Wavecard, tested against what the card actually promises
wavecard is a card that spends your Bitcoin in ordinary shops. You load it with BTC, hold it, and when you pay, it sells the coin at that moment and pays the merchant in euros. It exists for a specific person: someone living in the euro area whose whole money sits in Bitcoin and who cannot, or will not, hold that coin in an exchange account. My score is 6.3 out of 10. It is a working product with a real licence behind it and honest pricing on the card itself, wrapped in a company structure and a support record that would give me pause before I moved a large balance across.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The verdict
wavecard does one job, and it does it in a way I can follow on the terms page: a Visa debit card that converts BTC to euros at the moment of payment. That is the whole idea, and it is a good one for the reader who has crypto and no usable bank card. The fees are not hidden — the 1% conversion and the 0.5% spread are written down rather than buried in a footnote. Google Pay and Samsung Pay work out of the box, which matters more in practice than most card comparisons admit.

What holds it back is everything around the card. The issuer relationship is white-label, so the entity whose name is on your screen and the entity that actually issues the card are not the same company. The public pages do not tell me what the card currency is, what documents verification needs, what a rejected verification looks like, or what happens to a balance if the account closes. And there is a January 2026 user report of an account frozen with the money kept. One report is not a pattern, but on a card whose entire purpose is holding someone’s savings in a volatile asset, it is the first thing I would ask about.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | All residents 18+ of the EEA — 30 countries, by residence |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Virtual 2.99 EUR, physical 29.99 EUR, month free; 1% BTC conversion, about 0.5% spread baked into the BTC price, no FX between fiat; ATM 3% + 2 EUR |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | BTC on-chain and via Lightning, EUR to a personal vIBAN to buy BTC, PRO option with a Lightning wallet via NWC; no stablecoins |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Wave Space Exploration UAB, Lithuania; services by Lightspark Payments Europe AS, Tallinn; card via white-label with a third-party partner; Trustpilot 4.3 from 25 reviews, account block with funds held in January 2026 |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual instantly, physical Visa debit, Google Pay and Samsung Pay on by default, ATM up to 350 EUR a day; Apple Pay only through Curve |
| Total | 6.3 / 10 | A functional Bitcoin-spending card with a real EMI behind it, held back by gaps in disclosure and one serious complaint |
Will they give you the card
Yes, if you live in the euro area and you are 18 or older. The stated rule is all residents (18+) within the EAA (European Economic Area), and the test is where you live, not what passport you hold. That is the whole list as the card gives it:
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Liechtenstein, Norway, Iceland.
Thirty countries, which is to say the EEA plus Liechtenstein. If you are in that list you are inside the stated eligibility. If you are not — Britain, Switzerland, the United States, anywhere outside Europe — then on the public pages you are not, and no amount of good intentions about verification will change that.
Two things about this list that are worth being blunt about. First, “resident” is the operative word. A citizen of one of these countries living in Brazil is, on this wording, outside. Second, this is a narrower map than you might expect from a card that markets itself on crypto: there is no UK entry, no US entry, no Latin America. The card is European.
The reader who most needs this card is usually the reader for whom a mainstream bank is a closed door — no fixed address accepted, no local account, a residence permit in a language their bank does not read. wavecard does not ask you to pretend. It asks where you live, and if the answer is one of those thirty, you are in scope.
How to get it
The sequence the card describes is short. You create a verified wave.space account — sign-up and verification take under five minutes, according to the card — and that verified account is what a personal vIBAN and a card are issued against. KYC is free of charge. Age 18 or above.
What you will produce as documents is not stated on the public pages. That is worth internalising rather than glossing: you cannot pre-check what will be asked, you cannot see an upload checklist, and you cannot find out in advance what a refusal looks like. The page confirms verification happens and does not describe it. Anyone who tells you this is a two-minute, no-documents process is describing something the card has not published.
The tier structure is thinner still. Only one level is ever mentioned: Tier 2 KYC, which raises monthly spend to EUR 15,000. Other tiers, their processing times, and the stated rejection reasons are not stated. So the visible picture is: you verify, your spending ceiling is EUR 10,000 a month, and if you complete a further level it becomes EUR 15,000. What moves you between levels, and what happens if verification stalls, is left off the page.
On delivery, if you want the physical card:
| Option | Time | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | 5-9 working days | EUR 0 | Tracked |
| Express | 2-3 working days | EUR 30 | Per the terms |
Delivery countries are the same EEA list as above. The cost of a replacement card is not stated. The card must be activated on arrival.
The virtual card is instant, which for most people in a hurry settles the question — you have a card number now and can begin loading it before any plastic exists. It is a Visa debit, and more than one can be created. The currency the card itself runs in is not stated; the euro arrives through the personal vIBAN, and the card advertises 0% FX fees between fiat currencies.
Fees: what it really costs
wavecard’s pricing is the strongest part of this card. It is not cheap, but it is legible, and in this category legible beats cheap. Here is everything stated:

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Virtual card opening | EUR 2.99, paid in BTC |
| Physical card opening | EUR 29.99, paid in BTC |
| Monthly fee | Free |
| Bitcoin conversion when spending BTC | 1% |
| Spread | About 0.5%, already baked into the BTC price |
| FX between fiat currencies | 0% |
| ATM withdrawal | “At cost: 3% + EUR 2” — terms say EUR 2 + 3.00% |
| Daily spend limit | EUR 10,000 |
| Monthly spend limit | EUR 10,000, up to EUR 15,000 with Tier 2 KYC |
| Daily ATM limit | EUR 350 |
| Monthly ATM limit | EUR 3,000 |
The terms also state 1% on card payments and 1% for crypto-to-euros swaps, which is the same 1% restated in the place where terms tend to hide things.
Now let me walk you through three ordinary payments, because a fee table on its own does not tell you what a card costs in a week.
Coffee, 4 EUR, card balance in BTC. The card sells just enough Bitcoin to cover 4 EUR and the merchant is paid euros. You pay the 1% conversion, and the price you got is the card’s price, which already contains about 0.5% of spread. On 4 EUR that is roughly four cents, and it is invisible on the receipt because the shop simply sees a Visa payment. This is the payment wavecard is built for, and it is the one it does best.
A 300 EUR flight or hotel deposit, card still in BTC. Same mechanics, same 1% plus the spread — about 3 EUR on 300 EUR, plus whatever the airline’s own fare rules add. The point of walking this one through is the conversion risk, not the fee: the card sells at the available market rate at that moment, so if the coin moves between the moment you decide to book and the moment the payment settles, the number of BTC you part with changes. On a large payment that swing can exceed the 1%. The card’s own terms say refunds come back converted back to BTC at the available market rate, so a cancelled booking returns your coin, not your euros — and if the price moved while you were away, the BTC amount differs from what you sent.
40 EUR out of a cash machine in another country. Here the 3% plus 2 EUR hits, and so does the 1% conversion, and the flat 2 EUR is the part that stings on a small withdrawal. Note also that the ATM terms describe the fee as being “at cost,” with free allowance not stated — I would not plan around a free withdrawal existing until you have seen it on your own statement.
Two structural limits on this card. There is a single card product, virtual or physical, not a tier ladder; Tier 2 KYC only moves your limits. And multi-currency balances are not stated — the euro arrives via the vIBAN, so the card is a euro card that spends Bitcoin, not a multi-currency account.
How to top it up
You have three routes in, and they are all Bitcoin-shaped rather than bank-shaped.
On-chain BTC. You send Bitcoin to the address the app gives you. The card accepts BTC on-chain or over Lightning. Any deposit fee is not stated; minimum is not stated. Network withdrawal fees may apply, and on-chain Bitcoin costs are charged by the network rather than by wavecard — which means a slow or expensive network is your cost, not theirs.
Lightning. Invoices and LN addresses are supported. If Lightning is your normal route, that is a genuine advantage: faster and cheaper than an on-chain transfer. Some users in 2025 asked wavecard for exactly this and it appears to have arrived since.
EUR into your personal vIBAN, to buy Bitcoin. You send euros to your own IBAN and use them to buy BTC, which the terms price at 1% conversion. This is the route for someone whose income is in euros and whose savings are in Bitcoin.
PRO, the self-custodial option. This connects a Lightning wallet via NWC — Alby is the one the card recommends — and the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment. It is the version of this card I would most want to see more widely, because it removes the trust problem from the whole product: if the account freezes, there is no balance to freeze. I will come back to why that matters in the risks section.
What is not available is stablecoins. There is no USDC, no USDT, no option to load a dollar-pegged token and spend it. If your money is in stablecoins, wavecard is not the tool for you, however much you like the card.
Getting money back out is straightforward to state and unclear in detail. Refunds are converted back to BTC at the available market rate. To close the account you email [email protected]. What happens to a balance on closure is not described — and given that this is a card whose entire balance is Bitcoin, that is the sentence I most wanted to read. Accounts inactive for 365 days may be closed or charged a maintenance fee.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, this is a card that behaves well. Google Pay, Samsung Pay, Fitbit Pay and Garmin Pay are added by default — that means you set them up and they work, rather than hunting through settings. Apple Pay is different: it is available only via the Curve app, and the card states plainly that “Direct Apple Pay support is coming soon.” If Apple Pay is your wallet, plan on an extra step or a wait.
For everyone else the mobile wallet story is the best I have seen on a card at this price. The physical card is a Visa debit, so it works in shops, online, and contactless wherever Visa is accepted, which is essentially everywhere that matters in the euro area. The virtual card is instant, so you can be paying before the plastic arrives, and you can create more than one if you want separate numbers for separate purposes.
The app is a web app at app.wave.space. That is a deliberate choice with real consequences: no native App Store or Google Play listing to check, which also means I have no app store rating to give you — none was read, and that absence is itself informative, because a mobile-first crypto product with no store presence is unusual. There are no cashback rewards mentioned; rewards are not stated.
Blocked merchant categories are not stated. This matters more than it sounds: gambling sits in MCC 7995, many issuers block it by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer. Nobody will tell me in advance which categories wavecard declines, so if you pay at, say, a betting site, you find out by failure rather than by reading.
ATM withdrawals run to EUR 350 a day and EUR 3,000 a month. In practice most ATMs abroad will cap you far lower, so the useful figure for a traveller is the 3% plus 2 EUR fee, not the limit.
What can go wrong
This is where I would slow down and read twice.
The structure. wavecard is Wave Space Exploration UAB, registration 306727148, in Lithuania. The terms say licensable financial services are provided by Lightspark Payments Europe AS (16298772, Tallinn, Estonia), and that wavecard “is issued through a white-label arrangement with a third-party provider, Wave Space acts as the distributor.” The licence type is not stated. Lithuanian law governs. Read that again slowly: the brand you sign up with markets the card, a third party issues it, and an Estonian company provides the licensable financial services. Three parties, one of them unnamed on the public page. This is a legal fact, not an accusation — white-label issuance is normal in this industry — but if something goes wrong you should know in advance that the counterparty on your screen may not be the entity that holds your money.
The January 2026 complaint. A user report on Trustpilot describes an account blocked after sending money, with the funds kept. The review is dated 15 January 2026; the company replied on 18 March 2026 that the account was suspended for compliance reasons and a full refund was offered. A second user report from 23 June 2025 claims fake reviews, which the company disputes. I am giving you the shape of this rather than a verdict: on the Trustpilot page I read a TrustScore of 4.3 from 25 reviews (the star graphic shows 4.5), with themes including an account freeze with withheld funds, requests for Lightning support and a physical card from early to mid 2025, and slow Bitcoin confirmations in January 2025. Twenty-five reviews is a small sample; 4.3 is not a bad score. But a frozen account with the money held is the single worst thing that can happen to you on a card like this, and it is exactly what an EU institution is required to be able to do when due diligence cannot be completed — refusing the transaction, and where necessary ending the relationship. That is lawful, and it can still ruin your month.
Nobody will tell you about chargebacks. No chargeback process is described. Card matters are referred to the card issuer’s terms, claims are answered within two business days, and refunds come back as Bitcoin. If a merchant takes your money and does not deliver, the practical route is the issuer’s, through a structure you do not control. Under US debit card rules, reversal rights come from Regulation E and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed — you are outside the US, so none of that protects you directly.
The frozen-balance question. Freeze the card and change limits in the app; recovery codes and a 3-D Secure password can be set up. There is the self-custodial NWC option, where you hold the keys. Safeguarding is not stated — that is, whether the Bitcoin the card holds is protected as client assets under the e-money rules is not something the public pages tell you. A pseudonymous name on the card is allowed.
The category’s scar tissue. Programmes in this space close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. The pattern is usually a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. I am not predicting any of that for wavecard. I am telling you that a card whose balance is volatile crypto issued through a third party deserves a small balance and a payout habit.
Deposits can be lost, not stolen. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. Send Bitcoin on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, and it can be gone or need manual support recovery with no guarantee.
Nothing here is anonymous. KYC is required and free, and in the EU that means name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship and whether you are a politically exposed person. Nationality is screened separately from residence. I mention this not to alarm you but because “crypto card” still carries an old assumption that the money is untraceable, and on this card it plainly is not.
If support is your concern: live chat on Telegram at t.me/wavespacecommunity, email at [email protected] or [email protected], an FAQ, and a live support widget, with a stated response time of two business days.
What to take instead
Three alternatives came up in the comparison. Their published scores sit at 6.7, 6.1 and 7.5, so none of them is a runaway winner either — they win on different things.
| Option | Score | Card | Cost | Foreign currency | Top-up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| wavecard | 6.3 | Visa debit, virtual and physical | Virtual 2.99 EUR, physical 29.99 EUR, month free | 0% FX; 1% to spend BTC | BTC on-chain or Lightning, EUR to vIBAN; no stablecoins |
| International Visa Card | 6.7 | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual only; physical “coming soon” | $5 one-time, no maintenance; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month | Visa rate + 2% FX fee | USDC or USDT at 1:1; also USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow |
| UNi Card | 6.1 | Multicurrency Mastercard from the UNi.Global balance | No annual fee; issuance not stated | No FX fee; live OTC rates, no hidden exchange fees | Not stated |
| Morse | 7.5 | Fully virtual Visa prepaid debit, spends in any currency | Not stated; card page says fees may apply | Zero FX fees or markups, real-time Visa rate | Debit card, stablecoin transfer, account details in USD, EUR, MXN, COP; USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana free; self-custodial wallet |
The International Visa Card is the one to consider if your money is in stablecoins rather than Bitcoin — USDC and USDT go in at 1:1, and it is explicitly not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. Its 2% FX fee is worse than wavecard’s zero, and the physical card does not exist yet. No cashback is stated.
Morse scores highest of the four at 7.5 and is the only one that combines a virtual-only card with zero foreign-exchange fees, the real-time Visa rate and a self-custodial wallet. Its eligibility test is also residence, not citizenship: 18+, resident in a supported country, app in over 140 countries. It will not serve customers subject to US sanctions (also UK, EU, UN), and a set of countries is in closed beta behind an invite code — among them the United Kingdom, Switzerland, Australia, Japan, Singapore, Hong Kong SAR China and Türkiye. The card page does not publish the full supported list, so you would be checking the app. Bitcoin, USDT and Ethereum can be deposited alongside the free Solana transfers, and paying online and contactless with the card is free.
UNi Card is a multicurrency Mastercard spending from the UNi.Global balance, with no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, conversion at live OTC rates and spend-to-earn rewards up to 3%. Who can get it is not stated, and so are its funding routes — a large gap for anyone deciding on it.
Against all three, wavecard’s specific advantage is Bitcoin with Lightning, and a euro IBAN. Its specific weakness is disclosure: card currency, KYC documents, rejection reasons, safeguarding, closure balances, blocked categories and rewards are all not stated. That is why it does not win outright despite being perfectly serviceable.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend wavecard to the reader it was built for: living in one of those thirty EEA countries, 18 or over, spending Bitcoin, holding a euro IBAN, and unable to get an ordinary bank card or unwilling to sit in a bank’s compliance queue. For that person this is a sensible, plainly priced tool, and the zero FX fee between fiat currencies is a real saving on every trip. If you are that person, the seven to ten euro entry cost and the 1% conversion are easy to justify, and I would start with the virtual card, keep the balance small, and move what you do not need monthly out to a wallet you hold the keys to.
I would not recommend it as your only card, and I would not recommend it to anyone whose income is in stablecoins, because there is no stablecoin route in. I would think twice if your plan involves large ATM withdrawals, where 3% plus 2 EUR is punitive, or gambling, where the blocked-category list is unpublished.
And I would want two things in writing before I moved real money: what happens to a Bitcoin balance if the account closes, and how the funds are safeguarded. Both are not stated. A support chat is a reasonable place to ask, and you should be sceptical of an answer that is not written down.
The score is 6.3 out of 10, and that is roughly where it lands: a card that does its one job legibly, behind three corporate parties and one frozen-account complaint, with enough gaps in its published terms that the careful reader has to do their own diligence.
Frequently asked questions
What is wavecard card?
wavecard is a Visa debit card that spends Bitcoin directly. You load it with BTC and it holds the coin rather than euros; when you pay, it sells just enough Bitcoin at that moment’s rate and the merchant receives euros. It is aimed at people in the euro area whose money is in crypto. There is no stablecoin support on this card.
Is wavecard a bank?
No, and it does not describe itself as one. wavecard is Wave Space Exploration UAB, a Lithuanian company. Under its terms, licensable financial services are provided by Lightspark Payments Europe AS of Tallinn, and the card itself is issued through a white-label arrangement with a third-party provider while Wave Space acts as distributor. That is a three-party structure you should understand.
Who owns wavecard?
The card is marketed by Wave Space Exploration UAB, registration number 306727148, in Lithuania, with services from Lightspark Payments Europe AS, registration 16298772 in Tallinn. It is governed by Lithuanian law. The name of the third-party provider that actually issues the card is not stated on the public pages, and the licence type is not stated either.
How do I get a wavecard card?
Create a verified wave.space account — sign-up and verification take under five minutes according to the card — and KYC is free of charge. You get a personal vIBAN and a virtual card instantly; the physical Visa debit costs 29.99 EUR and ships in 5-9 working days free, or 2-3 days for 30 EUR express, and must be activated on arrival. You must be 18 or over and resident in the EEA.
Does wavecard require KYC?
Yes. A verified account is required before a vIBAN or card is issued. In the EU this normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check and whether you are a politically exposed person. Only one tier is mentioned — “Tier 2 KYC”, raising monthly spend to EUR 15,000. The documents required and the rejection reasons are not stated.
What are wavecard’s fees?
Opening costs 2.99 EUR for the virtual card and 29.99 EUR for the physical one, both paid in BTC, and there is no monthly fee. Spending BTC costs 1%, with about 0.5% of spread already in the coin price. There is no FX fee between fiat currencies. ATM withdrawals cost 3% plus 2 EUR. Daily and monthly spend limits are both EUR 10,000.
How do I top up wavecard?
Three ways: send BTC on-chain or over Lightning to the address the app gives you; send EUR to your personal vIBAN and buy Bitcoin with it, priced at 1% conversion in the terms; or use the PRO self-custodial option to connect a Lightning wallet via NWC, with Alby recommended. Deposit fees and minimums are not stated. Any network withdrawal fees are charged by the blockchain, not by wavecard.
Can I add wavecard to Apple Wallet?
Not directly. Google Pay, Samsung Pay, Fitbit Pay and Garmin Pay are added by default, but Apple Pay works only through the Curve app — the card says “Direct Apple Pay support is coming soon”. If Apple Pay is your main way of paying, that is a real limitation right now, and it is worth asking about before you rely on the card day to day.
Is wavecard safe?
It is built on standard safeguards: freeze the card and change limits in the app, recovery codes, a 3-D Secure password, and a self-custodial option where you hold the keys. But safeguarding of funds is not stated, no chargeback process is described, refunds return as Bitcoin, and a January 2026 Trustpilot review reports an account frozen with funds kept — the company said it was suspended for compliance reasons and offered a full refund. Keep a modest balance.
Is wavecard worth it?
For an EEA resident spending Bitcoin who cannot get an ordinary bank card, yes — the pricing is honest, Google Pay and Samsung Pay work immediately, and there is no FX fee between fiat currencies. It is not worth it if your money is in stablecoins, since none are supported, if you plan large ATM withdrawals at 3% plus 2 EUR, or if you want to know exactly what happens to your balance on closure, because that is not stated. I would start small with the virtual card.
Top app and neobank cards by score – cryptocardtop
Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team
