A virtual dollar card with a $4.95 subscription, a 2% crypto top-up fee and a 1.9 Trustpilot score
If you live outside the United States and keep hitting a wall when you try to pay an American website — a subscription, a domain, an ad account, an invoice in dollars — the reason is usually not your card balance. It is your billing address. Shops in the US run address checks, and an address that does not look American gets declined, no matter how good your bank card is. US Unlocked exists for exactly that gap. It gives you a virtual Visa that carries a US billing address, denominated in dollars, funded from crypto or from ordinary payment rails. That is a genuinely useful thing, and I want to be clear about it before I get to the rest.
The catch is everything around the useful thing. The card is virtual only, so there is no plastic, no ATM, and no in-person life of any kind. The account tops up to a maximum balance of $3,000. The monthly subscription is $4.95. Crypto loads cost 2%. Paying a merchant who will not accept dollars costs 3%. And on Trustpilot the card sits at 1.9 out of 5 across 113 reviews, with a cluster of reports about accounts being placed under review or closed after deposits. In March 2026 the company itself acknowledged an ongoing problem with its payment partner.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score: 5.1 out of 10
I score US Unlocked at 5.1 out of 10. That is not a rounding of something else — it is the total of the marks below, and I would not move it, because the card is unusually good at one specific thing and unusually weak at everything a payment card is normally judged on. Read the row-by-row table as a description of where the product stands today, not as a mood.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Any resident outside the US with valid ID and proof of address; roughly 175 countries listed, no published exclusion list |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | $4.95 monthly or $39.95 annual, $2 per one-time-use card; 2% crypto load, 3% when the merchant does not accept USD, $10 to unload |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Crypto and stablecoins (coins and networks not named on the pages read, arriving in 1–2 hours); also SEPA, UK Faster Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay, credit cards |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Tern Commerce Inc.; card issued by “Third National” under licence from Visa; payment-partner problem acknowledged March 2026; Trustpilot 1.9 from 113 reviews, accounts under review and closures after deposits |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Virtual USD Visa only, maximum $3,000 on the account; Apple Pay and Google Pay appear as load methods, not as wallets you add the card to; no plastic, no ATM |
Total: 5.1 / 10
Who this suits: a non-US resident, in one of the listed countries, who regularly pays US online merchants in dollars and has no US billing address. If that is you, the card solves a real problem and few things solve it this cheaply.
Who it does not suit: anyone who wants a card for everyday life in their own country. If you are in Lagos, Kyiv or Lima and you want to walk into a shop, this is the wrong instrument — there is no physical card, and the whole design points at US e-commerce. It also does not suit you if the 2% crypto top-up plus the subscription plus the possible 3% is more than the cost of the thing you are buying. A $9 monthly service is a third of a small subscription.
Will they give you the card
Yes, with one hard condition that is about residence and one that is about citizenship, and they are not the same thing — which is worth sitting with.
The rule as the card states it: “Anyone residing outside the U.S. with valid ID and proof of address.” US residents are not eligible. And the card terms require the cardholder to attest “You are not a United States citizen.” So the exclusion is both geographic and national: you must live outside the US, and you must not be a US citizen even if you live somewhere else. Someone with a US passport living in Berlin does not qualify. Someone with a German passport living in Berlin does.
That second half surprises people, and it is worth understanding why it sits there. Card issuing is a licensed activity. An issuer does not want a US citizen’s account attached to its programme if that citizen is resident in the US, because US consumer protection and tax rules would follow. So the attestation is a compliance gate, not a technical one.
On the country list, the card’s own countries page lists about 175 available countries — from Albania through Zambia, and including Kazakhstan, Georgia, Armenia, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova and Turkmenistan. What it does not do is publish a list of excluded countries. Russia and Belarus do not appear in the list of available countries. That is worth knowing, and it is different from “they are banned”: an unlisted country may be unlisted because it is refused, or because the page has not been updated. If your country matters to you, the only reliable test is to try, and to read the terms yourself rather than taking a review’s word.
The rule is residence-based, not citizenship-based, in the sense that your address is what the checks run against. But as above, US citizenship is a separate disqualifier on top of that.
How to get it
The application is one verification step, not a tiered ladder. You register, verify your ID, choose a plan, load the account, and the card is issued. The card describes the process as typically under 3 minutes, up to 24 hours — that range tells you most applications go fast and some do not.
What they ask for:
- A government-issued photo ID.
- A recent utility bill or bank statement, if requested — this is the proof of address.
- No minimum age is stated on the pages I could read.
Two constraints catch people out. PO boxes and virtual addresses are not accepted. That is a hard blocker for anyone without a documentable residential address, and it is more common than you would think among people living abroad, working from a company address, or in accommodation that does not issue utility bills in their name. If your address cannot produce a utility bill or a bank statement with your name on it, you will not get past verification.
Rejections are listed, which is unusually helpful: expired ID, poor image quality, mismatched information. And additional review may be required — that is the polite word for a manual hold.
On delivery, there is nothing to wait for in the post. The card is digital only; no physical card. Details are shown in the dashboard after you verify by SMS or one-time code — CVV and expiry both live there. Anyone who has been hunting for an envelope will not find one.
Fees: what it really costs
Here is the whole price list, and then I want to walk through three ordinary payments against it, because the numbers alone do not tell you which fee bites in which situation.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Subscription | $4.95 per month, or $39.95 per year (plan page says “Save 33%”) |
| Cards included | One Everyday Spend Card; up to 10 in total |
| Extra Everyday Spend Cards | $1 per month each on the pricing page and card terms; the FAQ says $2 each |
| One-Time Use Cards | $2 each |
| Free trial | None |
| Crypto load fee | 2% |
| Foreign currency transaction fee | 3% when the merchant does not accept USD |
| Zero-value transaction fee | $0.50 |
| Returned or reversed payment fee | $30 |
| Unload fee | $10 |
| ATM fees | Not stated — cards are virtual and described for US e-commerce |
| Maximum account balance | $3,000 per account |
| Spending limit | Generally set by US Unlocked; the issuer may set additional limits |
Two things in that table need unpacking. The $30 fee for a returned or reversed payment is the one that should make you read the whole table twice: it is charged on the balance side, and a single merchant-side reversal turns a small purchase into a $30 event. If you are going to use this card anywhere you might need to cancel or where authorisations are common — hotels, car hire, subscription trials — know that number before you need it.
The second is the $0.50 fee for a $0.00 transaction. Merchants do run zero-value authorisations, for example to verify a card at checkout, and here that verification attempt is not free. It is small, and it is the sort of thing that only matters if you are checking out somewhere many times.
Now three everyday payments:
You spend $20 in dollars at a US software site that accepts USD. The subscription applies — $4.95 monthly or $39.95 annual — plus 2% if you funded that balance with crypto, which is $0.40 on $20. No 3%, because the merchant accepted dollars. That is the card working as intended.
You spend €18 at a European shop that will not take dollars. The card converts and charges 3%: €0.54 on €18. And note the extra wrinkle — the terms say the fee applies when the merchant does not accept USD, and the FAQ says cards are billed in USD with no FX fee. Those are two descriptions of the same event, and the card’s own pages do not fully reconcile them. Treat 3% as the number that can happen, not as a rare exception.
You book a $200 hotel for three nights and cancel after the second. The merchant reverses part of the payment, and the return fee is $30. This is the scenario that turns a cheap card into an expensive mistake, and it is why the card is genuinely a poor fit for anything with a cancellation culture.
The card is USD only and expects a US billing address. That is the whole point, but it also means the card is not multi-currency in any useful sense.
How to top it up
Topping up is where this card is actually flexible, and where you have to do the reading yourself.
The methods: crypto and stablecoins, arriving in 1–2 hours; SEPA and UK Faster Payments; Apple Pay, Google Pay and credit cards, which vary by country. PayPal and Venmo are not supported.
| Method | Fee | Arrival |
|---|---|---|
| Crypto / stablecoins | 2% | 1–2 hours |
| SEPA / UK Faster Payments | $2.00 + 2% on the pricing page; the FAQ says SEPA $0.70 + 4.5% | 3–5 business days |
| Apple Pay / Google Pay / credit card | $1.00 + 5% | Usually instant |
A minimum top-up is not stated. Loads are non-reversible once submitted — there is no cancel button on a transfer you have sent, which matters when you are watching a crypto address for a deposit.
Two honest caveats. First, the coins and networks are not named on the pages I read. You are not told which assets are accepted or on which chain to send them. That is a real operational risk, not a technicality: a transfer sent on a network the provider does not support can be lost, or can need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Ask before you send, and confirm in writing if you can. Second, SEPA’s fee is given two different ways on the card’s own pages — $2.00 + 2% on the pricing page, $0.70 + 4.5% in the FAQ. Both cannot be the current figure; check at the point of payment.
On getting money back out: a balance-to-crypto or bank withdrawal is not described on the pages I read. What is described is an unload fee of $10, and that closing the account requires a $0 balance. So plan the exit before you plan the entry — if you cannot convert a balance back, that changes how much you want to leave sitting there.
Apple Pay and Google Pay appear here as ways to fund the card. Whether you can add the card to a phone wallet is a different question, and the card’s pages do not describe it. People conflate the two constantly, so to be plain: the pages do not say you can add this card to Apple Wallet, and I would not plan a mobile-wallet setup around it.
Paying with it every day
“Every day” is doing a lot of work here, because the honest answer is: not much of it. There is no physical card. There is no ATM — the ATM position is simply not stated, and the card is described as built for US e-commerce. It is virtual only.
What you have is:
- A virtual USD Visa, issued under licence from Visa.
- Three card types. The US Unlocked Card is open-to-buy. The Store Locked Card locks to the first merchant you use it at — useful for one shop, and a genuinely good idea. The One-Time Use Card deletes itself after a single transaction, which is exactly as protective as it sounds.
- Apple Pay and Google Pay as load methods, not as confirmed wallet support.
Merchants are restricted. High-risk categories are blocked, specifically gambling, crypto, adult, money transfer and weapons, and the terms also name internet gambling and cash-like purchases such as lottery tickets and casino chips. In practice this means the card will not work for anything gambling-adjacent, and the blocked list varies by issuer as a matter of policy rather than law.
No cashback or rewards are stated. No mobile app is stated — it is a website dashboard, with no App Store or Google Play app mentioned. For a product whose whole appeal is being usable anywhere, that is a notable gap.
If something goes wrong with a payment, the stated route is: contact the merchant first, then open a dispute with support. Report any disputed charge within 60 days of the statement. Chargebacks resolved in your favour are credited back to the account. Pre-authorisation holds can take up to 31 days to release. For fraud, email support immediately and mark the charge in the dashboard. Those are reasonable, conventional terms — but the 31-day hold is long, and a hold is money you cannot spend.
One more structural thing, worth knowing whether or not it ever affects you: a virtual card number starts with an issuer identification number that tells the merchant which institution and country issued it, and merchants can apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. That is the mechanism US Unlocked exploits to help you — and the same mechanism that can make a foreign-issued card look unusual to a merchant. Address verification, for its part, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. So the card’s US identity genuinely helps at a US shop. It does not make the card invisible everywhere else.
What can go wrong
This is the section where the card scores lowest, so I will not soften it.
The company. The brand is US Unlocked; the company is Tern Commerce Inc. The card programme is issued by “Third National”, under licence from Visa. The registration country is not stated. That layering is normal for this category — a brand, a programme manager, and a licensed issuer are three different parties — but it means the entity you would complain to, the entity that holds your balance, and the entity that issues your card are not necessarily the same one.
The complaints. On Trustpilot the card sits at 1.9 out of 5 from 113 reviews, 18 of them in the last twelve months, as read on 2026-10-21. The themes, from user reports: merchants rejecting the card, from February 2026 through September 2026; accounts suspended or placed under review after deposits, from January through September 2026; billing and refund disputes, including an annual fee charged instead of a monthly one in September 2026, and fees kept after cancelling in November 2025. One further report describes the cards-per-account cap being cut from unlimited to 100 and then to 10 across 2025 and 2026.
And the company’s own voice. In a Trustpilot reply dated 7 March 2026, US Unlocked acknowledged an ongoing issue with its payment partner. That is the most useful single data point on this page, because it is the company confirming that at least one part of the payment chain was misbehaving.
The wider context, honestly. Programme closures in this category are not hypothetical. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically follow a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. That is the scenario to ask about — not “will the company disappear”, but “what would happen to my balance if it stopped”. A $3,000 maximum balance is a useful ceiling precisely because it caps that exposure.
Security. What is in place is reasonable: two-factor authentication via an authenticator app, SMS or one-time code before viewing card details, 3-D Secure mentioned, the account auto-unlocks after 30 minutes, and one-time and store-locked cards that limit how far a leaked number travels. How customer funds are safeguarded is not described — and that omission matters more than usual, because e-money balances are held by an institution, not in your own wallet, and are not the same as bank deposits.
Support. Email and a contact form, Monday to Friday, 9 AM to 6 PM EST. Languages not stated.
News. In October 2025 US Unlocked launched in the UK with Faster Payments and in Australia. In March 2026 came that payment-partner acknowledgement. No licence or fine events were found.
What to take instead
If US Unlocked is not right for you, the alternatives below are the ones worth weighing. Note how little several of them publish — that is itself a signal about how much you will learn before signing up.
| Alternative | Score | Card | Cost | Who it is aimed at |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Creating a virtual card is free per the site FAQ; monthly fee not stated | Aimed at Nigeria (“Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”) and “Nigerians and global users”; no country list or exclusions stated |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | Prepaid; balance in USD or EUR; network not stated on the App Store page | Not stated; the App Store page lists no fees | Official pages state no country list; the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries” — acceptance, not eligibility |
| Card.fi | 6.6 / 10 | Virtual Classic and Premium, physical Classic and Premium, metal; every physical order includes a virtual card | One-time: Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249; no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee | Cards ship to “200+ countries”; terms bar residents of, or orders from, a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service |
Where Card.fi is genuinely different, and the reason it scores highest of the three: it ships physical cards, including a stainless steel one, it charges a one-time fee rather than a monthly one, and it has a rewards structure the others do not — cashback on card spending of 0.8% on Classic (capped at 10 USDT a month), 1% on Premium, and 1.2% or 2% on Metal with caps of 100 USDT or 250 USDT a month; a headline 10% at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT a month; and interest “up to 18%” on Metal balances, variable. It also supports 32 coins across 5 networks (Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch) with a separate deposit address per card.
Its fee structure is heavier where it matters: top-up of 1.5% + $1.00 on Classic and 1% on Premium, and an FX fee of 3.5% on Classic against 2.5% on Premium — both above US Unlocked’s 2% load. And it carries a warning worth reading: sending on the wrong chain risks permanent loss, and a conversion fee is shown before each top-up.
CardFlow is free to create a virtual card, funds from Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer, and says nothing about its fees. HyperCard takes crypto deposits such as USDT, BTC and ETH and converts to USD or EUR, and also says nothing about its fees. Both are thinner on the details than US Unlocked, which at least publishes its price list.
My honest read: if your problem is specifically “I need a US dollar billing address and I live in a listed country”, US Unlocked is the most transparent of the three on price and eligibility. If you also want a card in your hand, Card.fi is the only one of the three that will send you plastic.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend US Unlocked to one specific person: someone living outside the US, in a listed country, with a documentable residential address and a photo ID, who already holds crypto, and who spends money on US services that insist on a US billing address. For that person this is a well-priced, honest solution to a real problem, and $39.95 a year is a fair price for it.
I would not recommend it to someone who wants an everyday card, who needs to pay anything in their home currency, who travels, who needs cash, or who is uneasy about a balance sitting with a provider whose own support page acknowledges a payment-partner problem. I would think twice — hard — if you are one of the people whose Trustpilot story is accounts placed under review after a deposit. The category has a documented history of programmes closing and asking users to withdraw, and $3,000 is the most you can lose by design.
Before you apply, check three things in this order. Is your country on the list, given that there is no published exclusion list? Can you produce a utility bill or bank statement at an address that is not a PO box? And have you worked out, for the specific payments you make, whether you are inside the 2%, the 3% and the $30, because those three numbers are where the cheap subscription stops being cheap.
Frequently asked questions
What is the US Unlocked card?
US Unlocked is a virtual Visa card that gives you a US billing address and a balance in US dollars, so you can pay American online merchants who would decline a card with a foreign address. It is issued by Third National under licence from Visa, with Tern Commerce Inc. behind the brand. It is digital only — there is no physical card — and is funded mainly by loading the balance from crypto or from ordinary payment rails.
How does the US Unlocked card work?
You register, verify a photo ID, choose a subscription plan, load your balance, and the card details appear in the dashboard after an SMS or one-time-code check. You then enter the card number, expiry and CVV at checkout. It works like a prepaid card: it draws only on the stored balance, so it cannot overdraw. Three versions exist — open-to-buy, store-locked to the first merchant, and one-time use.
Is US Unlocked a bank?
The card’s own pages do not describe it as a bank. Tern Commerce Inc. runs the brand and Third National is named as the card programme issuer under licence from Visa; the registration country is not stated. How customer funds are safeguarded is not described either. Treat it as a payment programme with a licensed issuer behind it rather than as a bank account, and do not assume your balance is a bank deposit.
Who owns US Unlocked?
US Unlocked is the brand; the company behind it is Tern Commerce Inc. The card itself is issued by Third National under a Visa licence. That separation is typical of this category, where a crypto brand markets and fronts a programme that a licensed issuer actually runs — but it does mean the company you contact may not be the institution that holds your balance.
Does US Unlocked require KYC?
Yes — a single verification step: a government-issued photo ID, and possibly a recent utility bill or bank statement as proof of address. PO boxes and virtual addresses are not accepted. Listed rejection reasons are an expired ID, poor image quality and mismatched information, and additional review may be required. You must also attest that you are not a US citizen.
How much does US Unlocked cost?
The subscription is $4.95 a month or $39.95 a year, with one card included and up to 10 in total. Loading from crypto costs 2%; a payment where the merchant does not accept USD costs 3%; a reversed payment costs $30; unloading costs $10; and a $0.00 transaction costs $0.50. There is no free trial. The maximum balance is $3,000.
Can I use the card in my country?
The countries page lists about 175 available countries, including Kazakhstan, Georgia, Armenia, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova and Turkmenistan. No exclusion list is published, and Russia and Belarus do not appear among the available countries — which is not the same as an explicit ban. But this is a virtual card for US e-commerce: no physical card, no ATM, and gambling, crypto, adult, money transfer and weapons merchants are blocked.
Is US Unlocked card safe?
It has real safeguards: two-factor authentication through an authenticator app, SMS or one-time-code checks before card details are shown, 3-D Secure, an automatic lock after 30 minutes, and one-time and store-locked cards that limit exposure. But Trustpilot shows 1.9 out of 5 from 113 reviews, with reports of accounts under review or closed after deposits, and in March 2026 the company acknowledged an ongoing payment-partner problem. Treat the balance you leave there as at risk.
How do I top up the US Unlocked card?
Crypto and stablecoins arrive in 1–2 hours for a 2% fee, though the cards’ pages do not name which coins or networks are supported — so confirm before sending, since a wrong-network transfer can be lost. SEPA and UK Faster Payments cost $2.00 + 2% on the pricing page and take 3–5 business days. Apple Pay, Google Pay and credit cards cost $1.00 + 5% and are usually instant. PayPal and Venmo are not supported.
Can I withdraw money from US Unlocked?
The pages I read do not describe a balance-to-crypto or bank withdrawal. They do state a $10 unload fee and that closing the account requires a $0 balance. That is worth knowing before you load, because an exit route you have not confirmed is an exit route you do not have. Ask support directly and get the answer in writing before committing meaningful money.
Top virtual cards by score – cryptocardtop
Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team
