A bank-issued debit card that pays from your crypto balance

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Most crypto cards on the market are issued by electronic money institutions, run on a prepaid balance and quietly disappear if the underlying programme loses its banking partner. The Swissquote card is a different shape: it is a Mastercard debit card issued by a Swiss bank, spends from a real bank account, and converts only the crypto you need at the moment you tap or insert the card. That makes it closer to a normal bank product than a typical “crypto card”, and the trade-offs follow from that: heavier onboarding, more regulation, but a card you can rely on as a primary spending instrument. After going through the official pages, recent news and user reports, here is what I found and who I think the card actually suits.

Swissquote works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

My score for the Swissquote card is 7.1 out of 10. The strengths sit in the everyday-use side of the product: a real bank issues the card, Apple Pay and Google Pay work, the virtual version is immediate, and the 13-currency conversion fee is reasonable for a bank. The weaknesses are on the funding side: only three cryptocurrencies are listed (Bitcoin, Ethereum, XRP), there is no mention of an external-wallet top-up or stablecoin deposit, and the user reports I found flag slow withdrawals and slow customer service. The card is best for someone who already has, or is happy to open, a Swissquote bank account and wants a debit card that quietly turns part of a crypto holding into everyday spending. It is the wrong fit for someone who wants to top up from an external wallet, who needs USDC or USDT, or who lives outside the regions Swissquote serves.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Swissquote starts with a transfer to the right network

Here is how the score breaks down.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Product and pricing depend on your region of residence: Switzerland, Europe, UK, Middle East, South Africa, Singapore, Hong Kong, Rest of World. Physical Bright and Elite cards are listed for around 15 countries.
Cost 8 / 10 The Light tier has no monthly fee; Bright is CHF 6.90 after a six-month free period; Elite is CHF 39. Conversion is 0.95% on 13 main currencies. Unofficial sources put the crypto-to-fiat conversion at 1%.
Top-up options 4 / 10 The card spends from the Swissquote account, where Bitcoin, Ethereum and XRP are sold (“more planned”). External wallets and stablecoins are not mentioned.
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Issued by Swissquote Bank Ltd in Switzerland and Swissquote Bank Europe in Luxembourg, with the FGDL deposit guarantee scheme. A 2026 news report described warning letters to about 600 customers. Unofficial user reports cite slow withdrawals.
Everyday use 9 / 10 Light is a virtual card; Bright is a physical plus virtual; Elite is metal. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and Bright includes five free ATM withdrawals per month in Switzerland.

A short note on who the card is for, before the detail: this is a Swiss-bank product for Swiss-bank clients who happen to want crypto-funded spending on the side. If that is your situation, the card is unusually well-rounded for the category. If it is not, the limitations will start to bite very quickly.

Will they give you the card

You need a Swissquote account in your own name before the card is even an option. The card is not a standalone product, and Swissquote decides eligibility region by region, not by passport alone. The site selector on the official pages lists eight regions: Switzerland, Europe, the United Kingdom, the Middle East, South Africa, Singapore, Hong Kong and Rest of World. The exact list of physical-card countries I could confirm on the official pages is Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Italy, Austria, France, Germany, the United Kingdom, Cyprus, Spain, Malta, Monaco, the UAE, South Africa, Greece and Belgium — about fifteen in total. Unofficial sources also describe 35 supported countries and 13 restricted ones, including the US, Canada, Russia, Ukraine, Iran, Cuba and Venezuela, but I would not rely on that count without re-checking the official country selector at sign-up.

Around 17 August 2026, Swissquote informed approximately 600 customers, mostly users of the bank’s Yuh app, that their accounts might be closed, citing economic reasons. These accounts have not yet been closed, and no further extensions were announced. This is an account-level decision, not a card-level rule, but it is an example of the kind of unexpected account review that can affect card users.

There is also the broader point that this is a regulated bank, not an e-money product. Swissquote Bank Ltd is the Swiss issuer, supervised in Switzerland; for the Luxembourg version of the card, the issuer is Swissquote Bank Europe, supervised in Luxembourg by the CSSF, and the entity is part of the FGDL deposit guarantee scheme. That is the right level of detail if you are choosing between this card and a card from a smaller EMI.

How to get it

The signup flow has three steps: open a Swissquote account, make a first deposit, then order the card from the Bank tab in the mobile app or the desktop platform. The mobile app offers a simplified opening, which is the route most people will take.

The tier you can order depends on your relationship with the bank, not just the card you pick. Light and Bright are available once your account is open; Elite is the same on the surface, but Swissquote requires at least CHF 100,000 in total assets at subscription, so it is a higher-tier product dressed as a card. That is worth noting: ordering Elite is less about the card itself and more about a private-banking relationship.

The card itself is a Mastercard debit. Light is virtual only; Bright is a physical card plus a virtual one; Elite is a metal physical plus a virtual one. Unofficial sources describe Elite as a metal card, and that fits the CHF 100,000 asset requirement, but the format itself is not stated on the official page. The card handles thirteen main currencies: CHF, USD, EUR, GBP, JPY, AUD, CAD, SEK, HKD, NOK, DKK, AED and SGD. Virtual cards are active immediately after you order them. The official pages do not publish a delivery time or a delivery cost for the physical card; unofficial sources put it at three to four working days. If you need a card in your hand before travelling, plan for the virtual card plus Apple Pay, not a physical card.

On KYC: a full banking onboarding applies, so expect to hand over identity documents and a proof of address. Specific document requirements, the minimum age, the processing time and the reasons a Swissquote application can be rejected are not stated on the card pages. The card will not be useful to you until that onboarding is complete, so do not assume same-day issuance beyond the virtual Light.

What it really costs: fees, FX, ATM and limits

Costs on the Swissquote card are mostly friendly at the Light and Bright tiers and become more interesting at Elite, but the gap between Bright and Elite is large enough that you should check which features you actually need. Here is the full breakdown, in a single table.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Swissquote payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item Light Bright Elite
Issuance fee not stated not stated not stated
Monthly fee free CHF 6.90 (free for first 6 months) CHF 39
Card payments free free free
Conversion on 13 main currencies 0.95% 0.95% free up to CHF 5,000/month, then 0.25% per transaction
Other currencies Mastercard rate +1.5% Mastercard rate +1.5% Mastercard rate +1.5%
Crypto conversion fee not stated on the pricing page not stated on the pricing page not stated on the pricing page
ATM in Switzerland CHF 1.90 per withdrawal 5 free per month 5 free per month, then CHF 1.90
ATM abroad CHF 4.90 per withdrawal CHF 4.90 per withdrawal 5 free per month, then CHF 4.90
Replacement card not stated CHF 5 CHF 50
Cancellation free free free after 6 months, 2 monthly fees before
Contactless limit without PIN CHF 80 CHF 80 CHF 80
Monthly spending limit (CHF/EUR/USD) 10,000 25,000 50,000
Monthly ATM limit 5,000 10,000 10,000
Daily ATM limit 1,000 2,000 5,000

Three everyday payments are worth walking through, because the same swipe can pull different fees depending on currency and tier.

A coffee in Zurich paid in CHF with a Bright card. You tap, the merchant settles in CHF, the card account is in CHF, no conversion runs. That costs you nothing on the card side, and you stay under the CHF 80 contactless-without-PIN threshold. The only fee is the 0.5% Trading Credit cashback on the crypto side of the funding (see below), which works in your favour.

A dinner in Berlin paid in EUR from a CHF account. The card converts EUR to CHF at the published 0.95% on Bright, or 0.25% per transaction on Elite above the CHF 5,000 monthly free quota. The dinner does not eat into that quota on a single evening, so Bright customers will see a 0.95% fee on this one. The amount is small enough that the 0.95% is more annoying than significant.

A cash withdrawal in London with a Bright card. Five free withdrawals per month apply in Switzerland, not abroad, so each foreign withdrawal is CHF 4.90. Withdrawals in a currency other than CHF go through the same 0.95% conversion on top. If you travel often, this is the fee that quietly adds up: at CHF 4.90 per foreign withdrawal, ten withdrawals a month costs CHF 49 before you count the conversion.

Two things the table does not capture. First, the crypto conversion fee is not stated on the pricing page. Unofficial sources put it at 1% across tiers, with a tiered structure (1% up to EUR 25k, 0.75% from EUR 10k–50k, 0.5% above EUR 50k) seen in earlier checks. Treat that as unofficial until the pricing page says otherwise. Second, the cancellation fee on Elite is unusual: free after six months, but two monthly fees if you cancel earlier. That makes Elite a six-month commitment in practice.

How to top it up

The Swissquote card is funded from the Swissquote account, not from an external wallet. When you select crypto as the card’s payment method in the app, the bank sells only the tokens needed for the specific purchase. The list of tokens sold is short: Bitcoin, Ethereum and XRP. The official pages say “more planned”, but as of the date of this review, that is the list.

This is the single most important difference between the Swissquote card and most other crypto cards on the market. There is no QR code to an external address, no USDC or USDT deposit option, no Solana or Tron network to think about, and no clipboard to worry about. You cannot top up by sending Bitcoin from a hardware wallet, because the funding path is internal to the bank. If you already hold crypto on Swissquote, the card is frictionless. If you hold crypto elsewhere, the question becomes whether moving it onto a Swissquote account is worth doing for the card alone.

A few practical points to keep in mind. First, a first deposit is required before you can order a card at all, so the funding step starts earlier than you might expect. The minimum deposit and any fee on that deposit are not stated on the card pages. Second, the limits I listed in the costs table also cap how much crypto-funded spending you can do in a month, and they are set per tier. Third, ATM withdrawals also draw on the same Swissquote account, so cash and card spending share the same monthly cap.

Withdrawing money back out is not the same as selling crypto for cash. The card spends from the bank account; cash comes from ATMs up to the limits; the underlying crypto stays in the Swissquote trading account unless you choose to sell. The terms for closing the account and withdrawing a remaining bank or crypto balance are not stated on the card pages, and that is worth a direct question to the bank if you keep a balance.

Paying with it every day

In daily use the card is closer to a normal bank debit than a typical crypto card. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and the Luxembourg page lists Samsung Pay as well; on the Swiss page, TWINT and eBill are added. The contactless-without-PIN limit is CHF 80, which matches Swiss habits and is small enough that you will type your PIN more often than in some markets. The blocked merchant categories are not stated on the official pages, so do not assume gambling or similar categories are blocked on this card specifically.

The cashback story is more interesting than the fees suggest, but it has a twist. Light gets 0.5% on crypto-funded payments and Bright/Elite get 1%, paid as Trading Credit, not cash. Unofficial sources describe regular-spending cashback of 0.25% on Light and 0.5% on Bright/Elite, plus a 0.5% gold cashback on Elite capped at CHF 25 per month (which would need roughly CHF 5,000 of spend to reach the cap), and they flag that Trading Credit cannot be withdrawn and expires after three months. Treat those regular-purchase rates and the gold rate as unofficial until the pricing page confirms them. What is stated is the 1% on crypto-funded payments for Bright and Elite, which is competitive for a bank-issued card.

The mobile app is the Swissquote app, with a Bank tab where the card lives. Unofficial sources rate the Swissquote app at 4.3 out of 5 on both the App Store and Google Play, but those ratings cover the whole bank app, not just the card. Disputes and chargebacks are governed by the Swissquote Bank Europe General Terms and Conditions; specific dispute and chargeback time frames are not published on the card pages.

What can go wrong

The first risk to be aware of is the account-level reviews, such as the August 2026 warning letters sent to around 600 customers citing economic reasons. While this did not apply to most users, it serves as a reminder that with a regulated bank, the bank can make decisions about the account, and the card follows the account.

The second risk is operational rather than policy. Unofficial user reports on WikiFX, dated 2026, mention slow withdrawals, slow customer service, difficult activation and accounts held up by source-of-funds questions. The Trustpilot score for Swissquote as a whole is 3.7 out of 5 from around 3,371 ratings, again per unofficial sources. There is also a single 2026 user report of a failed flight booking with a Bright card, which is a useful reminder that any card can be declined by a specific merchant, and that a bank card is not automatically more reliable than a prepaid card at the moment of payment.

The third risk is the structural one. Your crypto on Swissquote is custodial: the bank holds the assets, in the same way a bank holds cash. The Luxembourg entity sits inside the FGDL deposit guarantee scheme, which is a deposit-safety net, not a crypto-recovery one. If the bank fails, deposit insurance covers eligible deposits up to the scheme’s limit, but the rules around crypto holdings depend on how they are classified at the time. Outside that, the historical record of custodial crypto platforms is not reassuring — Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin are the usual references — and the same category of risk applies in principle here, even if the bank itself is well regulated.

The fourth risk is smaller but worth knowing. Mastercard can suspend a card programme at the network level, as it did with FTX in November 2022, and Visa has done the same in the past (WaveCrest in 2018). A card programme closure typically gives a notice period, then stops loading, then stops spending, then asks users to withdraw balances. This is not specific to Swissquote — it is the category — but the lesson is the same as for any other card: do not keep an idle balance on the card account.

What to take instead

The Swissquote card is one of a small set of products where the card is a feature of the bank, not the other way around. The closest competitors in that shape are limited, so I compared it against three cards that share one or two properties with it. None of these are clones of the Swissquote card; they are alternatives for different reader situations.

Card Score Where it fits Top-up model Where it falls short
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 US-card-style spending in USD; restricted list of residence countries USDC or USDT deposit into a USD account, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow Restricted to a long list of countries; physical card not available yet; 2% FX on non-USD
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Multi-currency Mastercard spending from a UNi.Global balance Spends from the UNi.Global account balance (funding not stated) Less detail on pricing, funding and eligibility than the others
Morse 7.5 / 10 Self-custody stablecoin card with free foreign exchange USDC, USDG and EURC on Solana, plus other tokens and bank deposits Closed beta in several countries; physical card not available; issuance and monthly fee not stated

A note on the comparison. The International Visa Card is the most direct alternative for someone who wants to spend from a stablecoin balance in USD, at the cost of a 2% FX fee outside USD and a long restricted-country list. Morse is the better fit for someone who wants to keep custody of the underlying tokens, accepts a virtual-only card for now, and is not in one of the closed-beta countries. UNi is the weakest of the three on the available data: there is less pricing and funding detail, so it is harder to compare like-for-like. If the Swissquote card’s funding model is the problem for you, Morse is the most natural move; if the eligibility list is the problem, the International Visa Card may be the one to check.

Who I would recommend it to

After going through the official pages, the recent news, and the unofficial user reports, my honest take is that the Swissquote card is a good card for a specific kind of person and a poor card for everyone else. The person it suits is one who already has, or is willing to open, a Swissquote bank account, lives in one of the supported regions, and wants a Mastercard debit that can quietly convert a small slice of their Bitcoin, Ethereum or XRP into everyday spending. For that person the card is unusually well-built: it is a real bank product, the card form factors are reasonable, Apple Pay and Google Pay work, and the 13-currency conversion fee is acceptable for a bank.

The person it does not suit is one whose main reason to want a crypto card is to top up from an external wallet, to spend USDC or USDT, or to keep self-custody of the underlying tokens. The Swissquote card spends only from a Swissquote account, and the only tokens the bank currently sells for that purpose are Bitcoin, Ethereum and XRP. If any of those three limitations are deal-breakers, this is not the card for you.

There is also a smaller middle group: people who live in one of the supported regions but whose residence status or nationality profile looks like the August 2026 case. The bank has shown it will act on those profiles, and a card is only useful while the account is open. If that is your situation, raise it explicitly with the bank before opening.

Two more thoughts before the FAQ. First, the conditions on this page are current as of the date in the lead paragraph; pricing, eligibility and the country list can change, and you should re-check the official site before you commit. Second, none of this is tax or legal advice: the IRS treats digital assets as property in general terms, and spending crypto on a card is typically a taxable event in jurisdictions that tax disposals, so talk to a local tax adviser if that matters to you.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Swissquote card?

The Swissquote card is a Mastercard debit card issued by Swissquote Bank Ltd in Switzerland and by Swissquote Bank Europe in Luxembourg. It is tied to a Swissquote bank account and is offered in three tiers: Light (virtual, free), Bright (physical plus virtual, CHF 6.90 per month after a six-month free period) and Elite (metal, CHF 39 per month, with a CHF 100,000 total-assets requirement).

How does the Swissquote card work?

You fund the card from your Swissquote account. When you choose crypto as the payment method in the app, the bank sells only the tokens needed for the specific purchase and the merchant receives fiat. The card supports thirteen main currencies and converts between them at 0.95% on Light and Bright, or free up to CHF 5,000 a month on Elite and 0.25% per transaction above that.

Is Swissquote a bank?

Yes. Swissquote Bank Ltd is a Swiss bank, and Swissquote Bank Europe is a Luxembourg bank supervised by the CSSF and part of the FGDL deposit guarantee scheme. That is why the card sits inside a full banking onboarding rather than a lighter e-money one.

Who owns Swissquote?

The ownership question is not covered by the card pages. Swissquote is a publicly listed Swiss company, but the exact shareholder structure is outside the scope of this review and you should check an up-to-date source if it matters for your decision.

Is the Swissquote card available in my country?

The official site selector lists eight regions: Switzerland, Europe, the United Kingdom, the Middle East, South Africa, Singapore, Hong Kong and Rest of World. The countries I could confirm for physical Bright and Elite cards on the official pages are Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Italy, Austria, France, Germany, the United Kingdom, Cyprus, Spain, Malta, Monaco, the UAE, South Africa, Greece and Belgium. Unofficial sources describe 35 supported and 13 restricted countries, including the US, Canada, Russia, Ukraine, Iran, Cuba and Venezuela, but treat that list as unofficial and re-check the official selector before signing up.

How do I apply for a Swissquote card?

You open a Swissquote account first, using the simplified onboarding in the mobile app, make a first deposit, and then order the card in the Bank tab of the app or the desktop platform. Light and Bright are available once the account is open; Elite requires at least CHF 100,000 in total assets at subscription.

Does the Swissquote card require KYC?

Yes. A full banking onboarding applies, which means identity documents, a proof of address and standard anti-money-laundering checks. The specific document list, the minimum age, processing time and the reasons a Swissquote application can be rejected are not stated on the card pages.

How do I top up the Swissquote card?

You do not top up the card from an external wallet. The card spends from the Swissquote account, and the bank sells Bitcoin, Ethereum or XRP for the specific purchase when you select crypto as the payment method. No external wallet, stablecoin or non-listed token is mentioned as a funding path on the official pages.

Can I add the Swissquote card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Yes. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported on the Luxembourg page, and Samsung Pay is also listed there. On the Swiss page, TWINT and eBill appear alongside the mobile wallets.

Is the Swissquote card safe?

The card is issued by a regulated Swiss and Luxembourg bank, the Luxembourg entity sits in the FGDL deposit guarantee scheme, and the card supports mobile-wallet tokenisation through Apple Pay and Google Pay. As with any crypto-funded card, the underlying crypto is custodial with the bank, the network can in principle suspend a programme (as happened with FTX in 2022 and WaveCrest in 2018), and the 2026 news about account-level closures is a reminder that a bank can act on the account independently of the card.

Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team