Fasset card review: a gold-rewarded Visa for stablecoin balances, in countries where ordinary banking is hard to find

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Fasset card is a Visa debit product that draws on a USD balance funded from a Fasset wallet. It is one of a small number of crypto-linked cards pitched primarily at users in Asia and Africa who can spend USDT (and, in some setups, Tether Gold) where they live. The promise on the surface is a globally accepted card with stablecoin rails and a gold-linked reward, but the picture below the marketing is more uneven: a real Visa line and a real reward scheme, but a thin public fee schedule, several unconfirmed details and a card-issuer identity that the company does not name.

Fasset works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

I went through Fasset’s own pages, its press releases and a regulatory-and-news search, and I read the result against the broader crypto-card category. The headline number for the card sits at 5.3 out of 10 in my scoring, and the longer version of that score is what this review explains. The conditions described below are current as of 2026-10-20.

Verdict

Fasset is a real product with a real network, not vapourware, but it lands in the middle of the pack because the things a card user normally checks first (costs, limits, who issues the card, where the ATM works) are not stated clearly on the public pages. What is in the public material is genuinely useful: a Visa debit card, USD spending, USDT top-ups, a rewards programme that pays back in XAU₮, and a country list that includes Pakistan, Kenya, Egypt, South Africa, Mexico and a long stretch of Caribbean and Latin American jurisdictions.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Fasset payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The score below unpacks that.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 Thirty-six countries appear in the starting list (Asia-Pacific, Africa, Caribbean, Latin America), but the live availability page returns a 403 error.
Cost 5 / 10 Issuance fee, monthly fee, conversion and ATM charges are not published on the card page I could reach.
Top-up options 5 / 10 USDT from the Fasset wallet is confirmed; XAUt (Tether Gold) can be converted to USDT for spending; the networks are not named.
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 The operating company is Fasset Labuan Limited, with regulatory work in the UAE, Indonesia, Malaysia, the EU, Turkey and Pakistan, but the card issuer and licence numbers are not stated and no incident reports turned up.
Everyday use 4 / 10 A Visa in USD is solid, but the physical card, Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM access are not described, and only a press release headline mentions ATMs.
Total 5.3 / 10 A real, working card, but a public record that leaves too many of the practical questions unanswered.

If you hold a Fasset balance in one of the supported countries, you can use the card to spend USDT, and the gold rewards are an unusual feature, but you should not sign up without first finding the live fee schedule, confirming that the card is being issued where you live, and checking that the physical-card and ATM story matches your needs.

Will they give you the card

Fasset’s starting country list runs to thirty-six jurisdictions. In Asia-Pacific the list includes Australia, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Philippines and Singapore, with Pakistan appearing alongside. Africa is covered through Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Morocco, South Africa, Uganda, Zambia, Côte d’Ivoire and Senegal. The Caribbean and Latin American block is the longest stretch: Antigua and Barbuda, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, the Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, and the Turks and Caicos Islands.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Fasset starts with a transfer to the right network

There are gaps, and they matter. The list does not include mainland China, India, the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, the European Union member states (as named jurisdictions), Nigeria, Russia or any of the Gulf states outside the UAE regulatory footprint. If you live in those places, the card is not pitched to you.

Availability is subject to change. Treat the country list above as a starting indication only, and check the Fasset app or your dashboard for the up-to-date state of your country.

A subtle point on how these rules usually work for this kind of card: card-issuance restrictions are almost always written in terms of residence or legal registration rather than citizenship. Fasset does not state this explicitly on the pages I saw, but you should expect the practical rule to be “where you live”, not “what passport you hold”. A KYC (Know Your Customer) check is implied by the regulatory footprint — every regulated financial business verifies customer identity and screens against sanctions before opening an account — but the KYC steps and the level of identity needed for the card are not stated.

How to get it

The card is a Visa network card that spends USD at Visa merchants worldwide. The product name in Fasset’s material calls out a virtual card, and the cardholder-facing description does not confirm a physical or metal version. A Visa debit card works the same way in a phone wallet or at a contactless terminal as it does online, and a virtual card is enough for online spending, subscriptions and most in-app purchases, but if you want a card you can hand to a waiter, you should look for a confirmation that a physical version exists before relying on it.

A few practical details that the public material does not confirm:

What I can say from the category norms: a regulated card-issuing programme will require a government-issued ID, a proof of address and, in many cases, a live selfie or video check. Anti-money-laundering (AML) and counter-terrorism-financing rules mean the issuer will also screen your name against sanctions lists and watch the account for unusual activity over time. None of that is Fasset-specific; it is the same as for any regulated card. The thing that is Fasset-specific, and not stated, is the exact flow inside the Fasset app.

If you are considering the card, the safest first step is to download the Fasset app, complete account opening to the point where the app tells you whether your country and your documents are accepted, and only then look at the card add-on.

What it really costs

This is the part of the review where I have to be straight with you: the public fee page I could reach does not give a full schedule. Issuance fee, monthly fee, foreign-exchange markup, conversion charges, ATM fee and the daily and monthly caps on spending are not stated on the material I could open. A press release headline mentions ATMs, but the body of the press release does not give a fee or an allowance.

That leaves a comparison to the category rather than to the card itself. With most crypto cards you will see a combination of an issuance fee (often free for virtual, paid for physical), a monthly or annual maintenance fee (sometimes free, sometimes tiered), a foreign-exchange fee on non-USD spending (typically 0 to 3 per cent, sometimes a real network rate plus a markup), an ATM fee (often a small number of free withdrawals per month, then a fixed fee plus a percentage), and per-transaction conversion charges when you top up in a non-supported token. Crypto cards often avoid a separate “top-up fee” but they always include the conversion spread inside the rate you see.

Fee or limit Stated on Fasset’s pages
Issuance fee Not stated
Monthly or annual fee Not stated
Crypto-to-fiat conversion fee Not stated
Foreign-exchange fee (non-USD spending) Not stated
ATM withdrawal fee and allowance Not stated (press release headline only)
Daily spending limit Not stated
Monthly spending limit Not stated
Rewards Up to 6 per cent back in XAU₮ on eligible transactions, tiered and credited in real time
Spending currency USD at Visa merchants worldwide

Three everyday payments to think about. First, an in-person coffee in your home country: the merchant is likely to charge in the local currency, the card will convert USD to that currency at the Visa rate, and any Fasset FX markup (not stated) will be added on top. Second, a subscription in USD, paid from your USDT-funded balance: the conversion rate from USDT to USD is the dominant number, and you should look for that rate inside the Fasset app before paying. Third, an ATM withdrawal (if it works in your country): any ATM-side fee charged by the ATM operator is added to whatever Fasset charges (not stated), and the daily and monthly caps (not stated) will determine whether the withdrawal goes through at all.

Until the issuer publishes a real schedule, treat every charge as if the worst-case fee in the category applies, and only relax that assumption after you have read the in-app fee page on your own account.

How to top it up

The funding story is short and well-defined. Fasset documents USDT as the top-up token: you transfer USDT from your Fasset wallet to the card and the card spends against a USD balance. If you hold XAUt, Tether’s gold-backed token, Fasset’s starting data says XAUt can be converted into USDT inside the wallet, after which the USDT is spent the same way. That is the entire top-up path on the public material.

A few gaps that matter in practice. The blockchain networks used for the USDT top-up are not stated. USDT is the same token in name across many chains, but transfers are not interchangeable: USDT on Ethereum, USDT on Tron and USDT on Solana are different tokens with different addresses and different fee profiles. If Fasset’s deposit address is for one network and you send from another, the funds can be lost, because blockchain transfers are irreversible. Until you see the supported network inside the app, assume nothing.

Three things to check before you send anything. First, the supported network: open the deposit screen, copy the address, and confirm the network name (Ethereum, Tron, Solana, and so on) is one your sending wallet can use. Second, the minimum top-up: Fasset does not state one, but you will burn a network fee (gas or bandwidth) to send, and on a busy chain that fee can be a meaningful slice of a small top-up. Third, the wallet address itself: clipboard-hijacking malware can swap a copied address for a similar-looking one, so re-check the first and last few characters of the address after pasting.

A separate note on cash-in routes. There is no information on whether you can top up with bank transfer, debit card or a payment-rail deposit from outside the Fasset wallet. The funding story is “USDT from the Fasset wallet, optionally after converting XAUt”, and you should treat the card as closed-loop until you confirm otherwise.

Paying with it every day

When the card works, the experience is a standard Visa debit. You have a USD balance, the merchant accepts Visa, and the transaction either goes through or it does not. The Visa brand matters here: a card that runs on a major network is accepted at a much wider set of merchants than one running on a local scheme, and a USD-denominated card removes the local-currency conversion that some crypto cards still apply.

What the public material does not confirm:

The reward programme, by contrast, is documented. Fasset advertises up to 6 per cent back in XAU₮ on eligible transactions, with the rate tiered by spending: the more you spend, the higher the cashback rate. The reward is credited to the Fasset wallet in real time, and Tether is reported to have committed up to one million US dollars worth of XAU₮ to fund the rewards. There is also a round-up feature that takes the spare change to the nearest dollar from each transaction and invests it in XAU₮. That combination of gold rewards and a round-up is unusual in the category and is the most concrete differentiator Fasset has against other stablecoin cards.

A few things to keep in mind on the reward side. “Up to 6 per cent” is the top of a tiered structure, and you should not expect 6 per cent from your first transaction. The eligible-transactions list (which merchants or MCCs count) is not stated, and some card programmes exclude categories like gambling or top-ups from rewards. The XAU₮ is itself a volatile asset in price even if it is pegged to gold — gold can and does move 5 to 10 per cent in a month — so a 6 per cent reward is a 6 per cent reward in gold, not in dollars, and the dollar value of the reward can fall as well as rise.

What can go wrong

The risks for a Fasset card user fall into three buckets: the card programme, the platform behind it, and the wider category.

On the card programme. Fasset does not name the card issuer, the BIN/IIN range of the card, the licence numbers, or the programme manager on its public pages. That makes the card harder to verify before you sign up, and it makes disputes harder to chase if something goes wrong, because the address for a chargeback is a party other than Fasset itself. Programmes in this category have been shut down in the past by networks and by issuers (the most-cited example being Visa’s 2018 suspension of WaveCrest, which closed several European crypto card programmes overnight, and Visa’s 2022 termination of its global agreements with FTX), and a programme you cannot name is harder to hold accountable if a similar action happens here.

On the platform behind it. Fasset is run by Fasset Labuan Limited, and the company describes itself as a US-founded neobanking and investment platform whose co-founders are Mohammad Raafi Hossain and Daniel Ahmed (the CEO). Fasset’s starting data lists regulatory approvals in the UAE, Indonesia, Malaysia, the EU, Turkey, Pakistan and “others”, but no licence numbers are quoted. No incident reports (a hack, a regulatory action, a known outage) came up in the searches I ran, and there is no Trustpilot or Reddit presence to read user reviews against, so the absence of bad news is not the same as a confirmation of good news. The accounts on the Fasset side are custodial, which means the user does not hold the private keys to the funds that sit on the platform between top-up and spend: the company holds them on your behalf, and you rely on its solvency and security.

On the wider category. Crypto-card spend funded from USDT is, at heart, a sequence of token transfers followed by a card payment, and several of those steps carry their own failure modes. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent to the wrong network or the wrong address is not coming back. Stablecoins are not risk-free: USDT is the most-used stablecoin in the world, but it has had moments of depeg pressure and it depends on Tether’s reserve management. KYC checks can fail, accounts can be frozen while documents are reviewed, and a customer who cannot complete due diligence can find their account closed, because EU and US rules require regulated institutions to walk away from a relationship they cannot verify. Card transactions themselves can be declined for reasons that have nothing to do with the balance: a foreign BIN (the first six or eight digits of a card number that identify the issuer) is sometimes a reason a merchant declines, address verification is a US/Canada/UK thing that does not work for foreign cards, and 3-D Secure can be triggered for any online payment the issuer considers risky.

A short list of the most common failure modes, in the order I would check them:

  1. The country page is unreachable (the 403 I saw), so live availability is unclear.
  2. The fee schedule is not on the public card page, so real-world cost is unclear.
  3. The card issuer is not named, so the chain of accountability is unclear.
  4. The top-up network is not stated, so a wrong-network deposit is a real risk.
  5. The custody model is custodial, so the platform’s solvency and security are the user’s risk.

What to take instead

If Fasset’s gaps put you off, three other cards in the same general space (crypto-funded debit cards) cover similar ground with more public detail. The comparison is brief; each of these has its own page if you want the long version.

International Visa Card (score 6.7 / 10) is the most established of the three. It is a US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual for now, with a physical card listed as “coming soon”. Issuance is five US dollars for the virtual card, the Classic plan has no maintenance fee, Pro is nine dollars a month and Max is nineteen dollars a month. Card use in USD is free on every plan, and foreign-currency spend is charged at the Visa exchange rate plus a 2 per cent FX fee. Deposits of any kind, including USDC and USDT into the USD account at 1:1, are free, and the platform also takes USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow deposits. It is blocked for residents of a long list of countries that includes India, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam and others, and purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The reason to pick it over Fasset is clearer pricing, clearer residency rules and an explicit US-issued card; the reason to avoid it is the country list, which is the strictest of the three.

UNi Card (score 6.1 / 10) is a multicurrency Mastercard that spends from the UNi.Global account balance, with “no annual fee” and “no foreign transaction fee”, assets converted at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates” and “no hidden exchange fees”. The rewards are “Spend-to-Earn” up to 3 per cent with UNi Card. The case for it is the multicurrency setup and the zero-fee claims; the case for caution is that the issuer, the country list, the issuance fee and the top-up networks are not stated on the public material.

Morse (score 7.5 / 10) is the strongest of the three on the points Fasset is weakest on. The card is fully virtual, on Visa, prepaid, and spends from a Morse Balance in any currency; conversions use the real exchange rate with no markup, and card spending is free. Morse also operates a self-custody wallet, so you keep control of the keys until the moment you top up the card. Deposits include debit card, stablecoin transfer and account details in USD, EUR, MXN, COP and BRL, with USDC, USDG and EURC free on Solana, and other tokens and chains (including Bitcoin, USDT and Ethereum) supported for a fee. The catch is the residency list: the app is in over 140 countries for peer-to-peer use, but the card is “available only in certain countries” (the list is not published on the card page), and a long list of jurisdictions including Australia, Hong Kong, Japan, Singapore, Switzerland and the United Kingdom are in closed beta behind an invite code. The reason to pick Morse is the self-custody wallet, the clear no-markup FX and the explicit fee story; the reason to avoid it is the closed-beta list.

A simple decision rule. If the country list and the price are what matters to you, International Visa Card is the most concrete option. If multicurrency and zero-fee claims matter more, look at UNi Card and confirm the missing details. If keeping custody of your own crypto and paying with no FX markup is the priority, Morse is the strongest of the three, provided your country is open or on a beta list you can join.

Who I would recommend it to

The card is not a bad product. It is a real Visa debit in USD, funded by USDT, with a tiered gold reward that is unusual in the category. The score of 5.3 is not a verdict against the card; it is a verdict on the gap between the marketing and the public information. If you are the kind of user who reads the in-app fee schedule before you spend, who can wait for the live availability page to come back online, and who is comfortable with a custodial platform, the card is a reasonable way to spend a stablecoin balance in the countries on the starting list.

I would recommend the Fasset card to a user who already holds a Fasset balance in USDT or XAU₮, who lives in one of the listed countries (Pakistan, Kenya, Egypt, South Africa, Mexico, a Caribbean jurisdiction, an Asia-Pacific jurisdiction), who can confirm the live fee and limit schedule in the app before relying on the card, and who values the gold reward and the round-up enough to set the card up as a daily-spend card rather than a one-off.

I would not recommend it to a user who needs a physical card with a confirmed delivery time, who needs ATM access at a published fee, who needs Apple Pay or Google Pay on day one, who lives outside the listed countries, or who needs to see the card issuer’s name and licence number before opening an account. For any of those users, the alternatives above are a better starting point, and the Fasset card can wait until the company publishes the missing detail.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Fasset card?

The Fasset card is a Visa debit card that spends in US dollars at merchants worldwide, topped up with USDT from a Fasset wallet. The product name in Fasset’s material calls it a virtual card; a physical version is not confirmed in the public pages.

How does the Fasset card work?

You hold USDT in a Fasset wallet, top up the card with USDT, and the card debits a USD balance at the point of sale. If you hold XAUt (Tether Gold), the starting data says it can be converted to USDT inside the wallet and then spent the same way; the network used for the top-up is not stated.

Is Fasset a bank?

Fasset describes itself as a neobanking and investment platform, but the public pages do not name the card issuer, do not give a banking licence number, and do not confirm that the platform itself is a bank. Treat the card as a programme run on top of a licensed issuer, and confirm the issuer and its licence inside the app before you sign up.

Who owns Fasset?

The operating company is Fasset Labuan Limited, and the co-founders named in Fasset’s material are Mohammad Raafi Hossain and Daniel Ahmed (CEO). Fasset describes itself as US-founded, and lists regulatory approvals in the UAE, Indonesia, Malaysia, the EU, Turkey, Pakistan and other jurisdictions, but no licence numbers are quoted.

Is the Fasset card available in my country?

The starting country list runs to thirty-six jurisdictions across Asia-Pacific, Africa, the Caribbean and Latin America, including Pakistan, Kenya, Egypt, South Africa, Mexico, the Bahamas, the Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Panama and others. Live availability is subject to change, so treat the list as a starting indication only and check the Fasset app for the up-to-date state of your country.

Does the Fasset card require KYC?

A regulated card programme in this category will require identity verification as part of anti-money-laundering rules, including a government-issued ID, a proof of address, and a sanctions screen. Fasset’s pages do not state the specific KYC steps, the documents required or the levels of due diligence, so confirm the in-app flow before you upload anything.

How do I top up the Fasset card?

You top up the card with USDT from your Fasset wallet; XAUt can be converted to USDT inside the wallet and then spent. The supported blockchain network for the USDT deposit is not stated, so check the network name in the deposit screen and confirm your sending wallet can use the same network before you send.

Is the Fasset card free?

The public card pages I could reach do not state an issuance fee, a monthly fee, a conversion fee, a foreign-exchange fee or an ATM fee. Until the issuer publishes a real fee schedule, treat every charge as if the worst-case fee in the category applies, and only relax that assumption after you have read the in-app fee page on your own account.

Can I add the Fasset card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

The public material does not confirm Apple Pay or Google Pay support. Tokenisation (replacing the card number with a device-specific number) is a network feature that Visa supports, but whether the Fasset card has been tokenised for either wallet is not stated.

Is the Fasset card safe?

Fasset is a custodial platform (it holds the funds on your behalf, rather than letting you hold your own keys), and the public pages do not name the card issuer, the security features or the dispute process. The category has a record of programme closures and platform failures, so treat the funds on the platform as money you can afford to have locked up for a notice period, and do not park life-savings on the card.

Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team