Tap Review: A Crypto Card That Keeps Its Fee Schedule to Itself
If you have been looking at crypto cards because an ordinary bank card is awkward for you — blocked, refused, too far from a branch, or simply never offered — then Tap belongs on your shortlist. That is the honest starting point. Tap is a live crypto card programme from a Gibraltar company, it issues a Mastercard in both physical and virtual form, and it does something a fair number of its rivals do not: it lets you hold a balance and spend it, with a cashback headline of up to 8%.
But this is a card whose public pages explain very little. When I went through them for this review, the pattern was consistent: no country list, no fee table, no named networks, no stated card currency, no stated limits, no stated KYC levels. The company itself says services “May Not Be Available In All Jurisdictions” and tells you to verify eligibility in your region. Almost every concrete number anyone quotes about Tap — free monthly fee, free issuance, free ATM, 1.5% FX — comes from a third-party comparison site, not from Tap.
That is not a disqualification. Plenty of legitimate programmes have quiet public pages and disclose the real numbers inside the app. But it does mean you are making a decision on incomplete information, and you should know that before you start rather than after your first withdrawal attempt.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score: 5.6 out of 10, and where the marks come from
Tap scores 5.6 out of 10 in my assessment. That is a middle-of-the-road card with two genuinely good traits — free everyday banking features and a real cashback programme — dragged down by one persistent structural problem: you cannot verify the terms from public sources before you commit money.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | No country list published; services “may not be available in all jurisdictions”; the number of countries is not disclosed |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Nothing official; unofficial sources say monthly fee, issuance, top-up and ATM are free with FX at 1.5%, but users report a $35 withdrawal fee, an inactivity fee, and a possible daily spending cap. |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | No coin list published; stablecoins, USDT, BTC and SOL are mentioned along with a bank-to-crypto on/off ramp; unofficial sources say crypto must be converted before loading |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Tap Global Limited (Gibraltar), Gibraltar FSC DLT licence No. 25532, Moorwand Ltd named as issuer for the new card; Trustpilot 3.4 out of 5, accounts frozen for days and weeks, withdrawal delays |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Physical and virtual Mastercard; Apple Pay and Google Pay flagged as supported by third parties but also listed as a con as “No Apple Pay”; free ATM |
The highest mark is everyday use at 7 out of 10, and it is the highest because a card is only worth having if it works when you tap it. Physical and virtual Mastercard, cashback, and a banking side with dedicated IBANs and 80-plus currencies are the right ingredients.
The lowest is reliability at 4 out of 10, and it is the lowest because reliability is what you are actually buying when a bank card is hard for you to get. A frozen account is not an inconvenience when you have alternatives; it is the whole problem coming back. Trustpilot at 3.4 out of 5 across 321 reviews, with 36 in the last twelve months, is not a catastrophe — plenty of well-run services sit near four — but the specific reports repeat: accounts frozen or locked for days to weeks between December 2025 and February 2026, deposits and withdrawals not arriving in January, June and September 2026, balances drained by inactivity or monthly fees around April to June 2026, and slow support at weekends.
In short, Tap suits you if you want crypto-linked spending, multi-currency balances and cashback, and you are comfortable treating the app’s own screens as the only authoritative source of terms. It does not suit you if you need a card you can rely on without anxiety, if you need a fee schedule you can read before you sign up, or if being paid in a currency you cannot hold or spend matters to you.
Will they give you the card
The direct answer: probably, if you pass their regional check — and you cannot find out in advance from the site whether your country is one of them.
Tap publishes no list of countries. What it publishes is a single warning, “Services May Not Be Available In All Jurisdictions,” and an instruction to verify eligibility in your region. There is no eligibility checker described on the card page either. That means the first honest test of whether Tap works for you is not a form; it is a download and a sign-up, and it may end in a rejection or in a support ticket.
This is the single most important practical point in this review, so let me be plain about it. Crypto cards are not legally obliged to serve everyone. Licence holders operate under anti-money-laundering law, and in the EU that requires customer due diligence covering name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, and a politically-exposed-person check. If that due diligence cannot be completed, the rules require the institution to withhold the transaction or the relationship — and, where necessary, end it. That is not a Tap quirk. It is the same rule that produces the frozen accounts in the complaints section below.
Nationality is also screened separately from where you live, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy often apply to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address. So a resident of one country with a passport from another can be refused on grounds that a reader of the marketing pages would never predict.
One more general point that shapes expectations for anyone in this position: prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults aged 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits for their own reasons.
If you are someone for whom a normal bank card is difficult, my advice is to test your eligibility early and to keep a second application in motion while you wait. That is not evasion of anything — it is simply not putting a single point of failure on one unverified programme.
How to get it
The short version: sign up in the app, complete whatever verification it asks for, and order a physical or virtual Mastercard. The details of each step, though, are more or less absent from Tap’s public pages.
Neither the identity requirements nor the card currency is stated on the site. The card page also does not state delivery time for the physical card. There are no stated verification tiers, so the point at which you can expect to be asked for more documents is not something you can plan around.
What a third-party comparison site reports for 2026 — and I want to keep the official and unofficial clearly separated, because they are not the same quality of information — is that Tap’s identity check uses an email address, a phone number and an identity document, and that proof of address and a selfie are not required. That is worth knowing if you were bracing for a heavy document hunt, but it is a third party’s characterisation of a process Tap does not describe itself, and it can change without notice. Treat it as a hint, not a promise.
The same third party lists the network as Visa, which directly contradicts Tap’s own pages, which show a Mastercard. Where an official page and an aggregator disagree, the official page is the one I would rely on — but the disagreement itself tells you something about how much weight unofficial listings can carry. Verify the network on the card in your hand before you rely on it for anything network-specific.
The app is where the real onboarding happens, and Tap’s app has a decent public record on its own terms: 4.5 out of 5 on the App Store from 25 ratings, version 3.8.8, requiring iOS 15.6 or later, as read on 20 October 2026. That is a small sample — 25 ratings is not a statistically meaningful score — but it is at least a real rating rather than an empty page. The Google Play listing, com.tapngo.tap, exists; I did not read its rating.
Support is advertised as “Available 24/7” without naming the channels, and the app is listed in English, French, Greek, Italian, Spanish and Swedish. That language list is quietly useful: if you read one of those, the app will not be a barrier.
Fees and limits: what Tap does and does not publish
Here is the honest core of this review. Tap’s public pages do not state the cost of the card, the fee schedule, ATM charges, or spending limits. There are no “Zero”-style claims on the page, and no conversion or FX figures. The numbers below labelled unofficial come from a third-party comparison site, dated 2026 with no month given, and I am reproducing them because they are what a reader will find — not because Tap has confirmed them.

| Fee or limit | What Tap’s own pages say | What a third-party site reports |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance | Not stated | Free |
| Monthly fee | Not stated | Free |
| Top-up | Not stated | Free |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated | Free and unlimited |
| Conversion / FX | Not stated | 1.5% |
| Withdrawal fee | Not stated | $35, from user reports |
| Inactivity fee | Not stated | Reported by users |
| Tiers | Not stated on site; cashback “up to 8%” | VIP tiers with entry level 0.5% |
| Daily spend | Not stated | Listed “Unlimited”, but user reports mention potential spending caps |
The contradictions in that last column are worth pausing on. A limit listed as “Unlimited” in the same source’s pros while the same source’s cons cite a potential daily cap is not a confirmed fact; it is an unresolved question. If a cap matters to you — and for someone whose ordinary card was refused, spending capacity often does — you need to see the limit in the app before you move funds, not in a comparison table afterwards.
Now the three everyday payments, which is how any fee schedule actually becomes real.
Coffee or lunch in your own country. If your balance is already in the currency you are spending in, the network processes the payment and, on the free-fee account third parties describe, there is nothing to pay beyond the amount on the till. Tap says the existing card is euro-denominated, so if you hold euros this is the cleanest version of the transaction. Note that Tap announced on 5 October 2026 a new multi-currency Mastercard spending directly from app balances, with no launch date given, which suggests this picture is in flux.
The same coffee abroad. This is where the 1.5% FX figure, if accurate, does its work. Spend euros in a country that does not use euros, and the conversion cost lands on top of whatever the network and the merchant’s acquiring bank already apply. The unofficial 1.5% is the part Tap is said to charge; it is not the whole cost of the transaction.
Cash from an ATM. The unofficial line says ATM withdrawals are free and unlimited. The word “unlimited” is the one I would refuse to rely on without seeing it, because it sits in the same source that cannot decide whether daily spending is capped.
Two more things about money coming off the card, both unstated: how a withdrawal to a bank account or wallet is treated, and what happens to a balance at closure. There is an on/off ramp “between a bank account or wallet and crypto, available anytime,” and that is the entire official description.
My practical rule for anyone reading this section: treat the free-fee picture as the optimistic case, and size your exposure on the pessimistic one. If the card would be useless to you at 1.5% FX and a $35 withdrawal charge, it is not the right card. If it would still be useful, the risk is only that you pay more than you hoped.
How to top up
The answer to how you fund Tap is that there are two routes, and Tap describes the shape of both without publishing the details of either.

The card page names no funding list and no networks. What it does mention is stablecoins, yields on USDT/BTC/SOL, and a Bitcoin on/off ramp — so crypto is clearly central to the product rather than an afterthought. Fees and minimums for topping up are not stated either. On the banking side, the site mentions dedicated IBANs to hold seven national currencies, plus a bank-and-wallet to crypto on/off ramp.
That IBAN detail is genuinely useful, and it is the part most people looking for a crypto card miss. Holding a balance in seven national currencies through dedicated IBANs is closer to having an account than to having a prepaid card. It is also the reason Tap scored 7 out of 10 on everyday use despite the disclosure record.
The crypto side is where the third-party sources add the caution. Unofficial reporting for 2026 says crypto must be converted before it is loaded onto the card, and that the number of supported cryptocurrencies is shown as 48 in one place and 0 in another on the same source. That is another internal contradiction, and it points at a real structural point: if conversion happens first, then the card spends fiat, and you are exposed to the spread and the timing of that conversion, not just to a card network.
This is the category’s normal shape, not a Tap failing. In the pre-loaded balance model, you convert or top up a fiat or stablecoin balance and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. What you need to know is what the conversion costs and how long it takes, and Tap does not say.
One piece of background that matters specifically for anyone moving crypto rather than fiat. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider — so a transfer can cost you even when the card charges nothing. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. USDT has been issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche. Tether describes it as built on multiple blockchains with reserves intended to back it one-to-one.
And the failure mode is the one that costs real money: blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network Tap does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Since Tap does not publish its supported networks, you cannot check before sending. That is the practical reason to fund a new card with a small amount first and watch it land.
A final note on the coins themselves, because it is not a small one. Stablecoins aim to hold a stable value, but as the BIS put it, despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Tether also says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof. You are choosing a card that touches this layer; it is worth knowing which layer.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day, Tap is a Mastercard. That is the good news, because it means the acceptance surface is the one you already understand: physical card in a terminal, virtual card in a browser, online checkouts, and cash at an ATM.
Rewards are the part worth planning around. Tap states “up to 8%” cashback on qualified purchases. It does not state which asset is paid out, what the tiers are, or whether there is a cap. Unofficial reporting adds that cashback goes up to 8% across VIP tiers with an entry level of 0.5%. If those tiers exist, the difference between half a percent and eight percent is large enough that finding out where you currently sit is worth doing before you concentrate your spending.
The mobile wallet question is where official and unofficial sources flatly disagree. Tap does not state Apple Pay or Google Pay support. A third-party site marks both as supported, and then lists “No Apple Pay support” among the same card’s cons. My read is that the app probably does work with both — this is standard now — but that something has gone wrong for at least some users, and I would not promise it. It is a two-minute test: add the virtual card to your wallet and authorise a small transaction.
Blocked merchant categories are also not stated. This matters more than it sounds. A merchant category code is a four-digit number classifying a business, and MCC 7995 covers gambling — casinos, betting, lotteries. Many issuers block it on specific cards by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer. Tap says nothing about what it blocks, so if gambling or another restricted category is part of your life, you are asking the wrong company for the answer.
Two more everyday friction points you will meet, neither Tap-specific but both worth expecting. Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of your billing address with issuer records, and it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines — and a foreign-issued card is exactly what Tap is, being a Gibraltar programme. And a declined authorisation may leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. That is a poor moment to be relying on the balance you thought you had.
On refunds and disputes, the terms page did not load text when I checked, so I cannot tell you how a chargeback is handled. For context, a chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. If Tap is going to be a significant card for you, get the answer from support in writing before you rely on it.
Security features are thin in the official record, but what is there is real. You can freeze your card or lock your account instantly, and you can reveal, freeze and view the PIN in the app. Tap states it is “not a bank,” that accounts are provided by authorised issuing partners, and that the company holds a Gibraltar FSC DLT licence. Two-factor authentication and any insurance are not stated.
On the structure behind all this, one paragraph of background that explains why the “is Tap a bank” question comes up so often. Card payments involve several parties: the network (Visa or Mastercard) routes the messages and sets the rules, the issuer — a bank or e-money institution licensed under the network’s licence — holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end. An electronic money institution in the EU can issue e-money, payment cards and e-wallets but cannot lend, and may offer services across the EU and EEA from a licence granted in one member state. Tap says banking and e-money are provided by “Our Authorised Issuing Partners,” with the specific provider shown in the app and varying by region, currency and account type; the issuer name is not stated on the site. A card itself is a payment service regulated separately from crypto regulation, so a crypto card often depends on two licences at once.
What can go wrong
This is the section I would read twice, because the risks here are not hypothetical.
The company. Tap Global Limited, Gibraltar, company No. 118724, Madison Building, Midtown, Line Wall Road, Gibraltar GX11 1AA. Licensed by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission under the DLT Regulatory Framework, Licence No. 25532.
The issuer is changing. On 5 October 2026, Tap Global Group PLC appointed Moorwand Ltd as issuer and BIN sponsor for a new multi-currency Tap Mastercard replacing the euro card. The CEO cites 400,000 customers. A change of issuer mid-life is a normal thing to happen and also the moment when a programme can be wound up, so it is worth noting rather than worrying about.
Frozen accounts. This is the headline complaint. Trustpilot tap.global shows 3.4 out of 5 from 321 reviews, 36 of them in the last twelve months, as read on 20 October 2026. A second view quoted elsewhere gives 3.5 out of 5 from roughly 309 reviews. Individual reviews are undated. What users report: an account frozen for 13 days without explanation, repeated KYC checks and long onboarding, a revoked referral bonus, a high crypto withdrawal fee. Across December 2025 to February 2026, accounts frozen or locked for days to weeks. In January, June and September 2026, deposits and withdrawals that did not arrive. From April to June 2026, inactivity or monthly fees draining the balance. And slow support at weekends. Tap’s response is that fees are in its terms — which is true and also exactly the problem: if the terms are not readable, “it is in the terms” is not an answer.
Programme closure is a real category risk, not a scare story. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. Visa and Mastercard themselves do not issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. With Moorwand newly appointed and the card in mid-transition, the general shape of that risk deserves a glance.
Funds are safeguarded, not banked. EMIs must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, but such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes. Tap is explicit that it is “not a bank.”
Crypto custody risk sits on top. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust the provider completely; a seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words in unencrypted form, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend its funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery — the network cannot freeze or return funds. Custodial platforms have a real record: Mt. Gox at about US$350 million reported stolen across 2011 to 2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, Ronin Network at US$625 million in 2022. With a self-custody-linked card the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, but you carry sole responsibility for key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps copied addresses.
Regulation is moving underneath cards like this. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional grandfathering period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026, or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised CASPs, white papers and non-compliant entities, and you can check a provider there. A CASP authorised in one member state can serve the whole EU. And in the US, FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while people merely buying goods or services are not.
Taxes are yours. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction — which means each card payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal. I am not tax advice and you should check your own position, but the structural point stands: every conversion you make on the way to spending is a taxable event in that framework.
What to take instead
If Tap’s disclosure record is the thing holding you back, or if you want a comparison rather than a single card, here are three alternatives I looked at on the same basis.
| Card | Score | Card and network | Stated cost | Funding | Rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tap | 5.6 / 10 | Physical and virtual Mastercard | Not stated; unofficial: monthly, issuance, top-up, ATM free, FX 1.5% | Not stated; stablecoins, USDT/BTC/SOL, bank-to-crypto on/off ramp, seven-currency IBANs | Up to 8% cashback |
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, pays in USD; physical “Coming soon” | $5 one-time issuance, no maintenance fee; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month | USDC or USDT into the USD account at 1:1; deposits of any kind free; also USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow | No cashback stated |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | Multicurrency Mastercard, spends from UNi.Global balance | No annual fee; issuance fee not stated | Not stated | Spend-to-Earn up to 3% |
| Morse | 7.5 / 10 | Fully virtual Visa prepaid debit, spends from Morse Balance in any currency | Issuance and monthly fee not stated; card page says fees may apply | Debit card, stablecoin transfer, account details in USD, EUR, MXN, COP (BRL needs Brazilian CPF); USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana free, other tokens carry a fee | Not stated on card pages |
Three things stand out.
Morse scores highest at 7.5 out of 10 largely on fees and transparency of mechanism: “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups” with the real-time Visa exchange rate, conversions at the real rate “with no markup,” and paying with the card online and contactless free. It is fully virtual for now, deposits of USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana are free, and the wallet is self-custodial — which is a different risk profile from Tap’s custodial arrangement. Its catch is access: eligibility is by residence, not citizenship, users must be at least 18 and resident in a supported country, and a set of countries including Australia, Japan, Singapore, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, Hong Kong SAR China, Serbia, Thailand, Türkiye and others are closed-beta and need an invite code. The card is available only in certain countries, and the list is not published on the card page — you check in the app. Morse also cannot serve customers subject to US sanctions, and UK, EU and UN sanctions.
The International Visa Card scores 6.7 out of 10 and is the most transparent of the four on price: $5 issuance, no maintenance fee on the free Classic plan, card use in USD free on all plans, foreign currency at “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee,” no fee on deposits of any kind. What it costs you is flexibility and geography. Its account and card are not available to residents or legal registrants of a long list including Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case with compliance approval; purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The rule is by residence or registration, and citizenship is not mentioned. It is virtual only, and there is no cashback.
UNi Card at 6.1 out of 10 sits between them: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, assets converted at “live OTC rates” with “no hidden exchange fees,” multicurrency Mastercard, and Spend-to-Earn rewards up to 3%. Its eligibility is not stated, its funding route is not stated, and whether physical or virtual is not stated — which is the same kind of silence that makes Tap hard to judge.
If your problem is that a card issuer will not open an account for you, be systematic: write down the one or two countries you actually live in and hold documents for, then check the eligibility rule of each card against those countries specifically. Note that all three alternatives apply at least one rule by residence or registration rather than citizenship, which is a meaningful difference from Tap, where no rule is published at all.
Who I would recommend Tap to
I would recommend Tap to you if you are comfortable being an early user of a programme in transition, you want spending that genuinely touches crypto rather than a crypto-branded bank account, you will use the multi-currency IBANs, and you can live with checking the app for terms rather than a website. I would also recommend it if cashback at up to 8% across tiers is a meaningful part of your return and you plan to chase the higher tiers — that is the strongest single reason to pick this card.
I would not recommend it, and would steer you toward Morse or the International Visa Card depending on your country, if any of the following is true of you. You need a card to work without fail, because you have no fallback. You are paid in a currency and need to be paid that way. You are in a hurry to move real sums and would rather know the FX cost in advance than discover it. You plan to lean on Apple Pay or Google Pay daily. You want to hold and control crypto yourself rather than through a provider’s books. Or you simply want to read a fee table before you sign up — and that last one, for this card, you cannot.
Before you fund anything, four checks. Open the app and find your region, currency and account type, and note the issuer name — the site deliberately varies it. Read the fees and limits screens directly, since the public pages give you nothing. Send a small amount on a network you have confirmed from support, not one you assumed. And set a phone reminder to check for inactivity if you are not a frequent spender, because that is one of the reported balance-drain scenarios.
A closing thought on what this card is. Tap is a crypto card at a moment when crypto cards are becoming ordinary financial products — which is genuinely good news for people who have been locked out. The information asymmetry is the cost of being early, and it is the one thing I would not accept indefinitely. Give it a modest balance, learn the app, and upgrade your confidence from evidence.
Frequently asked questions
What is Tap card?
Tap is a crypto payment card from Tap Global Limited, a company registered in Gibraltar under number 118724 and licensed by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission under the DLT Regulatory Framework, licence No. 25532. It issues a physical and a virtual Mastercard that you fund from a balance rather than from a bank account, and it also offers dedicated IBANs for holding seven national currencies alongside a bank-and-wallet to crypto on/off ramp. In short, it is a spending card in the middle of a crypto and multi-currency account.
How does the Tap card work?
Tap works on a pre-loaded balance model: you convert or top up a balance, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Tap says the existing card is euro-denominated and that other currencies are converted at the point of sale, and on 5 October 2026 it announced a new multi-currency Mastercard spending from app balances, with no launch date given. Card payments are routed by Mastercard, and Tap names Moorwand Ltd as the new issuer and BIN sponsor.
Is Tap a bank, and who owns it?
Tap states plainly that it is “not a bank” and that banking and e-money are provided by “Our Authorised Issuing Partners.” The specific provider varies by region, currency and account type and is shown in the app; the issuer name is not stated on the site. The owner is Tap Global Limited of Gibraltar, with Tap Global Group PLC above it, and the CEO cites 400,000 customers.
Does Tap card require KYC, and what documents do I need?
Tap does not state its identity requirements on its public pages, and there are no published verification tiers. A third-party site reports for 2026 that Tap asks for an email, a phone number and an identity document, with no proof of address or selfie. Because Tap is not explicit, confirm the exact list in the app or with support before you gather paperwork.
How much does the Tap card cost?
Tap’s public pages state no costs at all — no issuance fee, no monthly fee, no conversion or FX figure. A third-party comparison site reports for 2026 that the monthly fee, issuance, top-up and ATM withdrawals are free, with FX at 1.5%, while user reviews mention a $35 withdrawal fee and an inactivity fee. Since nothing is official, size your exposure on the pessimistic version.
Can I use the Tap card in my country?
You cannot tell from the website. Tap publishes no country list, only a notice that services may not be available in all jurisdictions and an instruction to verify eligibility in your region. Eligibility generally follows anti-money-laundering due diligence and sanctions screening, which often applies to citizenship and country of birth as well as residence — so signing up may be the only way to find out.
How do I top up the Tap card?
Tap describes the routes but not the details. Officially there is no funding list and no named networks, but the page mentions stablecoins, USDT/BTC/SOL yields, a Bitcoin on/off ramp, dedicated IBANs for seven national currencies, and an on/off ramp between a bank account or wallet and crypto available at any time. Third-party reporting says crypto must be converted before loading the card.
How much can I spend per day, and what are the ATM fees?
Neither figure is stated by Tap. A third-party site lists daily spend as “Unlimited” while in the same source’s disadvantages it cites a 15,000 EUR daily cap, and it reports ATM withdrawals as free and unlimited. Since those claims contradict each other, treat the limit as unknown and check it in the app before you rely on the card for larger spending.
Is the Tap card safe?
The safety picture is mixed and depends on what you mean. Tap offers real controls — instant card freeze, account lock, and in-app PIN reveal — plus a Gibraltar FSC DLT licence, and EMIs must safeguard customer funds, though those funds are not bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes. Against that, Trustpilot shows 3.4 out of 5 from 321 reviews, with reports of accounts frozen for days to weeks and withdrawals not arriving.
Can I add the Tap card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
Tap does not state support for either wallet. A third-party site marks Apple Pay and Google Pay as supported but also lists “No Apple Pay support” among the same card’s disadvantages, so the sources conflict. If a mobile wallet matters to you, add the virtual card and run a small test transaction before you rely on it — that is the fastest way to settle the question for your own account.
Is the Tap card worth it?
It is worth it if you want crypto-linked spending, multi-currency balances and cashback of up to 8% across tiers, and you are comfortable treating the app as the only authoritative source of terms. It is not worth it if you need a card that never freezes, a fee schedule you can read before committing, or certainty about limits and issuer. On my scoring it lands at 5.6 out of 10, with everyday use the strong point and reliability the weak one.
Top app and neobank cards by score – cryptocardtop
Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team
