Tor/Onion support. Freedomia does not name an issuing bank, a regulator, or a licence, and a third-party report describes the service as custodial and closed-source. The honest read is that the controls are the standard ones, the disclosure behind them is thinner than at regulated competitors, and you should keep balances modest until the company publishes more about who is behind the card.

Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team