A Europe-and-Ukraine crypto card that promises a lot and publishes very little

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Plumex card sits in an uncomfortable middle ground. The app promises a crypto wallet with a payment card attached, aimed squarely at Europe and Ukraine, with Apple Pay and Google Pay support and a claim of five-minute identity checks. But when I went through the public pages, a striking number of the numbers a card shopper actually needs — the issuing fee, the monthly fee, the exchange spread, the currency markup, the daily and monthly limits — are simply not there. The card is live and the service is real, but the disclosure is thin. That combination produces a middling score rather than a clear thumbs up or down.

Plumex works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.9 out of 10

I score Plumex 5.9 out of 10. In plain terms: it is a plausible card for a specific person, but it is not the card I would hand to someone who wants their money questions answered up front.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Plumex starts with a transfer to the right network

Who it suits: a European or Ukrainian who wants a crypto app with a card attached, already holds crypto they want to spend day to day, is comfortable with the card being custodial (the provider holds the keys), and can live with checking the app for supported countries rather than reading a published list. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a bank card fast, anyone who wants to know the exact cost of a purchase before they make it, and anyone for whom the absence of a named card issuer or published licence numbers is a dealbreaker.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 A service for Europe and Ukraine; supported countries are shown only in the app and depend on residence and location
Cost 7 / 10 0.5% swap fee on the free Basic plan, free on Premium; other charges have no amounts and the currency markup is not disclosed
Top-up options 5 / 10 Spends directly from the crypto balance; coins and networks are not disclosed; crypto deposits said to be fee-free (team claim)
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Platform is Plum Labs s.r.o. (Czechia), custodian Plum Global Inc. (Panama); no licence numbers and no issuer named; no complaints found, and no Trustpilot reviews yet
Everyday use 6 / 10 Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported; card type, plastic and cash machines not disclosed
Total 5.9 / 10 A workable card for a defined audience, held back by how much it does not publish

The upside is real: zero to low cost, strong mobile-wallet support, and a crypto app you spend straight from. The downside is informational. When a provider will not tell you the exchange rate markup, the daily limit, or even the card network, you are being asked for trust rather than given facts to check. That is why the mark lands in the middle.

Will they give you the card

The short answer is: only in some places, and the place list is inside the app, not on the website.

Plumex describes itself as “built for everyday money needs in Europe and Ukraine.” That is the whole stated footprint. Availability “may vary by country and local requirements,” and the supported countries are shown in the app itself. Whether you qualify depends on where you reside and where you physically are at the time — two separate things the service checks.

There is one explicit carve-out worth knowing. The Ukraine Service Route “is not available to persons residing in or accessing the services from the European Union.” So there is a distinct Ukrainian route, and it is closed to anyone living in or physically accessing the service from the EU. If you are a Ukrainian in Poland or Germany reading about the Ukraine route, that sentence is the one that matters to you.

Beyond the geography, the rejection reasons the card publishes are worth reading before you apply, because they tell you what the compliance engine is looking at: ineligible residence or location (including VPN or proxy use), sanctions matches, unexplained or structured activity, inconsistent documents, third-party payments, missing Travel Rule information, and high-risk blockchain exposure. That last one is unusual to see stated plainly — it means the source of your crypto can matter, not just the source of your documents.

There are no tiers to qualify for. Limits are risk-based, meaning they adjust to you rather than following a published ladder.

How to get it

The signup pitch is speed: a “5-min KYC.” In practice that five minutes is the best case, not the promise.

To open an account you must be 18 or older and pass identity checks. Providers may ask for a government ID, evidence of your address, a selfie or liveness check, and sometimes a video check. The card does not publish a fixed review period, so “5-min” describes the flow when everything passes first time and nothing is unusual about your case.

What I would plan for: have a photo ID and something that shows your address to hand before you start, and expect that a mismatch — a blurry document, an address that does not match your ID, activity that looks structured — sends you back for more. The published rejection list in the previous section is essentially the list of things that trip that process.

Card delivery is not stated, and neither is how the physical or virtual card reaches you. That is a genuine gap; I could not confirm a delivery timeline from the public pages.

Fees: what it really costs

Here is the honest summary: the one fee the card quantifies is the swap fee, and everything else monetary is either absent or bundled into a schedule I could not price out.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Plumex payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The costs table below is built strictly from what the card publishes. Where a cell says “not stated,” that is a real finding — the public pages do not give a figure. I have deliberately not filled those gaps with numbers from elsewhere, because a plausible guess is worse than an honest blank when you are deciding whether to rely on a card.

Fee or limit What Plumex publishes
Issuance fee Not stated
Monthly fee Basic is free; Premium plan $14.99/month, marked “Coming soon”
Conversion / swap fee 0.5% on Basic; free on Premium
Foreign exchange (FX) markup Not stated
ATM / cash withdrawal fee Not stated (MoneyGram cash pickup is separate: “200+ countries. 100,000+ locations”)
Daily payment limit Not stated
Monthly limit Not stated (free cash in/out up to $499 per month on Premium)
Currency the card holds/spends Not stated

Two or three everyday payments, and which fees bite:

The only pricing I can hold the card to is the 0.5% Basic swap and the $14.99/month Premium. The card points to a “Fees and Limits Schedule” for its other charges, but it does not publish amounts there in what I could access, so I will not invent them.

The tier structure, in brief: Basic is free and charges the 0.5% swap; Premium ($14.99/month, “Coming soon”) gives free swaps, exclusive card designs, best prices on lounge/Fast Track/eSIM, one free cash in/out per month up to $499, and priority support. If you do heavy conversions, Premium’s free swaps are the clearest value on the table — if and when it actually launches.

How to top it up

The way this card is funded is its defining design choice, and it is also where the disclosure runs out.

Per an earlier check, the card draws directly from your crypto balance and converts at the moment of payment — rather than you pre-loading a fiat or stablecoin balance first. The site does not state, for the card, which coins or which networks you can top up with. That is the single most useful thing a card shopper could learn, and it is the thing not published.

On cost, the picture is split between a claim and a schedule. Crypto deposits are described as fee-free, but that comes from a team LinkedIn post — a company claim, not a figure on the official fees page. The official fees page lists fee categories without amounts. Fiat top-up is not stated.

One thing is clear and it matters for planning: in-app crypto withdrawals carry a service fee plus a network fee, though the amounts are not stated. Closing your account is allowed once pending transactions complete, and your assets are returned.

For comparison, the category rule is that on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider — so even a “fee-free” crypto deposit can cost you gas.

Paying with it every day

The daily experience is where Plumex is at its most confident, and also where the merchant declines can bite.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported — “Apple Pay and Google Pay. Crypto behind the tap.” That is the headline use case: tap your phone and spend straight from crypto. For people whose money already lives on-chain, this is a genuinely nice way to use it.

What is not disclosed: the categories of purchase that are blocked, and the card’s type and network. Those omissions matter in the real world. A card’s blocked categories usually include gambling (MCC 7995) and similar, set by policy rather than law, and the blocked list varies by issuer — so I cannot tell you what Plumex blocks. I also cannot confirm whether it is a Visa or Mastercard, which affects how some merchants treat it.

The app is on the App Store and Google Play. I did not read the store ratings, so I am not quoting them.

One protection is documented and is worth knowing about. Refunds are not automatic and go back to the original source. Routine refund decisions are given within 10 Business Days, and complex cases target 30 calendar days. Your right to dispute is not limited — you can go through your bank or the card scheme — so a refund is not a dead end if the app stalls.

What can go wrong

Let me separate what I found from what I could not find, because both matter here.

First, what I found: no official incidents and no user complaints surfaced in a single search, and Trustpilot has no reviews yet (TrustScore 0, read 2026-10-21). That is not a clean bill of health — it is closer to an absence of track record. A young product with no reviews gives you no evidence either way.

The structure behind the card is where the real risk sits. The platform is Plum Labs s.r.o. (Czech Republic, Company ID 243 80 792, Prague). Custody is with Plum Global Inc. (Panama). Exchange and fiat are handled by Innovate Payments Inc. (British Columbia, Canada). Identity-verification routing goes through LMLP consulting s.r.o. (Czech Republic). No licence numbers are published anywhere I could find, and the card issuer is not named.

That last point — no named issuer — is the one that gives me the most pause for a payment card. A card sits on someone’s licence. When the issuer and the licence numbers are absent from the public page, you are trusting the front-end to have it right, and you cannot check.

Because custody sits with Plum Global Inc., the model is custodial: the provider holds the keys, so you trust them completely with the balance. Two-factor authentication and instant card freeze are not stated as available. This matters in a sector with a real track record of custodian failure — Mt. Gox, Coincheck, and the Ronin Network bridge are the standard cautionary names, and holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk that self-custody does not.

Support is reachable at [email protected], with complaints to [email protected], acknowledged within 3 Business Days and a final reply targeted within 30 calendar days. Support hours and languages are not stated.

There was no news to report either — I found nothing new on the company in my check. The lack of a published track record, licence numbers, or issuer is the main thing I would raise before depositing meaningful sums.

What to take instead

If the Plumex gaps bother you, these are the three cards I compared it against, and where each one is stronger or weaker. All eligibility rules below are as each provider states them; none of them is a recommendation to sign up, just the trade-offs.

International Visa Card — 6.7 out of 10

Stricter on who it serves, sharper on costs. Not available to residents or legal registrants of a long blocklist — Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam — with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela. The rule follows residence or registration, not citizenship. The card is a U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, paying in USD; the physical card is “Coming soon.” Virtual issuance is $5 one-time with no maintenance fee; plans run Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month. Card use in USD is free on all plans; foreign currency is “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”; deposits of any kind are free. You fund it with USDC or USDT into the USD account, or with USD/EUR/SEPA/SWIFT/FedNow. No cashback is stated. If you want the FX cost written down in plain numbers, this card wins that point over Plumex.

UNi Card — 6.1 out of 10

A multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spending from the UNi.Global balance. Its headline fee promise is the cleanest of the three: “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee,” assets converted at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates,” and “No hidden exchange fees.” It also pays “Spend-to-Earn rewards” up to 3% with the card. The gaps: who can get it is not stated, physical vs virtual is not stated, and how you fund it is not stated. So if transparency on eligibility and funding matters most to you, UNi trades one set of unknowns for another.

Morse — 7.5 out of 10

The strongest of the four on score, and the most explicit about eligibility. Access is by residence, not citizenship: you must be 18+ and “a resident in a supported country,” with the app in “over 140 countries” and local add/withdraw in over 70. It cannot serve customers subject to US sanctions (nor UK, EU, or UN). Some countries are closed-beta and need an invite code — Australia, Hong Kong SAR China, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, Switzerland, Türkiye, the UK, and several others. The card is “fully virtual for now,” a Visa prepaid debit spending from Morse Balance in any currency. Fees: “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups” at the real-time Visa rate, conversions on the real rate “with no markup,” and “Paying with the Morse Card, online and contactless, is free.” Issuance and monthly fees are not stated (the card page defers to the Cardholder Agreement). The wallet is self-custodial, which flips the custody risk: your keys, your responsibility. You can fund by debit card, stablecoin transfer (USDC, USDG, EURC via Solana free; other tokens/blockchains carry a fee), or Account Details, and deposit Bitcoin, USDT, Ethereum and others. Rewards are not stated on the card pages.

A quick side-by-side

The pattern across all four is worth stating once: the cards that explain their eligibility and their FX math plainly are the ones you can evaluate. Plumex’s low score is not about the product being bad — it is about how much you have to take on faith.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Plumex to a European or Ukrainian who already holds crypto, wants to spend it from a phone with Apple Pay or Google Pay, lives somewhere the app lists as supported, and is comfortable with a custodial provider and an unpublished cost sheet. For that person the card does one thing — tap to spend from crypto — and does it plausibly well, at no monthly cost.

I would not recommend it as a first card, or as your primary everyday card, or if you need to know what a purchase will cost before you commit to it. The absence of FX disclosure, limits and issuer details is not a small gap; those are the things you rely on when the card is the thing paying your rent.

My practical advice, offered as a reviewer and not as a how-to: open it, try it with small amounts first, and keep an eye on the app for country and cost details the website does not carry. If the kind of clarity matters to you and Plumex’s published numbers stay blank, one of the three alternatives above publishes more of what I wanted to see.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Plumex card?

Plumex is a crypto app with a payment card attached, described as built for everyday money needs in Europe and Ukraine. It is custodial: a provider holds your crypto and the card spends from that balance, converting at the moment of payment. The app supports Apple Pay and Google Pay. Card type, network, currency and delivery are not stated on the public site. Supported countries are shown inside the app and depend on where you reside and are located.

How does the Plumex card work?

Per an earlier check, the card draws directly from your crypto balance and converts to fiat at the moment of payment, rather than you pre-loading a balance first. Apple Pay and Google Pay let you tap your phone. A conversion on the free Basic plan costs a 0.5% swap fee. The currency markup on non-home-currency purchases is not stated, so the true all-in cost of a foreign purchase is not fully published.

Is Plumex a bank?

No — it is not described as a bank. The platform is Plum Labs s.r.o. in the Czech Republic, custody sits with Plum Global Inc. in Panama, and exchange and fiat are handled by Innovate Payments Inc. in Canada. No licence numbers are published and the card issuer is not named. That means you are trusting the front-end rather than checking a licence, and I would not treat it as bank-grade protection.

Who can get the Plumex card?

It is aimed at Europe and Ukraine, and availability “may vary by country and local requirements.” Supported countries are shown only in the app. Eligibility follows residence and your actual location, not citizenship. The Ukraine Service Route is closed to anyone residing in or accessing the service from the European Union. You must be 18+, and limits are risk-based rather than tiered.

How much does the Plumex card cost?

The one fee the card quantifies is the 0.5% swap fee on the free Basic plan, which is free on Premium. A Premium plan is listed at $14.99/month but marked “Coming soon.” Issuance fee, foreign-exchange markup, ATM fee, and daily and monthly limits are all not stated on the public pages. Premium does include one free cash in/out per month up to $499. So the honest answer is: low cost on conversion, but the total cost of everyday use is not fully published.

Is Plumex card free?

The Basic plan is free, so there is no monthly fee to pay on it. The $14.99/month Premium plan is not yet live. Beyond that, the conversion swap on Basic is 0.5% per swap, and other charges sit in a Fees and Limits Schedule without published amounts. So “free” is true of the monthly fee but not of every transaction — budget for the swap and check the app for the rest.

How do I top up the Plumex card?

The card is funded from your crypto balance, so topping up means depositing crypto, which per a team claim is fee-free. Which coins and which networks are accepted is not stated on the site, which is the practical thing to check in the app before sending anything. Network gas is charged by the blockchain, not the card. Withdrawing crypto out of the app carries a service fee plus a network fee, and amounts are not stated. Fiat top-up is not stated.

Is the Plumex card safe?

Treat it as custodial and carry the usual custodian risk — the provider holds the keys, so you trust them with the balance. I found no official incidents or user complaints in one search, but that is an absence of track record rather than reassurance: Trustpilot shows no reviews yet. Two-factor authentication and instant card freeze are not stated. No licence numbers or issuer are published. Support is reachable by email with complaints acknowledged within 3 Business Days.

Where can I use the Plumex card, and what will be declined?

You can use it wherever Apple Pay and Google Pay are accepted, spending directly from crypto. The categories that are blocked are not stated, which is a gap because blocked lists vary by issuer. Because the card’s network and issuer country are not published, some merchants may treat it like a foreign or prepaid card and decline or ask questions — a known category issue, not a Plumex-specific fault. Refunds are not automatic and go back to the original source; routine decisions target 10 Business Days.

Is Plumex card worth it?

Worth it for a specific person: a European or Ukrainian who already holds crypto, wants to tap-to-spend from it on a phone, lives in a supported country, and is comfortable with a custodial provider and an unpublished cost sheet. Not worth it as a first or primary card, or if you need to know a purchase’s exact cost or limit before you commit — because the FX markup, limits and issuer are simply not published. Compare it against a card that writes its FX math down, such as one promising zero markup or a named flat fee.

Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team