The card that spends crypto without a bank account — and what it charges for the privilege

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Laso Finance is not a bank and does not behave like one. It is a prepaid card product built around USDC, aimed at users and AI agents who need to pay online and cannot easily get an ordinary bank card. The score I put on it is 5.6 out of 10 — a middle-of-the-road card with two genuinely attractive points (no monthly fee stated, and a 0% fee on the US product) and several that would stop me recommending it to someone who just wants a normal way to pay.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Laso Finance works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 2026.

Read on if you have been searching for this card and want the plain version before you commit money to it. I will tell you who gets one, how to apply, what it costs at the till, how you put money in, what goes wrong in practice, and who I would actually point at it.

The score at a glance

The overall mark is 5.6 out of 10, and it is an average of quite different things. Here is how the criteria break down.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Laso Finance payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 The official API names no restricted countries; the international card carries a “No fixed list”. Third-party sources report 170 countries, with 26 restricted.
Cost 3 / 10 The USA card is 0%; the international card adds 3.8% on top. Unofficially, FX on the international card runs about 2%, and unused-balance refund is 14% with a $10 minimum. No monthly fee is stated.
Top-up options 8 / 10 USDC via x402 on Base and Solana. Unofficially, USDC, USDT and DAI across a long list of networks.
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Laso Finance LLC (Austin, Texas), an MSB registered with FinCEN; the issuer is not named. Trustpilot 4.1, but complaints cover Apple Pay, region-based account closure, and the bug bounty is paused indefinitely as of 21 September 2026.
Everyday use 3 / 10 Virtual only. Unofficially, Apple Pay is not guaranteed, in October 2026 only Google Pay worked, and ATM withdrawals are blocked.

Two things jump out of that table. The first is the spread: eligibility and funding score well, cost and daily use score badly. The second is that the low marks are not about the technology — they are about the small, annoying frictions that decide whether a card is pleasant to live with. A card that costs 3.8% on every purchase and only works in a phone wallet is a tool, not a daily driver.

If your situation is “I need to pay one bill online this week, and I can hold USDC”, the score matters less than the two sections on costs and everyday use. If your situation is “I want to replace my bank card”, this is not the card, and the alternatives later in this review are probably a better fit.

Who can get the card

Two products exist, and the difference matters more than anything else on this page.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Laso Finance starts with a transfer to the right network

The USA card is for U.S. merchants. Physical goods must ship to a U.S. address — if you are buying something that has to be delivered, that address is the one that counts, not where you live. The International card is for merchants outside the U.S. and for non-USD checkouts. Its country list is described officially as “No fixed list”, and the official API names no restricted countries at all.

That is where the official position ends. From third-party sources, unofficial and not confirmed by the card, the picture is narrower: availability in 170 countries, with 26 restricted — Afghanistan, Albania, Belarus, Central African Republic, Cuba, DR Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Myanmar, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, Ukraine, Venezuela, Yemen and Zimbabwe. The same source suggests “100+ countries” refers to where the international card is *used*, not where you may live. That distinction — eligibility versus acceptance — is the one most people get wrong, so treat any “works in 100+ countries” claim as a statement about merchants, not about you.

One more unofficial detail worth knowing, because it explains most of the negative reviews: restriction appears to be enforced by location, detected through device fingerprinting. That means the place that counts is where your phone and network appear to be, not where you were born or where your money sits.

There are also separate products for the USA, International and Canadian markets, and no tiers — you pick a product, not a level.

How to get the card

The application path is unusual, and that is the first thing to understand. Agents cannot be the account holder. The principal — the actual person behind any agent setup — completes identity verification personally. Payments through Venmo or PayPal require identity verification too. What documents are needed for the card purchase itself is not stated on the card’s public pages.

From third-party sources, unofficial and not confirmed by the card, “Laso does not require the conventional identity-document upload or credit check” for card purchases. That does not mean no checks happen. Wallet screening, sanctions checks, device fingerprinting and ongoing monitoring still apply — those are exactly the things that produce the region-block complaints in the reliability section below.

Once you are through verification, the card itself is straightforward. Both products are prepaid:

The reason there is no physical card is not a shortage. It is the design: this is a card number for online payments, tied to a stored balance.

What it really costs

Cost is where this card loses most of its points. Here is every fee and limit the card’s own pages describe, plus the unofficial figures marked as such.

Item What the card states
USA card purchase 0% fee
International card purchase 3.8% on top of the on-card amount; a promotion can lower it, possibly to 0%
Monthly fee Not stated
Per-authorisation or per-decline charges “Every fee, no per-authorization or per-decline charges”
Currency exchange (UNOFFICIAL) About 2% on non-USD spending with the international card
ATM withdrawals Not stated officially; unofficial reports say ATM withdrawals are blocked
USA card load limit $5 to $1,000
International card on-card limit $100 to $1,000
Daily card spend (UNOFFICIAL) $1,000
Your own controls You set per-payment and rolling 24-hour spend caps

Note the tension in that first two rows. The international card’s 3.8% is “on top of the on-card amount”, and if you are also spending in a currency other than USD, an unofficial ~2% FX charge can sit alongside it. An older Chrome Web Store listing said there was no currency exchange fee at all. Those two statements cannot both describe today’s product, which is one reason I treat the FX figure as unofficial and worth asking about.

Now let us walk three ordinary payments through this, because the percentages only mean something once you have a total in front of you.

A $20 software subscription from a U.S. service, paid with the USA card. The fee is 0%, so the cost is $20 plus whatever the network charges to move the USDC in. Straightforward, and the strongest case for this card.

A $20 software subscription from a U.S. service, paid with the international card. The on-card amount is $20 and the fee is 3.8% on top — the card states this explicitly. Whether a promotion brings it to 0% at the moment you order is not something you control, so read the figure at checkout rather than assuming the promotional rate.

A €15 purchase from a European shop. The card currency is USD and the international card is the product for non-USD checkouts, so this is where the unofficial ~2% FX fee would apply on top of whatever else is charged. Your billing address must match the one the shop returns; a mismatch is one of the quietest causes of a declined payment.

The billing address point deserves emphasis, because it is not a Laso quirk. Address verification compares the numeric parts of the address a buyer types against the issuer’s records, and it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK. For a foreign-issued card it is generally unavailable — which is exactly why some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards. When a Laso card gets refused, that is often the reason, and no fee or support ticket will change the shop’s policy.

How to top it up

Top-up is the part of this card that works cleanly, and it is why the funding criterion scores 8 out of 10.

Officially, the card is funded in USDC. x402 payments settle on Base and Solana, and international orders are paid in USDC from the agent’s wallet via x402. The load range for the international card is $100 to $1,000. Network fees are not stated, and whether you can add fiat directly is not stated either.

Unofficially, third-party sources list USDC, USDT and DAI across Ethereum and other EVM networks, Solana, Stellar, Arbitrum, Polygon, Optimism, Base, BNB Smart Chain and PulseChain. If you hold assets on one of those chains, that is a real convenience — but it is not something the card’s own pages confirm, and the two lists are not the same list.

Two mechanics are worth understanding before you send anything.

The first is that network fees are the blockchain’s, not the card provider’s. Whatever chain you use, the chain charges for moving tokens. There is another trap next to it: if you send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the transfer can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. Check the network and the address twice.

The second is getting the token right, not just the chain. ERC-20 fees are paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send. Tron fees are paid through bandwidth and energy resources, often burning TRX. And Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option to fall back on.

Then there is the withdrawal side, which is where the product’s one-sidedness shows. Non-reloadable cards expire 6 months after issuance, and any remaining balance is “forfeited to the card issuer (not Laso Finance)”. Reloadable cards — discontinued per third-party sources — allowed withdrawal of $2 to $10,000 to a Base wallet, “usually within 1-3 business days”, with no fee listed. Unofficially, an unused-balance refund costs 14% with a $10 minimum, and applies to the international card only if the card was never used.

Read that expiry clause again before you load $1,000: this is a spend-it card with a six-month shelf life, not a wallet.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is the weakest part of the offer, and it scores 3 out of 10.

The card is virtual only — there is no plastic to put in a wallet, so mobile wallets are not a convenience but a requirement. The help centre has an “Apple Pay & Google Wallet” collection of four articles, which tells you the topic is documented but not what it says; I did not read the contents.

What third-party sources report, unofficial and not confirmed by the card:

That last point deserves a moment. Blocking financial-transfer categories means you should not plan to use this card to pay other financial services, to move money to another provider, or in some cases to pay your own bills that are classified in that bucket. It is a policy choice, and it is a narrower one than you would guess from a card that says it accepts USDC.

On rewards there is nothing official to read, and third-party sources say there is nothing: no cashback and no points. If you are choosing between cards partly on rewards, this one scores zero on that axis.

The tooling is thin but real. There is a Chrome extension. The Apple U.S. App Store listing was rated 3.9 out of 5 from 11 ratings as of 8 August 2026 — unofficial, and a small sample, but it is not a heavily reviewed consumer app. Mobile platform details beyond that were not read.

For disputes, the help centre has a “Withdrawals & Refunds” collection of five articles covering merchant refunds, reversals, duplicate charges and disputes. Its contents were not read, and the card-lifecycle documentation does not cover disputes. I would not want to promise you a chargeback route here. Under 3-D Secure, liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from the merchant to your bank — or, per critics, to you — and prepaid-card coverage varies by jurisdiction and should not be assumed.

What can go wrong

This section is where the reliability score of 6 out of 10 comes from, and it is the part I would want a friend to read before loading money.

The bug bounty is paused. Officially, the bug bounty is “paused indefinitely as of September 21, 2026”. That is not in itself a security failure, but it does mean the incentive for outside researchers is gone at the moment of writing, and I would want to know why before I trusted a balance to it.

Apple Pay was promised and not delivered. This is the most common complaint theme from September–October 2026. Promised in the wallet documentation, not guaranteed in practice, and in one October 2026 account only Google Pay worked.

Accounts can be closed by location. In August 2026 a user reported the account being deleted as a “prohibited region”, detected by device fingerprinting. This is the sharpest risk here: a fingerprinting decision is made from data you cannot see, and the person affected may be in a country that is not on any restricted list.

Merchants decline the card. Reported in January 2026. As I noted above, this is partly structural — foreign BINs and prepaid cards get extra scrutiny, and address verification does not cover foreign-issued cards.

The product line moved under users. Reloadable US and International cards were discontinued, reportedly by January 2026, and non-reloadable balance updates were manual through January–March 2026. Canadian cards were added at the same time. A second-hand, unconfirmed claim on a competitor’s page says a Laso card stopped working in July 2026 — I would not treat that as fact, but it is the kind of thing that ends a card programme.

Trustpilot sits at 4.1 out of 5 with 22 reviews in the last 12 months (read 21 October 2026): 73% five-star, 14% one-star. That is a decent score with a long, specific complaint tail underneath it.

Now the company itself. Laso Finance LLC, Austin, Texas, founded March 2023, registered with FinCEN as a money services business (no. 31000328975254). The issuer is not named; the card says “regulated partners”. Earlier material, unofficial, cited Celtic Bank via Stripe Issuing — not something the card confirms today.

If you are the kind of person who asks “is this a bank”, the answer is no, and that matters for your protection. A registered money services business is not a deposit-taking institution, and customer funds held on a prepaid card are not the same as bank deposits. In the EU, electronic money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them, and such funds may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. Whether comparable protection applies here depends on the issuer and your jurisdiction, and the card does not tell you.

On security, the positive parts: there is a Laso-custodied Solana wallet for the managed agent wallet; you set per-payment and 24-hour caps; guardrails refuse certain external x402 challenges; and the card funds sit on the prepaid card rather than in a self-custody wallet you have to protect. Against that: the general risk of any custodial setup. Whoever holds the credentials controls the funds, and crypto transfers are typically irreversible with no built-in recovery. The category has a record of it — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022).

Support runs through help.laso.finance, [email protected] and [email protected]. Reviewers do praise the Telegram support, which is worth something when a payment is stuck.

I am not going to tell you how to get around any of this. No country list, no fingerprinting system and no sanctions regime is something to work on from the outside; if you are in a restricted country or your device reads as one, the honest answer is that this card is not for you.

What to take instead

I looked at three other prepaid crypto cards. None of them is perfect, and the comparison below is deliberately plain about what each page states and what it does not.

Card Score Who it aims at Card Cost stated
CardFlow 4.9 / 10 Aimed at Nigeria — “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” and “Nigerians and global users”; no country list or exclusions stated Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes “Creating a virtual card is completely free”; monthly fee not stated
HyperCard 4.7 / 10 Official pages state no country list; the App Store says it works in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility) Prepaid “HyperCard”, network not stated on the App Store page, balance in USD or EUR Not stated; the App Store page lists no fees
Card.fi 6.6 / 10 Cards ship to “200+ countries”; terms bar residents of, or orders from, “a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service” Virtual Classic and Premium, physical Classic and Premium, metal (stainless steel); every physical order includes a virtual card; issued “under licence from the relevant card schemes” One-time: Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249; physical and metal prices not listed; no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee

Where the comparison gets interesting is fees, because this is the category’s weak spot generally.

CardFlow charges nothing to create the card and funds from Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer, with networks not stated. No per-payment fees are published either way, which cuts both ways.

HyperCard takes deposits of crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app and converts them to USD or EUR on the card. Networks not stated, fees not stated.

Card.fi is the only one of the three that publishes a full schedule: top-up fee Classic 1.5% + $1.00, Premium 1%; FX fee Classic 3.5%, Premium 2.5%, with the conversion fee shown before each top-up. It supports 32 coins across five networks (Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch), converted at market rate on arrival, with a deposit address per card — and the wrong chain risks permanent loss. It is also the only one with rewards: cashback on card spending only, Classic 0.8% capped at 10 USDT a month, Premium 1%, Metal 1.2% or 2% depending on the tier, plus a headline 10% at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT a month, and interest-style yield on balances “up to 18%” on Metal, variable. Cards are issued “under licence from the relevant card schemes” — Visa and Mastercard are not named — and the card currency is not stated.

Two things I will not do here: endorse a 10% coffee-shop rate that is capped at 10 USDT a month as if it were a reward programme, or tell you which of these is “safe”. What I can say is that Card.fi scores highest of the three on the same criteria I applied to Laso, and it is the only one where you can read the total cost before you commit. If transparency on fees is your main worry, that is the argument for looking there first.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Laso Finance card to a specific person, and I would not recommend it to everyone else.

Recommend it if you already hold USDC, you need to pay U.S. merchants online, you have no ordinary bank card or cannot get one, and you treat the balance as spend-it money with a six-month shelf life. The 0% fee on the USA card and the clean USDC funding over x402 on Base and Solana are real advantages. If you are an AI agent or you are building for agents that pay, the card is openly designed for that — users and AI agents paying online with USDC is the stated audience, and that focus shows in the product, from the principal-verification rule to the agent-funded wallet.

Do not recommend it if you need a card for daily life. There is no physical card, the ATM is reportedly blocked, Apple Pay is not guaranteed, in October 2026 one account had only Google Pay, financial-transfer merchant categories are blocked, and there is no cashback. If you need to be able to get money out, this is the wrong shape of product.

Be careful if you are outside the U.S. The international card costs 3.8% on top, unofficially about 2% more on non-USD spending, is non-reloadable, expires after six months, and forfeits the remaining balance to the issuer rather than to Laso. Unused-balance refunds are reported at 14% with a $10 minimum, and apply only if the card was never used. On top of that, restriction is enforced by device fingerprinting, so the country your device appears to be in is the one that counts.

Be careful, too, if you are price-sensitive at scale. At 3.8% plus a possible 2%, every payment you make carries a real margin against you. For a handful of payments that is noise; for a monthly subscription habit it is a decision.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Laso Finance card?

The Laso Finance card is a virtual prepaid card funded with USDC rather than drawn from a bank account. It is sold in separate USA and International products, and an additional Canadian product exists. The USA card is aimed at U.S. merchants and takes a single load; the International card is aimed at non-U.S. merchants and non-USD checkouts and is non-reloadable. There is no physical card — the product is a card number, delivered virtually.

How does the Laso Finance card work?

You convert or hold a stablecoin balance, the card is funded from it, and the card spends only that stored balance — so it cannot overdraw. Officially the funding is USDC, with x402 payments settling on Base and Solana, and international orders paid in USDC from the agent’s wallet. Because it behaves like a prepaid card rather than a debit card, whatever is not loaded cannot be spent, and any remaining balance on a non-reloadable card is forfeited to the card issuer when the card expires.

Is Laso Finance a bank?

No. The company behind it is Laso Finance LLC, based in Austin, Texas, founded in March 2023 and registered with FinCEN as a money services business (no. 31000328975254). It does not take deposits in the way a bank does, and the card names “regulated partners” without naming the issuer. Customer funds held on a prepaid card are not bank deposits, so deposit-guarantee protection should not be assumed — check what applies in your own country.

Does the Laso Finance card require KYC?

Yes, partially, and this is where it is unusual. Agents cannot be the account holder: the principal completes identity verification personally, and Venmo or PayPal payments also require identity verification. Third-party sources say the conventional identity-document upload and credit check are not required for the card purchase itself — unofficial, and not confirmed by the card — while wallet screening, sanctions checks and device fingerprinting still apply.

Is the Laso Finance card available in my country?

The official position is broad: the USA card is for U.S. merchants, the International card lists “No fixed list” of countries, and the official API names no restricted countries. Unofficially, availability is reported in 170 countries with 26 restricted, including Russia, Ukraine, Iran, Syria, Cuba and others. Critically, restriction is enforced by location through device fingerprinting, so what matters is where your device appears to be rather than where you are documented.

How much does the Laso Finance card cost?

The USA card charges 0%. The International card adds 3.8% on top of the on-card amount, though a promotion can lower it, possibly to 0%. No monthly fee is stated, and the card says there are no per-authorisation or per-decline charges. Unofficially, currency exchange on non-USD spending with the international card runs about 2%, and an unused-balance refund costs 14% with a $10 minimum.

Can I use the Laso Finance card with Apple Pay?

Maybe, and that is the honest answer. An Apple Pay and Google Wallet help collection exists, and the card supports both in principle. Unofficially, Apple Pay “depends on device eligibility and isn’t guaranteed” per the company’s own Trustpilot reply from September 2026, and a reviewer in October 2026 reported that only Google Pay was working at that time. If a phone wallet is essential to you, confirm this before you load the card.

How do I top up the Laso Finance card?

Officially you pay in USDC, with x402 settling on Base and Solana; the international card’s load range is $100 to $1,000. Third-party sources add USDC, USDT and DAI across Ethereum and EVM networks, Solana, Stellar, Arbitrum, Polygon, Optimism, Base, BNB Smart Chain and PulseChain — unofficial. Network fees are the blockchain’s, not the card’s, and a transfer on an unsupported network can be lost, so check the chain and address carefully.

Is the Laso Finance card safe?

There is no simple yes. Positively, you set per-payment and 24-hour caps, funds sit on the prepaid card, and support is reachable by email and Telegram. Against that: the bug bounty is paused indefinitely as of 21 September 2026, accounts have reportedly been closed by location-based fingerprinting, Apple Pay has not always materialised, and non-reloadable cards expire after six months with the remaining balance forfeited to the issuer. Treat it as a spend-it card, not a place to hold money.

Can I withdraw money from the Laso Finance card?

Not usefully, it seems. ATM withdrawals are not addressed on the official pages and are reported as blocked unofficially. Withdrawals from $2 to $10,000 to a Base wallet, “usually within 1-3 business days”, applied to reloadable cards — discontinued per third-party sources — with no fee listed. On the current non-reloadable cards the balance is forfeited to the issuer at expiry, and refunds reportedly cost 14% with a $10 minimum, only if the card was never used.

Content created by the «cryptocardtop» team