A usable Visa on a crypto balance, with a fee line and a support record you should read first
The ether.fi card is a Visa — virtual and plastic — that you load from crypto held in your own Safe vault. In countries where a normal bank card is refused, delayed or never offered, it is genuinely useful: you can pay at a shop, add it to Apple Wallet or Google Pay, and get cash back in ETHFI. It is not a bank account, it is not anonymous, and the line items are thinner than the marketing. I would call it 6.7 out of 10 — strong on everyday use, weak on the transparency you need when something goes wrong.
This review is for you if you have your own situation in front of you: a country list that may or may not include you, a fee you cannot see clearly, a support reputation that other people have already felt. I have read the card’s public pages, the complaints and the comparisons, and I tell you below what is stated, what is not, and what that gap means.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.7 / 10 — a good everyday card inside a thin safety net
The score breaks down as follows.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Issued in listed jurisdictions: Austria, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Germany, Hong Kong, Japan, Singapore, Switzerland, UAE, UK and others, plus 31 US states |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Core tier: one free virtual card, plastic card free but paid delivery (amount not disclosed); FX 0.5%; unofficial: 1% FX outside USD and EUR, ATM 2% |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Any supported token can be deposited into the Safe, deposits from several networks; the list of coins and networks is not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Issuer officially not named (unofficial: Rain or Third National, sources disagree); Trustpilot 3.3 out of 47 reviews; in November 2025 cards were suspended after fraudulent operations; complaints about freezes |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and plastic Visa, Apple Wallet and Google Pay, ATM up to $5,000 per withdrawal |
| Total | 6.7 / 10 | A card that works well day to day, sitting on top of a support and transparency record that has already let people down |
Who this suits: residents of the listed countries who want to spend a crypto balance and get ETHFI cash back, and who can tolerate a card provider that does not name its issuer on its own pages. Who it does not suit: you if you need a named, regulated bank behind the card, if you need the total cost of a purchase to be knowable before you make it, or if a freeze during a dispute would strand you.
The 9 out of 10 for everyday use is the highest of any card I have looked at — the virtual card, the plastic card, the two mobile wallets and the ATM allowance genuinely are more than most rivals offer. The 4 out of 10 for reliability is the lowest on this page, and it is where your attention should go. Everything in the middle — the 7s — is decent and unremarkable.
Who will they give you the card
The card is issued only in listed jurisdictions, based on your residence and subject to KYC and compliance. The list is long: Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, UAE and the UK, plus 31 US states. Belgium and Ireland are eligible without physical delivery. ATM withdrawals are blocked in North Korea, Iran and Myanmar. The card’s own words: if your jurisdiction is not listed, you will not be able to apply.
Here is the thing I cannot tell you, and you should hear it plainly: the card’s public pages do not state citizenship rules. They talk about residence and jurisdiction. If you live in a listed country but hold a passport from somewhere else, that is exactly the question to ask the provider before you fund anything — because nationality is screened separately from address in this industry, and a mismatch is a common cause of frozen accounts.
Fees: what it really costs
The cost picture is where this card needs the most careful reading, because the card’s pages state some numbers and leave others silent. The costs table below uses only what is stated.

| Fee or limit | What is stated |
|---|---|
| Issuance — Core | Normally one free virtual card |
| Issuance — Core, regional pricing | First virtual card costs $10 in Argentina, Angola, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Peru, the Philippines, South Africa and Thailand |
| Monthly / annual fee | Not stated |
| Physical card fee | Not stated (Core: the card itself is free, a shipping fee applies, amount not stated) |
| FX fee by tier | Core 0.5%, Luxe 0.25%, Pinnacle and VIP none; EUR purchases have a 0% FX article |
| FX outside USD and EUR | Unofficial: 1% (third-party sites, 2026) |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated |
| ATM fee | Not stated on the card’s own pages; unofficial: 2% with a $250/day cap |
| ATM withdrawal amount | Up to $5,000 per withdrawal; 5 withdrawals and $25,000 per rolling 24 hours (Core/Luxe/Pinnacle/VIP); another help article says $1,000 per ATM withdrawal (MCC 6011), 5 per 24 hours |
| Daily and monthly limits | User-set in the Cash tab; overall tier limits not stated |
Three everyday payments, so the fees feel real rather than theoretical.
Coffee abroad, in a currency that is not USD or EUR. You pay the merchant’s local price. The base rate is Visa’s own rate. On Core, the card adds 0.5% on top; third-party sources say the card charges 1% for spending outside USD and EUR, and that is not confirmed by the card. Either way, budget 0.5% to 1.5% in fees, and remember that the conversion rate itself moves between the moment you tap and the moment it settles.
A subscription in EUR. The card’s pages say EUR purchases carry a 0% FX article — but they use a lower cash back ladder, so the saving on the fee is partly offset by less ETHFI coming back.
Cash from an ATM at home. The withdrawal ceiling is generous — up to $5,000 per withdrawal, 5 withdrawals and $25,000 per rolling 24 hours — but the card’s own ATM fee is not stated on the pages I read. Third-party sources say 2% with a $250/day cap. Pinnacle and VIP get up to 10 free ATM withdrawals a month; for Core and Luxe the pages say only “Available”. If cash is a regular part of your life, this is the number to pin down with the provider first.
The tiers, because the fee changes with them:
- Core — one free virtual card; the physical card is free but delivery costs something (amount not stated); 3% cash back on the first $2,000 a month, then 1% to $3,000, then 0.5%; balance protection up to $10K.
- Luxe ($199 a year, or earned by monthly points) — 3% on the first $10,000; 2 free virtual cards; free metal card with shipping included; category cash back 10% up to $10 a month; protection up to $50K; FX 0.25%.
- Pinnacle ($999 a year, or points) — 3% on the first $50,000; 10 virtual cards; up to 10 free ATM withdrawals a month; express shipping; protection up to $100K; no FX fee.
- VIP — 4% on the first $50,000; unlimited virtual cards; free Gold metal card; protection up to $500K; no FX fee.
Whether Core or Luxe is the right stop for you depends almost entirely on whether you spend more than $2,000 a month and how much of that is foreign currency. Below that, Core’s 0.5% FX is the number you care about; above it, Luxe’s lower rate and higher back ladder start to earn their $199 back.
How to top it up
Top up means putting crypto into your Safe, which is where the balance the card spends from lives. You deposit any supported token; in Credit mode that deposit acts as collateral, and in Direct Pay mode the balance is spent directly. Deposits are accepted from multiple chains. The card does not publish the list of coins or networks on the pages I read — it keeps them in separate help articles, “Supported assets and networks for your Vault with Cash” and “USDC and USDT deposit networks and addresses” — so before you send anything, check your network and address against those two articles yourself.
One requirement is unusual enough that it will surprise you if you miss it: a $10 crypto deposit must be in place before KYC can complete, in all regions. If verification fails, that deposit can be withdrawn. So the first thing your money ever does on this card is sit there waiting for your identity check — that is the design, not a trick, but it does mean you should not treat it as a refundable test payment until the check is done.
Bank-transfer top-up in fiat has its own article with its own country list and its own fees, which I did not read. Note that the deposit fee itself is paid on the blockchain, not by the card.
Withdrawing the vault balance is a different flow from spending it: you request the token, amount and recipient address, and it executes once the required Safe owners sign. Fees are not stated. Closing the account needs a $0 balance, no active borrows and no pending card transactions, then a 14-day waiting period — and since you must empty the balance first, what happens to leftover funds is something the pages do not state.
Paying with it every day
This is the card’s strongest suit, and it earns the 9 out of 10. You get a virtual Visa you can create in the app and a physical Visa you can order. Apple Wallet and Google Pay are both supported — you add the card by entering its details. You set your own daily and monthly caps in the Cash tab, and there are weekly per-card limits by merchant category: $500 for crypto purchases, gambling, FX and prepaid loading; $1,000 for money transfers, stock brokers and dating; $3,000 for pharmacies, licensed online casinos (MCC 7800–7802) and funding crypto accounts; and $30,000 per transaction for advertising. Overall tier limits are not stated.
The cash back is paid in ETHFI, locked for 7 days and then claimable. Core pays 3% on the first $2,000 a month, then 1% to $3,000, then 0.5%. Luxe pays 3% up to $10,000; Pinnacle 3% up to $50,000; EUR purchases sit on lower ladders; Business pays 1%. ATM withdrawals, cash advances, peer-to-peer payments and gambling merchant codes are excluded, and no payout cap is stated. Some merchant codes are excluded or limited for cash back: 6011, 6012, 6211, 6513, 6532 and 7995, with gambling capped at $500 a week rather than fully blocked.
The iOS app, “ether.fi: Crypto Card & Spend”, requires iOS 16.0 or later and sat at 4.9 from 141 ratings in the US storefront when I checked on 2026-10-20; the Google Play listing was not found or not read.
When something goes wrong with a payment, there is a route. Disputes and chargebacks are filed through in-app chat with support. For an unauthorized transaction you delete the card and contact support, and it enters Visa’s fraud process. For a merchant problem — non-delivery, a duplicate charge, a subscription you wanted to cancel — it goes through Visa’s dispute process, and you are expected to contact the merchant first. Disputes may take up to 90 days to complete. Refunds come from the merchant, and the timing is covered in a separate article on how long refunds take. No dispute fee is mentioned.
What can go wrong
Start with the record, because it is the least comfortable part of this review. Users report a Trustpilot score around 3.3 out of 5 across 47 reviews, citing changed account details and lost deposited funds during card activation; the same 47 reviews showed 3.5 on 2026-10-20. News coverage in November 2025 (PANews) reported that cards were suspended after fraudulent transactions, with the CEO promising refunds; an aggregator (cryptocards.so, a secondary source) mentions compliance freezes and slow support. The themes in the reviews are consistent: KYC and address-verification limbo lasting weeks to months, denial after approval with “suspected fraud” and no specific reason (an undated 2025–2026 review), compliance freezes with slow automated support, and deposited funds lost during activation in 2025.
A search on 2026-10-20 confirmed no licence loss or issuer change, but blogs disagree on the issuer — Rain per bleap.finance, Third National under a Visa licence per slash.com — and neither is official. The legal entity and issuer are not stated on the card’s help articles, which mention only Visa. The card’s website returned a 429 error during the review.
The balances are held in a self-custody-style Safe vault, so withdrawals need Safe owner signatures, and you sign in with a passkey plus an email one-time code and a PIN. You can freeze the card instantly in the app and set daily and monthly spend limits, though changes to those limits take effect only after a security delay. There is a Cash Protection Program — it is not insurance — which reimburses unauthorized movement of smart-contract assets, capped at $10,000 on Core, $50,000 on Luxe, $200,000 on Pinnacle and Business, and $500,000 on VIP, against a programme capacity of $5 million, with a $100 claim fee refunded if the claim is approved; it excludes compromised keys, credentials and devices. Support is in-app and web live chat plus email at [email protected]; Pinnacle has a dedicated account-manager team and VIP has executive support.
So the risk is not that your crypto sits in someone else’s wallet — it does not. The risk is that the card programme above it has, in the past, frozen cards mid-activity, and the name of the institution behind it is not one the card itself will give you.
Alternatives worth weighing
Two of the three alternatives below publish more about fees and countries than ether.fi does. Here is how the comparison looks.
| Card | Score | Card | Countries | Cost | Fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ether.fi | 6.7 / 10 | Visa, virtual and physical | Long list: Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, UAE, UK + 31 US states | Free virtual card; $10 in regional-pricing countries; paid delivery on plastic | FX 0.5% Core, 0.25% Luxe, none Pinnacle/VIP |
| Sponge | 4.9 / 10 | Virtual, a credit card issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member | Not stated on card pages; platform terms set a minimum age of 13 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Xplace | 7.7 / 10 | Visa, virtual instant; Silver physical live, Gold/Platinum coming, 7–14 business days | Not stated; “not available in all jurisdictions”; Visa accepted in 160+ countries | Basic free, Silver $99/y, Gold $249/y, Platinum $999/y; no borrowing origination fee | 0% FX on Platinum; other tiers not stated; “no hidden spread” on stablecoin spending |
| Anodos Card | 7.2 / 10 | Physical or virtual, under licence from Visa | 150+ countries with a few exceptions; not issued to residents of Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; Chinese and Hong Kong passports not eligible; Nigeria, Sri Lanka, South Africa with “enhanced review + explicit approval”; a separate US programme in 30 states | Free $0; Pro $9.99/mo or $99.90/yr; Elite $29.99/mo or $299.90/yr; extra virtual card $20/$10/$10 | Card FX 1.50% Free, 1.25% Pro, 1.00% Elite; interest 0% APR currently; late payment up to $40 |
A few things stand out. Xplace, at 7.7 out of 10, is the highest-scoring card here, and it comes with a physical card on a 7–14 business-day delivery and a clear annual-fee ladder; it does not publish its country list, which is the ether.fi weakness reversed. Anodos publishes the most complete fee and country information of the four — including exactly who cannot be issued a card — but its FX fee is 1.00–1.50% on its best tier, higher than ether.fi’s Core. Sponge is a virtual card only, with costs and rewards not stated, and it sits lowest at 4.9 out of 10.
If the reason you are reading this is that a card was refused to you, the comparison is not really about scores. It is about which provider will tell you, before you send money, whether you qualify.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to a resident of one of the listed countries who already holds crypto in a self-custody wallet, spends from that balance rather than from a bank account, and treats the card as one of several ways to move value rather than as their only card. The cash back in ETHFI, the free virtual card, the two mobile wallets and the ATM ceiling make the day-to-day genuinely good — that is a 9 out of 10, and it is the highest everyday-use mark on this page.
I would not be the first person to recommend it to you if you need the total cost of a purchase to be knowable before you tap, because the conversion fee and the physical delivery fee are both unstated. I would not recommend it if a freeze during a dispute would leave you without a way to pay: the November 2025 suspension and the “suspected fraud” denials in reviews are the reason reliability scored 4 out of 10. And I would ask twice, in writing, who the issuing institution is and what happens to your balance, before you commit funds — not because I know the answer is bad, but because the card does not publish it.
The best of the alternatives, on published information rather than on promise, is Xplace for the fee ladder and Anodos for the clarity about who is eligible. If either of them will name your country and your costs to you before you deposit, that is worth a great deal.
Frequently asked questions
What is the ether.fi card?
The ether.fi card is a Visa — virtual and plastic — that spends a crypto balance you hold in your own Safe vault. You deposit tokens, complete a KYC check, and order a virtual or physical card in the app. Purchases convert the crypto to fiat at the point of spend, and cash back is paid in ETHFI, locked seven days then claimable. It is a payment card, not a bank account.
How does the ether.fi card work day to day?
You tap the card, in a wallet, or in a terminal, and the amount is drawn from the crypto balance in your Safe. In Direct Pay mode the balance is spent directly; in Credit mode the deposit acts as collateral. You set your own daily and monthly caps in the Cash tab, and weekly per-card limits apply by merchant category — $500 for crypto purchases, gambling, FX and prepaid loading, up to $3,000 for pharmacies and some casinos, and $30,000 per transaction for advertising.
Does the ether.fi card require KYC?
Yes. Activation includes “Verify your identity via KYC”, and there is one flow with no levels: a phone one-time code, an identity document (passport, national ID or driver’s licence), a selfie liveness check, your address, and sometimes a card-issuer questionnaire. Proof of address is only required in some cases, must be no older than 3 months, and cannot be phone bills or screenshots. Most reviews put approval within 48 hours.
Is the ether.fi card free?
Partly. Core members normally get one free virtual card, though in regional-pricing countries — Argentina, Angola, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Peru, the Philippines, South Africa and Thailand — the first virtual card costs $10. The physical card is free but a shipping fee applies, and the amount of that fee is not stated. No monthly or annual Core fee is stated.
Can I add the ether.fi card to Apple Wallet?
Yes. Apple Wallet and Google Pay are both supported, and you add the card by entering its card details. As with any tokenised card, each mobile payment uses a device-specific number and a one-time security code rather than your card number, and the issuer can restrict where a tokenised number is allowed to be used. If a merchant declines one, try the physical card.
Where can I use the ether.fi card, and which countries are excluded?
It is issued in listed jurisdictions including much of Europe, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Singapore, Switzerland, the UAE and the UK, plus 31 US states; Belgium and Ireland are eligible without physical delivery. ATM withdrawals are blocked in North Korea, Iran and Myanmar. Citizenship rules are not stated, and if your jurisdiction is not listed you cannot apply — so check your own country with the provider.
What are the ether.fi card’s fees?
The card’s pages state an FX fee by tier — 0.5% on Core, 0.25% on Luxe, none on Pinnacle or VIP — and a 0% FX article on EUR purchases. The crypto conversion fee and the Core shipping fee are not stated. Third-party sites, unofficial and not confirmed by the card, report 1% FX outside USD and EUR and a 2% ATM fee. Because the conversion fee is unstated, ask for it before you rely on the card for large purchases.
Is the ether.fi card safe?
The crypto sits in a self-custody-style Safe vault, so withdrawals need your signatures, and you have a passkey, a PIN, instant card freeze and a Cash Protection Program (not insurance) that covers unauthorized smart-contract asset movement up to tier caps. But the card’s public pages do not name the issuing entity or issuer, third-party sources disagree on whether it is Rain or Third National, and in November 2025 cards were suspended after fraudulent transactions. Judge it with that record in view.
How do I withdraw money or close my ether.fi account?
To withdraw the vault balance you submit the token, amount and recipient address, and it executes once the required Safe owners sign; cross-chain withdrawals have their own flow and fees are not stated. To close the account you need a $0 balance, no active borrows and no pending card transactions, then wait 14 days — and because the balance must be emptied first, you should confirm what happens to any leftover funds, which the pages do not state.
Is an ether.fi card worth it?
For a resident of a listed country spending an existing crypto balance, the free virtual card, Apple and Google Pay, and up to $5,000 per ATM withdrawal make it worth the setup. If you need a known issuer, a stated conversion fee, or confidence that a dispute will not freeze your card, one of the alternatives publishes more of that information, and you should weigh the 4-out-of-10 reliability mark before you commit funds.
Top credit and cashback cards by score – cryptocardtop
Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team
