A Euro IBAN and Mastercard with cheap entry — but a worrying trust record

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Blackcatcard is a prepaid Mastercard paired with a euro IBAN account, aimed at people who want ordinary-looking payment and account access built around a crypto balance. It scores 4.3 out of 10 here — respectable for daily use, weak on cost, top-up and, above all, reliability of complaints. If you are choosing a card because a normal bank card has been difficult to get, the euro IBAN and Mastercard combination is genuinely useful. But the loudest signal in this review is not a fee — it is a pattern of user reports about payments being blocked and withdrawals suspended. Read the risks section before you commit money.

Blackcatcard works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 4.3 / 10 — useful product, uneasy trust record

The Blackcatcard does one thing well: it gives you a euro-denominated account with an IBAN and a Mastercard that spends from it, which is exactly what many people with crypto but no easy banking want. On a day-to-day basis the card behaves like any prepaid card — instant virtual card, free EU cash withdrawals up to a monthly allowance, sensible limits. That is why the everyday-use score is the card’s strongest at 7.

Where it thins out is money. The conversion fee on crypto is not disclosed, so the core “cheap” claim cannot be checked. A dormancy fee waits in the wings after six inactive months. And the top-up story names three assets but not the networks they travel on, which is the single most common way people lose money on cards like this. Reliability, meanwhile, is the weakest category by a distance: a licensed Malta e-money institution on one side, and a very poor public review score on the other.

Who it suits: residents of the EEA who want a euro IBAN and a Mastercard, are comfortable holding money with a custodial provider, and will keep the loaded balance modest. Who it does not suit: anyone whose income depends on the card being reliably spendable day to day, anyone converting large amounts of crypto who needs a published conversion rate, and anyone who cannot tolerate funds sitting in an e-money account with no deposit guarantee.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Euro IBAN account after registration, worldwide, 16+; card itself aimed at EEA residents
Cost 4 / 10 Opening and first card free; 3% card top-up; €15/month dormancy from month 7; crypto conversion fee undisclosed
Top-up options 4 / 10 BTC, ETH, USDT bought for euros in-app; SEPA in free; networks not named
Reliability and complaints 2 / 10 Licensed Malta EMI, but public reviews report blocked payments and suspended withdrawals
Everyday use 7 / 10 Instant virtual card; EU ATM free to €200/month then 1%; Apple Pay and Google Pay not disclosed
Total 4.3 / 10 Good daily card, poor cost transparency, unresolved trust concerns

Will they give you the card?

Eligibility is described in broad strokes rather than a clean country list. The site publishes no country table, so you cannot pre-check your own country from the card’s pages. A personal IBAN account is said to be “available straight after the successful registration,” worldwide, at 16+. Business accounts are offered “from most jurisdictions.” The card itself is positioned for residents of the EEA. If you are outside the EEA, you may be able to hold the account but the card may be the sticking point — and because no country list is published, the honest answer is that only support can confirm your case. Not stated on the public pages: any nationality exclusions or a definitive country whitelist.

How to get it

Signing up is a registration, and the euro IBAN account is described as available immediately after it succeeds. The card is a Mastercard (“Free Mastercard”); a virtual card is issued instantly, and a physical version exists — the fact that delivery fees are quoted proves a plastic option is real, even though it is not described in detail. Identity verification levels are not stated on the pages read.

If you want the plastic card, delivery options are set out: regular mail is free and takes 15–20 business days; express is 1–5 business days with a fee calculated individually. A reissued card costs €7, or €12 with a nickname — the card’s own tables disagree on this figure, which is a small but telling inconsistency. There is no walkthrough here for activating or using the virtual card, because that detail is not published.

What it really costs: the Fees breakdown

The headline is friendly: the account opens free, and the first card is free. Everyday costs, however, are where the picture gets complicated — and the fee you care most about, the crypto conversion fee, is simply not published. What it really costs is best read fee by fee, then walked through with a few ordinary payments.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Blackcatcard payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Amount
Account opening Free
First card Free
Monthly maintenance, one card Free
Monthly maintenance, additional cards €2 / month
Additional card €7 (€12 with nickname)
Dormancy fee €15 / month from 7th month of inactivity
Card top-up 3%
Card transfers 3%
Crypto conversion fee Not stated (“lowest fees on the market”, no figures)
Foreign exchange fee Not stated
ATM withdrawal, EU Free up to €200 / month, then 1%
ATM withdrawal, outside EU 1%, minimum €1.50
Cash withdrawal limit €5,000 daily, €10,000 monthly
Spend limits Not stated
Minimum crypto purchase €5

The currency is EUR for the account and IBAN. There are no published loyalty tiers (not stated).

Now two or three everyday payments, to show which fees bite.

That third example is the honest summary of this section: the fees that hit you hardest are the two the card does not publish.

How to Top up the card

Topping up happens in two ways: ordinary euro bank transfers and buying crypto inside the app.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Blackcatcard starts with a transfer to the right network

Getting money out matters too, and here the fees get detailed. SEPA withdrawals out are 5 per month free, then €0.20 each. Closing the account is free, but there is a €50 monthly fee on closed accounts that still hold funds. Crypto withdrawal fees are not stated.

The practical warning: because the card does not name the networks, sending USDT on the wrong chain is a real risk. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on an unsupported network or to another network’s address can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. For crypto deposits, confirm the network with support first — the card’s pages will not tell you.

Paying with it every day

Daily use is where the card is at its best. It behaves like a standard prepaid card: virtual Mastercard instantly, a euro account behind it, and cash withdrawals free in the EU up to €200 a month before a 1% fee applies. Cash limits are €5,000 daily and €10,000 monthly. Spending limits are not stated, and that gap matters if you were counting on a hard cap.

There are cashback offers — “up to 5% cashback,” an “up to 4% p.a. reward,” and 2% cashback on Amazon — but the currency you earn in and the conditions attached are not stated, so treat these as marketing until support clarifies them. Wallets are not disclosed; whether you can add the card to Apple Pay or Google Wallet is, on the pages read, unsaid. On security for everyday payments: PIN recovery goes through 24/7 in-app support, and disputes cost €10 for a “transaction claim without grounds” — the time frames for raising a claim are not stated. There is an iOS app, “Blackcatcard – My prepaid card,” though its rating was not read.

What can go wrong

This is the section I would not skip. Beyond the ordinary risks of holding crypto with a provider, Blackcatcard carries a specific, unresolved complaint pattern.

First, the user-reported trust issue. On Trustpilot, read in October 2026, the card held a TrustScore of 1.9 out of 5 across 744 reviews, with 56% one-star. The recurring themes: outgoing transfers and card payments declined or cancelled shortly after the account was funded — with dated examples running from May through early October 2026 — withdrawals suspended, problems closing accounts, and generic support replies. Some reviewers raise scam allegations. No official incident notice from the company was found to sit against these reports; they remain user reports, not confirmed facts. But a pattern this consistent, repeated across many months and many reviewers, is exactly the kind of thing that should make a cautious person pause before loading a large balance.

Second, the custody and protection position. The wallet is custodial — funds sit in an e-money account with no deposit-guarantee scheme behind them, so your money is not bank-deposit protected. The card says private keys are held by “a licenced institution,” and states the company is an authorised Electronic Money Institution regulated by Malta’s MFSA (Papaya Ltd., reg. no. C55146; funds are not covered by the Depositor Compensation Scheme). Being licensed and regulated is a genuine plus, but it is not the same as deposit insurance.

Third, smaller operational traps. The €15/month dormancy fee starts in the seventh inactive month — if you forget the account exists, it starts costing. And a declined online payment can leave a hold on your money for several days, sometimes up to seven.

Taken together: the product is competently built, but the trust layer is where it is thin. If the payments-blocked pattern is something you would not tolerate, this is not the card for you.

What to take instead

If any of the above gives you pause, there are alternatives with better scores and, in some cases, clearer fee structures. Here is how they compare.

Card Score Cost Key fees Standout point
Blackcatcard 4.3 / 10 Free opening, first card Conversion & FX not stated; 3% card top-up Euro IBAN + Mastercard
Morse 7.5 / 10 Not stated (see Cardholder Agreement) Zero FX fees; online/contactless spend free Self-custodial wallet
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 $5 virtual issuance; plans free–$19/mo 2% FX fee; USD use free US-issued Visa, no maintenance
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 No annual fee No FX fee; live OTC conversion rates Multicurrency Mastercard

Morse (7.5) is the strongest of the four on score. It is a fully virtual Visa prepaid debit that spends from your balance in any currency, with “zero foreign exchange fees or markups” and free online/contactless payment. Its wallet is self-custodial, which inverts the custody risk that troubles Blackcatcard — you hold the keys. Funding is broad: debit card, stablecoin, bank rails, and crypto. The catch is eligibility: it is by residence, 18+, in a supported country (the app covers “over 140 countries”), it cannot serve sanctioned customers, and some countries are in closed beta needing an invite code. It is “available only in certain countries” and the list is not published.

International Visa Card (6.7) is a US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, paying in USD, with no maintenance fee and free USD use; a physical card is “coming soon.” It carries a 2% FX fee on foreign-currency use and restricts a long list of countries (including Russia, Ukraine, Turkey, Israel and others) for both residents and registrants. Good if you are US-facing; not a euro-first option.

UNi Card (6.1) is a multicurrency Mastercard spending from a UNi.Global balance, with no annual fee, no FX fee, assets converted at live OTC rates with “no hidden exchange fees,” and up to 3% spend-to-Earn. Eligibility and funding details were not stated on the pages read.

Against these, Blackcatcard’s distinguishing feature is the euro IBAN — none of the others present the same account-plus-card combination — but it is also the one that hides its two most consequential fees.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Blackcatcard to a resident of the EEA who already holds some crypto, wants a euro IBAN and an ordinary Mastercard, is comfortable with a custodial provider, and will keep the loaded balance modest and active. For that person — someone who occasionally needs to spend euros, sometimes in cash within the EU, and who wants the card not the investment — it does the job at a reasonable price.

I would not recommend it as your primary or only card. The undisclosed conversion and FX fees mean a frequent spender is paying an unknown rate, and the volume of public reports about blocked payments and suspended withdrawals is too serious to wave away if this is money you rely on each week. Nor would I suggest it to someone planning to hold a large balance, given the dormancy fee, the lack of deposit protection, and the missing network details on crypto deposits.

There is a version of this card that makes sense and a version that does not, and the dividing line is whether you treat it as a convenient euro pocket or as money you depend on. For the former it is fine; for the latter, read the risks and consider an alternative.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Blackcatcard card?

The Blackcatcard is a prepaid Mastercard linked to a euro-denominated account with an IBAN. You load money onto the balance — via free SEPA transfers or by buying crypto in euros — and spend from that balance like an ordinary payment card. It behaves much like a standard prepaid card rather than a traditional debit card tied to a bank account. A virtual card is issued instantly, and a physical card can be delivered by mail. It is designed for people who hold crypto but want straightforward euro payment and account access.

Is Blackcatcard a bank?

No. Blackcatcard is operated by Papaya Ltd., a company in Malta authorised and regulated by the Malta Financial Services Authority as an Electronic Money Institution (reg. no. C55146). An e-money institution can issue e-money, payment cards and wallets, but it is not a bank and does not take deposits. Funds are held in an e-money account and are explicitly not covered by the Depositor Compensation Scheme, so your money is not protected as a bank deposit would be.

How much does the Blackcatcard cost to open and maintain?

Opening the account and the first card are free, and monthly maintenance is free as long as you hold one card. Additional cards cost €2 per month plus a one-off €7, or €12 with a nickname, and card top-ups and card transfers each charge 3%. The dormant-account fee is €15 per month starting from the seventh month of inactivity. The crypto conversion fee and the foreign exchange fee are not stated on the card’s pages.

What are the ATM withdrawal fees and limits?

Within the EU, cash withdrawals are free up to €200 a month, after which a 1% fee applies. Outside the EU, withdrawals cost 1% with a minimum of €1.50. Cash withdrawal limits are €5,000 per day and €10,000 per month. Spend limits, unlike cash limits, are not stated on the public pages, so there is no published cap on how much the card itself can spend.

Does the Blackcatcard card require KYC?

The card’s public pages do not state its identity-verification requirements or KYC levels, so I cannot tell you from official sources what documents are required or how strict the checks are. What is clear is that registration must succeed before your IBAN account becomes available, which implies some verification takes place. For the exact documents and thresholds, the only reliable answer will come from the company’s support.

How do I top up the Blackcatcard card?

There are three routes. SEPA bank transfers into your account are free with no amount limit, and internal transfers between your own accounts are also free and unlimited — these are the simplest option. Card top-up costs 3%. You can also buy Bitcoin, Ethereum or USDT for euros through the app’s integrated crypto service, with a minimum purchase of €5. Importantly, the networks these crypto transfers travel on are not named, so confirm the correct network with support before sending.

Can I add the Blackcatcard to Apple Pay or Google Wallet?

That is not something I can confirm from the card’s public pages. Whether the virtual card can be tokenised into Apple Pay or Google Wallet is not disclosed in the information I reviewed. An iOS app exists (“Blackcatcard – My prepaid card”), which suggests mobile use is intended, but tokenised mobile-wallet support is not explicitly stated. If mobile wallet support matters to you, ask support directly before you commit.

Is the Blackcatcard card safe to use?

The company is a licensed, MFSA-regulated Malta e-money institution, which is a meaningful regulatory safeguard, and card payments can use 3-D Secure. However, the account is custodial with no deposit guarantee, and on Trustpilot the card held a TrustScore of 1.9 out of 5 across 744 reviews in October 2026. Users repeatedly reported payments and transfers being blocked after funding and withdrawals being suspended. These are user reports, not confirmed incidents, but the pattern is significant enough that I would treat the card as convenient rather than dependable.

How do I withdraw money from the Blackcatcard account?

SEPA withdrawals out are free for five per month, and €0.20 each after that. You can also withdraw cash at ATMs, free within the EU up to €200 a month and then at 1%. If you are closing the account, closure itself is free, but a €50 monthly fee applies to closed accounts that still hold funds, so make sure you withdraw your balance before closing.

Is the Blackcatcard card worth it?

It is worth it if you are an EEA resident who wants a euro IBAN and Mastercard, holds some crypto, and will keep the balance modest — for those people it is a cheap, convenient euro pocket with a genuinely useful account. It is probably not worth it as your main card: the crypto conversion and FX fees are unpublished, and the volume of complaints about blocked payments and suspended withdrawals is a real risk if you rely on it day to day. Judge it as a convenience card, not a dependable one.

Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team