A crypto card with a wide coin list, one sharp top-up rule and a lot of unsaid on the company side

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Card.fi is a crypto payment card, and the pitch is simple: load it with crypto, spend the money like an ordinary card. On paper the card is broad — 32 coins across five networks, virtual, physical and steel versions, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and no monthly or annual fee. Off paper, two things deserve your attention before you commit: the top-up fee is charged on top of the network fee, and the company behind it is a Hong Kong trading name with an unnamed issuer and unnamed licences.

Card.fi works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I gave it 6.6 out of 10. That is not a hostile score. It is the score of a card that does its practical job well and asks you to take a lot on trust.

If you are choosing between crypto cards, the questions you actually care about are the ones I try to answer below: whether you can get one at all, what a coffee costs you, what happens if you send crypto to the wrong network, and who is behind it when something goes wrong.

All conditions here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The verdict: 6.6 out of 10

Card.fi scores best where it is strongest and worst where it should be boring. Who can get it is a near-perfect result — a shipping banner promising “200+ countries” with almost nothing carved out. Everyday use is equally strong: virtual, physical and steel cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay, an ATM on physical cards, and cashback on spending. The top-up list is genuinely wide.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Card.fi starts with a transfer to the right network

The weak spot is cost, and it is weak because the numbers are real rather than flattering: $49 for a virtual Classic card, $249 for a virtual Premium card, a 1.5% plus $1.00 top-up fee on Classic, and a 3.5% FX fee on Classic. Reliability and complaints sits in the middle — not because anything went wrong, but because there is very little on record either way, and what is on record is thin.

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Cards ship to “200+ countries”; the only stated bar is residents of, or orders from, a country under sanctions that would prohibit the service
Cost 2 / 10 Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249; top-up 1.5% + $1.00 on Classic and 1% on Premium; FX 3.5% on Classic and 2.5% on Premium; no monthly or annual fee
Top-up options 9 / 10 32 coins across 5 networks (Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch); USDT, USDC, ETH, BNB, SOL, KAANCH; a separate deposit address per card
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Kaanch Limited, Hong Kong; cards issued by the On5 Card Network; licences not named; the balance is held as a debt of the company (custodial); no complaints pages found
Everyday use 10 / 10 Virtual, physical and steel cards; every physical order includes a virtual card; Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATM on physical cards

The card suits you if you already hold several different coins and want to spend a mix of them from one card, and if a virtual or metal card fits how you pay. It suits you if you want something that behaves like a normal payment card and do not mind the fees as the price of that convenience.

It does not suit you if fee sensitivity is the deciding factor, if you need bank-grade clarity on who holds your money, or if you plan to lean heavily on cash machines or foreign-currency spending, because the Classic numbers there are among the worst on this list. Nor does it suit anyone who wants a card that draws on a bank account rather than a preloaded balance.

Will they give you the card?

Yes, most likely, and this is the strongest thing about Card.fi. The banner says cards are sent to “200+ countries”. The terms add one exclusion, and it is a narrow one: residents of, or orders from, “a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service”.

That is the whole of the stated eligibility rule. There is no citizenship-versus-residence distinction on the page beyond that, no nationality list, no statement about which specific countries are affected. If you are reading this because you are wondering about your own country, the honest answer is that the public pages do not name it. The way to find out is to reach out and ask before you pay anything, because the fee is not the only thing at stake if a card is refused.

What does the sanctions wording actually mean in practice? It means the company will not serve a country whose sanctions regime prohibits the service — the classic case being comprehensive sanctions. It does not mean the card is targeted at people trying to move around those rules, and I am not going to pretend otherwise. If your country is under restrictions, the answer is that the service is not for you, and a card obtained through any back door would leave you with no terms, no dispute route and no support. The rules exist for reasons that are not about convenience.

One thing worth knowing generally, because it explains why these rules are written loosely but enforced seriously: sanctions screening is usually applied to nationality and country of birth as well as to the address. A card issued in one country can also look “foreign” to a shop in another, because a merchant can look up the six or eight digit issuer number that identifies the card-issuing institution and see where it came from. Expect more scrutiny, not fewer, when your billing address and your card issuer country do not match.

How to get it

The application path is short: register in the Card.fi account, verify identity if asked, choose a card type, and pay. A few practical points.

The card types are Virtual Classic and Virtual Premium, physical Classic and Premium, and a metal version in stainless steel. Every physical order includes a virtual card, which is the part you will actually use most often. Physical Classic and Premium ship within 5 to 7 business days; the metal card ships express. The replacement cost for a lost or stolen card is not stated, so treat that as a question to ask rather than a number to plan around.

Fees: what it really costs

This is where the card earns 2 out of 10, and the headline prices are the reason. A virtual Classic card costs $49 once and a virtual Premium card costs $249 once. Physical and metal prices are not listed on the pages I could read. After that, there is no monthly fee, no annual fee, no inactivity fee and no minimum-balance fee — which is genuinely better than a lot of prepaid cards, and it is why the card is not a zero.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Card.fi payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card states
Issuance, virtual Classic $49 one-time; Premium $249 one-time
Issuance, physical and metal Not stated
Monthly or annual fee None; no inactivity or minimum-balance fee
Top-up fee Classic 1.5% + $1.00; Premium 1%
FX fee Classic 3.5%; Premium 2.5%
Conversion fee Shown to you before each top-up, per the terms
ATM withdrawal Not included for virtual cards; supported on physical cards; Premium and Metal have larger allowances than Classic — amounts and fee not stated
Daily top-up limit Classic $5,000; Premium $25,000
Spending limits “Standard” on Classic, “higher” on Premium — no figures given; you can set your own limits in card settings

Let me put a few of these on an actual purchase, because the percentages only mean something next to a number.

A coffee at $4.50 that you pay from a Classic card’s euro balance costs you 3.5% of $4.50 in FX fee, plus whatever spread sits inside the conversion rate the app shows you. That is $0.16 on the conversion line before the merchant’s own pricing. The top-up fee does not apply to that purchase at all — it applies to loading the card — but you will have paid it earlier, on the money you loaded.

A $300 weekend in a euro country, paid from a dollar-denominated Classic balance, costs 3.5% of $300, or $10.50, in FX fees. On Premium the same weekend costs 2.5%, or $7.50. That is the argument for Premium, and it is a stronger argument than the priority support is.

Loading $200 into a Classic card costs 1.5% of $200 plus $1.00, so $4.00 of top-up fee on top of the network fee for the transfer itself. On Premium the same load costs $2.00. Note that the network fee for the on-chain transfer is charged by the blockchain, not by Card.fi — that one is out of your hands and depends on how busy the network is at the moment you send.

Three everyday cases, then, with the fees that actually apply:

What I could not price: the card currency, the ATM fee and allowance in cash terms, the physical and metal issuance prices, and the spending limits beyond the word “standard”. If you are weighing this card against one that publishes its limits as figures, that difference in transparency is itself a data point.

How to top it up

This is the card’s second-best feature and the part I found most interesting to check. Thirty-two coins across five networks — Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana and the Kaanch chain — including USDT, USDC, ETH, BNB, SOL and KAANCH. Each card has its own deposit address.

How a top-up works, end to end:

  1. You take the deposit address for that specific card from your account.
  2. You send a supported coin to it, on the network the app says to use for that coin.
  3. The order completes after the transfer is confirmed on-chain.
  4. The amount is converted at the market rate on arrival, so your card balance moves with the price at that moment, not at the moment you started thinking about it.
  5. You are charged the top-up fee — 1.5% plus $1.00 on Classic, 1% on Premium — and separately whatever the network charged for the transfer.

The minimum top-up is shown in the app or account rather than published, so check it there before your first transfer.

That fifth point deserves emphasis, because it is the number most people will feel first. If you are used to a crypto exchange that quotes a flat withdrawal fee, a percentage plus a dollar on every load adds up fast on small top-ups. If you load $20, the $1.00 alone is a significant chunk of the money.

The one thing I want to be blunt about: sending on the wrong chain risks permanent loss. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. There is no network-side freeze, no chargeback, no help desk that can undo a transfer to a wrong address. If you have sent crypto before you know this, skip to the next paragraph. If you have not, read it now, because it is the single most common way people lose money with cards like this one — and the general rule is that a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost entirely or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Check the network twice. Check the address twice.

Withdrawals and closing the card

If you want your money back out, here is the rule: withdrawals are paid in a supported stablecoin 1:1, with a fee of 1% of the amount, and there is a 7-day hold during which the withdrawal can be cancelled. Seven days is not a formality — plan around it if you need the cash.

Closing the card returns the funds to a held balance, and that held balance is still withdrawable on the same terms. One exception worth knowing: virtual cards cannot be cancelled once issued. So treat a virtual card as a one-way door; if you close your account, the card itself stays out there.

Paying with it every day

This is where the card gets 10 out of 10, and the reason is not marketing, it is coverage. Virtual, physical and steel cards. Apple Pay and Google Pay on Classic and Premium — which in practice means the physical card spends most of its life in your phone, because that is where you tap it. ATM withdrawals on physical cards. Cashback on spending. And every physical order includes a virtual card, so you have a fallback number when the plastic is in a drawer somewhere.

Cashback, precisely:

There is also a headline 10% at coffee shops, capped at 10 USDT per month. Read that cap before you plan around it: at a $4 coffee twice a week, you hit 10 USDT of monthly cashback around week five, and then the rest of the month earns the standard rate. It is a nudge, not a rebate.

The category restrictions are worth knowing before you are surprised at a till. Eighteen merchant category codes are blocked, and they are not exotic. They include crypto (6051), cash (6010), ATMs (6011), quasi-cash (6050), stored-value loads (6540), remittances (4829), financial institutions (6012), securities brokers (6211), telemarketing (5966), dating services (7273), massage (7297), betting (7995), regional gambling (7800, 7801, 7802, 9406), and political and religious organisations (8651, 8661). Some of those are policy choices rather than legal requirements, and the list varies by issuer — but the practical takeaway is that this is not a card for moving money to another person, and it is not a card for pulling cash out at scale.

Cards are managed in the Card.fi web account: freeze, limits, statements, card settings. A minimum top-up and the token list are shown in the app. Store ratings were not found, so I have no read on how people rate the mobile experience.

What can go wrong

I want to split this into what I found, what the card’s own structure creates, and what is simply unknown — because the three deserve different amounts of your worry.

What I found: no incident, and no track record either. I found no official incident. I also found no Trustpilot or Reddit page for Card.fi or Kaanch, in a search run on 2026-10-21. That cuts both ways. No complaints is reassuring; no complaints pages at all means a new card with a small footprint, and small footprints are not evidence of quality. What I could not find, I could not find.

The company. Card.fi is the trading name of Kaanch Limited, Hong Kong, under Hong Kong law. The cards are issued by the On5 Card Network — not a bank name — and on-chain settlement runs through the Kaanch Network. The licences are not named on the pages I read. That last point is the one I would want answered before sending real money, because a card is a regulated payment product and “under licence from the relevant card schemes” tells you a network brand has licensed someone, not who, or under which permission.

Your balance is a debt of the company. The terms describe balances as “a sum we owe you” — custodial. The balance is held by the provider, not by you. Safeguarding and segregation of customer funds is not addressed in the terms. I am not going to dress this up: where your money sits in this structure matters, and you should read it as a claim against a company rather than as funds held for you somewhere safe. On the other hand, the operational protections that are there, work properly — freezing a card in the account takes effect immediately, and per-card limits are applied at authorisation.

Freezes are not card-specific to you. If compliance freezes your account, that is a real possibility in this industry, and the reason is structural: anti-money-laundering law requires regulated businesses to verify customers, screen them, monitor transactions and report suspicious activity. If due diligence cannot be completed, the rules require the institution to decline the transaction or end the relationship. Accounts get closed and frozen pending documents. That is the system working, not a judgement on you, but it does mean you should keep your documents ready.

A failed payment can hold your money. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven. Combined with the seven-day withdrawal hold, a week can pass with your money in a state you do not control. Plan for that rather than discovering it.

Disputes are not yours to bring. Card.fi disputes are not covered by the card’s terms. Transaction disputes fall under the issuer’s cardholder terms, and complaints on card accounts are passed to the On5 Card Network. So when something goes wrong with a payment, you are in someone else’s document, not the one you signed up under. I would read the issuer’s cardholder terms before I trusted a large balance to this setup.

Support: email and Telegram. The card promises an acknowledgement within two working days and a resolution or explanation within fifteen, with Premium getting priority. Two working days to say hello is slow, but fifteen days to a real answer is a reasonable commitment for a card at this level.

Not stated, and I will not guess: the card currency, physical and metal prices, ATM fees and allowances in numbers, spending limits as figures, replacement cost, which documents KYC requires, and the card’s own news or incident history. Each of these is a reasonable question to ask before you rely on the card.

The other three cards I looked at

Let me be careful about what this comparison is and is not. I scored the three alternatives in the same way I scored Card.fi, and all three score lower — but I scored them on the same six criteria, and none of them publishes as much as Card.fi does about fees. So this is not a ranking of better against worse. It is a reminder that the cards people ask about most are not obviously better than this one on the information available.

Card.fi CardFlow HyperCard Nero
My score 6.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10 4.8 / 10
Who it targets “200+ countries”, sanctions exclusion Nigeria (“Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”) and global users Not stated on official pages Not stated on readable pages
Card Virtual, physical, metal Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes Prepaid, balance in USD or EUR Virtual, network not named
Issuance $49 Classic virtual, $249 Premium virtual Free to create a virtual card, per its FAQ Not stated One-time fee, amount not stated
Monthly fee None Not stated Not stated None stated
Top-up 32 coins, 5 networks BTC, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH USDT or USDC
Named fees Top-up 1.5% + $1.00, FX 3.5% (Classic) Not stated Not stated 4% top-up commission, FX not stated
Cashback 0.8% to 2% on spending Not stated Not stated Not stated

CardFlow is aimed squarely at Nigeria and describes itself as “Nigerians and global users”. A free virtual USD Mastercard created in about 3 minutes is a good offer, and topping up with naira from a local bank transfer solves a problem a crypto transfer does not. What I could not establish is what the fees are.

HyperCard is the one people ask about most, so it is worth being precise about what its famous reach actually means. The official pages state no country list. The App Store page says the card works in “more than 176 countries” — that is acceptance, not eligibility. It is a prepaid card with a balance in USD or EUR, topped up with crypto in the app. Card currency and acceptance where you live are two different questions, and the number people quote answers only the second one.

Nero is a virtual card with a standard number, expiry and CVC, topped up with USDT or USDC and converted to fiat at the moment of payment. Its top-up commission is 4% — for comparison, Card.fi Classic is 1.5% plus $1.00 and Premium is 1%. I could not read a country list from its pages.

If your question is “is one of these safer than Card.fi”, I cannot answer that from what is published. If your question is “do any of them publish their fees more clearly than Card.fi”, also no — Card.fi is the most transparent of the four on that single point.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Card.fi to someone in this shape: you hold several coins across more than one chain, you want one card that spends all of them, you are comfortable treating the balance as money held by a company rather than money you own outright, and you will spend in the card’s currency most of the time. The 32-coin, 5-network list is the real product here, and if you use it, the fees start to look like a fair price for the convenience.

I would recommend it specifically over the alternatives to someone who wants one card for many coins, and to someone who prefers a virtual or steel card to a plastic one.

I would not recommend it as a first crypto card. If this is your first, you are learning to send on the right chain, read a fee schedule and back up a seed phrase, and Card.fi’s custodial balance plus its unnamed licences add two more things to hold in your head at once. Learn those on something whose failure you can see clearly.

And I would not recommend it to you if any of these are true: you travel often and spend foreign currency (Classic’s 3.5% FX fee will cost more than the card’s price in a year); you need cash from ATMs (allowances and fees are not published); you need bank-level clarity about who custodies your funds; or you are sending money to other people, which the blocked merchant categories rule out anyway.

One last thing I would do before paying $49. Ask them, in writing, four questions: which licences does the issuer hold, what currency is the card denominated in, what is the ATM fee and allowance, and what happens to my balance if the programme is closed. Not because I expect a bad answer — but because how they answer a direct question tells you more than any fee table.

Frequently asked questions

What is Card.fi?

Card.fi is a crypto payment card: you load it with cryptocurrency and spend the balance like an ordinary card. It runs three card families — Virtual Classic and Premium, physical Classic and Premium, and a stainless steel metal version. Cards ship to “200+ countries”, with residents of sanctioned countries excluded. It runs no monthly or annual fee, and the card is issued by the On5 Card Network under the trading name Kaanch Limited, Hong Kong.

How does Card.fi card work?

You send a supported coin to the deposit address for your card, on the network the app specifies. Once the transfer confirms on-chain, it converts at the market rate and the card balance is ready to spend. The card then behaves like a prepaid card: it draws on that stored balance and cannot go below zero. Each card has its own address, and sending on the wrong network risks permanent loss because blockchain transfers cannot be reversed.

Is Card.fi a bank?

Not on the evidence of its public pages. It is the trading name of Kaanch Limited, Hong Kong, and the card itself is issued by the On5 Card Network, not by a named bank. The cards are described as issued “under licence from the relevant card schemes”, though neither Visa nor Mastercard is named. The licences held are not stated, and your balance is described as a sum the company owes you — which is a different position from a bank deposit.

Does Card.fi require KYC, and what documents?

The issuer may require identity verification before issuing a card or raising your limits. If verification fails, the card is not issued and the fee is refunded. The minimum age is 18. Which specific documents are needed is not stated on the public pages, nor is the verification level you will be placed in — so if you want to prepare documents in advance, ask before paying anything.

What does it cost to use a Card.fi card?

A virtual Classic card is $49 and a virtual Premium card is $249, one-time; physical and metal prices are not stated. There is no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee. Beyond that: top-up fees of 1.5% plus $1.00 on Classic and 1% on Premium, and FX fees of 3.5% on Classic and 2.5% on Premium. On-chain network fees for the transfer are charged by the blockchain, separately.

How much can I top up and spend?

Daily top-up limits are $5,000 on Classic and $25,000 on Premium. Spending limits are described only as “standard” on Classic and “higher” on Premium, with no figures published — but you can set your own limits in the card settings, which is the number that actually protects you. ATM withdrawals are not available on virtual cards, and physical cards support them with larger allowances on Premium and Metal; the amounts and fee are not stated.

Is Card.fi card safe?

I found no official incident and no complaints pages for Card.fi or Kaanch in a search run on 2026-10-21, so there is no track record either way. The structural point is more useful than the search result: balances are held custodially, described as a sum the company owes you, and safeguarding is not addressed in the terms. Freezing a card takes effect immediately and per-card limits apply at authorisation, which are real protections on the spending side.

How do I get money back off the card?

Withdrawals are paid in a supported stablecoin at 1:1 with a fee of 1% of the amount, and there is a 7-day hold during which the withdrawal can be cancelled. Closing the card returns your funds to a held balance, which is still withdrawable on those terms. Virtual cards cannot be cancelled once issued, so treat them as permanent. Also note that a declined payment can leave a hold on funds for up to seven days.

Can I use Card.fi in my country?

The card ships to “200+ countries” and the only stated exclusion is residents of, or orders from, a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service. No citizenship-versus-residence rule and no country list are given beyond that. If your country has restrictions, the answer is that the service is not for you — ask directly before paying, since the card is shipped to addresses worldwide but is not offered in every country.

Why would a crypto card programme shut down?

Because the brand is usually not the issuer. The card network licenses the issuer and can suspend the programme — Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and WaveCrest, which supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw. That is the scenario to keep in mind when weighing custodial balances.

Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team