A young virtual card with one clear number — the top-up fee — and silence on almost everything else

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Nero card is a virtual payment card funded with USDT or USDC, issued online in minutes after you top it up, and usable in stores through Apple Pay and Google Pay. That is the entire pitch, and it is a narrow one: a card you load with stablecoins, spend like a prepaid balance, and do not overdraw. The proposition is attractive if an ordinary bank card is exactly what you cannot get — if you have no local issuing bank willing to open an account for you, if your existing card is blocked from the merchants you need, or if you simply want a card number that belongs to nobody’s monthly statement.

Nero works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

But the same narrowness is the problem. The card’s own public pages name one number with confidence, a 4% top-up commission, and one date, a launch on 25 June 2026. Almost everything else a reader would need to decide is not stated: no country list, no description of identity checks, no card network, no card currency, no daily or monthly limits, no ATM terms, no issuer, no licence, no rewards, no dispute process, no security documentation. The company behind it is Nero Sphere LIMITED with a Hong Kong dateline on the press release, and no issuer is named. No Trustpilot page could be found and no complaints surfaced — which is neutral evidence, not a clean bill of health, because a card with no users yet cannot generate complaints either.

Conditions described are current as of October 28, 2026.

My score is 4.8 out of 10. I will explain exactly where that number comes from, walk each section against what the card actually publishes, and name the three alternatives I would look at instead if the missing pieces matter to you.

My score, and who it is for

The score table below is the honest summary: five of the six marks sit between 5 and 6, and one — cost — sits at 3, dragging the total down. The reason for every mark is written in my own words; the marks themselves are not negotiable.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Nero starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why, in my words
Who can get it 5 / 10 The site says restricted countries exist but does not publish the list; nothing about Russian or Belarusian citizens or residents.
Cost 3 / 10 A 4% top-up commission is stated, the one-time issuance fee has no amount, and the FX fee is not disclosed at all.
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDT or USDC, with the networks unconfirmed on readable pages, and conversion to fiat at the moment of payment.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Nero Sphere LIMITED, Hong Kong dateline; no issuer and no licences named; no complaints or user reports found.
Everyday use 6 / 10 Virtual card with Apple Pay and Google Pay for contactless in-store payments; the ATM situation is not addressed.
Total 4.8 / 10 A thin disclosure base, and the gaps are on the questions that decide whether a card is usable for you.

Who this suits: someone who already holds USDT or USDC, who has no workable ordinary card for the merchants in mind, who does not need cash from ATMs, who is comfortable with a balance that only decreases, and who reads terms before clicking rather than after. If you want a card that shows up in banking apps with a normal statement, or one whose issuer you could name to your bank, this is the wrong product.

Who it does not suit: anyone whose income arrives in fiat and who wants to spend it; anyone planning holidays with a cash budget; anyone who needs dispute handling and chargebacks to work in their favour; anyone who wants a physical card; and anyone who will be uneasy about a payment partner that the card’s own pages do not name.

Who they will give you the card

The card’s readable pages do not state who can get it. The site says that restricted countries exist, but it does not publish the list or clarify eligibility for citizens of specific countries. If you are checking for availability in your country or for your citizenship, the card’s site provides no answer, and you will need to confirm directly with support.

Why this is more than a technicality. In this category, nationality and residence are recorded and screened separately, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy often follow citizenship and country of birth rather than the address you type. So “restricted countries” may not even be the right frame — the restriction could attach to a passport, not to where you live. For a reader in a country where the answer genuinely matters, this is the first thing to resolve, and it is the thing a published list would have resolved for you.

One general point about who gets cards at all: prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults (18+), and some issuers set higher limits. That is the category norm, not a Nero rule.

My advice: before you fund anything, ask the support address in writing which jurisdictions are supported and whether eligibility follows residence, citizenship, or both. If you get a reply that paraphrases the marketing page rather than naming countries, treat the answer as a no for planning purposes. Details on how to reach support are further down, in the risks section.

How to get it

The whole journey is described as fully online, and the card arrives within minutes of funding — but the identity-check step is not described. A press release states that registration, top-up and card issuance are fully online with no bank-branch visit. That is a real advantage over a process that requires a physical appointment, and for many readers it is the entire reason to look at a card like this.

What you get is described as a virtual card with a standard number, an expiry date and a CVC. The card network is not named — no Visa, no Mastercard on readable pages — and the card currency is not stated, which matters because it decides what you are actually spending when the balance converts. Delivery is virtual only as described; whether a physical card can be issued is not stated.

On KYC, here is what I can and cannot tell you. The card’s pages do not describe identity verification at all, and they do not describe tiers, thresholds or a staged verification ladder. That absence is not the same as “no checks” — in the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and a politically-exposed-person determination; in the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. A licensed intermediary in either region is expected to do that regardless of what the front end shows. So the honest reading is: verification may be required and may happen later, and the card does not tell you when or how.

That has a practical consequence. If you are someone who cannot complete identity checks, you should not treat “KYC not described” as good news. It means you cannot predict whether you will be approved, or when an account might be frozen pending documents — a real outcome under due-diligence rules when verification cannot be completed. For readers in that position, the uncertainty itself is the risk, and it argues for keeping small balances on any card of this kind.

Fees: what it really costs

The only fee Nero publishes is a 4% top-up commission; the issuance fee exists but has no amount, and the FX fee is not disclosed. Everything else in the table below is not stated. I have written “not stated” where the card is silent rather than filling the gap with a number from somewhere else, because a number I invented would be worse than a gap you can see.

Fee or limit What the card says
One-time issuance fee Charged; amount not stated
Monthly fee Not stated
Top-up commission 4%
Conversion to fiat Happens at the moment of payment; conversion fee not stated
FX fee Not stated
ATM / cash withdrawal Not stated
Daily limit Not stated
Monthly limit Not stated
Tiers or plan levels Not stated
Card currency Not stated

Now let me put that in euros and dollars, because percentages are easy to nod along to and hard to feel. Four percent of a 200 balance is 8. That is a flat 8 for a single load, and if you load monthly you pay it monthly. Whether the 4% covers the conversion or is charged on top of it is not spelled out — the card says top-up commission 4% and separately that conversion to fiat happens at payment, which could mean one fee, two, or a spread hidden in the rate. And the FX fee is not stated at all, so the worst realistic case is that a foreign-currency purchase costs you the 4%, plus a conversion spread, plus an unknown FX margin. Nobody can bound that from the public pages, and I am not going to pretend otherwise.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Nero payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Let me run three everyday payments through what is known and unknown, because that is where a 4% number either hurts or does not.

A 30-euro coffee shop purchase. You loaded the balance earlier. The 4% applied when you loaded, not here. At the till, the card converts your stablecoin balance to fiat. What you pay at the till is whatever the card’s rate gives you, and the card does not publish that rate or a conversion fee. So the honest answer: you know the rate will be applied, and you do not know how wide the spread is.

A 300-euro monthly subscription in a currency that is not your balance currency. Now the undisclosed FX fee lands. You also run into a category fact worth knowing: address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address the buyer typed with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — so a subscription renewal can decline for reasons that have nothing to do with you having the money. A declined authorisation may also leave a hold on your funds that can stay for several days, typically up to 7.

A 120-euro cash withdrawal. This is the one I cannot price for you at all. ATM access is not stated. The two things people want to know — does it work, and what does it charge — are both blank. Treat cash as unavailable until Nero tells you otherwise.

The comparison that should worry you most: if an alternative charges 1.5% plus 1.00 for the same load, then at 200 Nero costs 8 and the alternative costs 4. That gap is the whole argument, and it is why the cost mark is the lowest of the six.

How to top it up

Top up with USDT or USDC; the balance converts to fiat at the moment of payment; the card is issued within minutes of funding. The networks are not confirmed on readable pages, and that single gap is the most dangerous thing on this page — more on that below.

So the mechanism is: you send USDT or USDC, the card account credits something, and at the moment you pay a merchant the balance is converted. The top-up commission is the same 4% quoted above. The minimum top-up is not stated, whether the network fee is paid by you or the provider is not stated, and whether you can load fiat directly is not stated. Withdrawal — getting your money back out — is not stated at all, and I would treat that as a genuine open question rather than an omission with an obvious answer.

Why the unconfirmed network matters more than it looks. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so they come out of your money whatever Nero does. And blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. There is no chargeback here. If the only networks named are the ones you happen to be used to, fine; if you are inferring the network from habit rather than from Nero’s page, you are gambling with the deposit.

A few network facts worth keeping in your head, because they are where people lose money:

None of that tells you what Nero accepts. It tells you that the answer to “which network do I send on?” has to come from Nero, in writing, before you send. The same goes for the withdrawal question. Two direct questions to support, and only send funds once both are answered.

Paying with it every day

Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported for in-store contactless payments — which is the actual product here, since the card is virtual. There is no physical card to take out, so mobile wallets are not a convenience feature; they are the delivery mechanism.

What is not stated: blocked merchant categories, rewards of any kind, the app (no app is described; the service is used via the website), and the dispute process. Those four blanks shape daily life more than people expect. Blocked categories matter because many issuers block gambling, categorised under MCC 7995, by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer — so I cannot tell you whether a given Nero card will work at a betting site or a crypto-adjacent merchant, only that someone decided something. Rewards not stated simply means no cashback, no tiering, nothing. The website-only arrangement is fine on day one and irritating by month three. And no stated dispute process means the refund route is unknown, which I would want to know about before spending anything I could not afford to lose twice.

Two general facts that shape how a virtual card behaves in the wild:

My read: for low-value, high-frequency purchases where you want a disposable-ish spending identity, contactless use via the wallets is a workable design. For anything recurring, anything at a high value, or anything where you would need to argue for money back, the missing dispute information makes it a thin proposition.

What can go wrong

The card’s own track record is thin by age, and the risks sit in the things it does not say. The launch is dated 25 June 2026 — a paid press release announcing virtual crypto cards with USDT/USDC top-up and Apple Pay/Google Pay support. There were no official incidents found and no user reports or news about complaints. No Trustpilot page was found for Nero, read on 21 October 2026.

Read that carefully. Silence is not a good record; it is a young record. A card launched in June 2026 and reviewed in October has had roughly four months to accumulate users, and in that category four months is early enough that a complaint page may simply not exist yet. Do not treat the absence of complaints as the presence of a clean one.

The company facts: Nero Sphere LIMITED, Hong Kong dateline, press contact David Vance, Director of Growth, [email protected]. The issuer and licences are not named. Support is handled by staff, not automated systems; languages and hours are not stated. And on security specifically — two-factor authentication, freeze, spending limits, confirmation prompts — the card says nothing.

Why “issuer not named” is the load-bearing gap. A card payment involves several parties: the network routes the messages and sets the rules, the issuer is the bank or e-money institution licensed to issue under the network’s licence, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end. If Nero is a programme manager, then the institution actually holding your balance and the one that would handle a chargeback is a company whose name you do not know from these pages. In the EU, an electronic money institution may issue e-money, payment cards and wallets but cannot lend, and must safeguard customer funds in dedicated accounts or by insuring them — such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes. I am not asserting Nero is anything other than what it says; I am saying the question of who holds the money has no public answer here, and that is the question.

And the category’s history is a reminder that programmes end. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads end on 8 July 2026 and spending stop on 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed, and I include it only to show the shape of the risk rather than as a prediction about Nero. On your side, note that a refund ordered by the issuer is a chargeback with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received; US debit reversal rights come from Regulation E, credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. Your protection here is unstated.

What to take instead

Three alternatives, all with more of their terms on the page than Nero publishes. None is a recommendation — this is a comparison, and I include Nero’s own score so you can weigh it fairly.

Nero CardFlow HyperCard Card.fi
My score 4.8 4.9 4.7 6.6
Country list published No No No (acceptance only) Sanctions exclusion stated
Network named No Mastercard (USD) No Licence from schemes, not named
Card cost Issuance fee, amount not stated Free virtual card Not stated $49 Virtual Classic, $249 Virtual Premium
Top-up fee 4% Not stated Not stated 1.5% + $1.00 / 1%
FX fee Not stated Not stated Not stated 3.5% / 2.5%
Coins and networks USDT or USDC, networks not confirmed BTC, USDT, ETH, Naira USDT, BTC, ETH 32 coins, 5 networks
Cash withdrawal Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated

Read that last row. Every one of these virtual cards is silent about cash, so if ATMs matter to you, none of them solves it, and you should look at a different shape of product entirely.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to a narrow reader, and it is worth saying who that is precisely. Someone who already holds USDT or USDC and wants a spending identity for online or in-store purchases they cannot make with an ordinary card. Someone for whom a 4% top-up fee on a modest recurring spend is an acceptable price for access, and who would rather not have the balance sit in a bank account. Someone who only pays in stores, via Apple Pay or Google Pay, never needs cash, and treats the balance as spend-it-and-refill rather than savings.

I would not recommend it to readers who want to know who holds their money, who need cash, who need refunds to work in their favour, who want physical plastic, who want cashback, or who intend to hold a meaningful balance for any length of time. The reason is not that anything I found suggests Nero is unsafe — I found no complaints at all. It is that the questions which would let you judge have no published answers, and a card is a relationship with a company that holds your balance. Undisclosed issuer, undisclosed FX fee, undisclosed limits, undisclosed withdrawal route, and no dispute process is not a dealbreaker for a small experiment and it is a dealbreaker for anything else.

If you do try it, the discipline is simple: get the supported countries, the networks, the FX fee, the limits and the withdrawal route in writing first; fund the smallest amount that tests them; confirm the card appears in both wallets; and test one refundable purchase before you rely on it. If any of those answers does not arrive clearly, that silence is itself the answer.

Frequently asked questions

What is Nero card?

Nero is a virtual payment card you fund with USDT or USDC. It is issued online within minutes of funding, carries a standard number, expiry date and CVC, and is used in stores through Apple Pay and Google Pay. The card network and the card currency are not named on the readable pages, and the service is used through a website rather than a described app.

How does the Nero card work?

You load the card with USDT or USDC, and the balance converts to fiat at the moment you pay, so the card spends a stored balance much like a prepaid card. A 4% top-up commission applies on loading. Because the balance is pre-loaded, the card cannot overdraw — and because transfers on the blockchain are irreversible, the network you send on matters more than usual.

Is Nero a bank?

Nothing on the readable pages says so. The press contact is Nero Sphere LIMITED with a Hong Kong dateline, and the issuer and licences are not named. In this category the brand is often only a programme manager while a licensed bank or e-money institution actually issues the card and holds the balance, so the absence of a named issuer is a real gap rather than a formality.

Which countries can I get the Nero card in?

The card says restricted countries exist but does not publish the list, and I found no statement about Russian or Belarusian citizens or residents. Because eligibility screening often follows citizenship and country of birth as well as address, “restricted countries” may not even be the right frame. Ask support which jurisdictions are supported and whether the rule follows residence, citizenship or both.

Does Nero require KYC?

The card’s pages do not describe identity verification, and no verification tiers are stated. That is not the same as no checks: licensed providers are generally expected to verify name, address, date of birth, nationality and documentation, and to screen sanctions and politically exposed persons. Treat verification as likely but of unknown timing, and do not read the silence as permission to load a large balance before you know.

How much does the Nero card cost?

One fee is published: a 4% top-up commission. A one-time issuance fee is charged but its amount is not stated, no monthly fee is stated, and the FX fee and conversion fee are not stated. On a 200 balance the top-up alone is 8, and the currency-conversion cost on top of that is unbounded from what the card publishes — which is why cost is the weakest of the six marks.

Which networks can I send USDT or USDC on?

Nero’s readable pages do not confirm them, and that is the single most dangerous gap. USDC is natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, and USDT has been issued on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others — so a transfer to an unsupported network, or to another network’s address, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Get the supported networks in writing before sending anything.

Can I get cash out of a Nero card?

Cash withdrawal is not addressed anywhere on the readable pages, so neither availability nor cost is known. Virtual cards in this category are generally built for contactless spending rather than ATMs, and the absence is not an oversight to be excused — it is a boundary. If cash is part of your plan, treat this card as not offering it unless Nero confirms otherwise in writing.

Is the Nero card safe?

I found no complaints, no user reports and no incidents, and no Trustpilot page, read on 21 October 2026. But the card launched on 25 June 2026, so that is a young record rather than a clean one, and there is nothing published about two-factor authentication, card freeze, spending limits or dispute handling. The issuer and licences are unnamed, and I would not hold a balance here that I could not afford to lose.

Is the Nero card worth it?

Only in a narrow case: you already hold USDT or USDC, you have no workable ordinary card for the merchants you need, you never need cash, and a 4% fee per load is acceptable for that access. If you want a physical card, cashback, a named issuer, published FX costs, a dispute route or a statement you could show a third party, one of the alternatives discloses more, and Card.fi in particular publishes its fees, coins and networks up front.

Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team