A free virtual Visa that spends USDT, with narrow funding and no physical card yet

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Bitunix card is a virtual Visa you load with USDT from a Bitunix exchange account and then spend online or in stores, with no issuance, monthly or annual fee. On paper that is exactly what people who cannot get an ordinary bank card, or who simply want to spend stablecoins without touching a bank, are looking for. In practice it is a first-generation product: the card is virtual only, the balance is USD rather than crypto, funding runs through your exchange account and nothing else, the exchange it belongs to carries its own reputation baggage, and the company behind it is not clearly named in public. I gave it 5.3 out of 10. It fits a narrow audience — Bitunix exchange users who spend USDT online — and does not fit most other people.

Bitunix works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

My verdict: a 5.3 that suits a specific crowd

I want to be straight with you before the details: this is not a card I would hand to someone whose daily spending depends on it, and it is not one I would hide either. The fee structure is genuinely generous — zero to issue, zero a month, zero a year, and zero to convert crypto. The friction is everywhere else. You can only fund it from inside Bitunix, you can only hold USD, the physical version does not exist yet, and if the exchange account is frozen, the card goes quiet with it.

The score is not a verdict on the crypto card category. It is a verdict on how far this particular launch has come.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 A closed list of 80 countries and regions (not exhaustive), including the US, Canada, France, Turkey, Singapore, Hong Kong, China, India, the UAE, Brazil and others
Cost 6 / 10 Issuance, month and year are 0; crypto conversion 0, FX 1.5% on top of the Visa rate, cross-border fee 0.5%, an inactivity fee of 1 USD a month after 12 months
Top-up options 3 / 10 Only USDT from Spot, Futures or Earn into the card account; direct blockchain deposits are not supported
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 The company is Blue Rock Management Pte. Ltd., the issuer and licences are not named; the exchange’s Trustpilot shows 3.7/5 across 819 reviews, with account freezes and regulatory attention mentioned
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa only, physical card planned; Apple Pay, Google Pay and other wallets are there, but ATMs are not supported in the first version
Total 5.3 / 10 A well-priced, narrowly funded first version of a crypto card

If you read only one line of this review, read that one. Bitunix is a crypto exchange first and a card second, and the card’s usefulness is bounded by what the exchange lets you do with your money.

Who they will give you the card to

Eligibility runs on where you live, not on your nationality. The help center’s “Restricted Jurisdictions” page is explicitly not exhaustive — it says a restricted list “may include” certain places — but as it stands it names 80 countries and regions. Among them are the Russian Federation and Belarus, alongside the US, Canada, France, Turkey, Ukraine, Singapore, Hong Kong, China, India, the UAE, Cyprus, Serbia, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Brazil, Israel and others.

So the rule reads as: if you reside in one of the listed places, you are in scope; the list tells you where the product is aimed, and “may include” means it can change without much warning. That matters to you because the list was updated relatively recently — 8 October 2026 — so it is a live document rather than a settled one.

Two things the card’s public pages do not say, and I flag rather than guess: the minimum age, and the exact documents list. You will not find either spelled out; you find out what is acceptable when you submit.

One nuance worth holding onto, because it comes up in every KYC conversation in this industry: nationality is screened separately from residence. Sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are usually applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address. So living in an allowed country may not be sufficient if your citizenship sits elsewhere. I am not telling you how to work around that — I am telling you it is a separate gate, and to raise it with support before you invest time in an application.

How to get it

The route is short and entirely inside the exchange. The documented sequence is:

  1. Sign up for a Bitunix account.
  2. Complete identity verification, including your residential address.
  3. Apply for the card.
  4. Receive your virtual card on approval.

That is the whole path. There is no separate card application form on the open web, no branch, no interview.

The verification piece is the same KYC the exchange requires of everyone, and the card’s terms confirm what the exchange’s KYC levels are built around: identity verification and a confirmed residential address are required before you can apply. The exchange runs a tiered KYC structure (there is a help center page on level benefits), but the card’s own KYC level requirements, the processing time, and the grounds on which an application would be refused are not stated on the public pages. If being turned down matters to you, ask.

A few practical points:

If your problem is “I cannot open an ordinary bank card,” read the sections on funding and risk before you spend an afternoon on the form. The KYC gate is not the hard part here; where the money comes from is.

What it really costs: Fees

The headline numbers are the best thing about this card. Issuance, the monthly fee and the annual fee are each shown as 0. Crypto conversion on the card is 0 as well. This is genuinely cheaper than most prepaid cards and cheaper than several bank debit cards in the FX column.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bitunix payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

What you pay instead is at the moment of spending, and it is worth reading the table as a whole rather than any single line:

Fee or limit Value
Issuance 0
Monthly fee 0
Annual fee 0
Crypto conversion fee 0
FX markup 1.5% on top of the Visa rate
Cross-border fee 0.5% on USD spending
Small-service fee 0.3 USD per transaction on settlements under 10 USD; first 3 per month waived
Inactivity fee 1 USD per month after 12 months of inactivity
Card replacement 0
Card cancellation 0
Network fee Applies to USD and non-USD transactions; percentage blank on the page
ATM Not supported in the initial version
Daily limit USD 10,000 per day
Monthly limit USD 50,000 per month
Per-transaction limit USD 10,000

Now let me make the abstract rows real with a few everyday payments. These are the same published rates applied to ordinary amounts, so you can see which fee you actually meet:

A USD 40 subscription in your home currency. If your merchant charges in dollars and you are not paying outside your country, you meet the 1.5% FX markup and the 0.5% cross-border fee. On USD 40 that is 0.60 plus 0.20 — USD 0.80 of friction on a USD 40 purchase. If you were spending the same amount from an ordinary bank card, this would usually be zero. That is the honest catch: the card is free until you spend outside your home currency, and then it charges you roughly 2% for the privilege.

A USD 9.50 coffee abroad. Settlements under 10 USD attract the 0.3 USD small-service fee — three times a month it is waived. Cross this line once and you are paying about 3% on a small purchase before FX and cross-border are even counted. This is the fee that bites casual, low-value spending hardest, which is precisely the spending virtual cards exist for.

A USD 25 online purchase in your own currency. Conversion is 0, so if the merchant prices in USD and your card is USD, the friction is the 1.5% FX markup plus 0.5% cross-border, if it counts as cross-border. No small-service fee, because it clears the 10 USD threshold. This is the card’s best case: mid-value, online, low friction.

Two limits on the cost picture itself. Network fees are flagged as applying to USD and non-USD transactions, but the percentage is blank on the page, so I cannot tell you what you will pay there — you would have to ask. And daily and monthly limits are stated: USD 10,000 per transaction, USD 10,000 per day, USD 50,000 per month, and these are adjustable in Card Management, which is helpful if you need headroom for a large purchase.

One more cost-shaped fact that is not a fee but behaves like one: after 12 months of inactivity the card charges 1 USD per month. If you keep a Bitunix card dormant in a drawer, it starts billing you.

And the one structural cost that is not in the table at all: withdrawal. More on that in the funding section, because it is where most people will be disappointed.

How to Top up it: funding is the narrow part

This is the section that decides whether the card is useful to you, and it is the one to read twice.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bitunix starts with a transfer to the right network

The rule is simple and restrictive: USDT is moved from your Spot, Futures or Earn account into the Card Account, and the card spends from the Card Account balance. That is the only route. External bank transfers are not supported, and direct blockchain deposits to the card account are not supported. The page confirms the reasoning directly — because deposits must come from inside the exchange, no card networks apply at all.

Let me be blunt about what that means. You cannot send USDT to the card from a self-custody wallet. You cannot wire money in from your bank. There is no on-chain address to deposit to. Everything you spend has to have passed through your Bitunix exchange account first.

So the entire card depends on the health and the access rights of your exchange account. If your Bitunix account is frozen, restricted, or under extra verification, your card balance is unreachable — this is the central risk of the design, and I come back to it below. What makes it manageable is that the transfer is internal: a move between balances you already hold, rather than a wire or a blockchain deposit that can go to a wrong network. That is a genuine benefit of the narrow model.

Two things about the balance itself:

And then there is the money going the other way, which is where I have to be least rosy:

So the funding story is: money goes in one way easily, and only your rewards are documented as coming back out. Unspent card balance is not. I am not going to dress that up — if you over-fund the card, plan for it to sit there, and read the closure clause carefully before you close it.

Paying with it every day

Day-to-day, the virtual card does more than its launch version suggests. The wallets list is long: Apple Pay, Google Pay, WeChat Pay, Alipay, PayPal, LINE Pay, GrabPay, Samsung Pay, all subject to platform terms and regional restrictions. Adding it to a phone wallet is how most people will actually use it, since it is virtual and you need the number anyway.

Two mechanics worth knowing:

Rewards. The headline is a cashback rate that scales with your exchange VIP tier:

VIP level Cashback
VIP 1 1%
VIP 2–3 2%
VIP 4–5 4%
VIP 6–7 6%
VIP 8 8%

Cashback is paid in USDT to the Card Account after settlement, and it offsets FX and cross-border fees. A VIP 6–7 holder paying 2% in FX and cross-border is, in effect, made whole on those fees; a VIP 1 holder at 1% covers half. That is a genuinely elegant mechanic — it turns your exchange trading volume into a travel-fee subsidy — and it also means the card’s true cost to you is heavily tier-dependent: the fee table above is the floor, and VIP status is the discount.

There is a stated balance yield “up to” a blank figure, so the number is not published; do not plan around it. The referral reward runs until October 31.

Handling a problem. Filing a dispute is free. A USD 50 charge applies only if it escalates into a formal Visa chargeback — the FAQ says per case and the fees article says per transaction, which is a small internal inconsistency worth knowing about. Investigation takes several weeks and, in some cases, up to 90 days. Unauthorised transactions must be reported within 14 days of the transaction or its posting date. Merchant refunds usually clear in 5–14 business days — and you should contact the merchant first. Chargeback rights are not guaranteed, and cash-like transactions may be ineligible, which is the same category that is excluded from cashback.

Two small operational notes: there is no separate card app — the card lives inside the Bitunix app — and you get an email alert for transactions of USD 200 or more, can freeze and unfreeze in Card Management, and can link up to 15 third-party wallets per card. Freeze-on-suspicion is available, which is the one security feature that matters most in practice.

What can go wrong

This is where a 5.3 out of 10 is really earned. Let me take the risks in order of how likely they are to affect you.

The counterparty risk is the whole product. Because the card can only be funded from inside Bitunix, your ability to spend equals your ability to use the exchange. And the exchange’s reputation is mixed. The Trustpilot profile for Bitunix — which is the exchange, not the card — reads 3.7 (the star graphic shows 3.5) across 819 reviews, 546 of them in the last 12 months. The recurring themes are account freezes demanding extra verification (one report in October 2026 describes about $440 frozen for three months), liquidation disputes, and withdrawal delays. That profile also states the company “has received regulatory attention.” I found no card-specific complaints in a single search — but that also cuts the other way: the card is new enough that it has not yet accumulated a track record either way. Do not read the absence of card complaints as reassurance.

Nobody will tell you who is actually behind the card. The pages name only Bitunix (2022–2026). The card terms name the company as Blue Rock Management Pte. Ltd., but the card issuer is referred to only as “the Issuer” and is not named, and licences are not stated. That is a genuine gap and, for a financial product, an unusual one. It matters because of how these cards are built: the card network (Visa) only routes the messages and sets the rules, an issuer actually holds the programme, and the crypto brand is often just the front end. Here you can see the front end; the issuer and its licences are not on display.

Your money is not bank-insured. The terms say no entity assumes custody of fiat funds on your behalf, and that card funds are not bank deposits and are not deposit-insured. This is the norm for e-money and prepaid balances, and it is the background reason every one of these products carries the closure risk below.

Programme closures happen. Cards in this category get wound down: Visa terminated FTX’s global agreements in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; WaveCrest, a supplier of crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing its programmes. A closure typically means a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a single unconfirmed secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026.

Crypto-side risks if you fund with USDT. Stablecoins can and do depeg — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 — so “USDT converts to USD 1:1” is a conversion rule, not a guarantee of value. And transfers are irreversible: a deposit to a wrong network or address can be lost, or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Because this card does not accept on-chain deposits at all, that particular risk is designed out of the funding path — a quiet benefit of the narrow model.

Where your cards get declined. A merchant can look up your card’s issuer identification number and see the issuer’s country, and apply extra scrutiny when that differs from your billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for that reason alone. Address verification — comparing the numeric parts of your billing address with issuer records — is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.

A note on taxes, briefly. I am not giving you tax advice. What is generally true in the US is that digital assets are treated as property, so exchanging them for goods or dollars produces a taxable gain or loss measured in local currency at the transaction date — which would mean each card payment funded from crypto can be a separate taxable event. If you are in that position, talk to an accountant about how your card spending is reported, because a card that makes spending seamless can also make a lot of small taxable events.

What to take instead

I want to be fair to the alternatives rather than dismissive of them — and I have to say plainly that I could not confirm most of what I wanted to compare. For Young Card and OKX, several core facts (eligibility, the card itself, fees, funding) are not stated officially in what I could verify, and where I do quote them below it comes from explainer-style sources, not the card’s own pages. Take those rows as indicative.

Alternative Score Card Cost Rewards
Bitunix 5.3 / 10 Visa, virtual only 0 issuance/month/year; 1.5% FX; 0.5% cross-border 1–8% cashback by VIP tier
Coinbase Card 6.4 / 10 Visa prepaid debit, virtual or physical “Zero spending fees and no annual fees”; a spread applies when crypto is bought, sold or traded at payment Optional crypto rewards on every purchase, US Card users only; rate is variable, shown in the app
OKX 6.2 / 10 Mastercard, euro-denominated virtual debit via OKX Pay; physical not mentioned No card fee (explainer, as of May 2026); conversion spread quoted as 0.1% (explainer, May 2026) vs 0.4% (launch release) Cashback on USDG purchases only; EUR caps Regular 2%/10, VIP1 4%/300, VIP2 4.5%/450, VIP3 5%/1,000, VIP4+ 10%/1,000
Young Card 5.7 / 10 Not stated officially Not stated officially Cashback in YNG tokens by Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% (Bronze and Silver not stated)

Three observations that matter more than the scores:

Coinbase Card is the most conventional product on this list. It is available in all US states except Hawaii, follows the US identity rules (name, address, date of birth, ID), can be virtual or physical, and you fund it by linking a bank account or depositing part of a paycheck with zero fees — and any crypto balance on Coinbase can be spent, converted to USD. Its weakness is the one Bitunix avoids: the spread when Coinbase converts your crypto at payment. So this is a genuine trade — a card funded by real banking rails with a conversion cost, versus a card funded only from inside an exchange with no conversion fee. If your problem is banking access, note this option is US-only.

OKX is the closest thing to a peer, with a real difference in scope: it is for EU plus Norway (launched 28 January 2026), with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded, and it runs on a MiCAR-licensed entity. It holds USDC or USDG in OKX Pay with no auto top-up (a payment is declined if the balance is short), and its cashback pays only on USDG purchases, not USDC. Its conversion spread is quoted inconsistently across sources (0.1% vs 0.4%), which is itself a small warning about how firmly these numbers are published.

Young Card is the outlier: rewards paid in its own YNG token rather than a stablecoin, and a tier structure where even the top confirmed rate is 3.6%. I could not confirm its basic card facts officially, so I would not build a decision on it.

The one alternative not on this list, and the one I would mention if you are starting from scratch: an ordinary bank debit card. The Bitunix card’s fee advantage exists only because you are converting crypto. If your money is already in dollars in an account you can access, an ordinary card will usually cost you zero on a domestic purchase, where Bitunix’s 1.5% FX plus 0.5% cross-border applies to a purchase it labels as ordinary.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Bitunix card to exactly one kind of person: someone with a funded Bitunix exchange account who already holds USDT and already spends USDT online — subscriptions, SaaS tools, digital goods — and who values a zero conversion fee and cashback that offsets their FX more than they value independence from the exchange. If that is you, the card does its job: it is free to hold, free to convert, and the tier-based cashback genuinely covers the FX on smaller tickets.

I would not recommend it if any of these are true of you:

My honest one-line verdict: a well-priced, carefully fenced first version of a crypto card that is only as good as the exchange holding your money — fine for a committed Bitunix user spending USDT online, not fine as your everyday or your only card.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Bitunix card?

The Bitunix card is a virtual Visa that spends money loaded from a Bitunix exchange account. You convert USDT from your Spot, Futures or Earn balance into dollars at 1:1, that balance moves into a Card Account, and the card draws down that balance as you pay. Issuance, monthly and annual fees are all 0, and the card currency in practice is USD. At launch it exists only in virtual form; a physical card is described as planned for a later phase.

How does the Bitunix card work in practice?

You top up by transferring USDT from inside your exchange account into the Card Account, then pay online or in stores with the virtual Visa, or push it into Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayPal and similar wallets. The balance is pre-loaded, so the card cannot overdraw — it simply declines when the money runs out. When you pay outside your home currency, the merchant’s currency is converted at the rate at the time of the transaction, with a 1.5% markup over the Visa rate.

Do I need KYC, and what does it involve?

Yes. Identity verification, including a confirmed residential address, is required before you can apply, and the card terms confirm this. In the EU the equivalent checks cover name, address, date of birth, nationality and ID documentation, plus a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person determination. In the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. The card’s own KYC level requirements and processing times are not stated publicly.

Is Bitunix a bank, and who is actually behind the card?

No — it is a crypto exchange with a card attached, and the pages name only Bitunix, running 2022–2026. The card terms name the company as Blue Rock Management Pte. Ltd., but the card issuer is referred to only as “the Issuer” and is not named, and no licences are stated. Separately, the terms state that no entity takes custody of fiat funds for you and that card funds are not bank deposits and are not deposit-insured.

Which countries can get the Bitunix card?

Eligibility runs on residence. The help center’s “Restricted Jurisdictions” page lists 80 countries and regions, explicitly as a non-exhaustive “may include” list, naming among them the Russian Federation, Belarus, the US, Canada, France, Turkey, Ukraine, Singapore, Hong Kong, China, India, the UAE, Cyprus, Serbia, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Brazil and Israel. The list was last updated 8 October 2026. Remember that citizenship is screened separately from residence, so an allowed address may not be sufficient.

Can I add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay?

Yes — Apple Pay, Google Pay, WeChat Pay, Alipay, PayPal, LINE Pay, GrabPay and Samsung Pay are all listed, subject to platform terms and regional restrictions. With Apple Pay the card number is replaced by a device-specific number stored in the phone’s secure element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic code. Up to 15 third-party wallets can be linked per card, and the issuer can restrict a tokenised number.

How do I top up the card, and can I pay in crypto directly?

You top up by moving USDT from your Spot, Futures or Earn account to the Card Account — internally, within the exchange. You cannot fund the card by bank transfer, and direct blockchain deposits to the card account are not supported, so there is no deposit address to send USDT to. Payment itself is from a USD balance: USDT converts to USD 1:1, and only USDT is supported as a cryptocurrency. The minimum top-up is not stated.

Is the Bitunix card free, and what will I actually pay?

Issuance, monthly and annual fees are 0, and crypto conversion is 0. The costs arrive when you spend: a 1.5% FX markup over the Visa rate, a 0.5% cross-border fee on USD spending, and a 0.3 USD small-service fee per transaction on settlements under 10 USD (first three per month waived). WeChat Pay and Alipay carry their own 3% fee over 200 CNY. After 12 months of inactivity there is a 1 USD monthly fee. Limits are USD 10,000 per transaction and per day, and USD 50,000 per month.

Can I withdraw money from the Bitunix card?

Only cashback and referral rewards are documented as movable. The help text says you can transfer your cashback from the Card Account to your Spot account and withdraw it; it does not describe withdrawing the general card balance. You can close the card free at any time in Card Management, but the terms say a positive balance is returned under applicable law and internal procedures, may require identity verification, and may be held for a reasonable period to cover chargebacks.

Is the Bitunix card safe, and what if I have a dispute?

Card funds are not bank deposits and are not deposit-insured, and your spend depends entirely on your exchange account being usable — the exchange’s Trustpilot profile shows 3.7 from 819 reviews, with account freezes and withdrawal delays among the themes. On the card side, filing a dispute is free; a USD 50 charge applies only if it becomes a formal Visa chargeback, investigation runs several weeks and in some cases up to 90 days, and unauthorised transactions must be reported within 14 days.

Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team