Straight answers on a virtual crypto card that publishes almost no numbers

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

MothCard is a virtual payment card you fund with crypto and then spend online like any other card. That is the whole pitch, and it is a real one: it exists for people who want to pay for things on the internet but cannot get an ordinary bank card to work. The card’s own pages describe it as a “crypto virtual card for global payments”, issued on Visa or Mastercard and settled in US dollars. Everything beyond that sentence is thinner than you would like. I read the Terms of Service, the site, the app store listing and the support routes, and the recurring theme is that almost every number that matters — the issue fee, the maintenance fee, the spending limits, the deposit minimum, the list of supported networks — is “shown in the App” and published nowhere else. My score is 5.4 out of 10, and that is not a verdict on the card being unsafe or dishonest. It is a verdict on a product that asks you to install an app and hand over your identity before you can find out what it charges.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

MothCard works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 2026.

Verdict: 5.4 out of 10, and the middle of the road is exactly where the evidence leaves me

Five point four. That is not a rejection, and it is not a recommendation either. It is what I get when a card does a small number of things clearly and refuses to publish the numbers that would let anyone else judge it.

Who this suits: someone who already holds crypto, mostly in USDT, who pays for things online regularly and wants to fund those payments from a crypto balance rather than a bank account. If your bank already issues you a card that works at the shops you use, this adds nothing you need, and it adds a second identity check and a second set of fees to your life. Who it does not suit: anyone shopping on price, anyone who needs a card in a specific country with certainty, anyone who needs cash from an ATM, and anyone whose main concern is being able to see the full cost of a transaction before they commit to it.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 “Accepted worldwide”, but some countries or regions may have restrictions; the issuing region depends on the card and is visible only in the app; the company sits in Hong Kong
Cost 5 / 10 Issuing and maintaining the card both carry fees, and the amounts exist only in the app; operation fees are not disclosed
Top-up options 5 / 10 The wallet is topped up in USDT per the App Store listing; other coins and networks are shown in the app and not published
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Hong Kong Yunmo Technology Co., Limited; the issuing bank and any licences are not named; App Store rating 5.0 from a single rating; I found no complaints
Everyday use 6 / 10 Virtual card, Apple Pay and Google Pay all work; the ATM situation is not disclosed
Total 5.4 / 10 A usable tool with an unusually high amount of information held back

Two of the five marks are sixes, and they are sixes for the same reason: the things that are disclosed are fine. The card is virtual, it works in Apple Pay and Google Pay, and “accepted worldwide” with stated regional restrictions is a more honest sentence than a blanket promise of universality would be. The three fives are all about disclosure, and the reliability one is about the missing issuer. Nobody should read a complaint-free search result as a clean bill of health; it means the card is small enough that nobody has written about it yet.

Will they give you the card?

Yes to most applicants, with a real caveat: the answer depends on which card you pick, and the card’s own site will not tell you in advance. Starting data is Hong Kong under section 3.1 of the Terms of Service. The site says “Accepted worldwide”, then immediately adds that “some countries or regions may have restrictions”. The issuing region varies by card, and you see it in the app.

That last sentence is the one to sit with. It means the honest answer to “is MothCard available in my country?” is: probably, but you find out inside the app, after signing up and verifying your identity. If your question is really “can I depend on this card in a specific place?”, a virtual card whose region depends on which variant you select is a thin foundation. I would not plan around it.

The card itself is described as a “crypto virtual card for global payments”, issued on Visa or Mastercard, with settlement in USD. Visa and Mastercard are named here, which is worth something — it tells you the card sits on a standard rail, not on a crypto-only network that no shop accepts. It does not tell you which bank stands behind it, and I could not find that anywhere (more on that in the risks section).

How to get it

The process is short and standard for this category. You sign in, choose a card, verify your identity, top up the wallet, and move funds onto the card. There is no physical card: this is virtual only, so nothing is posted to you and nothing is waiting at a neighbour’s house.

The identity check is a one-time verification for anti-money-laundering and sanctions purposes — the card says so plainly. In practice it means “Just one valid personal ID”, with the document types shown in the app per country, and a face scan in some cases. Proof of address is not stated as part of the requirement. The minimum age is not stated in the terms, though the App Store age rating is 18+, which is consistent with the general rule that prepaid and debit cards go to adults.

Two things a careful applicant will want to know before they start, and neither is written down: what the identity check does to the account if it fails, and what happens if you later move to a country the card’s region does not cover. The public pages do not say. My advice is not to send funds until you have read the confirmation screen in the app, which is where the card’s actual conditions live.

What it really costs: Fees

Here is the honest answer: I cannot tell you what MothCard costs. The card states that “there are fees for issuing and maintaining a card”, and that the amounts are shown in the app only. The fees on sending money are not stated either — the app’s confirmation page shows a service fee and a minimum, and the website does not. Cash machine withdrawals are not covered at all, which is unsurprising for a card described as being for online payments. No tiers are published either; the app simply lets you select among several cards with differing issuing regions.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a MothCard payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

So the table below is largely a list of what you will have to look up yourself. I have left every unpublished cell saying so rather than guessing, because a guessed fee is worse than an acknowledged gap.

Fee or limit What the card publishes
Issuance Fees apply; amount shown in the app only
Monthly fee Fees apply; amount shown in the app only
Conversion Not stated
Foreign exchange Not stated
ATM withdrawal Not stated
Sending money Service fee and minimum shown on the in-app confirmation page
Per-transaction limit Applies; “Refer to the App for the exact amounts”
Daily spending limit Applies; “Refer to the App for the exact amounts”
Monthly spending limit Applies; “Refer to the App for the exact amounts”

Let me put three everyday payments through this, because that is the only way to show what the gaps mean.

An online subscription in euros. The card settles in USD, so your balance is converted. Whether that conversion carries a fee, and how it is calculated, is not stated. If a foreign-exchange markup exists on top, it is also not stated. You would see the resulting cost in the app at the moment you spend, which is better than nothing, but it is not the same as knowing it in advance.

A monthly service from a merchant in dollars. This is the easy case: no currency conversion, no foreign exchange question. The costs that can appear are whatever the card charges for moving funds from the wallet to the card — a top-up fee that is not stated — and the network fee the blockchain charges for the transfer, which is not set by the card. You would be paying the app’s structure plus the chain’s structure, and you can only see the first.

A purchase that goes through as declined and is later reversed, or one that a shop authorises and then cancels. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven. Whether MothCard treats a hold as a debit, whether it releases the full amount, and how quickly — none of that is stated. This is the kind of small rule that decides whether a card is convenient or exhausting to use, and it is exactly the kind of rule that lives in an app and nowhere else.

The category context is worth knowing so you are not surprised by things outside the card’s control: on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, and stablecoins are not cost-free to move even when the card fee is zero.

How to Top up

Top up the wallet first, then move funds from the wallet onto the card. That two-step structure is the whole mechanism, and it is worth understanding why it is shaped that way.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up MothCard starts with a transfer to the right network

The App Store listing tells you the wallet is topped up with USDT. Other coins and networks are not named; the app tells you “you used the network shown in the App”, and that list is not published. The deposit fee and minimum are not stated.

That network point is the single most consequential gap in the whole card, and I would not skip past it. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. USDT exists on several chains — Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others — and the card’s support for them is a list that exists only inside the app. Sending is irreversible; getting it wrong is not a fee, it is the amount.

What about taking money back out? The card does not explicitly cover withdrawal. Its own FAQ does give two pieces of practical advice: move any remaining balance off a card before cancelling it, and move funds out of both the card and the wallet before deleting an account. That is good-faith advice from the provider, and I would follow it regardless of which card you use. Fees for withdrawal are not stated.

One more thing about the balances: the wallet and the card show their balances separately, and settlement is in USD. So you will be watching two numbers, and moving value from one to the other is a step the card charges for — or does not. I still do not know.

Paying with it every day

The day-to-day experience is the strongest part of this card. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, and the app shows which wallets work for which card. That combination covers the overwhelming majority of online spending: a subscription service, an app store, a hosting provider, anything you would normally type a card number into. Adding a virtual card to a phone wallet is also the more secure way to use one, because the device stores a device-specific number rather than the real card number, and each payment carries a one-time code.

The card is not only online, in principle — but nothing about offline use is described, and I found no cash machine information at all. If you need to withdraw cash, treat that as unsupported until the app tells you otherwise.

There is no rewards programme. The FAQ does not mention cashback, and none is advertised. Treat that as a firm no rather than an oversight you might be able to ask your way around.

The apps are on the App Store (iOS 15.6 and later), on Google Play, and as a direct Android download. The App Store rating is 5.0 from exactly one rating, read on 21 October 2026. A single rating is not a reputation; it is a rounding error that happens to look good. I could not obtain a Google Play rating. The version history shows a first release of 1.0.0 on 3 February (the year is not shown) and a recent 2.1.0, which tells you the app is being actively maintained.

When something goes wrong — and it will at some point — the app’s history lists payments, fees and merchant refunds. That is a reasonable paper trail. Whether you can formally dispute a payment through it is not stated, and prepaid-card chargeback coverage varies by jurisdiction, so it should not be assumed.

What can go wrong

Start with the thing that searches return nothing for. I looked for complaints and incidents and found none: the search “MothCard mothcard.io reviews trustpilot reddit” produced nothing about MothCard, and there is no Trustpilot or Reddit page. I want to be careful about what that means. It means the card is not big enough to have attracted attention, not that it has a clean record.

The bigger question is who stands behind it. The company is Hong Kong Yunmo Technology Co., Limited, of Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong. The issuing bank or institution is not named. No licences are named. I could not find a licence to check against a register, which means the ordinary due diligence you would do on any financial provider — look it up, see who authorises it, see what complaints exist — cannot be completed here. That is the single largest gap.

Then there is custody. The card does not state whether it holds your crypto itself or uses a self-custody arrangement, and that distinction matters enormously. If a provider holds the keys, you must trust it completely; and the industry has a record of what that trust costs when it fails — Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. A seed phrase, typically 12 to 24 words, is the private key in plain form, and crypto transfers do not reverse: there is no customer service that can freeze a network or hand the money back.

What the card does publish on security is ordinary and reasonable. You can freeze and unfreeze the card in the app. After an identity confirmation you can view the full card number and CVV, and they are then hidden again. Sign-in is by email, Apple or Google, with optional Face ID or fingerprint. Those are the standard safeguards — app-based two-factor, instant freeze, spending limits — and there is no reason to fault them.

Support is thinner in the ways that annoy people. There is a Contact Support function in the app, a Telegram bot, and the email [email protected]. Hours are not stated. The website carries a 12-language menu; the App Store listing carries English, Indonesian, Portuguese, Russian, Simplified Chinese, Spanish and Traditional Chinese. If you are in a market where English is not the working language of support, check the Telegram bot’s language before you need it.

Two further risks you inherit from the category rather than from this issuer. Card programmes get closed: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. The usual sequence is a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. And a card issued in one country can simply look foreign to a shop in another — merchants read the issuing bank’s country from the card number and may apply extra scrutiny, or decline prepaid and foreign-issued cards outright.

What to take instead

I looked at three alternatives and scored them on the same basis. None of them is a clean win either, and the honest summary is that this category is uniformly thin on published numbers.

CardFlow, 4.9 out of 10. Aimed at Nigeria — “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” and “Nigerians and global users” — with no country list or exclusions stated. A virtual USD Mastercard, created quickly. The one number it publishes is a good one: “Creating a virtual card is completely free”. Monthly fees, transaction fees and networks are not stated. You fund it with Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer.

HyperCard, 4.7 out of 10. Official pages state no country list, while the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries” — note carefully that this is acceptance, not eligibility, and those are different things. A prepaid card with the network not stated on the App Store page and a balance in USD or EUR. No fees are listed on the pages I could read. You deposit crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app and it is converted to USD or EUR on the card.

Card.fi, 6.6 out of 10 — the highest of the four, and the only one with a real price list. Cards ship to “200+ countries”, with terms barring residents of, or orders from, any country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service. It has Virtual Classic and Virtual Premium, physical Classic and Premium, and a metal card in stainless steel; every physical order includes a virtual card. Cards are issued “under licence from the relevant card schemes”, which is careful phrasing that does not name Visa or Mastercard.

MothCard CardFlow HyperCard Card.fi
Score 5.4 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10 6.6 / 10
Card Virtual, Visa or Mastercard, USD Virtual USD Mastercard Prepaid, USD or EUR Virtual, physical and metal
Fees published Issue and maintenance only, amounts hidden Free to create None listed Full price list
Funding USDT per listing; networks hidden BTC, USDT, ETH, Naira transfer USDT, BTC, ETH 32 coins across 5 networks
Cashback Not stated Not stated Not stated Yes, tiered

Card.fi’s costs are the exception that proves the rule: one-time $49 for Virtual Classic and $249 for Virtual Premium, with no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee. Top-up is 1.5% plus $1.00 on Classic and 1% on Premium; foreign exchange is 3.5% on Classic and 2.5% on Premium, with a conversion fee shown before each top-up. Cashback is tiered at 0.8% for Classic (capped at 10 USDT a month), 1% for Premium, and 1.2% or 2% for Metal depending on the cap, with a headline 10% at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT a month and balance earning “up to 18%” on Metal, variable. The catch is the wrong-chain risk, which it states plainly: funds converted at market rate on arrival, and sending on the wrong chain risks permanent loss.

So the comparison is not complicated. If your priority is knowing what you pay, Card.fi is the only one of these that will tell you, and its numbers are above average for the category. If you want free card creation and you are in or connected to Nigeria, CardFlow is worth a look. If you need EUR or USD without thinking about which coin you hold, HyperCard’s two-currency balance is its distinguishing feature. If you want a name you can look up in a regulator’s register, none of the three fully solves it — and that is the thing to weigh before any of them.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend MothCard to a person who is already spending in USD, already holds USDT, already has Apple Pay or Google Pay set up, and wants a second card for online payments that does not touch a bank account. Under those conditions it is a tidy tool: virtual, fast to set up, one identity check, and it works in the wallet you already use.

I would not recommend it to someone choosing between cards, because you cannot make that choice on published information. I would not recommend it to anyone who needs cash, a specific issuing country, or a firm number for the monthly cost. And I would not recommend it to someone who is uneasy about the missing issuer name and the missing licences, because that is not a detail you can look past when the provider is holding a balance you have funded.

If you are that person, the sequence I would follow is short. Install the app. Before you fund anything, open the fees screen, the limits screen and the supported-networks screen and write down what they say. Check the card variant’s issuing region against the country you actually live in. Confirm the support route you would use at 3 a.m., and whether it is in a language you read. Fund a small amount first — small enough that losing it would annoy you, not ruin you — and make one ordinary purchase before you move anything larger.

Frequently asked questions

What is MothCard card?

MothCard is a virtual payment card you fund with crypto and spend online, essentially a prepaid card with a crypto balance behind it. The card describes itself as a “crypto virtual card for global payments”, issued on Visa or Mastercard, with settlement in US dollars. There is no physical card — it exists in the app and in Apple Pay or Google Pay. The company behind it is Hong Kong Yunmo Technology Co., Limited, of Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong.

How does MothCard card work?

You sign in, choose a card, verify your identity once, top up the wallet with crypto, and move funds from the wallet onto the card. The card then spends that stored balance, the way a prepaid card does, so it cannot overdraw. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, with the app showing which wallets work for which card. The wallet and the card show their balances separately.

Is MothCard a bank?

No, and I could not find the bank that stands behind it. The company is Hong Kong Yunmo Technology Co., Limited, and its own pages do not name the issuing bank or institution. In this category the issuing bank is normally licensed by the card network, while the crypto brand may only manage the programme or run the front end. MothCard does not say which of those it is.

Who owns MothCard card?

The operator is Hong Kong Yunmo Technology Co., Limited, listed at Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong. Terms of Service section 3.1 gives Hong Kong as the starting data. Beyond the company name and city, ownership, funding and group structure are not stated on the public pages I read, and no licences are named.

Does MothCard card require KYC?

Yes. There is a one-time identity check for anti-money-laundering and sanctions purposes, described as “Just one valid personal ID”, with document types shown in the app per country and a face scan in some cases. Proof of address is not stated as a requirement, and the minimum age is not stated in the terms, though the App Store age rating is 18+. The app’s confirmation screens are where the detail lives.

How do I top up MothCard card?

Top up the wallet first, then move funds from the wallet onto the card. The App Store listing says the wallet is topped up with USDT; other coins and networks are not published, and the app tells you to use the network shown there. That list matters more than it sounds: transfers are irreversible, so sending on an unsupported network can mean losing the money or needing manual support recovery.

How much does MothCard cost?

I cannot tell you, and that is the finding rather than a gap in my checking. The card states there are fees for issuing and maintaining a card, with amounts shown in the app only. Transaction fees are not stated; sending money shows a service fee and minimum on the in-app confirmation page. Limits apply per transaction, daily and monthly, with exact amounts referred to the app.

Can I use MothCard card in my country?

Probably, but I cannot promise it. The site says “Accepted worldwide” while also saying “some countries or regions may have restrictions”, and the issuing region varies by card and is visible in the app. So eligibility is determined after sign-up rather than before it. If your country matters, check the issuing region of the specific card variant in the app before you commit any money.

Is MothCard card safe?

Partly, and it is worth separating the parts. Security features are reasonable: freeze and unfreeze in the app, the full card number and CVV hidden after an identity confirmation, sign-in by email, Apple or Google, and optional Face ID or fingerprint. What I cannot assess is the custody model, which is not stated, and the issuer’s licences, which are not named. I also found no complaints at all — which means the card is small, not that it is proven.

Is MothCard card worth it?

It depends on what you are replacing. If you are paying USD subscriptions with money you already hold as USDT and have Apple Pay or Google Pay, the case is reasonable. If you are comparing cards on price, there is no published price to compare. If you need cash, a specific issuing country, or a support line with stated hours, I would look at a competitor with a fuller fee schedule first.

Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team