A crypto card that spends against your own stablecoins — and leaves a lot of the fee sheet unpublished
OrbitX is a crypto payment card built on a genuinely different footing from most cards in this category: your money stays in your own wallet, and the card draws against stablecoin collateral you have posted. That is the appeal, and it is a real one. It is also the part that needs care, because the card’s public pages leave several things unsaid that you would want to know before you commit funds — how to top it up as a consumer, what the FX rate costs, which networks the transfer has to travel on, and when the physical card will actually exist.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
My score for the OrbitX card is 5.7 out of 10. That is not a dismissal. It is a card with a good idea, a clear corporate identity and an unusually honest description of its own mechanics, wrapped in a fee sheet, an app and a support setup that are not yet where a card you would rely on daily needs to be. The conditions described here are current as of 2026-10-20.
The verdict: 5.7 out of 10
Let me put the score in the open first, then break it into the parts I judged, because a single number tells you nothing useful on its own.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | International users under international terms, US citizens under separate terms, and you must attest you are not a US citizen for the international card. No country list is published. |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | Annual fee Neo $12, Lux $30; plastic $100 (Neo), metal $350 (Lux); ATM charges are Base ATM plus 2% plus $2; corporate cards carry a 1.50% forex fee. |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | A self-custodial wallet collateralised with USDT or USDC, liquidated at the point of sale. Networks are not named. |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | OrbitX Network Group Pte. Ltd in Singapore states plainly that it is “not a bank”; the issuer is Third National. The iOS app sits at 2.5 out of 5 from 2 ratings, with a user report about a failed transfer. |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual Visa, plastic and metal are listed, but the physical card is described as “coming soon”; Apple Pay and Google Pay terms are published, and there is an ATM. |
| Total | 5.7 / 10 | A sound underlying model held back by an unfinished product surface and thin public fee disclosure. |
Who this card suits. If you already hold your crypto in your own wallet, you are comfortable thinking in stablecoins rather than dollars, and you specifically do not want a platform sitting between you and your money, the OrbitX model is the right shape for you. The card does not claim custody of your collateral and says so in plain terms — that is unusual, and it is the strongest thing on offer here. It is also a reasonable fit for anyone who finds ordinary bank card access difficult, since the eligibility language is built around international users rather than residents of one country.
Who it does not suit. If you want a card that is unambiguously free to hold, or one where the full cost of spending abroad is printed on a single page, this is not it. The consumer FX fee simply is not published, so you cannot work out in advance what a purchase in another currency will cost you. If you want to walk into a shop with a piece of plastic in your wallet, the app currently says physical cards are coming soon. And if you are an existing customer of a large exchange with a mature card and published pricing, the comparison will not be close.
Will they give you the card?
Yes for most applicants, with one attestation that catches people out. OrbitX splits its user base in two: international users fall under International Consumer Terms, while US consumers are covered by separate US terms. For the international card, you must attest that you are “not a United States citizen”, and you must confirm you are not sanctioned under OFAC. There is no published country list, so eligibility is not something you can check against a table before you start — you read the terms and decide.
That single design choice — one card for international users, a separate arrangement for Americans — is worth understanding rather than resenting. Card programmes are set up jurisdiction by jurisdiction because the issuing bank, the licence and the compliance obligations differ. A Singapore company running one international programme and a second US programme is a common shape. But it means the card you get depends on which citizenship you hold, and the terms you accept will be the ones attached to that side.
How to get it
The process itself is not described in detail on the public pages, so what I can tell you is what the card’s own material discloses.
- Identity checks exist. The app’s release notes refer to a KYC process and to resubmissions, so the check is real and can send you back for more. Which documents are required, and whether proof of address is needed, is not stated in the card’s public pages.
- You must be 18 or over. The app carries an 18+ age rating.
- The card is Visa. A virtual card is available. Plastic and metal are listed on the fee page, but the tier table is garbled — you will see fragments like “Neo: Visa Platinum” and “Lux: Visa Signature” rather than a clean comparison. The app says physical cards are “coming soon”.
- Delivery is “1 to 4 weeks depending on user location”. No replacement cost is stated if the card is lost or stolen in the post.
- Whether you get an extra verification tier is not stated.
So the realistic sequence is: install the app, complete the KYC flow the app presents, and wait. The thing I would flag is the physical card. If your plan is to hold a card that works in shops, the card’s own app is currently telling you that part is unfinished.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the weakest part of the offer, and the section where I would spend most of your scepticism. The card publishes annual fees and card prices, publishes an ATM formula, and publishes a set of corporate-card fees — but it does not publish the consumer FX fee, which is the number you most need when you spend abroad.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Annual fee, Neo | $12 |
| Annual fee, Lux | $30 |
| Annual fee timing | Paid annually only |
| Card price, Neo | Plastic $100 |
| Card price, Lux | Metal $350 |
| Consumer FX fee | Not found in the card’s public pages |
| Corporate card forex fee | 1.50% on non-USD spend |
| Corporate card deposit fee | 0.50% |
| Corporate card transaction fee | $0.20 |
| ATM | “Base ATM charges + 2% + $2” (tier mapping unclear) |
| Daily limits | Not stated |
| Monthly limits | Not stated |
Two things stand out. First, the card price is separate from the annual fee, and the prices are high enough to change the maths: a $100 plastic Neo card plus a $12 annual fee is a real cost for a card you may use for a few small purchases. The fee table is garbled, so treat the tier-to-card pairing as provisional and confirm it in the app before you pay.
Second, the ATM formula. “Base ATM charges + 2% + $2” is not a fixed price — the base charge is whatever the ATM operator charges, and the tier this applies to is unclear. Read it as: your own bank’s ATM price, plus two dollars, plus two percent, every time.
Three everyday payments, and which fees apply.
- *A $30 lunch in your own country.* If you are spending against USDT or USDC collateral, the stablecoin is liquidated at the point of sale. The corporate transaction fee of $0.20 is documented for corporate cards; whether the consumer card carries any equivalent is not stated. Network fees for the liquidation transaction are the blockchain’s, not the card’s.
- *A €60 purchase while travelling.* This is where the gap bites. The card is USD-based — collateral is measured in USD, and non-USD transactions are converted by the card association. The rate that conversion produces is not published for consumers. You are paying the card association’s conversion on top of whatever the stablecoin market does to your collateral in the same moment.
- *Withdrawing cash.* ATM charges plus 2% plus $2, on top of whatever the ATM itself charges. The operator’s fee is the part you cannot predict in advance.
The App Store listing claims there are no spending limits. That is vendor marketing, and the card’s own documents do not state daily or monthly limits, so treat the claim as a claim.
How to top it up
This is where the card’s own language is at its clearest and also where the practical detail runs out. OrbitX is collateralised: your funds stay in a self-custodial wallet, you post USDT or USDC as collateral, and when you spend, the stablecoins are liquidated at the point of sale. The app shows a “Cash Account” and a “Card Account”. Networks are not named.
That last point deserves more weight than it gets. A stablecoin deposit has to arrive on a network the card provider supports. If it arrives on one it does not, blockchain transfers are irreversible, the funds can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee, and the card’s public pages will not tell you which networks to use. I would not send a deposit on a guess.
The card is USD-based: collateral is measured in USD. On withdrawals, no balance-return process is described, but the terms say that “Any unencumbered Collateral balances shall remain freely accessible”. Consumer top-up methods are not stated at all.
Paying with it every day
The everyday picture is better than the score alone suggests, and this is the card’s strongest category at 8 out of 10.
- Virtual Visa card — available now, and this is the instrument you would actually use day to day while the physical card is pending.
- Plastic and metal cards — listed on the fee page, but the app describes physical cards as “coming soon”.
- Apple Pay and Google Pay — terms published for both, so both are supported.
- ATM — one exists, at the pricing described above.
- Rewards — not stated. No cashback, no points, nothing in writing.
- The app — an iOS app called OrbitXPay, rated 2.5 out of 5 on the App Store from just 2 ratings, read on 2026-10-21. Two ratings is not a track record; it is a rounding error. No Google Play listing was found.
Merchants are restricted in ways worth knowing before you are stuck at a till. Prohibited transactions include cash-like transactions — including buying cryptocurrency — wire transfers, and betting. The terms also allow the issuer to decline “internet gambling”. Note that many issuers block gambling merchant categories by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer, so this card’s list is its own.
Disputes have a stated clock: report a disputed charge within 60 days of it posting; the issuer has 10 business days to respond to a Notice of Dispute; and if it is unresolved after 30 days it may go to arbitration. Those are real numbers and they are better than silence. Whether your protection matches a normal bank’s depends on the licence behind the card, which is not something I can resolve for you from these pages.
What can go wrong
The mechanism-specific risk here is the one the card describes itself: if a payment goes unpaid within one calendar day, or if your collateral value falls below the charges against it, your collateral gets liquidated. You are not a customer chasing a debt. You are a wallet owner watching a position.
Around that:
- The counterparty is not a bank. OrbitX Network Group Pte. Ltd, at 3 Fraser Street, #04-23A Duo Tower, Singapore, UEN 202448623M, states it is “not a bank or regulated financial institution”. The card issuer is named as Third National, under licence from Visa. So the entity you hold a relationship with is a programme manager; the regulated entity is a third party.
- No custody, but no safety net either. The terms say OrbitX and the issuer “will not, in any circumstance, be holding custody of your Collateral”. That is the point of the design. It also means key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware are entirely yours. Freeze and 2FA features are not stated in the public material.
- A user report of a transfer failure. One App Store review warns that a bank transfer showed as failed in-app even though it had completed on the sender’s side, and that support replied from what the user considered a non-official email. That is a single user report, not an established pattern — but it is exactly the scenario where you need to trust a support channel, so verify the address yourself. Support is [email protected]; contact-form languages and hours are not stated. No official incidents were found, and there is no Trustpilot page.
- Liquidation on a price move. Collateral measured in USD and spent as stablecoins means both legs can move against you in the same transaction.
- Sanctions exposure. OFAC attestation is required, and stablecoins are not censorship-proof — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.
None of this makes the card unsafe to look at. It makes it a self-custody product with self-custody responsibility, marketed by a company that tells you plainly what it is.
What to take instead
I looked at three alternatives worth weighing, all of them with the same general shape and different levels of disclosure.
| OrbitX | Sponge | Xplace | ether.fi | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.7 | 4.9 | 7.7 | 6.7 |
| Card | Visa; virtual now, physical “coming soon” | Virtual card, described as a credit card issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member | Visa; virtual instant, Silver physical live, Gold/Platinum coming soon | Visa; virtual and physical |
| Annual fee | Neo $12, Lux $30 | Not stated | Basic free, Silver $99, Gold $249, Platinum $999 | Not stated |
| First virtual card | Included | Not stated | Not stated | Free for Core members normally; $10 in regional-pricing countries |
| Funding | USDT or USDC collateral, self-custody | USDC from the Sponge wallet (example chain base; SDK mentions base or solana) | BTC (cbBTC), ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT, xStocks on Solana | Any supported token to your Safe, or Direct Pay from balance |
| FX | Consumer fee not found; 1.50% corporate on non-USD | Not stated | 0% FX on Platinum; other tiers not stated | Core 0.5%, Luxe 0.25%, Pinnacle and VIP none |
| Rewards | Not stated | Not stated | Credit-mode cashback by tier, 0.5% to 2%, paid in USDC | Cashback in ETHFI, 7-day lock, tiered caps |
| Eligibility | International users; US citizens on separate terms; no country list | Not stated; no country list on card pages | Country list not stated; “not available in all jurisdictions” | Explicit jurisdiction list, plus 31 US states; unlisted jurisdictions cannot apply |
Three things stand out from that table.
Xplace scores highest and publishes the most: a free Basic tier, named fees per tier, a named set of deposit assets on a named network, and cashback percentages. Its “not available in all jurisdictions” is the same vagueness OrbitX has, and its Gold and Platinum physical cards are also listed as coming soon.
ether.fi is the most transparent on eligibility of the three — it publishes a jurisdiction list and tells you plainly that if your jurisdiction is not listed you cannot apply. It also publishes its FX fees by tier and its cashback ladder in detail. Against that, the card currency is not stated, and ATM withdrawals are blocked in North Korea, Iran and Myanmar.
Sponge discloses the least of the four. Fees are not stated, funding is a single asset on an example chain, and its country rules are not stated beyond a minimum age of 13 for the service.
If your priority is knowing exactly what you will pay, Xplace and ether.fi are easier to model than OrbitX. If your priority is that your stablecoins never leave your own wallet, OrbitX and ether.fi are the closer fit. Nobody in this group will hand you a full, single-page cost sheet — that is a property of the category, not of this card.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend OrbitX to someone who already keeps USDT or USDC in a self-custodial wallet, who has made their peace with the liquidation mechanism, and who wants a Visa number that spends from their own collateral without a platform holding the keys. For that person the model is right, the company is unusually plain about not being a bank, and the terms are published.
I would wait if you need the physical card first, because the app itself calls it “coming soon”. I would wait if you spend abroad and intend to budget for it, because the consumer FX fee is not published and the card is USD-based with non-USD transactions converted by the card association. I would wait if the absence of a published country list, a rewards programme, published limits, or stated freeze and 2FA features matters to you.
And I would check one thing before anything else: which networks the deposit accepts. The card does not say, transfers are irreversible, and that single gap is the one most likely to cost you money.
Frequently asked questions
What is the OrbitX card?
OrbitX is a Visa payment card that draws against stablecoins you already hold. You post USDT or USDC as collateral from your own self-custodial wallet, and the card spends against that collateral, with the stablecoins liquidated at the point of sale. The card’s own terms say OrbitX and the issuer will not hold custody of your collateral. A virtual card is available now; plastic and metal are listed but the app calls physical cards “coming soon”.
Is OrbitX a bank, and who runs it?
No. OrbitX Network Group Pte. Ltd, at 3 Fraser Street, #04-23A Duo Tower, Singapore, UEN 202448623M, states in its own terms that it is “not a bank or regulated financial institution”. The card issuer is named as Third National, operating under licence from Visa. That makes OrbitX a programme manager rather than the regulated entity — a normal structure in this category, and worth knowing before you decide who to complain to.
Who can get the OrbitX card, and is my country on the list?
There is no published country list. International users are covered by International Consumer Terms and must attest they are “not a United States citizen” and are not sanctioned under OFAC. US consumers are covered by separate US terms. So eligibility depends on your citizenship as much as your address, and you cannot check it against a table in advance — you read the terms and decide.
Does the OrbitX card require KYC?
Yes, there is a KYC process — the app’s release notes refer to it, including resubmissions, so you may be asked for more than once. Which documents are required, and whether proof of address is needed, is not stated in the card’s public pages. The app carries an 18+ age rating, and prepaid or debit cards of this kind are generally adult-only. If due diligence cannot be completed, the usual outcome is that the application stops rather than proceeds.
How do I top up the OrbitX card?
By having USDT or USDC in a self-custodial wallet to use as collateral. The app shows a “Cash Account” and a “Card Account”, and collateral is measured in USD. The card’s public pages do not name the networks you can deposit on, and do not describe consumer top-up methods. That gap matters: transfers on a blockchain are irreversible, so a deposit on the wrong network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.
What does it cost to spend on the OrbitX card?
The annual fees are Neo $12 and Lux $30, paid annually, and card prices are listed separately as plastic $100 (Neo) and metal $350 (Lux), though that table is garbled. Corporate cards carry a 1.50% forex fee on non-USD spend, a 0.50% deposit fee and a $0.20 transaction fee. The consumer FX fee was not found in the public pages, which for anyone spending abroad is the number you most wanted.
Is the OrbitX card safe?
“Safe” depends on which risk you mean. Your collateral stays in your own wallet — that is the design, and the terms say OrbitX and the issuer will never hold custody of it. In exchange, key loss, phishing and clipboard malware are entirely your responsibility, and collateral can be liquidated if a payment goes unpaid within one calendar day or if the value falls below the charges. Freeze and 2FA features are not stated. No official incidents were found.
Can I add OrbitX to Apple Wallet and use it in shops?
Apple Pay and Google Pay terms are both published, so both are supported. The virtual Visa card is available now and is the instrument you would use day to day. A virtual card number works for online and in-app payments much like any card, but some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs after looking up the issuer, so occasional declines in physical shops are common with this type of card.
What happens if my payment goes through but the money moves wrongly?
Report the disputed charge within 60 days of it posting; the issuer has 10 business days to respond to a Notice of Dispute, and if unresolved after 30 days it may go to arbitration. One App Store review reported a bank transfer showing as failed in-app even though it completed on the sender’s side, with support replying from what the user considered a non-official address. Verify the address is [email protected] before sharing anything.
Is the OrbitX card worth it?
For a self-custody holder spending against USDT or USDC collateral, the model is sound and unusually transparent about what the company is and is not. Against that: no published consumer FX fee, no published limits, no rewards, no country list, networks for deposits not named, a 2.5-out-of-5 app rating from 2 ratings, and a physical card the app describes as coming soon. My score is 5.7 out of 10 — worth understanding, worth testing with small amounts, not yet worth reorganising your money around.
Top credit and cashback cards by score – cryptocardtop
Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team
